We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Improve this listing
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Your filters are still active.
There are no pins in your viewport. Try moving the map or changing your filters.
Get directions
516 Upper Newtownards Road, Belfast BT4 3HB, Northern Ireland
+44 28 9047 1774
Website
Today
8:30 am - 5:00 pm
Closed now
See all hours
Hours:
Sun 11:00 am - 3:00 pm
Mon - Fri 8:30 am - 5:00 pm
Sat 8:30 am - 4:00 pm
Dining options: Coffee & Tea, Lunch, Brunch, Breakfast, Reservations

TripAdvisor Reviewer Highlights

Read all 54 reviews
Visitor rating
  • 14
    Excellent
  • 10
    Very good
  • 9
    Average
  • 11
    Poor
  • 10
    Terrible
Rating summary
  • Food
    3 of 5 stars
    Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
    Atmosphere
    3 of 5 stars
Not a lot different

This is a very long established business which has always been a bit behind the times from a decor and ambience point of view. It recently underwent a big refurbishment but the basic layout remains much as it has been for a long time. Staff are friendly but the fare is mediocre. Prices are... read more

3 of 5 starsReviewed June 15, 2015
Alan C
,
Belfast, United Kingdom
Add Photo Write a Review

54 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
53 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2015

This is a very long established business which has always been a bit behind the times from a decor and ambience point of view. It recently underwent a big refurbishment but the basic layout remains much as it has been for a long time. Staff are friendly but the fare is mediocre. Prices are average for the area. Whilst it... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
RBell1887, Owner at SD Bell, responded to this review

Dear Mr C. Thank you for your review. You are absolutely correct in your assertion that we did not try to change the ambience of our business while renovating in 2014. That strategy was in accordance with the strongly expressed view of our large and loyal customer base, who continue to support us in large numbers. In particular, the layout... More 

Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2015

We are regular customers at SD Bells, but never visited on a Sunday, decided to give it a try this Sunday. Really was quite shocked at how they could increase the normal prices. We only wanted a scone and coffee and at £6.50 just couldn't justify it! If you're going to have music then charge an entrance fee! Don't load... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
RBell1887, Owner at SD Bell, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. I am sorry that you felt that you were not getting good value for money. Live music is expensive. If we were to charge separately for the music, we would be charging a lot more. Many performers that we source for lunchtime gigs command a ticket price of £10 or more. While I appreciate your... More 

Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2015

First time here for breakfast, our food order was short and when we mentioned to the waitress she said REALLY then walked away, my coffee tasted sour, obvious shortage of trained staff and the till operators cap was filthy. Will not be back.

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
RBell1887, Owner at SD Bell, responded to this review

I apologise that I only saw this review today, not having had a notification of it. I take criticisms such as these very seriously. Was your visit on 10 May? Did you recall the name of the waitress? They all should be wearing name badges. I would welcome a change to meet with you, offer you another breakfast and a... More 

Belfast, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2015

I regularly attend SD Bells to hear the Jazz music on a Sunday. The counter staff are very friendly. The coffee and tea are great, the food is average. It isn't really about the food though. The music is what makes a trip worthwhile. I always book a table in advance because it is very popular. I was very disappointed... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
RBell1887, Owner at SD Bell, responded to this review

Dear Customer, I was genuinely sorry to read your review. I do recall speaking to you on Sunday, and moving you to be nearer to the music. We were, as you know, very busy, and I thought bringing you to a ringside seat without delay would suit, as you were more interested in the music than the people who were... More 

Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2015

What a night!!! ,fish supper Birdeye could do better(fish 10% batter90%) one of the fish suppers was half cooked. The Buddy Holly night should have been renamed the 50's 60's and 70's as most of the music was from that time

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
RBell1887, Owner at SD Bell, responded to this review

Dear Sir, I am sorry to hear you did not enjoy your fish supper. We have since changed our supplier. I was surprised to read you didn't like the music. Of course a night of pure Buddy Holly in the style of Buddy Holly would be to few peoples' tastes. Mr Taylor was at pains to explain between every song,... More 

Comber, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2015

Most enjoyable atmosphere with very friendly and accommodating staff. The extension has been a great improvement and the live Jazz music adds a touch of class. A must place to visit if you are in the area.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
RBell1887, Owner at SD Bell, responded to this review

Hi, thanks for coming, yes, I think it was a great gig, and Im glad you enjoyed it! Thanks. Robert More 

Lisburn, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2015 via mobile

I reserved a table for my visit to Bell's today and I'm glad I did. I knew music was arranged to commence about 12.30 so I reserved my table for 11.00 ( opening time ) I was made to feel very welcome by the lovely staff on duty. One chap was very pleasant and I believe he is called William.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
RBell1887, Owner at SD Bell, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We welcome all criticisms, whether positive or negative. I'm glad you enjoyed the lunch, and the live gig. Look forward to seeing you here again. Kind regards, RB More 

N Ireland
Level Contributor
46 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2015

Great evening at SD Bells coffee shop at Knock. The food was great and the music a great backdrop to a wonderful evening. Loved it all and will be back. The Linley Hamilton quartet was brilliant especially drummer David Lyttle. Waitresses efficient and pleasant, toilet clean and sparkling and everything contributed to a lovely evening treat! Thanks.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
RBell1887, Owner at SD Bell, responded to this review

Thanks for your review. We appreciate all criticism, whether positive or negative. Please keep checking our website for more jazz & blues gigs. BR RB. More 

2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2015

SD Bells is truly one of a kind.... Their coffee beans and teas are superb, I especially like the Monsoon Malabar & the San Augustin beans which make for a great latte, the Belfast Brew tea is also worth a mention. Surely these are worthy of a few great taste awards? Also thanks to Michelle, she is always very friendly... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
RBell1887, Owner at SD Bell, responded to this review

Thanks for your very perceptive review which confirms what I hoped to achieve following our recent renovation. 'More of the same' was what our customers demanded, and we do have hundreds of regulars, whom we mustn't disappoint, and so rather than break the atmosphere, we just did what we could to enhance the experience without breaking the unique qualities that... More 

Level Contributor
28 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2015

I have been to Bells many times in the last 18 months and always found it to be pretty good. It's nothing special but dependable,clean and quick. An Italian coffee machine would improve my experience but it is a Tea House!!!!!! I also hear Sunday breakfasts are worth a punt!!

Was this review helpful? Yes
RBell1887, Owner at SD Bell, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. You're right, Sunday brunches are 'worth a punt', but you need to book, as they are very popular. Im glad you enjoyed your tea. The espresso machine here is indeed Italian. Thanks again, Robert More 

Travelers who viewed SD Bell also viewed

Belfast, Northern Ireland
Belfast, Northern Ireland
 
Belfast, Northern Ireland
Dundonald, County Down
 

Been to SD Bell? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SD Bell

Address: 516 Upper Newtownards Road, Belfast BT4 3HB, Northern Ireland
Phone Number: +44 28 9047 1774
Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  Northern Ireland  >  Belfast
Open Hours:
Sunday 11:00 am - 3:00 pm
Monday 8:30 am - 5:00 pm
Tuesday 8:30 am - 5:00 pm
Wednesday 8:30 am - 5:00 pm
Thursday 8:30 am - 5:00 pm
Friday 8:30 am - 5:00 pm
Saturday 8:30 am - 4:00 pm
Average Prices: USD 19
Cuisine: Irish

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.

Manage your listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Location and Contact Information

  • Address: 516 Upper Newtownards Road, Belfast BT4 3HB, Northern Ireland
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  Northern Ireland  >  Belfast
  • Phone Number: +44 28 9047 1774

Price and Cuisine

  • Average Prices: USD 19
  • Cuisine: Irish
Open Hours
Sunday
11:00 am - 3:00 pm
Monday
8:30 am - 5:00 pm
Tuesday
8:30 am - 5:00 pm
Wednesday
8:30 am - 5:00 pm
Thursday
8:30 am - 5:00 pm
Friday
8:30 am - 5:00 pm
Saturday
8:30 am - 4:00 pm

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from SD Bell staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?