We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Belfray Country Inn

171 Glenshane Road | Drumahoe, Derry BT47 3EN, Northern Ireland
02871-301480
Website
Update restaurant details
Ranked #13 of 134 restaurants in Derry
Certificate of Excellence 2013
Cuisines: Diner
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
17 visitor photos
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Write a Review

134 reviews from our community

83% Recommend
    100
    13
    6
    8
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2014 NEW

Was at a wedding on Thursday 17th I was totally amazed the food was class the staff were lovely and the owner was outstanding so friendly such a beautiful place to be will be there again x

Was this review helpful? Yes
belfray, General Manager at The Belfray Country Inn, responded to this review

Dear Sharon K Thank you for your review and your kind comments. Weddings are important to us and we do try and make them as special as possible and indeed hopefully we will see you again. With best regards Rodney More

Antrim, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2014 NEW

Really enjoyable carvery, everything was perfect from food to service. Would highly recommend The Belfray.

Was this review helpful? Yes
belfray, General Manager at The Belfray Country Inn, responded to this review

Dear Carol R Many thanks for taking the time to review you dining experience with us and glad that you enjoyed both food and service. We look forward to welcoming you back. With best regards Rodney More

Belfast
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2014

From the moment I walked into reception the welcome I received was the start of this brilliant experience. Once seated everything was like clockwork. These members of staff are obviously trained very well. The menu is vast, which for me can be a little disconcerting, however I was not too worry. The table had a variety of starters and mains... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
belfray, General Manager at The Belfray Country Inn, responded to this review

Dear Cherryville Thank you for your kind comments and glad to hear that you enjoyed your brilliant experience with us. All of our team are passionate about good customer service and enjoy delivering the Belfray Experience to all of our guests. Cleanliness is also key for us as first impression last. I will pass on your kind comments to all... More

strabane
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2014

Booked sunday carvery lunch in the ballroom. Welcomed and shown to our table by Geraldine ,her lovely friendly and professional manner gave the immediate impression that this was a well run restaurant. Real live background music was provided by a male singer ,which was a really lovely touch and made it a little bit special. Staff call button placed on... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
belfray, General Manager at The Belfray Country Inn, responded to this review

Dear Strabane Thank you for taking the time to write such a detailed review on your recent dining experience on Sunday in our Ballroom. Reading your review it is nice to see that we have delivered in all areas from your arrival to food to entertainment and to service. Our staff are our greatest asset, they genuinely and passionately care... More

Derry, United Kingdom
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2014

We have just returned after having the Sunday carvery at the Belfray Country Inn, and I must say that it was a fantastic experience. We were made feel so welcome and our every need was catered for promptly by Marty who waited at our table. We had two very young children with us and Marty was so kind and generous... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
belfray, General Manager at The Belfray Country Inn, responded to this review

Dear Claire M It is pleasing to hear that you and your family enjoyed our Sunday carvery and thank you for your kind comments on you experience and the welcome you all received. Our experienced staff are on hand to help especially when families are dining with young children as this can often be stressful. I will pass on your... More

Derry, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2014

We took my Mother out for a meal to The Belfray Country Inn for Mother's Day on 30th March 2014.We were seated in the Ballroom which looked lovely.The food was excellent as usual with lots of choice and all the courses were served at the Table. Our Waiter John was very pleasant and helpful.All the Mothers received a lovely primrose... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
belfray, General Manager at The Belfray Country Inn, responded to this review

Dear coco14186482 Thank you for taking the time to review your dining experience in our Ballroom on Mothers Day. I am pleased to hear that you all enjoyed our food offering and the service received from John. I will pass on your kind comments to the whole team. With best regards Rodney More

Belfast, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2014 via mobile

I have been to the Belfray for a few meals now and have never been disappointed. Today we celebrated Mother's Day an obviously very busy time . The restaurant was full and despite the busy day they service was excellent . Everyone enjoyed their three course meal...the food could not be faulted. highly recommended for traditional food and a friendly... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
belfray, General Manager at The Belfray Country Inn, responded to this review

Dear pinkythecat Thank you for your wonderful title which is what we strive for. Mothers day was exceptionally busy day for us and it's pleasing to her that we have kept up our standards in both food quality and service. I will let the team know about your kind comments. With best regards Rodney More

Belfast, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2014

Service was a tad lacklustre considering amount of staff on duty. Mind you there was a big wedding on that did not interfere with the bistro. Wedding wing somewhat bling but better than last visit sometime ago. Someway to go yet.

Was this review helpful? Yes
belfray, General Manager at The Belfray Country Inn, responded to this review

Dear Carnalbanagh Thank you for taking the time to review our Bistro. Firstly i am glad that you enjoyed our seafood chowder. Our food and beverage staff are professional in there service and in your review you state that whilst there was a wedding on it did not interfere with service in the Bistro, so i don't understand how service... More

Cardiff, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2014

We visited here on the 9th of March, there was 17 of us for Sunday lunch, the food was lovely with starters, roast dinner and pudding. However my problem was with the staff, the women waitress was extremely rude, she treated the table like a miserable school mistress saying "who ordered the cheesecake, well someone swear word did", with 17... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
belfray, General Manager at The Belfray Country Inn, responded to this review

Dear Amylou686 Thank you for taking the time to post a review on your dining experience with us. Customer service is paramount to us as you can read from previous reviews, that's why I am concerned with your comments on what was said to your party. All of our staff wear name badges and it's a pity that you did... More

Dungiven, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2014

We had a family meal for our daughter's Confirmation in the Belfray yesterday. There were twenty people in our party and everyone agreed that not only was their meal excellent, but the level of attention and customer care exhibited by Geraldine and her staff was of the highest order. The chef must be complimented on the way the food was... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
belfray, General Manager at The Belfray Country Inn, responded to this review

Dear CathyT0705 I am glad to hear that you are a regular at the Belfray Country Inn and that you choose us to have your daughters confirmation meal with us. I will certainly pass on your comments to our Head Chef and his team and also to Geraldine and her team. Customer service along with good food is important to... More

Travelers who viewed The Belfray Country Inn also viewed

Derry, County Londonderry
Derry, County Londonderry
 
Derry, County Londonderry
Derry, County Londonderry
 

Been to The Belfray Country Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Belfray Country Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Manage your listing