We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Miss Jones Bar and Grill

$$$
Improve this listing
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Your filters are still active.
There are no pins in your viewport. Try moving the map or changing your filters.
Get directions
25-27 Merthyr Road Whitchurch, Cardiff CF14 1DA, Wales
029 20624000
Website
Today
9:00 am - 11:30 pm
Closed now
See all hours
Hours:
Sun 9:00 am - 11:00 pm
Mon - Fri 9:00 am - 11:30 pm
Sat 9:00 am - 12:30 am
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night

TripAdvisor Reviewer Highlights

Read all 179 reviews
Visitor rating
  • 67
    Excellent
  • 37
    Very good
  • 31
    Average
  • 17
    Poor
  • 27
    Terrible
Rating summary
  • Food
    3.5 of 5 stars
    Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
    Atmosphere
    4 of 5 stars
Most recent review
Amazing time

We had afternoon tea here and it was brilliant. Amazing food and amazing staff. Thank you so much for everything. Will come again :-)

5 of 5 starsReviewed March 1, 2015
Claire H
Good for:
  • Breakfast/Brunch
  • Reservations
  • Late Night
Add Photo Write a Review

179 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2015 NEW

We had afternoon tea here and it was brilliant. Amazing food and amazing staff. Thank you so much for everything. Will come again :-)

Was this review helpful? Yes
Cardiff
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2015 NEW

Apart from cold garlic bread which was very quickly rectified, this was a super lunch. Homemade Shepherd's Pie and chips, yummy. Service was speedy and very pleasant. Thank you very much

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
CARDIFF
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2015

Went on a Saturday night with a group of friends. It was very busy, but the staff were helpful and found us a table. The first round of cocktails were good, but the second round were all very bitter (I think they must have forgotten to add sugar syrup). Although the staff were friendly, the service was very slow. The... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Caerdydd, null, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2015

February 2015 I've visited Miss Jones quite a few times. After an amazing New Years Eve night their, I decided to arrange my birthday party there for the end of January. I have to say I was absolutely blown away by how much attention to detail all staff and the owners went to to make this a perfect night. The... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Annie H, Public Relations Manager at Miss Jones Bar and Grill, responded to this review

Thank you for your review, we're extremely pleased to hear you love our venue as much as we do! We always aim to provide the best service and experience we can, and hope to see you all soon. Many thanks More 

Wales
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2015

I thought the days of arrogant bouncers was behind me! Clearly not. Miss jones should get over itself. Can't believe i went along with someone checking in my bag! I'm a whitchurch local and will NEVER be going to miss jones again! Walked straight back out

Was this review helpful? Yes 5
Annie H, Public Relations Manager at Miss Jones Bar and Grill, responded to this review

Thank you for your review, we can appreciate that some people dislike us having security, however it is a necessary as a result of how busy we get over the weekend. They are only on the door on a Friday and Saturday night, and do what they have to in the interests of our staff and customers. We can only... More 

S Wales
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2015

This was my third visit to Miss Jones, the food wasn't bad but the service was very very poor. We did have a few issues with our order, and we mentioned these to the staff at the time, their response was to completely ignore us - we saw the tables around us have starters, drinks, main courses, desserts and coffees... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Annie H, Public Relations Manager at Miss Jones Bar and Grill, responded to this review

Thank you for your review, your comments have been passed on to the floor manager to be dealt with. If you'd be so kind as to email annie@missjonescardiff.co.uk with further information of your experience this would be much appreciated so we can stop this happening again and hope to have you return. Many thanks More 

1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2015

When we asked for a bottle of red wine we were given a bottle of red already open and which had been topped up to the brim with an another old bottle of red wine already !! Complained to the manager and she apoligisied and gave us a more expensive bottle instead . Also had breakfast there a month earlier... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Annie H, Public Relations Manager at Miss Jones Bar and Grill, responded to this review

Thank you for your review, we're sorry for what happened with the wine and breakfast. The bar manager has been informed, as has the floor manager, so these issues will certainly be addressed. We hope the next time you return we can provide you with a great experience. Kind regards More 

1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2015

Had a great night. Food was lovely (Christmas menu). Staff were great. It was really busy but service was still good! Great music too!

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Annie H, Public Relations Manager at Miss Jones Bar and Grill, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your review, we're very glad you enjoyed your evening with us and hope to see you soon! More 

1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2015

Lovely decor that complements amazing well presented healthy food! Would highly recommend this restaurant! Believe me I am very fussy! Staff are very warm and welcoming, nothing too much trouble! Service outstanding! Seven of us had a great experience and can t wait to visit again! Many thanks Miss Jones and staff :)

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Annie H, Public Relations Manager at Miss Jones Bar and Grill, responded to this review

Thanks for you great review, we're really glad to hear you enjoyed your experience with us. We hope to see you soon! More 

Cardiff, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2015 via mobile

Went here for lunch and cocktails with a friend for my birthday. It was midweek so pretty much empty when we got there at lunchtime. This meant the staff were very attentive,and pretty much at our beck and call. We had the set menu lunch, which for £10 was great value. 2 courses which were both substantial and tasty. The... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Annie H, Public Relations Manager at Miss Jones Bar and Grill, responded to this review

Thank you for your review, we're very glad to hear you enjoyed your lunch. It's always great to hear good reports on our cocktails, we pride ourselves on offering a wide selection that are always made to a high standard so are glad that you loved them as much as we do. We look forward to seeing you soon! More 

Travelers who viewed Miss Jones Bar and Grill also viewed

Cardiff, Southern Wales
Cardiff, Southern Wales
 
Cardiff, Southern Wales
Cardiff, Southern Wales
 

Been to Miss Jones Bar and Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.

Manage your listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Location and Contact Information

  • Address: 25-27 Merthyr Road Whitchurch, Cardiff CF14 1DA, Wales
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  Wales  >  Southern Wales  >  Cardiff
  • Phone Number: 029 20624000

Price and Cuisine

  • Average Prices: USD 15 - 39
  • Cuisine: British
Open Hours
Sunday
9:00 am - 11:00 pm
Monday
9:00 am - 11:30 pm
Tuesday
9:00 am - 11:30 pm
Wednesday
9:00 am - 11:30 pm
Thursday
9:00 am - 11:30 pm
Friday
9:00 am - 11:30 pm
Saturday
9:00 am - 12:30 am

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Miss Jones Bar and Grill staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?