We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Toby Carvery

South Road, Bridgend CF31 3UL, Wales
+44 1656 750011
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #81 of 134 restaurants in Bridgend
Price range: $10 - $20
Cuisines: British, Pub, Family Fare
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Late Night
Description: Welcome to the Toby Carvery Bridgend. When it comes to roast dinners, we really know our stuff. Every day our chefs lay on a feast of tender, hand-carved meats with all the trimmings – including towering Yorkshire puds, golden roasties with all those lovely little crunchy bits, and plenty of freshly prepared veg, all crowned with proper gravy. So it's no wonder we're Bridgend’s favourite carvery restaurant. Drop by and you'll find lots more on offer, including cooked breakfasts and tasty specials.
Write a Review

134 reviews from our community

44% Recommend
    25
    35
    39
    16
    19
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cowbridge, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2014 NEW

Myself and my work colleagues regularly have a lunchtime treat of a carvery meal at the Toby carvery and it goes down like you never seen!. There is usually 4 Roast to choose from Pork, Gammon, Turkey and Beef. with a vast selection of vegetables The Cauliflower Cheese is my favourite! and the roast potatoes, and the roast onions and..... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Bridgend
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2014

Tobys is a value for money place to eat. Nothing more, nothing less. What do you expect for £4-5.99? Hence you see a lot of people here who obviously love their food, judging from just how much of a food mountain they manage to cram onto their plates. I don't go there often but when I've been in the past... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2014

As always very good condition of food four roast meat for £5.99 a good time to get yourself a great dinner

Was this review helpful? Yes
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2014

I love Toby Carvery, the Yorkshires are absolutely amazing! It's quite expensive on a weekend but weekdays are great value and we have had great service

Was this review helpful? Yes
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2014

I called in with my wife for a meal as she fancied ham and parsley sauce and as we had not visited since the refurbishment we thought it was a good time to do it. We were greeted by a staff member and shown to a table then offered drinks by our server which we declined, but were offered water... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
North Cornelly, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2014

Our visit was awful...vegetables were of the frozen variety, yorksires were like cardboard all in all an awful meal. Staff not very helpful. Premises old and tatty and not particularly clean. But I must say others have not had the same experience as I did.

Was this review helpful? Yes
South Wales
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2014

Thought we'd try the local Bridgend Toby for a late lunch........What a mistake as it turns out. The parking was adequate with plenty of spaces available though it was a week day. Inside first impressions were not favourable. Used plates and glasses on adjacent tables were not cleared for the hour duration of our visit. The floors needed to be... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Gravesend, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2014 via mobile

After having visited family in the local area, we decided to stop off and have a good meal in the Toby. Very quiet and your standard Toby atmosphere....however the tables, windows, walls and toilets were dirty. There was no hand soap in either the men and women's toilets, the food was luke warm and stale and the service was less... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Toby Carvery R, Guest Relations Manager at Toby Carvery, responded to this review

We were sorry to see from your review that you were disappointed in your recent visit to us. Your feedback is always welcomed as our aim is to get it right, and we will learn from your comments. We have replied to you personally on this matter. More

Pontypridd, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2014

First time to go to toby carvery. I must say that the food was very nice and must say value for money. Would definitely go again. Sign up to newsletters to get offer and money off vouchers.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Toby Carvery R, Guest Relations Manager at Toby Carvery, responded to this review

Thank you for your review, it is wonderful when we receive such great feedback. More

united kingdom
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2014

Fathers Day loomed and my dad fancied a roast. Off we went to the Toby carvery, quite frankly it was tasteless. I'm not one for quantity over quality, and this place is exactly that. Pile your plate up and it tastes of nothing. There's lots of eateries around the Bridgend area that have main meals for £8.99, that are both... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Toby Carvery R, Guest Relations Manager at Toby Carvery, responded to this review

May we take this opportunity to thank you for raising these issues with us. We always aim to learn through the feedback we receive from our guests. More

Travelers who viewed Toby Carvery also viewed

Bridgend, Vale of Glamorgan
Bridgend, Vale of Glamorgan
 
Bridgend, Vale of Glamorgan
Bridgend, Vale of Glamorgan
 
Bridgend, Vale of Glamorgan
Bridgend, Vale of Glamorgan
 
Bridgend, Vale of Glamorgan
Bridgend, Vale of Glamorgan
 
Bridgend, Vale of Glamorgan

Been to Toby Carvery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Toby Carvery, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Manage your listing