We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Meating Place

Improve this listing
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Your filters are still active.
There are no pins in your viewport. Try moving the map or changing your filters.
Get directions
40 St Mary St | Cardiff, Cardiff, Wales
02920 22 4757
Website
Today
12:00 pm - 3:00 pm
5:30 pm - 11:00 pm
Open now
See all hours
Hours:
Sun 10:30 am - 4:00 pm
Tue - Fri 12:00 pm - 3:00 pm
5:30 pm - 11:00 pm
Sat 12:00 pm - 11:00 pm
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: We are a contemporary grill house based in the city centre that can boast...
We are a contemporary grill house based in the city centre that can boast a great steak menu including a 20oz t bone as well as a great selection of other meats including hanging meat skewers cooked on a real charcoal grill.The menus are based on food we love. At Meating Place we make every effort to keep our menus seasonal, which means using locally sourced products.
read more

TripAdvisor Reviewer Highlights

Read all 366 reviews
Visitor rating
  • 135
    Excellent
  • 114
    Very good
  • 46
    Average
  • 37
    Poor
  • 34
    Terrible
Rating summary
  • Food
    4 of 5 stars
    Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
    Atmosphere
    4 of 5 stars
Carnivores heaven

Really enjoyed dinner here. Menu is really limited hardly any starters and some other courses weren't available. Ordered the porterhouse steak and beef kebab both were amazing they hang the kebabs from holders on the roof which was different. Our waitress was lovely and service was swift. Would... read more

4 of 5 starsReviewed July 27, 2015
Katie B
Add Photo Write a Review

366 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Rate and write a review
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cowbridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2015 NEW

Probably the most disastrous dinner date ever! Mixed up orders, missing meals, rubbish service, vibrating chairs...... We were subjected to the most inexperienced manager and team ever! They lacked basic culinary knowledge, they had little or no waitering skills and had no knowledge of the menu. Seemingly they had had poor or no training at all and were incapable of... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Nancy A, Public Relations Manager at The Meating Place, responded to this review

Good afternoon, Firstly I would like to apologies for the inadequate service you received during you visit to The Meating Place. We agree that this is totally unacceptable. We know there is no excuse for such service but we can assure you that the points you have highlighted are being dealt with. We are in the process of undergoing some... More 

Level Contributor
3 reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2015 NEW

Went here with my partner last night and to say I was disappointed would be an understatement. We checked the menu upon booking last week and when we arrived the menus were different. There was just one selection of red wine by the glass, and as my partner was driving we couldn't order a bottle. The starter beetroot soup was... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Nancy A, Public Relations Manager at The Meating Place, responded to this review

Good afternoon, Firstly I would like to apologies for the inadequate service you received during you visit to The Meating Place. We agree that this is totally unacceptable. We know there is no excuse for such service but we can assure you that the points you have highlighted are being dealt with. We are in the process of undergoing some... More 

Llantrisant, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2015 NEW

I went to the Meating place on a Thursday lunch, where I ordered a hanging chicken skewer... Safe to say it's the best I have ever eaten!!! The sweet potato fries complimented the meal greatly, and I had just enough room left for the incredible sticky toffee pudding. I can not say enough about the high level of service, will... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Nancy A, Public Relations Manager at The Meating Place, responded to this review

Good afternoon, Thank you so much for your kind review, we really appreciate it. We are so glad you enjoyed your visit to The Meating Place and we look forward to seeing you again soon. Kind Regards, The Meating Place More 

Cardiff, United Kingdom
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2015

Had a Groupon voucher for lunch and was advised roughly 10 mins after ordering that they had run out of rump steak! Was this not called The MEATing Place??? We were offered the fillet steak for which we didnt have to pay the £4 surcharge, however had we paid this I would have sent our meals back. The steak we... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Nancy A, Public Relations Manager at The Meating Place, responded to this review

Good afternoon, We are so sorry you received anything but exceptional service when you visited us. This is unacceptable. We take all feedback on board and are in the process of releasing a completely new menu and implementing additional training to all staff. I hope you can accept our apology and will allow us the opportunity to change your opinion... More 

Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2015

Really enjoyed dinner here. Menu is really limited hardly any starters and some other courses weren't available. Ordered the porterhouse steak and beef kebab both were amazing they hang the kebabs from holders on the roof which was different. Our waitress was lovely and service was swift. Would definitely go back!

Was this review helpful? Yes
Nancy A, Public Relations Manager at The Meating Place, responded to this review

Good afternoon, Thank you so much for your kind review, we really appreciate it. We are so glad you enjoyed your visit to The Meating Place and we look forward to seeing you again soon. P.s, We have a new menu in the next few weeks soon so hopefully you will find more options for you to choose from. Kind... More 

Cardiff, United Kingdom
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2015

A large group of friends decided to go to the meating place on Saturday evening. From the pleasant and effortless booking to the great venue and food everything was A1. Our food was faultless and was one of the best meals I have eaten in Cardiff. Our large table was all served together and looked after exceptionally well all evening... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Nancy A, Public Relations Manager at The Meating Place, responded to this review

Good afternoon, Thank you so much for your kind review, we really appreciate it. We are so glad you enjoyed your visit to The Meating Place and we look forward to seeing you again soon. Kind Regards, The Meating Place More 

1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2015

Forgotten orders. Over cooked meals. Delayed side orders. Poorly trained staff. We were offered deserts before we had even been served our mains. Will never eat there again.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Nancy A, Public Relations Manager at The Meating Place, responded to this review

Good afternoon, Firstly I would like to apologies for the inadequate service you received during you visit to The Meating Place. This is totally unacceptable. We know there is no excuse for such service but we can assure you that the points you have highlighted are being dealt with. We are in the process of undergoing some major changes including... More 

Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2015

My family and I visited to celebrate my graduation and we're all suitably impressed. The restaurant was fully booked so the atmosphere was nice. All of us had 3 courses, and each were seriously yummy. Really high quality food!! I would recommend the venison! Our visit was made even more special by the lovely staff, who even gave us a... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Nancy A, Public Relations Manager at The Meating Place, responded to this review

Good afternoon, Thank you so much for your kind review, we really appreciate it. We are so glad you enjoyed your visit to The Meating Place and we look forward to seeing you again soon. Kind Regards, The Meating Place More 

Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2015

Arrived in Cardiff and this was our 'meeting place' we had plenty to drink along with a lovely light lunch. The staff were brilliant and really looked after us. It was a great way to start off my friends hen do! Highly recommend..

Was this review helpful? Yes
Nancy A, Public Relations Manager at The Meating Place, responded to this review

Good afternoon, Thank you so much for your kind review, we really appreciate it. We are so glad you enjoyed your visit to The Meating Place, we loved having you all. Kind Regards, The Meating Place More 

Bridgend, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2015

We booked a table for lunch with two of us in the party having a groupon voucher . Although we were one of only two tables occupied we still had to wait over 30 minutes for our food. Two of the party ordered fillet steaks; one rare and one medium, however both came very well done! Completely Unacceptable for a... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Nancy A, Public Relations Manager at The Meating Place, responded to this review

Good afternoon, Firstly I would like to apologies for the inadequate service you received during you visit to The Meating Place. We agree that this is totally unacceptable. We know there is no excuse for such service but we can assure you that the points you have highlighted are being dealt with. We are in the process of undergoing some... More 

Travelers who viewed The Meating Place also viewed

Cardiff, South Wales
 
Cardiff, South Wales
 

Been to The Meating Place? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Meating Place

Address: 40 St Mary St | Cardiff, Cardiff, Wales
Phone Number: 02920 22 4757
Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  Wales  >  South Wales  >  Cardiff
Open Hours:
Sunday 10:30 am - 4:00 pm
Tuesday 12:00 pm - 3:00 pm  5:30 pm - 11:00 pm
Wednesday 12:00 pm - 3:00 pm  5:30 pm - 11:00 pm
Thursday 12:00 pm - 3:00 pm  5:30 pm - 11:00 pm
Friday 12:00 pm - 3:00 pm  5:30 pm - 11:00 pm
Saturday 12:00 pm - 11:00 pm
Cuisine: British

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.

Manage your listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Location and Contact Information

  • Address: 40 St Mary St | Cardiff, Cardiff, Wales
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  Wales  >  South Wales  >  Cardiff
  • Phone Number: 02920 22 4757

Price and Cuisine

  • Cuisine: British

Description

We are a contemporary grill house based in the city centre that can boast a great steak menu including a 20oz t bone as well as a great selection of other meats including hanging meat skewers cooked on a real charcoal grill.The menus are based on food we love. At Meating Place we make every effort to keep our menus seasonal, which means using locally sourced products.
Open Hours
Sunday
10:30 am - 4:00 pm
Tuesday
12:00 pm - 3:00 pm
5:30 pm - 11:00 pm
Wednesday
12:00 pm - 3:00 pm
5:30 pm - 11:00 pm
Thursday
12:00 pm - 3:00 pm
5:30 pm - 11:00 pm
Friday
12:00 pm - 3:00 pm
5:30 pm - 11:00 pm
Saturday
12:00 pm - 11:00 pm

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from The Meating Place staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?