We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 136 Bridgend Restaurants

Toby Carvery

South Road, Bridgend CF31 3UL, Wales
+44 1656 750011
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #68 of 136 Restaurants in Bridgend
Price range: $10 - $19
Cuisines: British, Pub, Family Fare
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Late Night
Description: Welcome to the Toby Carvery Bridgend. When it comes to roast dinners, we really know our stuff. Every day our chefs lay on a feast of tender, hand-carved meats with all the trimmings – including towering Yorkshire puds, golden roasties with all those lovely little crunchy bits, and plenty of freshly prepared veg, all crowned with proper gravy. So it's no wonder we're Bridgend’s favourite carvery restaurant. Drop by and you'll find lots more on offer, including cooked breakfasts and tasty specials.
Write a Review

156 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    32
    43
    42
    16
    23
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Blackwood, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2014 NEW

Visited this Toby on a Saturday evening about 5pm. Fairly quiet as a large party were just leaving when we arrived. Very pleasant service. Lovely food - well cooked and plenty of everything available. Very good prices - about £25 for three drinks and three main meals. Would visit again.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Bridgend, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2014

Haven't been to the Toby Carvery for years but must say I was pleasantly surprised this evening. The food was delicious and piping hot which isn't always the case at a carvery. There was a good selection of tasty vegetables and the roast potatoes were really crispy. A really good meal and superb value, couldn't believe the bill for two... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Toby Carvery R, Guest Relations Manager at Toby Carvery, responded to this review

We are glad to hear that you were happy with your recent visit. We will reply to you personally, as all feedback really helps us to ensure that our guests are not disappointed. More

bridgend
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2014

went to the toby carvery yesterday afternoon 06/10/14 for a roast dinner , and arrived there and was quickly shown to a table , the staff were helpfull , and very polite , the roast dinner costs £5.99 each and you were also allowed to go back for as many helpings of the vegetables and potatos as many times as... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Toby Carvery R, Guest Relations Manager at Toby Carvery, responded to this review

Thank you very much for choosing to visit us and for leaving your kind review on Trip Advisor. It is wonderful when we receive such good feedback and we have sent you a personal response. More

Pontypool, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2014

i went to the toby carvery on the 4/10/2014 and im sorry to say i wont be going back there again i no it was only 5.99 for our meal but you still want to be able to eat it the roast potatoes was hard and you had a job to cut them the stuffing was hard you couldnt eat... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Toby Carvery R, Guest Relations Manager at Toby Carvery, responded to this review

May we take this opportunity to thank you for raising these issues. We always aim to learn through the feedback we receive, and we have replied to you personally about this matter. More

Bridgend, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2014

Food is excellent value for money , mid week . soft drinks a bit expensive . Plenty of parking . Staff always very helpful .

Was this review helpful? Yes
Toby Carvery R, Guest Relations Manager at Toby Carvery, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We're pleased to hear you enjoyed your visit and hope to see you again soon. More

Bridgend
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2014

Great place to go if you don't want to cook. Good for families. Meat is nicely roasted and plenty of veg and nice gravy.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Toby Carvery R, Guest Relations Manager at Toby Carvery, responded to this review

Thank you very much for choosing to visit us and for leaving your kind review on Trip Advisor. More

Porthcawl
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2014

My Husband and I called back on 20/9/14 after a long day settling a young person into Bath Uni. We found the staff pleasant and friendly and the restaurant in fine condition. The carvery, was excellent, a very good selection and all the food was piping hot and very good quality. The meal was really most welcome and was more... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Toby Carvery R, Guest Relations Manager at Toby Carvery, responded to this review

Thank you for your review, it is wonderful when we receive such great feedback. More

wales
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2014

Smells like a hospital canteen, tiny portions of meat, stale cold veg, dirty floor, dirty tables, flies everywhere, fruit flies climbing up the windows!!!!! When we complained we we're told "well it is a very hot day"!!!!!!! Really! Its September and warm NOT hot and I have never seen flies in a restaurant before. Place should be closed down. Good... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Toby Carvery R, Guest Relations Manager at Toby Carvery, responded to this review

We were disappointed to hear that you did not enjoy your recent visit. We have replied to you personally as all the feedback we receive helps us to improve our service and we assure you we will pay attention to your comments. More

Nomansland, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
157 helpful votes 157 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2014

I had to go here twice with 2 different sets of friends recently - once for breakfast, once for lunch. Within 5 minutes of arriving on both times, I was reminded of why I don't go there. The waiter who showed us to the table for lunch was perfectly pleasant and friendly but his uniform was filthy. It was not... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Toby Carvery R, Guest Relations Manager at Toby Carvery, responded to this review

Thank you for your interesting and informative comments on Trip Advisor following your recent visit. We are sorry that we did not meet your expectations and have replied to you personally, as we are working hard at getting it right. More

Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2014

You can always rely on Toby Carvery to give you a good meal. We haven't been here for a few months and i was surprised about the new decor. Very light, bright and i love the booth seats. There was no queue for food surprisingly it was 5pm, always get great prompt service from the staff. We had a desert... More

Was this review helpful? Yes

Travelers who viewed Toby Carvery also viewed

Bridgend, Vale of Glamorgan
Bridgend, Vale of Glamorgan
 
Bridgend, Vale of Glamorgan
Bridgend, Vale of Glamorgan
 

Been to Toby Carvery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Toby Carvery

Address: South Road, Bridgend CF31 3UL, Wales
Phone Number: +44 1656 750011
Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  Wales  >  Southern Wales  >  Vale of Glamorgan  >  Bridgend
Average Prices: USD 10 - 19
Cuisine: British, Pub, Family Fare

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.

Manage your listing