We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Restaurant at The George Hotel

Welsh
Improve this listing
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Your filters are still active.
There are no pins in your viewport. Try moving the map or changing your filters.
Get directions
George St. Brecon, LD3 7LD, Brecon, Brecon Beacons National Park, Wales
(01874) 623421
Website
Add hours for The Restaurant at The George Hotel and help diners know when to go.
+ Add hours
Dining options: Reservations

TripAdvisor Reviewer Highlights

Read all 93 reviews
Visitor rating
  • 30
    Excellent
  • 39
    Very good
  • 11
    Average
  • 8
    Poor
  • 5
    Terrible
Rating summary
  • Food
    4 of 5 stars
    Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
    Atmosphere
    4 of 5 stars
Good grub!

We ate here 3 nights on the trot as we were impressed with the meals. Pretty good selection on the menu. When it arrived it was a decent portion and tasty food. Can recommend the fish and chips!

4 of 5 starsReviewed November 13, 2014
Vivien B
,
Leicester, United Kingdom
Add Photo Write a Review

93 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Coalville, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2015

Having travelled down from the Midlands in the morning my wife and I and our son and his fiance were staying in Brecon overnight on the evening of 10th January 2015 and having been to an afternoon Party we were looking for a place to have Dinner in the evening. We were told that 'The George' had a good reputation... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2015

We were lucky to find this place thanks to the recommendation of a nearby business, and it was an absolute treat. We thoroughly enjoyed our meal here, they had great food and lots of options on the menu.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Llandovery, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2015

I've heard some pretty good reviews from the George and we decided to try it ourselves. The food was outstanding! I had the chicken breast with wild mushroom fricassee and my husband had the Cwrw battered fish and chips. It was all outstanding! Perfectly made and the service was incredible Everyone was so nice and polite! Will definitely recommend it... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Brecon, Wales, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2015

Great food conservatory nice in the summer time nice fires in winter good selection of ales... What more is there to say great British gastro pub grub ...

Was this review helpful? Yes
Wales
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2014

Heard some pretty poor comments about the food at the George Hotel just after booking for a large a Christmas Party. On the evening of the party the food was well presented, hot and very tasty. I have no hesitation recommending the George for large party bookings and would go back next year. Thank you!

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Wales
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2014

Probably the worst Sunday Lunch I've ever had! (On par with a microwave roast). According to the Manager they changed from serving Carvery two weeks ago to this new style of Sunday lunch. The plate was dominated by a large lukewarm over cooked Yorkshire pudding. Next disappointment was that the vegetables: a few small carrots (taking al dente to a... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Manager-GeorgeHotel, Manager at The Restaurant at The George Hotel, responded to this review

Dear BonnyCot Very disappointed to read your review of our Sunday Lunch offering. It was myself who spoke to you at the bar as you were leaving. If I am allowed to respond, and not filled with excuses. All of our food is cooked freshly, and we only use local, quality producers. The lamb you received on Sunday was good... More 

Hay-on-Wye, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2014

Took friends here for lunch as had been before and it was good. On this occasion we all felt it could have been a lot better. Two of us ordered duck and it was not good. I would assume it was frozen and tended to be a little dry. I like my duck fresh and cooked pink which this was... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Manager-GeorgeHotel, Manager at The Restaurant at The George Hotel, responded to this review

Dear DawnCardiff1 Thank-you for taking the time to write a review on TA. The only problem is that you visited us in October and you have only just posted your review on November 25th! A lot has happened at The George in that short time. Both our Head and Sous Chef left us during October. Unfortunately their style of food... More 

Powys
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2014

Believe me, finding anywhere that will cook a vegan meal is incredibly difficult but to find a restaurant with a talented and conscientious chef is almost impossible, I had a wonderful meal here without any concern that the chef would not take my dietary choice seriously. The staff were all very pleasant, particularly the young lady who served us. My... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Bath, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2014 via mobile

Visiting friends in the area stayed at the George and loved every minute .. Starting with breakfast wow what a choice pancakes one day eggs benedict the next the. A lovely full welsh the last . Service at breakfast was top notch very friendly lady . Stayed in the evening as the weather was wet and miserable bar had a... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Leicester, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2014

We ate here 3 nights on the trot as we were impressed with the meals. Pretty good selection on the menu. When it arrived it was a decent portion and tasty food. Can recommend the fish and chips!

Was this review helpful? Yes

Travelers who viewed The Restaurant at The George Hotel also viewed

Brecon, Brecon Beacons National Park
Brecon, Brecon Beacons National Park
 
Brecon, Brecon Beacons National Park
Brecon, Brecon Beacons National Park
 

Been to The Restaurant at The George Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.

Manage your listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Location and Contact Information

  • Address: George St. Brecon, LD3 7LD, Brecon, Brecon Beacons National Park, Wales
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  Wales  >  Brecon Beacons National Park  >  Brecon
  • Phone Number: (01874) 623421

Price and Cuisine

  • Cuisine: Welsh

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from The Restaurant at The George Hotel staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?