We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Percy French

$$
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
Downs Road, Newcastle, Northern Ireland
02843723175
Improve this listing
Add hours for Percy French and help diners know when to go.
+ Add hours
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Late Night, Free Wifi, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff
Good for: Families with children
Description: Situated in the grounds of the luxurious Slieve Donard Resort & Spa,...
Situated in the grounds of the luxurious Slieve Donard Resort & Spa, the Perch French is the perfect place to relax with a drink and enjoy the finest of local produce, cooked to perfection.
read more

TripAdvisor Reviewer Highlights

Read all 444 reviews
Visitor rating
  • 163
    Excellent
  • 104
    Very good
  • 72
    Average
  • 59
    Poor
  • 46
    Terrible
Rating summary
  • Food
    3.5 of 5 stars
    Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
    Atmosphere
    3.5 of 5 stars
Very good

Very nice homely style restaurant. Perhaps not the cheapest in Newcastle however. Very disappointed to first order the chocolate dessert and then to be told there was none left, should have been told this beforehand.

4 of 5 starsReviewed yesterday
Burd13
,
Belfast, United Kingdom
Add Photo Write a Review

444 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
60 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

Very nice homely style restaurant. Perhaps not the cheapest in Newcastle however. Very disappointed to first order the chocolate dessert and then to be told there was none left, should have been told this beforehand.

Helpful?
Thank Burd13
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Called in with my wife for a Saturday lunch without kids. My wife ordered the chowder which was so hot it burned the roof of her mouth and blistered, in all it tasted like canned soup with some salmon in it. I had a fish & chips which was small and greasy. Found the premises looked grubby, door to the... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank 655slider
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Got two nights dinner here included in the slieve donard hotel package. The food was a real let down. It was so bad that even though the second nights meal was already paid for we chose to go elsewhere and pay for our dinner. The food in JD weatherspoons would be better and it's frozen! Lower your expectation people. Though... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Tommy K
Newry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Very disappointed. We were a group of four, 3 had starters, 2 Ballybrie wedges that were good and 1 selection of Deli breads ,not good, breads tasted stale although Tapenade was lovely. 2 of our group had Chicken stir fry, plenty of chicken but both said it was tasteless, 1 had the 10oz steak, she was sooo disappointed at the... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank elaine k
Kilkeel, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Lovely decor, friendly and helpful staff and good food. Good variety of foods, both local and other. Service was slightly slow, but that may have been due to us being a large group on a Saturday night.

Helpful?
Thank rebekah_shan
N. Ireland
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We were staying at the hotel and had purchased a groupon voucher for 3 courses for 2 people though after reading reviews didn't have high expectations. However we were both pleasantly surprised and both enjoyed every part of our meal. I had the daube of beef with was beautiful. Staff were professional yet friendly and overall service was good. I... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Chrissy220786
Belfast
Level Contributor
23 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We called in for light bite and the portions were massive! We didn't complain , the service was excellent and the staff very attentive!

Helpful?
1 Thank ClaireLRatican
Northern ireland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Had a beautiful 3 course meal last night. All 3 dishes were lovely. Very satisfied. Will defo be back !

Helpful?
1 Thank Jaywells7
Stephen_Meldrum_GM, Manager at Percy French, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to post a review regarding your dining experience at the Percy French Inn. It means a lot when people take the time to do this and I know our team here at Percy French will enjoy this positive feedback. I look forward to welcoming you back to the Percy French Restaurant at... More 

Lisburn, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Just left this restaurant and won't be rushing back. £66.20 for two courses each and two drinks (2 diners) The food was at best average, at worst barely a step above fast food. The starters.... crab cakes, barely tasted of crab, and the deep fried brie was overdone. The mains.... How can you make burger and chips badly, just ask... More 

Helpful?
Thank irishbear65
Stephen_Meldrum_GM, Manager at Percy French, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for posting a review of your recent visit to the Percy French Restaurant. I thank you for your feedback though I am rather surprised reading this review. I accept that you were not happy with the quality of your first burger however as you stated it was replaced immediately, and when checked you said you were... More 

Lisburn, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

My boyfriend booked us into a two night stay at the slieve donard hotel as a package that included dinner on both nights. However, when we arrived we realised dinner was not in the hotel's restaurant, it was in Percy French which was at the the bottom of the hotel driveway. We didn't mind at all though and were looking... More 

Helpful?
Thank Rosie G
Stephen_Meldrum_GM, General Manager at Percy French, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for posting a review of your recent visit to the Percy French Restaurant. I thank you for your feedback. Our dinner inclusive menu is quite extensive in that it offers our guests a variety of options, catering for all tastes. Not sure what menu you recieved as we do not serve massala. I look forward to... More 

Travelers who viewed Percy French also viewed

Newcastle, County Down
Newcastle, County Down
 
Newcastle, County Down
 

Been to Percy French? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Location and Contact Information

  • Address: Downs Road, Newcastle, Northern Ireland
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  Northern Ireland  >  County Down  >  Newcastle
  • Phone Number: 02843723175

Price and Cuisine

  • Average Prices: USD 8 - 33
  • Cuisine: British

Restaurant Characteristics

  • Good for: Families with children

Description

Situated in the grounds of the luxurious Slieve Donard Resort & Spa, the Perch French is the perfect place to relax with a drink and enjoy the finest of local produce, cooked to perfection.

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Percy French staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?