We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

St Georges Market Bar & Grill

Certificate of Excellence
$$$
Irish, Bar, British, Brasserie
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Your filters are still active.
There are no pins in your viewport. Try moving the map or changing your filters.
Get directions
Oxford Street | 1st Floor, St. George's Market, Belfast BT1 4FG, Northern Ireland
+44 28 9024 0014
Website
Improve this listing
Sunday
Closed
See all hours
Hours:
Tue - Thu 11:30 am - 2:30 pm
Wed - Thu 5:00 pm - 9:30 pm
Fri - Sat 9:00 am - 2:30 pm
5:00 pm - 10:00 pm
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Description: St George’s Bar and Grill has been dubbed the hidden gem in one of...
St George’s Bar and Grill has been dubbed the hidden gem in one of Belfast’s oldest and most beautiful buildings, St George’s Market.Nestled in the eaves in ‘one of the best markets in the UK’*, diners can soak up the rich history and laid back ambience in the restaurant’s high beamed ceilings, discreet booths and outdoor terrace area, all flanked by photographs of Belfast from a bygone era.Head Chef James Bell has created a mouth-watering menu, using only the freshest produce, sourced locally, to provide diners with a culinary experience which is second-to-none.Whether you are enjoying coffee, after work drinks, breakfast, lunch, dinner or a private party, visitors are sure to enjoy the unique experience at St George’s Bar & Grill.The open view kitchen offers diners the opportunity to observe our chefs cooking your meal from scratch, where you will observe the care and dedication they use to ensure it is cooked to perfection, whether it be a char grilled steak or locally caught salmon.
read more

TripAdvisor Reviewer Highlights

Read all 209 reviews
Visitor rating
  • 113
    Excellent
  • 63
    Very good
  • 17
    Average
  • 12
    Poor
  • 4
    Terrible
Rating summary
  • Food
    4.5 of 5 stars
    Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
    Atmosphere
    4 of 5 stars
Good food great staff

Came here for dinner at weekend with friends. Choice of menu good. I had the prawns with noodles for starters. They were lovely but could have done with more prawns. Rest of the meal was excellent. Staff were very attentive, mind you they weren't busy. We all thoroughly enjoyed the food. Would... read more

4 of 5 starsReviewed April 18, 2015
Sheila K
,
Ballymena, United Kingdom
Good for:
  • Breakfast/Brunch
  • Dinner
  • Reservations
  • Late Night
Add Photo Write a Review

209 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ballymena, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2015 NEW

Came here for dinner at weekend with friends. Choice of menu good. I had the prawns with noodles for starters. They were lovely but could have done with more prawns. Rest of the meal was excellent. Staff were very attentive, mind you they weren't busy. We all thoroughly enjoyed the food. Would definitely come back.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Perth, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2015

Went with my wife and friends on a recent visit to Belfast - the food was basic but decent quality although felt it was a bit over priced.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Belfast, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2015

Been there a few times now for Breakfast/Lunch, food is excellent, service is top and the atmosphere from the market definitely adds to it.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Belfast, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2015

My girl friend and I enjoyed our breakfast here on a Friday morning. We sat on the balcony having our lovely breakfast and watching the nice market. The service was good. The food was delicious, we had the Ulster fires and Irish stew lamb (really recommend!) The coffee latte was also really good! Love it. 這家餐廳座落在傳統市場的樓上, 空間很大, 可以欣賞著早市的景色, 提供早餐到晚餐, 我們點了愛爾蘭早餐和羊肉湯,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Belfast, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
137 reviews 137 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2015

The market is brilliant to visit whether you're just there to browse, buy or sample the music and food. It has a great buzz about it and now a real tourist magnet. I never come home empty handed as there's such an array of food, goods and crafts to entice you. If you havn't been before I can recommend a... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Belfast, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2015

Myself accompanied by my sister and mum and dad dined here before seeing a show at the Waterfront Hall. We ate from The Prix Fixe menu which is 2 courses for £15.95 or 3 courses for £17.95. Everyone went for a starter, my mum and dad sharing the mussels, my sister had the caesar salad, and I had the soup... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2015

after reading that the market breakfast won the best breakfast in NI we couldn't not try so we came early on Saturday morning unfortunately they don't start serving in Saturday until 10 hut the manageress couldn't have been nicer and offered us coffees if we wanted to wait. We took a leisurely walk around the market and came back bang... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Belfast, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2015

Tasty breakfast, great service and lovely atmosphere. Great location to enjoy the sights and smells of St Georges Market.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Belfast, United Kingdom
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2015

After reading many great reviews I was looking forward to a spot of lunch at St Georges bar and grill - a huge disappointment, the worst service I have ever had anywhere.2 glasses of coke took 10 ins to appear and 30 mins for our meals to arrive - I've never known fish and chips and a burger take so... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
St_Georges24, Manager at St Georges Market Bar & Grill, responded to this review

Thank you for your recent review. I would firstly like to say sorry on behalf of myself and the team. This is not our normal service; we were extremely busy as the balcony area was full. However this does not excuse the wait. Having looked back at kitchen dockets and trying to get light of the situation it has illustrated... More 

London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
125 reviews 125 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
81 helpful votes 81 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2015

Went there for breakfast one morning and had the award winning breakfast for £8. Situated up stairs at St George's market and has a terrace area so you can see the hussle and bussle of the market below. Food was good but my only gripe was the service was slow and it wasn't that busy. I asked for the bill... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes

Travelers who viewed St Georges Market Bar & Grill also viewed

 
Belfast, Northern Ireland
 

Been to St Georges Market Bar & Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.

Manage your listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Location and Contact Information

  • Address: Oxford Street | 1st Floor, St. George's Market, Belfast BT1 4FG, Northern Ireland
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  Northern Ireland  >  Belfast
  • Phone Number: +44 28 9024 0014

Price and Cuisine

  • Average Prices: USD 0 - 30
  • Cuisine: Irish, Bar, British, Brasserie

Description

St George’s Bar and Grill has been dubbed the hidden gem in one of Belfast’s oldest and most beautiful buildings, St George’s Market.Nestled in the eaves in ‘one of the best markets in the UK’*, diners can soak up the rich history and laid back ambience in the restaurant’s high beamed ceilings, discreet booths and outdoor terrace area, all flanked by photographs of Belfast from a bygone era.Head Chef James Bell has created a mouth-watering menu, using only the freshest produce, sourced locally, to provide diners with a culinary experience which is second-to-none.Whether you are enjoying coffee, after work drinks, breakfast, lunch, dinner or a private party, visitors are sure to enjoy the unique experience at St George’s Bar & Grill.The open view kitchen offers diners the opportunity to observe our chefs cooking your meal from scratch, where you will observe the care and dedication they use to ensure it is cooked to perfection, whether it be a char grilled steak or locally caught salmon.
Open Hours
Tuesday
11:30 am - 2:30 pm
Wednesday
11:30 am - 2:30 pm
5:00 pm - 9:30 pm
Thursday
11:30 am - 2:30 pm
5:00 pm - 9:30 pm
Friday
9:00 am - 2:30 pm
5:00 pm - 10:00 pm
Saturday
9:00 am - 2:30 pm
5:00 pm - 10:00 pm

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from St Georges Market Bar & Grill staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?