We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Bell at Caerleon

Bulmore Road | Caerleon, Newport NP18 1QQ, Wales
01633 420613
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #29 of 236 Restaurants in Newport
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $16 - $63
Cuisines: European, British, Gastropub, Welsh
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance, Bar scene, Local cuisine, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Description: Recently awarded Best Food in the South Wales Echo Food & Drink Awards 2012 The Bell has stood in the ancient Roman fortress town of Caerleon for more than 400 years. An old coaching inn, nestled on the edge of the Celtic Manor Golf Resort & The beautiful Usk Valley, many a merry time has been had. The Bell today is true to its traditions and offers a uniquely Welsh atmosphere,a very warm welcome, award winning food, real ales, ciders and perries and a lovely wine list.We look forward to warmly welcoming you to The Bell.
Write a Review

263 reviews from our community

78% Recommend
    143
    64
    27
    18
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Newport, United Kingdom
2 reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2014

A few weeks ago we went out for lunch on a Saturday as it was my brothers birthday. Most of my family attended and I mistakingly had a look at the lunch menu on the Bell Inn website and though it looked great. When we had all looked at the menu and decided to order we then found out that... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
York, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2014

Eat here as part of a group on a golf tour and very happy that we did (we didn’t fancy eating at Celtic Manor where we were staying as too expensive). Lovely old stone building, full of character, great choice of real ales, whiskies and wine, very friendly and efficient staff, lovely home-made food, very generous portions and a good... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Cwmbran, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2014

I'd heard so much about this quaint pub, that we had to try it for its food. We arrived before 6pm & were told food could be ordered after 6pm. No big deal as they had an extensive bar. We were handed menus with our drinks & We all ordered different meals. It was a real let down. The food... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Newport, Rhode Island
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

Visited The Bell for lunch on a Saturday. Friends had recommended this establishment to us many times before, this time we decided to give it a go. We were not disappointed. The food was perfectly cooked, everything was fresh and you could not fault the service.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Monmouthshire, United Kingdom
1 review
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2014 via mobile

Arrived at around 1.00pm, sat at table and waited for last of family to arrive about 1.20 . Everything seemed fine , had a drink and waited for order to be taken , not so ,had to ask for it around 1.55 pm . First course arrived , prawn cocktail, deep fried calamari , what a disapointment , prawn cocktail... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 13
1 review
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2014 via mobile

We visited on a Thursday night and we had to wait far too long so long we cancelled our pudding order. We have had many a good night at The Bell in fact recommended it to our friends but this time we went for a much needed night out and ended up more stressed than before we went. The food... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 7
Usk, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2014

Fantastic place to eat and drink, also try the sister pub in Usk The New Court, Sunday lunch is just fantastic, with live music and a great beer garden both places worth a visit

Was this review helpful? Yes 5
Houston, Texas
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2014

Quaint old building. Friendly social atmosphere. Reasonable prices and excellent food. This was my first British Pub experience and it was wonderful. I ordered "Scotch Egg"; then asked the waiter to bring me whatever he recommended, but not to tell me what it was. He brought some type of pork which was also excellent. I would definitely visit again.

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
leetCaerleon, Owner at The Bell at Caerleon, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you for your valued feedback. We're all exstatic that you had such a wonderful evening with us and that you chose us for your first experience of a Great Brisitish (Welsh) pub. We're all passionate about ensuring all of our guests have a great time at The Bell. I just wanted to say that your server that... More

Cwmbran
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

Firstly as we walked in, there was a horrible smell coming from the men's toilets, not good for first impressions. We then felt that there was not much to choose from on the lunchtime menu. We choose steak and a burger. Steak was cooked well, just as I had asked, but they couldn't do a jacket potato as it would... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
leetCaerleon, Owner at The Bell at Caerleon, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to feedback to us. We encourage guest feedback as it drives continual improvement through our business. I apologise that we failed to meet all of your expectations during your visit. Regarding the toilets they are cleaned thoroughly daily and checked regularly. We also have a toilet hygiene contract with Initial hygiene, with... More

Hertfordshire
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2014

Played golf at Celtic Manor, with an overnight stay. Went to the Bell Inn, based on good reviews. We were not disappointed. Short taxi from hotel, friendly service, good atmosphere, excellent menu and great house red wine. All at a reasonable price.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Travelers who viewed The Bell at Caerleon also viewed

Newport, Southern Wales
 

Been to The Bell at Caerleon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Bell at Caerleon, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Manage your listing