We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

SD Bell

$$
Improve this listing
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Your filters are still active.
There are no pins in your viewport. Try moving the map or changing your filters.
Get directions
516 Upper Newtownards Road, Belfast BT4 3HB, Northern Ireland
+44 28 9047 1774
Website
Today
11:00 am - 3:00 pm
Closed now
See all hours
Hours:
Sun 11:00 am - 3:00 pm
Mon - Fri 8:30 am - 5:00 pm
Sat 8:30 am - 4:00 pm
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch
Good for:
Breakfast/Brunch

TripAdvisor Reviewer Highlights

Read all 47 reviews
Visitor rating
  • 12
    Excellent
  • 10
    Very good
  • 8
    Average
  • 9
    Poor
  • 8
    Terrible
Rating summary
  • Food
    3 of 5 stars
    Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
    Atmosphere
    3 of 5 stars
Most recent review
coffee all jazzed up!

Great evening at SD Bells coffee shop at Knock. The food was great and the music a great backdrop to a wonderful evening. Loved it all and will be back. The Linley Hamilton quartet was brilliant especially drummer David Lyttle. Waitresses efficient and pleasant, toilet clean and sparkling and... read more

5 of 5 starsReviewed February 26, 2015
innisfreeNIreland
,
N Ireland
Good for:
  • Breakfast/Brunch
Add Photo Write a Review

47 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
N Ireland
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2015 NEW

Great evening at SD Bells coffee shop at Knock. The food was great and the music a great backdrop to a wonderful evening. Loved it all and will be back. The Linley Hamilton quartet was brilliant especially drummer David Lyttle. Waitresses efficient and pleasant, toilet clean and sparkling and everything contributed to a lovely evening treat! Thanks.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2015

SD Bells is truly one of a kind.... Their coffee beans and teas are superb, I especially like the Monsoon Malabar & the San Augustin beans which make for a great latte, the Belfast Brew tea is also worth a mention. Surely these are worthy of a few great taste awards? Also thanks to Michelle, she is always very friendly... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
RBell1887, Owner at SD Bell, responded to this review

Thanks for your very perceptive review which confirms what I hoped to achieve following our recent renovation. 'More of the same' was what our customers demanded, and we do have hundreds of regulars, whom we mustn't disappoint, and so rather than break the atmosphere, we just did what we could to enhance the experience without breaking the unique qualities that... More 

Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2015

I have been to Bells many times in the last 18 months and always found it to be pretty good. It's nothing special but dependable,clean and quick. An Italian coffee machine would improve my experience but it is a Tea House!!!!!! I also hear Sunday breakfasts are worth a punt!!

Was this review helpful? Yes
RBell1887, Owner at SD Bell, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. You're right, Sunday brunches are 'worth a punt', but you need to book, as they are very popular. Im glad you enjoyed your tea. The espresso machine here is indeed Italian. Thanks again, Robert More 

Belfast, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2015

Excellent selection of freshly roasted coffee at very good prices. Very happy with their beans and the girl behind the counter was very helpful. However the coffee from their cafe was very poor. Badly made and not what I expected from a coffee specialist.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
RBell1887, Owner at SD Bell, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. I was pleased to hear you liked our choice of beans. However I was most concerned to read that you did not enjoy the coffee you were served, and I feel I need more detail in order to improve things for you and others. Call me please at the business on 028 9047 1774. I... More 

Belfast, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2015 via mobile

Decided to try somewhere new for coffee and a bun last Saturday...needless to say I made the wrong move! Had heard good things about SD Bell's and being a coffee lover I was keen to try one of their blends. Arrived at around 3pm and was very disappointed to see there were NO traybakes left and only a few scones... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
RBell1887, Owner at SD Bell, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. I am sorry to read that you were disappointed with your experience here, and I would like to remedy the situation. I would stress that our scones at that time of day will have been of the second batch that very busy day, and made at lunchtime. (We do close at 4pm on a Saturday.)... More 

newtownards,n.ireland
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2015

I had breakfast here and left underwhelmed and i dont think i will be back.my wife and i both ordered two eggs with our breakfast,however when they arrived they were hard.in fairness they brought soft eggs quite quickly and very hot,however the rest of the breakfast was a bit cold.the sausages were also not the best,cheap factory produced,even though there... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
RBell1887, Owner at SD Bell, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. I was sorry to read that you were disappointed with your breakfast. We do serve dozens every day, and do our best to ensure our customers are satisfied. I am sorry that we failed on this occasion by not cooking your eggs as you would have liked first time. This feedback will serve our ongoing... More 

Belfast, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2015

What a great place to catch up with friends!!! I love what they have done with the new lay out and I could sit there all day long Keep up the great work

Was this review helpful? Yes
RBell1887, Owner at SD Bell, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. I am glad you like the new set-up. Kind regards, Robert More 

Belfast, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2015

The shop was spotless the food was wonderful it caters for most palettes very reasonably price. It also has wonderful shop as you walk though the front door were you can buy all different types of tea and coffee the girl that serve me had a great knowledge of the product that she was selling so if you are every... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
RBell1887, Owner at SD Bell, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. All comments, whether positive or constructively critical, are gratefully received. Many thanks, kind regards, Robert More 

Newtownards, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2015

This is a good old fashioned coffee specialist, who also sells first rate teas as well. My husband loves this place and we travel 12 miles on a saturday morning just to have breakfast. I have purchased many of the coffees for home use and have some beans ground and others whole in the freezer it really is worth a... More 

Review collected in partnership with this restaurant

Was this review helpful? Yes
RBell1887, Owner at SD Bell, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. All comments, whether positive or negative, are gratefully received! Kind regards, Robert Bell More 

Newtownabbey, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2015

First time in sd bells since the renovation. However the same old problem persists. After ordering food at the counter you then give your drinks order and pay, take your teas and coffees to your table and wait. Then you wait a little longer. Food comes to your table in instalments, teas and coffees cold by this time! Then you... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
RBell1887, Owner at SD Bell, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We are continually reviewing our training plan, and this process will be incorporated into the training plan. Some customers like to receive their tea of coffee at once. However when you return, which I sincerely hope you will do, please indicate that you would like your tea and coffee at the same time that your... More 

Travelers who viewed SD Bell also viewed

 
Dundonald, County Down
Dundonald, County Down
 

Been to SD Bell? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.

Manage your listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Location and Contact Information

  • Address: 516 Upper Newtownards Road, Belfast BT4 3HB, Northern Ireland
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  Northern Ireland  >  Belfast
  • Phone Number: +44 28 9047 1774

Price and Cuisine

  • Average Prices: USD 0 - 19
  • Cuisine: Irish
Open Hours
Sunday
11:00 am - 3:00 pm
Monday
8:30 am - 5:00 pm
Tuesday
8:30 am - 5:00 pm
Wednesday
8:30 am - 5:00 pm
Thursday
8:30 am - 5:00 pm
Friday
8:30 am - 5:00 pm
Saturday
8:30 am - 4:00 pm

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from SD Bell staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?