We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 777 Belfast Restaurants

Horatio Todd's Bar & Restaurant

406 Upper Newtownards Road, Belfast, Northern Ireland
90 653 090
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #285 of 777 Restaurants in Belfast
Cuisines: Irish
Good for: Bar scene, Large groups, Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Large groups, Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Write a Review

240 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    73
    74
    43
    28
    22
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Taunton, England
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2014

Working with multiple contractors I was invited to lunch today. I have driven past this pub/restaurant every day for 2 years and always wondered? Will today I found out. The food is amazing staff are friendly and helpful. I would recommend this for lunch great choice of local produce and choice of drinks is mind boggling. Couldn't drink as driving... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2014

Usually when you attend a restaurant at 10 minutes to closing they would turn you away or be very disdainful towards your custom. This was not the case whatsoever. The staff where super nice from start to finish and always made sure that everything was up to standard for us. We ordered a 2 course menu, which consisted of a... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
TheHoratioGroup, Manager at Horatio Todd's Bar & Restaurant, responded to this review

Hi Mclellan10, Thank you very much for your kind words about our staff and food! I will be sure to pass on your comments. Hope to see you again soon! Many Thanks, Richard Black Restaurant Manager More 

Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2014

My wife and I visited for a meal and some drinks, my first disappointment occurred when I was asked for my drink selection. No Guinness! Problem with a keg, won't be back on today! I then opted for the pricey but lovely sounding venison shank, which turned out to be completely barren of any version and what little was there... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
TheHoratioGroup, Manager at Horatio Todd's Bar & Restaurant, responded to this review

Dear JMW29, I have taken some time to investigate the evening service on which you visited. The issue with the Guinness is something that no establishment would wish for as it is such a staple. There was a technical issue with the beer line which we could not fix without the help of an engineer. I have raised the issues... More 

Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2014

Horatios hit the spot for lunch. The food was mediocre/decent compared to the staff and the setting which were above average. Great that they had a toy box for kids and all in all good value. If I was in the area again I would stop for lunch certainly and a convince dinner but not occasion dining.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Belfast, United Kingdom
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2014 via mobile

If you had reserved seating for a special birthday celebration then you would expect the management to remove gatecrashers from your area. Feeling let down.

Was this review helpful? Yes
TheHoratioGroup, Manager at Horatio Todd's Bar & Restaurant, responded to this review

Dear reliable186740, Our normal policy is not to reserve tables in the bar area on weekend nights as we have limited seating space in the bar and to avoid situations like this arising. We made an exception for your party as you were arriving early in the evening before we generally get too busy. I know you were annoyed that... More 

Belfast, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2014

Called in after a meal at ballyhackamore for a late drink ,nice crowd and a varied drinks menu ,music was on and very good to listen to ,nice ambience to this bar ,

Was this review helpful? Yes
TheHoratioGroup, Manager at Horatio Todd's Bar & Restaurant, responded to this review

Hi Davey115, Thank you for your kind comments regarding the bar and atmosphere. We will be changing our drinks list soon and hope you come back to try it! Kind Regards, Richard Black Restaurant Manager More 

Belfast, Northern Ireland, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2014

We have had some good and occasionally the odd bad meal here, the service is generally very good and attentive , the wine list not overly expensive and quite varied . The recent menu change may not have been for the best and choice is a bit more limited. The atmosphere is always pleasant and welcoming. One for a quick... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Northern Ireland
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2014

The food is poor, I had a deep fried risotto starter that was stodgy and tasteless. My seak main course was tough and bland. I ordered a bottle of beer which came with a wet glass, the waiter dropped a steak knife inches from my feet. My girlfriends food was equally bland and poor. All the dishes had a pointless... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
TheHoratioGroup, Manager at Horatio Todd's Bar & Restaurant, responded to this review

Dear skifan01, We are genuinely sorry that you did not enjoy your visit to us. What you describe, as you will see from our other reviews, is well below the standard we set ourselves. Without knowing all of the details of your visit I have spoken to all staff and can only assure you that, if we had been aware... More 

Belfast, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
138 reviews 138 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2014

Went to HT's as a wedding anniversary celebration! It was pretty good but Horatio Todd's wasn't as up market as I thought it would be. Worked out cheaper than I'd anticipated so happy days. Set menu including a glass of wine for just under £15 - a good deal. Mains very good but desserts a bit bland. Well worth the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Belfast, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2014

I like to sit by a window... I did do at this restaurant which was lovely but unfortunately the table by the windows are at 'coffee table' height which makes choice of food relative.(ie difficulty 'swooping' over one's meal between plate and mouth!) Staff were lovely and attentive, minor complaint... I did not like to be served a Gin &... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
TheHoratioGroup, Manager at Horatio Todd's Bar & Restaurant, responded to this review

Dear Tace W, Thank you for your kind comments in regards the staff and service. I understand your point about the table height in our bar area, however we try to offer a more relaxed experience at lunch time and do not serve a la carte meals there in the evening. I hope you do return and with that in... More 

Travelers who viewed Horatio Todd's Bar & Restaurant also viewed

Belfast, Northern Ireland
Belfast, Northern Ireland
 
Belfast, Northern Ireland
Belfast, Northern Ireland
 

Been to Horatio Todd's Bar & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Horatio Todd's Bar & Restaurant

Address: 406 Upper Newtownards Road, Belfast, Northern Ireland
Phone Number: 90 653 090
Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  Northern Ireland  >  Belfast
Cuisine: Irish

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.

Manage your listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Horatio Todd's Bar & Restaurant staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?