We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
516 Upper Newtownards Road, Belfast BT4 3HB, Northern Ireland
+44 28 9047 1774
Website
Improve this listing
Today
8:30 am - 5:00 pm
Open now
See all hours
Hours:
Sun 11:00 am - 3:00 pm
Mon - Fri 8:30 am - 5:00 pm
Sat 8:30 am - 4:00 pm
Dining options: Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Reservations

TripAdvisor Reviewer Highlights

Read all 60 reviews
Visitor rating
  • 14
    Excellent
  • 14
    Very good
  • 10
    Average
  • 11
    Poor
  • 11
    Terrible
Rating summary
  • Food
    3 of 5 stars
    Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
    Atmosphere
    3 of 5 stars
Old Fashioned Teashop

Despite the fact the interior is very ordinary as is the service this place is very popular particularly among the older generation. The food is plain but you can buy Bell's tea and coffee in the shop at the entrance to the cafe. It will face competition from the recently opened General Merchant... read more

3 of 5 starsReviewed July 8, 2015
Jim S
,
Belfast, United Kingdom
Add Photo Write a Review

60 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Rate and write a review
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2015

Such a nice place on the outside, the shop looked nice too. Walked inside and it was a trial trying to find a table that wasn't covered in used cups and plates. The system of ordering was not clear either; you order then sit. The fry looked like it was directly from a Bain Marie, (the speed it was thrown... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Belfast
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2015

Visited here today. Really nice tea and coffee, lots of choice. Food great too. Ice cream for kids :) Reasonably priced. Nice decor, clean and relaxed atmosphere, wee bit of background music would be nice. Staff friendly and knowledgeable about tea and coffee selection.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2015

I called in for coffee and breakfast at 8.30am. I had tried to visit before however they weren't open during the times Google said they would be on a Sunday. On the website it does state that during July/August Sunday times are different but it would be helpful to know when they are open during the summer months on a... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2015

Everything's in order at SD Bell's spacious eaterie - you feel welcome, you are served efficiently, the environment's relaxing, and what meals they do (nothing fancy, not trying to be trendy), they do well and for a reasonable price.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2015

Despite the fact the interior is very ordinary as is the service this place is very popular particularly among the older generation. The food is plain but you can buy Bell's tea and coffee in the shop at the entrance to the cafe. It will face competition from the recently opened General Merchant bistros nearby.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Level Contributor
22 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2015

As I have said in other reviews, I normally prefer to go to venues where a glass of red is available.... However, I just love this place and would commend the staff/management wholeheartedly!! I've told many friends that there's an almost continental ambience.... (Apart, maybe, from the lack of wine....) to this place.... I have always found the staff to... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
62 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2015

This is a very long established business which has always been a bit behind the times from a decor and ambience point of view. It recently underwent a big refurbishment but the basic layout remains much as it has been for a long time. Staff are friendly but the fare is mediocre. Prices are average for the area. Whilst it... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
RBell1887, Owner at SD Bell, responded to this review

Dear Mr C. Thank you for your review. You are absolutely correct in your assertion that we did not try to change the ambience of our business while renovating in 2014. That strategy was in accordance with the strongly expressed view of our large and loyal customer base, who continue to support us in large numbers. In particular, the layout... More 

Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2015

We are regular customers at SD Bells, but never visited on a Sunday, decided to give it a try this Sunday. Really was quite shocked at how they could increase the normal prices. We only wanted a scone and coffee and at £6.50 just couldn't justify it! If you're going to have music then charge an entrance fee! Don't load... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
RBell1887, Owner at SD Bell, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. I am sorry that you felt that you were not getting good value for money. Live music is expensive. If we were to charge separately for the music, we would be charging a lot more. Many performers that we source for lunchtime gigs command a ticket price of £10 or more. While I appreciate your... More 

Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2015

First time here for breakfast, our food order was short and when we mentioned to the waitress she said REALLY then walked away, my coffee tasted sour, obvious shortage of trained staff and the till operators cap was filthy. Will not be back.

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
RBell1887, Owner at SD Bell, responded to this review

I apologise that I only saw this review today, not having had a notification of it. I take criticisms such as these very seriously. Was your visit on 10 May? Did you recall the name of the waitress? They all should be wearing name badges. I would welcome a change to meet with you, offer you another breakfast and a... More 

Belfast, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2015

I regularly attend SD Bells to hear the Jazz music on a Sunday. The counter staff are very friendly. The coffee and tea are great, the food is average. It isn't really about the food though. The music is what makes a trip worthwhile. I always book a table in advance because it is very popular. I was very disappointed... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
RBell1887, Owner at SD Bell, responded to this review

Dear Customer, I was genuinely sorry to read your review. I do recall speaking to you on Sunday, and moving you to be nearer to the music. We were, as you know, very busy, and I thought bringing you to a ringside seat without delay would suit, as you were more interested in the music than the people who were... More 

Travelers who viewed SD Bell also viewed

Belfast, Northern Ireland
Belfast, Northern Ireland
 
Dundonald, County Down
Belfast, Northern Ireland
 

Been to SD Bell? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Location and Contact Information

  • Address: 516 Upper Newtownards Road, Belfast BT4 3HB, Northern Ireland
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  Northern Ireland  >  Belfast
  • Phone Number: +44 28 9047 1774

Price and Cuisine

  • Average Prices: USD 18
  • Cuisine: Irish
Open Hours
Sunday
11:00 am - 3:00 pm
Monday
8:30 am - 5:00 pm
Tuesday
8:30 am - 5:00 pm
Wednesday
8:30 am - 5:00 pm
Thursday
8:30 am - 5:00 pm
Friday
8:30 am - 5:00 pm
Saturday
8:30 am - 4:00 pm

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from SD Bell staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?