We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 142 Derry Restaurants

Custom House Restaurant

Queens Quay | Custom House Street, Derry BT48 7AS, Northern Ireland
+44 28 7137 3366
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #40 of 142 Restaurants in Derry
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $6 - $35
Hours:
Sun 3:00 pm - 9:00 pm
Mon - Thu 5:30 pm - 9:30 pm
Mon - Sat 12:00 pm - 3:00 pm
Fri - Sat 5:30 pm - 10:00 pm
Cuisines: Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Large groups, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Delivery, Late Night
Write a Review

345 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    187
    81
    23
    29
    25
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Covington, Kentucky
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2015 NEW

I opted for a dinner at the Custom House, taking advantage of their "early bird menu" (1 course for 13.99 pounds, 2 for 16.99, 3 for 19.99), which runs from 5p-7p. Outstanding - service, food, atmosphere, everything.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Milford, Ireland
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2015 NEW

Had lunch here today 28th of January. Have to say best lunch I have had in a long time. I don't often write reviews on trip adviser but it was that good I am still in the restaurant writing it couldn't help myself. If you what a well priced delicious lunch then look no further. If I could give it... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Derry, Northern Ireland
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
102 helpful votes 102 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2015

Eleven of us were booked in last week for lunch in what used to be the 'library' and is now a private dining room. We knew the restaurant had been refurbished since our last visit. Because of the atrocious weather we had to cancel and I was most impressed with Mathew who had walked two miles to get into work.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
st johnston
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2015

Went to custom house on saturday night last for a birthday dinner.Waited at least 45 for a bread starter.Then a further hour ( after asking what was taking so long) for our main which came cold.2 of us sent our dinners back while the other ate their cold food because we had waited so long.No explanation as to why our... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Rachael H, Public Relations Manager at Custom House Restaurant, responded to this review

Dear Tradoc, Thank you for your review. We were most disappointed to hear about your recent visit to Custom House. Firstly I would like to sincerely apologise about the length of time it took for both courses to arrive. Quite frankly I’m embarrassed that your bread starter took 45 minutes; under no circumstance should that order take so long- I... More 

Derry, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2015

Four of us were in custom house at the weekend for a meal and we did not have a good experience at all. We had to wait ages on our food and when it arrived it left a lot to be desired. We were there in October a few times when it was very good, and a couple of times... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 5
Rachael H, Public Relations Manager at Custom House Restaurant, responded to this review

Dear Mirdoh1054, Thank you for your review. We were most disappointed to hear about your recent visit to Custom House. I would like to sincerely apologise about the length of time it took for your meal to arrive. I would appreciate it if you could contact me personally on info@customhouserestaurant.com with the date, time and booking name of your party.... More 

County Londonderry, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2015

Me and my friend visited this restaurant on the 08/01/15 for a catch up. We previously visited this resturant in 2011.. However on the date above we ordered from the lunch menu and it was terrible. We ordered the chicken penne pasta and it was done in tomato sauce with peas. It was clearly a mish mash of food put... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 7
Mehawl J, General Manager at Custom House Restaurant, responded to this review

Dear Catherine K, Thank you for your review. We were most upset and disappointed that you didn't enjoy your experience at Custom House. Firstly I’d like to assure you that only the finest, fresh local produce go into our dishes. We have a very experienced team of chefs who take pride in the dishes they create. It’s always nice to... More 

Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2015

Had Sunday lunch here and was impressed. Menu had good variety, was well priced and the food was great. Staff were very pleasant and service quick and efficient. Would go back.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Mehawl J, General Manager at Custom House Restaurant, responded to this review

Dear BYAD2, Thank you for your review. We are delighted to hear you enjoyed your meal in Custom House. I will be sure to pass your kind comments onto our kitchen and restaurant teams. We hope to you see again soon. Kindest Regards, Mehawl More 

north west
Top Contributor
150 reviews 150 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2015

We had a very enjoyable meal hear over the Xmas period. It was busy and there was a nice atmosphere. The menu is not too exciting but both our dinners, a curry and a chicken dish, were decent. I has a calamari starter which was delicious. Service was friendly and fast. I thought it was good value.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Mehawl J, General Manager at Custom House Restaurant, responded to this review

Dear NorthWestLulu, Thank you for your review. We are delighted to hear you enjoyed your meal in Custom House. We hope to you see again soon. Kindest Regards, Mehawl More 

Downpatrick, United Kingdom
2 reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2015

We visited the Custom House recently on recommendations from some friends, alarm bells should have sounded when our party of ten could be catered for at short notice on a busy Friday evening. The evening didn't get off to a good start when the taxi driver told us he had been there for a celebration dinner and it was nothing... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 6
Mehawl J, General Manager at Custom House Restaurant, responded to this review

Dear Brianrr2013, Thank you for your review. We are most upset to hear that you were disappointed with your visit to Custom House. Firstly I would like to apologise for your table not being ready upon your arrival and for the delay with your drink order. I would also like to sincerely apologise with the in consistency with your meals... More 

Belfast, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2015 via mobile

As a table of six we booked in advance but upon arrival the host stopped us at the door and said the table was not ready, pointing us into the bar for a drink. As there were no seats available we had to huddle near the bar while the waiters made slow attempts to take orders - it wasn't a... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Mehawl J, General Manager at Custom House Restaurant, responded to this review

Dear Pink P, Thank you for your review. We are most upset to hear that you were disappointed with your visit to Custom House. Firstly I would like to apologise that your table wasn't ready and for the tardiness of our bar staff downstairs. I’d also like to apologise that you received courgettes with your meal instead of aubergines- sometimes... More 

Travelers who viewed Custom House Restaurant also viewed

Derry, County Londonderry
Derry, County Londonderry
 
Derry, County Londonderry
Derry, County Londonderry
 

Been to Custom House Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Custom House Restaurant

Address: Queens Quay | Custom House Street, Derry BT48 7AS, Northern Ireland
Phone Number: +44 28 7137 3366
Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  Northern Ireland  >  County Londonderry  >  Derry
Open Hours:
Sunday 3:00 pm - 9:00 pm
Monday 5:30 pm - 9:30 pm  12:00 pm - 3:00 pm
Tuesday 5:30 pm - 9:30 pm  12:00 pm - 3:00 pm
Wednesday 5:30 pm - 9:30 pm  12:00 pm - 3:00 pm
Thursday 5:30 pm - 9:30 pm  12:00 pm - 3:00 pm
Friday 12:00 pm - 3:00 pm  5:30 pm - 10:00 pm
Saturday 12:00 pm - 3:00 pm  5:30 pm - 10:00 pm
Average Prices: USD 6 - 35
Cuisine: Contemporary

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.

Manage your listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Custom House Restaurant staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?