We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

SD Bell

$$
Improve this listing
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Your filters are still active.
There are no pins in your viewport. Try moving the map or changing your filters.
Get directions
516 Upper Newtownards Road, Belfast BT4 3HB, Northern Ireland
+44 28 9047 1774
Website
Today
8:30 am - 5:00 pm
Closed now
See all hours
Hours:
Sun 11:00 am - 3:00 pm
Mon - Fri 8:30 am - 5:00 pm
Sat 8:30 am - 4:00 pm
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations

TripAdvisor Reviewer Highlights

Read all 50 reviews
Visitor rating
  • 14
    Excellent
  • 10
    Very good
  • 8
    Average
  • 10
    Poor
  • 8
    Terrible
Rating summary
  • Food
    3 of 5 stars
    Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
    Atmosphere
    3.5 of 5 stars
Lincj

I have been to Bells many times in the last 18 months and always found it to be pretty good. It's nothing special but dependable,clean and quick. An Italian coffee machine would improve my experience but it is a Tea House!!!!!! I also hear Sunday breakfasts are worth a punt!!

3 of 5 starsReviewed February 13, 2015
Cjhodges
Add Photo Write a Review

50 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Belfast, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2015

What a night!!! ,fish supper Birdeye could do better(fish 10% batter90%) one of the fish suppers was half cooked. The Buddy Holly night should have been renamed the 50's 60's and 70's as most of the music was from that time

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Comber, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2015

Most enjoyable atmosphere with very friendly and accommodating staff. The extension has been a great improvement and the live Jazz music adds a touch of class. A must place to visit if you are in the area.

Was this review helpful? Yes
RBell1887, Owner at SD Bell, responded to this review

Hi, thanks for coming, yes, I think it was a great gig, and Im glad you enjoyed it! Thanks. Robert More 

Lisburn, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2015 via mobile

I reserved a table for my visit to Bell's today and I'm glad I did. I knew music was arranged to commence about 12.30 so I reserved my table for 11.00 ( opening time ) I was made to feel very welcome by the lovely staff on duty. One chap was very pleasant and I believe he is called William.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
RBell1887, Owner at SD Bell, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We welcome all criticisms, whether positive or negative. I'm glad you enjoyed the lunch, and the live gig. Look forward to seeing you here again. Kind regards, RB More 

N Ireland
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2015

Great evening at SD Bells coffee shop at Knock. The food was great and the music a great backdrop to a wonderful evening. Loved it all and will be back. The Linley Hamilton quartet was brilliant especially drummer David Lyttle. Waitresses efficient and pleasant, toilet clean and sparkling and everything contributed to a lovely evening treat! Thanks.

Was this review helpful? Yes
RBell1887, Owner at SD Bell, responded to this review

Thanks for your review. We appreciate all criticism, whether positive or negative. Please keep checking our website for more jazz & blues gigs. BR RB. More 

2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2015

SD Bells is truly one of a kind.... Their coffee beans and teas are superb, I especially like the Monsoon Malabar & the San Augustin beans which make for a great latte, the Belfast Brew tea is also worth a mention. Surely these are worthy of a few great taste awards? Also thanks to Michelle, she is always very friendly... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
RBell1887, Owner at SD Bell, responded to this review

Thanks for your very perceptive review which confirms what I hoped to achieve following our recent renovation. 'More of the same' was what our customers demanded, and we do have hundreds of regulars, whom we mustn't disappoint, and so rather than break the atmosphere, we just did what we could to enhance the experience without breaking the unique qualities that... More 

Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2015

I have been to Bells many times in the last 18 months and always found it to be pretty good. It's nothing special but dependable,clean and quick. An Italian coffee machine would improve my experience but it is a Tea House!!!!!! I also hear Sunday breakfasts are worth a punt!!

Was this review helpful? Yes
RBell1887, Owner at SD Bell, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. You're right, Sunday brunches are 'worth a punt', but you need to book, as they are very popular. Im glad you enjoyed your tea. The espresso machine here is indeed Italian. Thanks again, Robert More 

Belfast, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2015

Excellent selection of freshly roasted coffee at very good prices. Very happy with their beans and the girl behind the counter was very helpful. However the coffee from their cafe was very poor. Badly made and not what I expected from a coffee specialist.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
RBell1887, Owner at SD Bell, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. I was pleased to hear you liked our choice of beans. However I was most concerned to read that you did not enjoy the coffee you were served, and I feel I need more detail in order to improve things for you and others. Call me please at the business on 028 9047 1774. I... More 

Belfast, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2015

Decided to try somewhere new for coffee and a bun last Saturday...needless to say I made the wrong move! Had heard good things about SD Bell's and being a coffee lover I was keen to try one of their blends. Arrived at around 3pm and was very disappointed to see there were NO traybakes left and only a few scones... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
RBell1887, Owner at SD Bell, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. I am sorry to read that you were disappointed with your experience here, and I would like to remedy the situation. I would stress that our scones at that time of day will have been of the second batch that very busy day, and made at lunchtime. (We do close at 4pm on a Saturday.)... More 

newtownards,n.ireland
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2015 via mobile

I had breakfast here and left underwhelmed and i dont think i will be back.my wife and i both ordered two eggs with our breakfast,however when they arrived they were hard.in fairness they brought soft eggs quite quickly and very hot,however the rest of the breakfast was a bit cold.the sausages were also not the best,cheap factory produced,even though there... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
RBell1887, Owner at SD Bell, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. I was sorry to read that you were disappointed with your breakfast. We do serve dozens every day, and do our best to ensure our customers are satisfied. I am sorry that we failed on this occasion by not cooking your eggs as you would have liked first time. This feedback will serve our ongoing... More 

Belfast, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2015

What a great place to catch up with friends!!! I love what they have done with the new lay out and I could sit there all day long Keep up the great work

Was this review helpful? Yes
RBell1887, Owner at SD Bell, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. I am glad you like the new set-up. Kind regards, Robert More 

Travelers who viewed SD Bell also viewed

Belfast, Northern Ireland
Dundonald, County Down
 
Dundonald, County Down
 

Been to SD Bell? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.

Manage your listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Location and Contact Information

  • Address: 516 Upper Newtownards Road, Belfast BT4 3HB, Northern Ireland
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  Northern Ireland  >  Belfast
  • Phone Number: +44 28 9047 1774

Price and Cuisine

  • Average Prices: USD 0 - 18
  • Cuisine: Irish
Open Hours
Sunday
11:00 am - 3:00 pm
Monday
8:30 am - 5:00 pm
Tuesday
8:30 am - 5:00 pm
Wednesday
8:30 am - 5:00 pm
Thursday
8:30 am - 5:00 pm
Friday
8:30 am - 5:00 pm
Saturday
8:30 am - 4:00 pm

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from SD Bell staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?