We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Horatio Todd's Bar & Restaurant

Improve this listing
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Your filters are still active.
There are no pins in your viewport. Try moving the map or changing your filters.
Get directions
406 Upper Newtownards Road, Belfast, Northern Ireland
90 653 090
Website
Add hours for Horatio Todd's Bar & Restaurant and help diners know when to go.
+ Add hours
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Good for:
Bar scene
Large groups
Local cuisine

TripAdvisor Reviewer Highlights

Read all 260 reviews
Visitor rating
  • 82
    Excellent
  • 81
    Very good
  • 45
    Average
  • 29
    Poor
  • 23
    Terrible
Rating summary
  • Food
    3.5 of 5 stars
    Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
    Atmosphere
    4 of 5 stars
Most recent review
Poor quality food

Went here with my girlfriend a few weeks ago and was not happy at all. Ordered the burger and when it came out it was dripping in grease and also smothered in bbq sauce. Unable to lift it as it felt like a wet sponge. Staff were friendly though, but quality of food cannot be excused.

2 of 5 starsReviewed February 25, 2015
CountryGreens
,
Belfast, United Kingdom
Good for:
  • Bar scene
  • Large groups
  • Local cuisine
  • Breakfast/Brunch
  • Lunch
  • Dinner
  • Reservations
  • Late Night
Add Photo Write a Review

260 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Belfast, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2015

Went here with my girlfriend a few weeks ago and was not happy at all. Ordered the burger and when it came out it was dripping in grease and also smothered in bbq sauce. Unable to lift it as it felt like a wet sponge. Staff were friendly though, but quality of food cannot be excused.

Was this review helpful? Yes
TheHoratioGroup, Manager at Horatio Todd's Bar & Restaurant, responded to this review

Dear CountryGreens, I am very sorry that you were unhappy with your food on your recent visit. We sell many burgers every day and if you look at the vast majority of our reviews, we do not receive many complaints regarding the food. Our staff are accommodating when it comes to customer requests and if asked would have been happy... More 

Belfast, Northern Ireland, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2015 via mobile

Visited Horatio Todd's for lunch with a friend good menu choice , price spot on and service excellent , duty manager Emma was really helpful and the whole experience very pleasant .

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
TheHoratioGroup, Manager at Horatio Todd's Bar & Restaurant, responded to this review

Hi Mike R, Thank you very much for your review! I will be sure to pass on your comments to Emma. Hope to see you again soon, Richard Black Restaurant Manager More 

Belfast, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2015

My partner and I were both off work for the day and decided to treat ourselves to a lunch out... we were not disappointed with Horatio Todds...pulled pork and a steak baguette... delicious! Washed down with a couple of beers. Great afternoon at this place. Give Horatios a go....... u will not be disappointed.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
TheHoratioGroup, Manager at Horatio Todd's Bar & Restaurant, responded to this review

Hi Dreeka, I am glad you enjoyed your lunch with us! Hope to see you again soon, Richard Black Restaurant Manager More 

1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2015

Visited here on Saturday afternoon for some lunch. The atmosphere and interior design is gorgeous and ambient, and the wait staff were very friendly and accomodating. The food was reasonably priced. I had louisiana fiery wings which were delicious, especially the side garnish. I ordered a vegetarian antipasto board which was rather disappointing. If I could suggest an improvement to... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
TheHoratioGroup, Manager at Horatio Todd's Bar & Restaurant, responded to this review

Hi Insomnigirl, Thank you for your kind comments regarding the design and ambience. I am glad you enjoyed the wings and will be sure and pass on your comments about the vegetarian antipasto. We are launching our Spring menu shortly and always want to hear what the customer would like changed. Many Thanks, Richard Black Restaurant Manager More 

Ballyclare, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2015

Called into Horatio Todds. I haven't been there for dinner since it was taken over. Seemed very busy despite early evening. Great choices in menu. My wife opted for the 2 course menu. I opted for a la carte. We both had the special soup. French onion with Cheesy Gratin and croutons. So tasty and great choice. My wife opted... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
TheHoratioGroup, Manager at Horatio Todd's Bar & Restaurant, responded to this review

Hi NureKop, Thank you for taking the time to write us a review. I have passed on your comments on to our kitchen and waiting team and they are very pleased! Hope to see you again soon, Richard Black Restaurant Manager More 

Bangor, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2015

Have visited Horatio Todds a few times now and have yet to be disappointed with anything. A spacious and comfortable bar area with a great selection of beers and often live music. There is a separate restaurant area which is comfortable and well designed. The food is absolutely fantastic, tasty, well presented, yet also exceptional value. Staff are friendly and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
TheHoratioGroup, Manager at Horatio Todd's Bar & Restaurant, responded to this review

Hi StuartM72, Thank you for giving us such a glowing review. Your kind comments are greatly appreciated! Hope to see you again soon, Richard Black Restaurant Manager More 

Belfast, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2015

My wife and I went to Todds for dinner last week without booking. The bar area was very nice, spacious, and well designed with comfortable seating. It also had a very good smoking area and security at the door. We got a table with no problem and everything so far was good. We ordered from the £10 menu and I... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
TheHoratioGroup, Manager at Horatio Todd's Bar & Restaurant, responded to this review

Dear Ken M, Thank you for your positive comments regarding the bar and the beer garden. It is also great to hear that the waitress was fantastic and service provided was excellent overall. I am sorry that you were disappointed with the minute steak but it is described as such on the menu, and it was on our £9.95 main... More 

1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2015

Ok my trip to this bar was amazing if you are sitting at a table ask for Jamie he is very attentive. Looked at us all night eeven if we got louder.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
TheHoratioGroup, Manager at Horatio Todd's Bar & Restaurant, responded to this review

Hi Belinda T, Thank you for your kind review and I am glad you had a good night! I will be sure to pass on your commendation of Jamie. Hope to see you again soon, Richard Black Restaurant Manager More 

1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2015

Have just had lunch here today and was very impressed with the service we received. Our food had been slightly delayed in coming out due to a large party of 40 having just arrived at the same time, and we were offered complimentary coffees as a result. Unfortunately the two people I was with were on their lunch hour and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
TheHoratioGroup, Manager at Horatio Todd's Bar & Restaurant, responded to this review

Hi CathyKyle3, Thank you very much for your review! I am very happy to hear that our staff were hospitable and endeavoured to make up for the delay in service. Hope to see you again soon for a few cocktails! Kind Regards, Richard Black Restaurant Manager More 

Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2015

Great atmosphere, nice people and generally friendly staff however for such a big bar, they really could use another bartender. Not usually one to give off about slow bar service (I work in a bar and know they do their best) but at the same time, my friend and I stood at the bar for 10 mins, she went to... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
TheHoratioGroup, Manager at Horatio Todd's Bar & Restaurant, responded to this review

Dear Jill B, Thank you for your kind comments about the atmosphere and friendliness of the staff. I am sorry that you had to wait a long time to be served at the bar. It is always hard to predict how busy the bar is going to be and on that evening it was busier than usual for the time... More 

Travelers who viewed Horatio Todd's Bar & Restaurant also viewed

Belfast, Northern Ireland
Belfast, Northern Ireland
 
Belfast, Northern Ireland
Belfast, Northern Ireland
 

Been to Horatio Todd's Bar & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.

Manage your listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Location and Contact Information

  • Address: 406 Upper Newtownards Road, Belfast, Northern Ireland
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  Northern Ireland  >  Belfast
  • Phone Number: 90 653 090

Price and Cuisine

  • Cuisine: Irish

Restaurant Characteristics

  • Good for: Bar scene, Large groups, Local cuisine

Questions & Answers

Here's what previous visitors have asked, with answers from representatives of Horatio Todd's Bar & Restaurant and other visitors
1 question
Ask a question
13 days ago

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Horatio Todd's Bar & Restaurant staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?