We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Pumphouse

$$
Bar, Grill, Pub, Gastropub, Brasserie
Improve this listing
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Your filters are still active.
There are no pins in your viewport. Try moving the map or changing your filters.
Get directions
Pump house Quay | Maritime Quarter, Swansea SA1 1TT, Wales
+44 1792 651080
Website
Add hours for Pumphouse and help diners know when to go.
+ Add hours
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Description: As a key part of the new marina area of Swansea, and being close by to the...
As a key part of the new marina area of Swansea, and being close by to the SA1 development, we aim to be the ‘community bar’ for everyone in the local area. We are a premium bar with our own style and atmosphere, indulgent premium drinks brands and fantastic food. We also pride ourselves on our range of cask ale, and this combines with our maritime design features to ensure that we keep in touch with our roots. We have a nice upstairs area that can be hired for private use, and our outdoor areas sit right next to the lock gates – a great waterfront location.
read more

TripAdvisor Reviewer Highlights

Read all 163 reviews
Visitor rating
  • 50
    Excellent
  • 47
    Very good
  • 24
    Average
  • 21
    Poor
  • 21
    Terrible
Rating summary
  • Food
    3.5 of 5 stars
    Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
    Atmosphere
    3.5 of 5 stars
Good location and facilities...

Enjoyed a pre-theatre supper here on Valentine's Day and Keith fitted us in with no problem, although the restaurant and bar area were very busy. We were served by Claire who was very efficient, pleasant and attentive - no used plates left on the table here! The food was excellent and we were... read more

4 of 5 starsReviewed February 18, 2015
welshgirl41
,
Swansea, United Kingdom
Good for:
  • Large groups
  • Families with children
Add Photo Write a Review

163 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2015

After going there for a Christmas works do, a table of 12 went to enjoy the pleasures of the pumphouse. Hmmmm...... After paying for parking, I entered what I thought would look like Santa's grotto. It was certainly a grotto. No Christmas music playing. There was dance music though. We had ordered beforehand, and when one of our party asked... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Pumphouse S, Manager at Pumphouse, responded to this review

Dear Lydia D, Thank you for taking the time to review us here at the pumphouse. As i previously explained to the other reviewer here on trip adviser. (David J) I personally checked back on your table to inquire about everyone’s meals. To which there was no complaints besides the vegetarian one which was replaced straight away and refunded. It... More 

Swansea, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2015

Enjoyed a pre-theatre supper here on Valentine's Day and Keith fitted us in with no problem, although the restaurant and bar area were very busy. We were served by Claire who was very efficient, pleasant and attentive - no used plates left on the table here! The food was excellent and we were served quickly with no wait between courses.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Pumphouse S, Manager at Pumphouse, responded to this review

Dear welshgirl41 Thank you very much for your review of the pumphouse. It was a pleasure looking after you on the night. I will pass your your review to Claire. I hope to see you again at the pumphouse very soon Warm Regards Keith & The team More 

Neath, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2015

Dear Sir/ to whom it concerns, We booked our Christmas Dinner for 12 people (£18.75 per head) at your establishment “The Pump House” in Swansea on the 16/12/2014 and would like to inform you that the standard of food served was disgraceful, although the staff there were fine and very helpful. 1) The Pate was served with what I believe... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Pumphouse S, Manager at Pumphouse, responded to this review

Dear David J Thank you for taking the time to post a review on the pumphouse. As you know i have been made aware of your complaint in December, with numerous phone calls and emails back and forth. I was on duty at the time of your booking and i personally checked back on all course's though out your function.... More 

Swansea, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2015

This place is fast becoming a favourite of mine. Came in with my wife on Saturday and though even busy we were seated straight away. I had the rib eye which was delicious my wife had the chicken again amazing. But what I find a breath of fresh air is the staff and management who really seem to love what... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Pumphouse S, Manager at Pumphouse, responded to this review

Dear Padjo187 Thank you very much for your 5 star review of the Pumphouse. We are so glad you enjoyed your Food. We look forward to seeing you again very soon Warm Regards Keith & The Team More 

Swansea, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2015 via mobile

Pleasant service by staff who knew what they were doing..the interior could do with a bit of an overhaul, even so, this is a minor blip. Food did the job and wasn't overly expensive either.

Was this review helpful? Yes
PumphouseSW, Manager at Pumphouse, responded to this review

Dear PeterS Thank you very much for your 5 star review of the pumphouse. It is also nice to read such possitive feedback. I look forward to welcoming you back to the pumphouse very soon. Warm Regards Keith & the Team More 

Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2015

Such a beautiful location but such poor food a rubbish pub menu with low quality ingredients. Would only visit here again for a drink in summer.

Was this review helpful? Yes
PumphouseSW, Manager at Pumphouse, responded to this review

Dear Budweiser58 Thank you very much for taking the time to review the pumphouse. I was sorry to read you didnt enjoy your food. We only use the best in local suppliers so i was sadded to read about the low quailty ingredients. look forward to seeing you again at the pumphouse very soon Kind Regards Keith & The Team More 

Worcester, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2015

We drove down to Swansea to see some family and as it turned out, recreate a photo taken 25yrs ago or so by the marina so this was chosen by the locals to eat at. We got there just before 2pm and just before it started to fill up, I think the Winter Wonderland nearby may be the reason, so... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
PumphouseSW, Manager at Pumphouse, responded to this review

Dear Colinandjane, Thank you very much for taking the time to review us here at the pumphouse. I am so glad you liked our Faggots. Hopefully it wont be to long until your back in Swansea and you will come in to visit us again (and perhaps give us a 5 Lol) Again thank you for your kind review Warm... More 

1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2015

Absolutely amazing place. And amazing staff. Great for a group party or just a relaxing lunch ! My friends baby shower was really well catered and the manager wa so helpful! Defiantly recommend

Was this review helpful? Yes
PumphouseSW, Manager at Pumphouse, responded to this review

Dear Ayofemi, Thank you very much for your 5 Star review It was our pleasure looking after your group i am so glad you enjoyed it. Look forward to seeing you again Kind Regards Keith & The Team More 

South Wales
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
87 helpful votes 87 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2014

Will keep this short as other than saying how terrible it was, I have nothing else to add. Food was shockingly bad. Plastic meat (beef out of a packet I presume, never seen anything like it before) frozen roast potatoes with water (gravy) poured over the top. Just to top it off food was cold but served on a hot... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
PumphouseSW, Manager at Pumphouse, responded to this review

Dear RjohnSouthwales, I am sorry to read you didnt enjoy your Sunday lunch with us. I will be meeting my head chef and team to discuss what happened on that day. As we take great pride in everything we do here and seem to have fallen short. I really hope you will give us another chance and visit us again.... More 

S WALES
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2014

In a party of 15 on xmas eve for an evening meal we went into the bar area before the meal. The armchairs and settees were absolutely stinking dirty. The gents toilet although fairly clean could have done with some disinfectant to freshen the smell in there

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
PumphouseSW, Manager at Pumphouse, responded to this review

Dear alan_9 Thank you for your review of the pumphouse. I have passed on your comments about the furniture to our head office. Kind regards Keith & The Team More 

Travelers who viewed Pumphouse also viewed

Swansea, Swansea County
Swansea, Swansea County
 
Swansea, Swansea County
 

Been to Pumphouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.

Manage your listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Location and Contact Information

  • Address: Pump house Quay | Maritime Quarter, Swansea SA1 1TT, Wales
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  Wales  >  Southern Wales  >  Swansea County  >  Swansea
  • Phone Number: +44 1792 651080

Price and Cuisine

  • Average Prices: USD 8 - 32
  • Cuisine: Bar, Grill, Pub, Gastropub, Brasserie

Restaurant Characteristics

  • Good for: Large groups, Families with children

Description

As a key part of the new marina area of Swansea, and being close by to the SA1 development, we aim to be the ‘community bar’ for everyone in the local area. We are a premium bar with our own style and atmosphere, indulgent premium drinks brands and fantastic food. We also pride ourselves on our range of cask ale, and this combines with our maritime design features to ensure that we keep in touch with our roots. We have a nice upstairs area that can be hired for private use, and our outdoor areas sit right next to the lock gates – a great waterfront location.

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Pumphouse staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?