We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

House of Zen

Certificate of Excellence
$$
Chinese, Asian, Contemporary, Fusion
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
3 St Annes Square | St Anne's Square, Belfast BT1 2LR, Northern Ireland
+44 28 9027 8688
Website
Improve this listing
Today
12:00 pm - 3:00 pm
5:00 pm - 11:30 pm
Open now
See all hours
Hours:
Sun 1:30 pm - 10:30 pm
Mon - Fri 12:00 pm - 3:00 pm
5:00 pm - 11:30 pm
Sat 1:00 pm - 12:00 pm
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Good for: Business meetings
Description: Cocooned in the Heart of the Cathedral Quarter is the newest addition to...
Cocooned in the Heart of the Cathedral Quarter is the newest addition to the Zen Restaurant Group, the Cool and Elegant House of Zen.

The House of Zen blends a little bit of The Orient into the Traditional cobbled streets and cosy bars of the Cathedral Quarter in Belfast.
read more

TripAdvisor Reviewer Highlights

Read all 354 reviews
Visitor rating
  • 186
    Excellent
  • 88
    Very good
  • 43
    Average
  • 22
    Poor
  • 15
    Terrible
Rating summary
  • Food
    4.5 of 5 stars
    Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
    Atmosphere
    4.5 of 5 stars
Great restaurant

I have eaten here on several occasions and I have never had a had a bad meal. I arrived in a party of 18 last week and once again I was not disappointed. We opted for the set menu which was excellent value for money. The food was good if a little slow at arriving and some people were half... read more

4 of 5 starsReviewed 3 days ago
Vvmm37
via mobile
Add Photo Write a Review

354 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
co. down
Level Contributor
96 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Had dinner here recently as one of a party of twenty-five people. I feel that it was just okay. There is an extensive menu - maybe too much choice to be honest. In the end I had duck for starters which was lovely and then lamb for mains which was fine. The lamb came in a separate dish which was... More 

Helpful?
Thank awardnominee
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW via mobile

I have eaten here on several occasions and I have never had a had a bad meal. I arrived in a party of 18 last week and once again I was not disappointed. We opted for the set menu which was excellent value for money. The food was good if a little slow at arriving and some people were half... More 

Helpful?
Thank Vvmm37
belfast
Level Contributor
29 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

The food and buzz about this restaurant is excellent The staff are very attentive and welcoming. We got stuck in traffic and rang ahead to let them know we were running a bit late. When we arrived we were seated promptly For starters we got the half duck with pancakes and hoisin sauce, simply delicious I loved our mains also... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank mlv_belfast
Level Contributor
58 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Great decoration and atmosphere. Suitable for a romantic dinner. A little disappointed with the authenticity of the food. Had the "mad crab" which is a teppanyaki dish with 3 king prawns , 3 fresh scallops and 3 extremely minuscule crab claw coated with curry - not recommended In contrast the "sumo sister" mock tail was very tasty. Overall, was a... More 

Helpful?
Thank Darren Y
Chu C, Front Office Manager at House of Zen, responded to this review

Sorry to hear your disappointed experience, but unfortunately this is House of Zen TripAdvisor page, what I am guess is your experience should be happened at Zen, Adelaide Street, this is because in House of Zen we don't do Teppanyaki dish, hope you can understand, thank you !! More 

Olhos de Agua, Portugal
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

I was here a week ago with my girlfriend, and this is the third visit in recent times - the other two occasions being with friends. And, yet again, it didn't disappoint! We started with a quarter of crispy duck complete with the pancakes, spring onions/scallions, cucumber and hoisin sauce, and it was delicious! My only gripe would be more... More 

Helpful?
Thank LocalFella
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Went here with my girlfriend.The food was excellent. Would have scored 5 out of 5 and been really pleased to have found somewhere new that we would have enjoyed returning to, but felt it was overpriced. Starters were pretty normal price at around £6 but a beef curry or a chicken and black bean were £12.30 and then £2.70 for... More 

Helpful?
Thank David M
Erskine, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

14 of us all went over from Scotland to surprise my wife who was celebrating a big birthday. After finding this restaurant on Google i wanted to book it. From this moment to sitting down for meal I kept in contact with Irene who worked in the restaurant. Great communication between both of us was ongoing for months trying to... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Phil S
N. Ireland
Level Contributor
199 reviews
116 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Four of us enjoyed a long xmas lunch. Chose the a la carte menu as the xmas menu was taking the pee price wise. Why do these places exploit people at xmas by denying the normal 'business lunch menu'. Our table had soup, ribs, duck and the signature starter. All fabulous. Mains were prawn in black bean, chicken curry, sweet... More 

Helpful?
Thank Beckinhill
Chu C, Public Relations Manager at House of Zen, responded to this review

Thanks so much for taking the time to write a review and we are very sorry you didn't enjoy our seasonal menu at your last visit. We are delighted you enjoyed your food and we look forward to welcoming you back again soon. Thanks More 

Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2016

We randomly visited this restaurant on the evening of January 1st and I have to say, enjoyed a meal of high quality with service and decor to match. If you are in the Cathedral Quarter and are looking for a Chinese restaurant that is above the norm, this is it.

Helpful?
1 Thank Ebh1
Chu C, Public Relations Manager at House of Zen, responded to this review

Good Afternoon Ebh1 Thanks so much for the five star review ! Means so much to us Delighted you enjoyed your visit and love the decor - We love it to!! We work hard to ensure our customers enjoy their experience at HOZ and we are very happy that you love our restaurant! We hope to welcome you again soon... More 

Belfast, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2016 via mobile

Love the leather blue seats, the Chinese decor, the friendly staff and of course the amazing food. I tried the honey chilli chicken with fried rice and chips, it was very nice. The chicken screwer starter is also fantastic and the fried chicken strip starter. The lunch deal of £9.99 is great value for money, any starter and any main... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Mark S
Chu C, Public Relations Manager at House of Zen, responded to this review

Good Afternoon Mark Thanks so much for taking the time to write such a lovely review! We are delighted that you enjoyed your meal and we really do value your custom. So glad to hear that will be returning and that we are the best in Belfast !! This really means a lot to all the team at HOZ !... More 

Travelers who viewed House of Zen also viewed

Belfast, Northern Ireland
Belfast, Northern Ireland
 
Belfast, Northern Ireland
Belfast, Northern Ireland
 

Been to House of Zen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Location and Contact Information

  • Address: 3 St Annes Square | St Anne's Square, Belfast BT1 2LR, Northern Ireland
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  Northern Ireland  >  Belfast
  • Phone Number: +44 28 9027 8688

Price and Cuisine

  • Average Prices: USD 7 - 36
  • Cuisine: Chinese, Asian, Contemporary, Fusion

Restaurant Characteristics

  • Good for: Business meetings

Description

Cocooned in the Heart of the Cathedral Quarter is the newest addition to the Zen Restaurant Group, the Cool and Elegant House of Zen.

The House of Zen blends a little bit of The Orient into the Traditional cobbled streets and cosy bars of the Cathedral Quarter in Belfast.
Open Hours
Sunday
1:30 pm - 10:30 pm
Monday
12:00 pm - 3:00 pm
5:00 pm - 11:30 pm
Tuesday
12:00 pm - 3:00 pm
5:00 pm - 11:30 pm
Wednesday
12:00 pm - 3:00 pm
5:00 pm - 11:30 pm
Thursday
12:00 pm - 3:00 pm
5:00 pm - 11:30 pm
Friday
12:00 pm - 3:00 pm
5:00 pm - 11:30 pm
Saturday
1:00 pm - 12:00 pm

Questions & Answers

Here's what previous visitors have asked, with answers from representatives of House of Zen and other visitors
2 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from House of Zen staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?