We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 137 Derry Restaurants

Custom House Restaurant

Queens Quay | BT47 7AS, Derry BT48 7AS, Northern Ireland
+44 28 7137 3366
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #32 of 137 Restaurants in Derry
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $8 - $39
Cuisines: Contemporary
Good for: Romance, Large groups, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Delivery, Late Night
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Large groups, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Delivery, Late Night
Write a Review

319 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    179
    76
    20
    23
    21
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa, Canada
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2014 NEW

This restaurant and several others were within easy walking of our hotel. We liked the menu at the Custom House and the prices were good. We were not disappointed with our choice. The service was excellent from beginning to end, and the food was truly delicious. It was well prepared and fresh, and we will go back.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Istanbul, Turkey
Top Contributor
104 reviews 104 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2014

I am a seafood person and I was sure we could find an old, authentic seafood restaurant in Derry, for the obvious reasons. I was shocked to learn that it was not the case. City Hotel recommended that we go to Custom House. And it was one of the few available options at around 9 o'clock pm. It was almost... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Mehawl J, General Manager at Custom House Restaurant, responded to this review

Dear Levent G, Thank you for your review. Firstly I’d like to apologise that you felt you had to ”fight” for a comfortable table. I can however assure you that all our tables have comfortable seating, including our “bench like” ones, which I can only assume are our intimate booths. I was most disappointed to hear that your meal was... More

Derry, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2014

didnt have a great 1st dinning experince back in 2012 but safe to say things have changed and was worth giving them a 2nd chance. service was good and food was amazing only downside was the desert menu wasnt too apealing, but maybe just wasnt the week for me who knows.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Mehawl J, General Manager at Custom House Restaurant, responded to this review

Dear lullabelle2013, Thank you for your lovely review and for giving us a chance to redeem ourselves after your 2012 visit! I am delighted to hear you enjoyed your meal in Custom House. I will certainly pass your kind comments on to the kitchen team. We are in the midst of launching our new new winter menu (including the desserts).... More

Londonderry
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2014

We ate at Custom House on Saturday night not sure what to expect as there were several conflicting messages on TripAdvisor but couldn't believe how good the service was and the standard of the meals!!! We were advised on the types of meals available, some of our party were vegetarians, and found the staff to be well informed and keen... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Mehawl J, General Manager at Custom House Restaurant, responded to this review

Dear Colin S, Thank you for your lovely review. I am delighted to hear you enjoyed your meal in Custom House. I will certainly pass your kind comments on to the kitchen team. We do hope you will get the opportunity to visit us again soon. Kind Regards, Mehawl More

Belfast, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2014

Visited her at the beginning of September with friends. Were sat promptly, lovely attentive staff - David i think was one of our servers? Lovely Lad. Our waitress, didn't catch her name - spoke at a very very low volume - (this might be an odd complaint but the two closest to her had to 'translate' to everyone everything she... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Mehawl J, Manager at Custom House Restaurant, responded to this review

Dear VintageRedHead, Thank you for your review. I am delighted to hear you enjoyed your meal in Custom House. We are very proud of our lovely building and we're thrilled that you share the same opinion. I will certainly pass your kind comments on to the kitchen team. I was most disappointed to hear that you had to wait an... More

Derry, New Hampshire
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2014

Touring Ireland and staying in Derry for the night. Our B&B recommended Browns but luckily it had stopped serving food. They recommended Custom House and we were so glad. Significant other's burger was good, but my crispy pork belly was out of this world! Beautiful decor, wonderful staff and moderately priced. A definite stop!

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Mehawl J, Manager at Custom House Restaurant, responded to this review

Dear Angela S, Thank you for your lovely review. I am delighted to hear you enjoyed your meal in Custom House. I will certainly pass your kind comments on to our chefs. We do hope you will get the opportunity to visit Ireland and us again soon. Kind Regards, Mehawl More

Derry, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2014

I always frequent back to this restaurant. The staff is always so helpful and very accommodating. No waiting around for a table either! The food is absolutely gorgeous you are always guaranteed a 5 star meal, i could never find a fault with it at all. By far the best restaurant in the city, definitely worth a try!!

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Mehawl J, Manager at Custom House Restaurant, responded to this review

Dear AnnaHarley_10, Thank you for your lovely review. I am delighted to hear you enjoyed your meal in Custom House. I will certainly pass your kind comments on to our chefs. We do hope you will get the opportunity to visit us again soon. Kind Regards, Mehawl More

Derry, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2014

Took my father in for his 80th birthday and was greeted by a lovely waitress, very chatty and welcoming, who took us upstairs to a nice table by the window. The menu had a great selection to cater for all especially my father who is a picky eater. The food was beautifully presented and not one piece of food was... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Mehawl J, Manager at Custom House Restaurant, responded to this review

Dear seanie16, Thank you for your lovely review. I am delighted to hear you enjoyed your meal in Custom House. I will certainly pass your kind comments on to the restaurant and kitchen teams. We hope you and your father will get the opportunity to visit us again soon. Kind Regards, Mehawl More

County Londonderry, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2014

I was at this place for a dinner as part of a meeting the venue itself was quite pleasant however that was quickly diminished by the tasteless food coupled with awful service. tTe meal was to begin around 8pm many of the dinners waitied more than 20 mins on their starters some had finished and others had not been served;... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Mehawl J, Manager at Custom House Restaurant, responded to this review

Dear food f, We were most upset and disappointed to hear that Custom House did not live up to your expectations. I would appreciate you getting back to me with the date and booking name when you visited. I sincerely apologise about the speed of our service and that your meal fell short of our normal standards. Although we realise... More

London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
395 reviews 395 reviews
119 restaurant reviews
164 helpful votes 164 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2014

We were in Derry for the night and after researching online for a good place to eat, we settled on the Custom House Restaurant. We tried to make a booking, however were told booking reservations were full and it would be better to simply show up when we wanted a table but to be prepared to wait. We arrived at... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Mehawl J, Manager at Custom House Restaurant, responded to this review

Dear VagabondDuo, Thank you for your lovely review. I am delighted to hear you enjoyed your meal in Custom House. I will certainly pass your kind comments on to the kitchen team. I was most disappointed to hear about the length of time you had to wait for your meal. My apologies that it fell short of our normal standards.... More

Travelers who viewed Custom House Restaurant also viewed

Derry, County Londonderry
Derry, County Londonderry
 
Derry, County Londonderry
Derry, County Londonderry
 

Been to Custom House Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.

Manage your listing