We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Improve this listing
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Your filters are still active.
There are no pins in your viewport. Try moving the map or changing your filters.
Get directions
516 Upper Newtownards Road, Belfast BT4 3HB, Northern Ireland
+44 28 9047 1774
Website
Today
8:30 am - 4:00 pm
Closed now
See all hours
Hours:
Sun 11:00 am - 3:00 pm
Mon - Fri 8:30 am - 5:00 pm
Sat 8:30 am - 4:00 pm
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Brunch, Reservations

TripAdvisor Reviewer Highlights

Read all 56 reviews
Visitor rating
  • 14
    Excellent
  • 11
    Very good
  • 10
    Average
  • 11
    Poor
  • 10
    Terrible
Rating summary
  • Food
    3 of 5 stars
    Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
    Atmosphere
    3 of 5 stars
Old Fashioned Teashop

Despite the fact the interior is very ordinary as is the service this place is very popular particularly among the older generation. The food is plain but you can buy Bell's tea and coffee in the shop at the entrance to the cafe. It will face competition from the recently opened General Merchant... read more

3 of 5 starsReviewed July 8, 2015
Jim S
,
Belfast, United Kingdom
Add Photo Write a Review

56 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Rate and write a review
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2015

Despite the fact the interior is very ordinary as is the service this place is very popular particularly among the older generation. The food is plain but you can buy Bell's tea and coffee in the shop at the entrance to the cafe. It will face competition from the recently opened General Merchant bistros nearby.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Level Contributor
22 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2015

As I have said in other reviews, I normally prefer to go to venues where a glass of red is available.... However, I just love this place and would commend the staff/management wholeheartedly!! I've told many friends that there's an almost continental ambience.... (Apart, maybe, from the lack of wine....) to this place.... I have always found the staff to... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
59 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2015

This is a very long established business which has always been a bit behind the times from a decor and ambience point of view. It recently underwent a big refurbishment but the basic layout remains much as it has been for a long time. Staff are friendly but the fare is mediocre. Prices are average for the area. Whilst it... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
RBell1887, Owner at SD Bell, responded to this review

Dear Mr C. Thank you for your review. You are absolutely correct in your assertion that we did not try to change the ambience of our business while renovating in 2014. That strategy was in accordance with the strongly expressed view of our large and loyal customer base, who continue to support us in large numbers. In particular, the layout... More 

Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2015

We are regular customers at SD Bells, but never visited on a Sunday, decided to give it a try this Sunday. Really was quite shocked at how they could increase the normal prices. We only wanted a scone and coffee and at £6.50 just couldn't justify it! If you're going to have music then charge an entrance fee! Don't load... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
RBell1887, Owner at SD Bell, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. I am sorry that you felt that you were not getting good value for money. Live music is expensive. If we were to charge separately for the music, we would be charging a lot more. Many performers that we source for lunchtime gigs command a ticket price of £10 or more. While I appreciate your... More 

Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2015

First time here for breakfast, our food order was short and when we mentioned to the waitress she said REALLY then walked away, my coffee tasted sour, obvious shortage of trained staff and the till operators cap was filthy. Will not be back.

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
RBell1887, Owner at SD Bell, responded to this review

I apologise that I only saw this review today, not having had a notification of it. I take criticisms such as these very seriously. Was your visit on 10 May? Did you recall the name of the waitress? They all should be wearing name badges. I would welcome a change to meet with you, offer you another breakfast and a... More 

Belfast, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2015

I regularly attend SD Bells to hear the Jazz music on a Sunday. The counter staff are very friendly. The coffee and tea are great, the food is average. It isn't really about the food though. The music is what makes a trip worthwhile. I always book a table in advance because it is very popular. I was very disappointed... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
RBell1887, Owner at SD Bell, responded to this review

Dear Customer, I was genuinely sorry to read your review. I do recall speaking to you on Sunday, and moving you to be nearer to the music. We were, as you know, very busy, and I thought bringing you to a ringside seat without delay would suit, as you were more interested in the music than the people who were... More 

Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2015

What a night!!! ,fish supper Birdeye could do better(fish 10% batter90%) one of the fish suppers was half cooked. The Buddy Holly night should have been renamed the 50's 60's and 70's as most of the music was from that time

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
RBell1887, Owner at SD Bell, responded to this review

Dear Sir, I am sorry to hear you did not enjoy your fish supper. We have since changed our supplier. I was surprised to read you didn't like the music. Of course a night of pure Buddy Holly in the style of Buddy Holly would be to few peoples' tastes. Mr Taylor was at pains to explain between every song,... More 

Comber, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2015

Most enjoyable atmosphere with very friendly and accommodating staff. The extension has been a great improvement and the live Jazz music adds a touch of class. A must place to visit if you are in the area.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
RBell1887, Owner at SD Bell, responded to this review

Hi, thanks for coming, yes, I think it was a great gig, and Im glad you enjoyed it! Thanks. Robert More 

Lisburn, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
49 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2015 via mobile

I reserved a table for my visit to Bell's today and I'm glad I did. I knew music was arranged to commence about 12.30 so I reserved my table for 11.00 ( opening time ) I was made to feel very welcome by the lovely staff on duty. One chap was very pleasant and I believe he is called William.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
RBell1887, Owner at SD Bell, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We welcome all criticisms, whether positive or negative. I'm glad you enjoyed the lunch, and the live gig. Look forward to seeing you here again. Kind regards, RB More 

N Ireland
Level Contributor
46 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2015

Great evening at SD Bells coffee shop at Knock. The food was great and the music a great backdrop to a wonderful evening. Loved it all and will be back. The Linley Hamilton quartet was brilliant especially drummer David Lyttle. Waitresses efficient and pleasant, toilet clean and sparkling and everything contributed to a lovely evening treat! Thanks.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
RBell1887, Owner at SD Bell, responded to this review

Thanks for your review. We appreciate all criticism, whether positive or negative. Please keep checking our website for more jazz & blues gigs. BR RB. More 

Travelers who viewed SD Bell also viewed

Belfast, Northern Ireland
Belfast, Northern Ireland
 
Belfast, Northern Ireland
Dundonald, County Down
 

Been to SD Bell? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SD Bell

Address: 516 Upper Newtownards Road, Belfast BT4 3HB, Northern Ireland
Phone Number: +44 28 9047 1774
Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  Northern Ireland  >  Belfast
Open Hours:
Sunday 11:00 am - 3:00 pm
Monday 8:30 am - 5:00 pm
Tuesday 8:30 am - 5:00 pm
Wednesday 8:30 am - 5:00 pm
Thursday 8:30 am - 5:00 pm
Friday 8:30 am - 5:00 pm
Saturday 8:30 am - 4:00 pm
Average Prices: USD 19
Cuisine: Irish

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.

Manage your listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Location and Contact Information

  • Address: 516 Upper Newtownards Road, Belfast BT4 3HB, Northern Ireland
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  Northern Ireland  >  Belfast
  • Phone Number: +44 28 9047 1774

Price and Cuisine

  • Average Prices: USD 19
  • Cuisine: Irish
Open Hours
Sunday
11:00 am - 3:00 pm
Monday
8:30 am - 5:00 pm
Tuesday
8:30 am - 5:00 pm
Wednesday
8:30 am - 5:00 pm
Thursday
8:30 am - 5:00 pm
Friday
8:30 am - 5:00 pm
Saturday
8:30 am - 4:00 pm

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from SD Bell staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?