We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 915 Cardiff Restaurants

Miss Jones Bar and Grill

25-27 Merthyr Road Whitchurch, Cardiff CF14 1DA, Wales
029 20624000
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #390 of 915 Restaurants in Cardiff
Price range: $16 - $39
Cuisines: British
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Write a Review

146 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    52
    34
    28
    15
    17
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Blaencwm, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2014 NEW

Me and my daughter went there for a lunch. Good selection on menu, tasty food just not sure about service. It was quite busy inside and I believe not enough people to serve customers. We both enjoyed our food but would enjoy it more with faster service with a smile. Will go there again hoping staff issue will be sorted... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Emily I, Public Relations Manager at Miss Jones Bar and Grill, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your review. I'm very glad you enjoyed your food and can only apologise for your dissatisfaction with the service provided. We have recently recruited and taken on more team members in preparation for Christmas as you can understand, so staff training is currently being undertaken to get everyone up to our high standards. I can... More

Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2014 via mobile

We have eaten in Miss Jones a few times before and always had good service and food but went last week for lunch what a mistake. We arrived at 2.30 so expected it to be quiet. A few tables had customers but not all of them. The problem was there were only two members of staff working in the bar... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Annie H, Public Relations Manager at Miss Jones Bar and Grill, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your review, we're sorry to hear about your bad experience. If you don't mind, please send me an email (annie@missjonescardiff.co.uk) to provide further information so we can look into this and prevent it from happening again. We're glad your enjoyed your food and hope to see you again soon! More

Cardiff, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2014

We went there as a big group on a Thursday night - and I don't think the staff could cope, and at times the service was laughable. First of all, when I asked what the soup of day was, the answer was ' I don't know'. I ordered the burger, and on the menu it said it had onion rings,... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Annie H, Public Relations Manager at Miss Jones Bar and Grill, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. I am terribly sorry to hear of your bad experience. If you don't mind emailing me on annie@missjonescardiff.co.uk, I would like to hear more about your experience so we can stop this happening again. More

Cardiff, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2014

food quite nice, service quite slow with some inexperienced staff, quite noisy, quite pricey, down stairs very noisy and jammed packed, vomit outside....uurrmm don,t think i,ll be paying another visit on saturday night i,m sorry to say, have been here for lunch and enjoyed... don,t think they have it quite right for the weekend diners, the bar and grill just... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Annie H, Public Relations Manager at Miss Jones Bar and Grill, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We're sorry to hear you had a bad experience, Saturday evenings are obviously very busy, but our expansion has worked wonders to reduce the concentration of people in certain areas so Miss Jones is noticeably less jam-packed since. We try to cater for all, so each different area of Miss Jones suits different people. We... More

Cardiff, United Kingdom
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2014

For the price of the menu and the drinks I had high expectations of this bar and restaurant. Disappointed with the quality of the food and the ignorant manager!

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Annie H, Public Relations Manager at Miss Jones Bar and Grill, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. However, we have to disagree with your opinion of Miss Jones being overpriced, if you were to compare our food and drinks prices with other local restaurants and cocktail bars you would find that we are very much on par. In regards to the 'ignorant manager', if you could provide further information for this then... More

UK
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2014

We have been to Miss Jones a few times recently for tapas which is always good, but on going for lunch on a Sunday we were quite disappointed by the food. I had the lamb, which the meat was quite tough, the parsnip cold, I asked for mint sauce and was told that there was mint in the gravy! I... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Annie H, Public Relations Manager at Miss Jones Bar and Grill, responded to this review

Thank you for your review, I'm glad you love our tapas, our chefs review our menu seasonally and we have just added more tapas options which I'm sure you'll be pleased to know. As for the Sunday lunch, I apologise for your experience, our waiting staff should always bring salt and pepper to the table and offer any condiments so... More

Cardiff, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2014

As mentioned in the other reviews it does get very busy but then that's the mark of a good bar in my book. Haven't tried the food but I can vouch for the great live music and the friendliness of the bar staff. Drinks prices are quite high which is off putting. There is a covered area out back with... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Emily I, Public Relations Manager at Miss Jones Bar and Grill, responded to this review

Thank you very much, we are glad you've had enjoyable experiences with us. We hope to see you soon! More

Cardiff, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2014

Nice cosy bar downstairs, restaurant upstairs. Had Sunday dinner which was really nice, would recommend. Looking forward to returning soon.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Emily I, Public Relations Manager at Miss Jones Bar and Grill, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind review, we have to agree - it is a fantastic Sunday dinner! We look forward to seeing you again soon. More

Cardiff, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2014

Second time at miss Jones recently on a Saturday night only had one drink as we could not move! or get to the bar! lots of drunk people and screaming girls more like a nightclub in town really. I havent eaten here but the food looks good and service quick. worries me that there is so many people in such... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Emily I, Public Relations Manager at Miss Jones Bar and Grill, responded to this review

We apologise for how busy we get but we are a very popular cocktail lounge and we have just extended to try to accommodate for this. We have a strict capacity limit and are always sure to be well within our maximum capacity. We really hope you will return and have a better experience next time. More

Cardiff, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2014

Very close to 2 pubs but we were pleased we chose this restaurant instead for lunch. The staff were extremely helpful and polite. I think the menu was quite expensive and if I was having an evening meal then I would expect tablecloths. The food was excellent and service was good. Will re-visit.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Emily I, Public Relations Manager at Miss Jones Bar and Grill, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind review, I will pass this on to the General Manager. We look forward to seeing you soon. More

Travelers who viewed Miss Jones Bar and Grill also viewed

Cardiff, Southern Wales
Cardiff, Southern Wales
 

Been to Miss Jones Bar and Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Miss Jones Bar and Grill

Address: 25-27 Merthyr Road Whitchurch, Cardiff CF14 1DA, Wales
Phone Number: 029 20624000
Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  Wales  >  Southern Wales  >  Cardiff
Average Prices: USD 16 - 39
Cuisine: British

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.

Manage your listing