We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Black Boy Inn

Certificate of Excellence
$$
British, Pub, Welsh, International
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
Northgate Street, Caernarfon LL55 1RW, Wales
+44 1286 673604
Website
Improve this listing
This restaurant is at Black Boy Inn
Add hours for The Black Boy Inn and help diners know when to go.
+ Add hours
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Breakfast, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Waitstaff
Good for: Families with children, Bar scene, Dining on a budget, Local cuisine, Romantic
Description: The Black Boy Inn is a listed building which is situated in the historic...
The Black Boy Inn is a listed building which is situated in the historic town walls of the Royal Borough of Caernarfon. The Inn is within easy walking distance to the town centre, and the famous 13th-century Castle. An old Inn dating back to 1522 and with its wooden paneling, low ceilings, and thick wooden support beams generates a cosy 'Olde Worlde' Welsh atmosphere. The Black Boy is a very busy Inn; please do not expect it to be a slow laid back hotel. It is in the centre of the tourist hub of North Wales and long wait times can be norm in middle of summer. Come and visit us in the winter season for a more laid back feeling.We now also have Black Jacks, which is another renovated building in courtyard, at rear of Inn .Black Jacks is away from the hustle of the main Inn . All suites have small kitchen area.No lift in building.Some Ground floor rooms are easy access with walk in showers , 1st floor variety of rooms as is 2nd floor.we offer 24 hour staff attendance. When you stay in any country you must wish to stay in somewhere that reflects that country ,we certainly do majority of our staff are welsh speaking and so are the owners .Meal TimesSunday to Thursday: Noon until 9.00p.m. Friday and Saturday. Noon until 9.30p.m.Table reservations can be made via reception up to 6.30p.m. Table allocation after 6.30.pm. will be made on availability. Waiting times can vary and an indication of any delay will be conveyed to you. To arrange a table reservation (up to 6.30p.m.)
read more

TripAdvisor Reviewer Highlights

Read all 1,266 reviews
Visitor rating
  • 727
    Excellent
  • 359
    Very good
  • 107
    Average
  • 50
    Poor
  • 23
    Terrible
Rating summary
  • Food
    4.5 of 5 stars
    Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
    Atmosphere
    4.5 of 5 stars
6 nights here brilliant

Just had a brilliant time had a great suite massive bed very clean everywhere breakfast in the coach house very nice experience all u could eat evening meals in restaurant were really nice and beautifully presented staff all helpful and very friendly hope to return one day the setting in the castle... read more

5 of 5 starsReviewed yesterday
Judy N
via mobile
Add Photo Write a Review

1,266 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW via mobile

Just had a brilliant time had a great suite massive bed very clean everywhere breakfast in the coach house very nice experience all u could eat evening meals in restaurant were really nice and beautifully presented staff all helpful and very friendly hope to return one day the setting in the castle walls r so handy for everything

Helpful?
Thank Judy N
Pwllheli, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

Second visit with friends, following a previous visit with my wife, and once again had a warm welcome on arrival and given the essential code to park in their car park. Very wide selection on the menu and our friends ordered the Dwynwen pie, which they thoroughly enjoyed. My wife had an enjoyable curry but would suggest the lasagne is... More 

Helpful?
Thank Geraint H
Pwllheli, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

I come here oten with my daughter for Sunday lunch, we really love this place. Always a nice warm fire to sit by, and the food is excellent. Great staff and excellent service by all the young staff.

Helpful?
Thank Angie J
blackboy673604, Owner at The Black Boy Inn, responded to this review

We do have lovely staff at the Inn, and they make it work so well. Thank you for the review. More 

1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Friendly check in, really helpful staff and the room was great - clean and spacious. The ales available in the pub were really good and the food was even better - the size of the portions are huge so you might want to share but the quality of the food was amazing!! We had the Welsh Pie and the Lamb... More 

Helpful?
Thank Kerry N
blackboy673604, Owner at The Black Boy Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for the kind review.Please return soon. More 

Warrington, England
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

We were really looking forward to our evening meal and drink at this supposedly nice,dog and people friendly pub, unfortunately the friendly welcome fast became 'can you please leave, as dogs are not allowed' despite the web site information to the contrary.We did not receive an apology or explanation as to the error on the website, nor were we given... More 

Helpful?
Thank Gazz
blackboy673604, Owner at The Black Boy Inn, responded to this review

Sorry you have disappointed as regarding our no dogs policy .We definitely do NOT have a policy of dogs welcome on our website.This has been a policy for a few years now .We own a number of animals ourselves and understand your frustration. But we have to go with the majority of the general public's views. More 

Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
47 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Nice pub, staff friendly etc but definitely NOT dog friendly, like most of Caernafon I'm afraid. So if you are one of the 26% of the population who has a dog you will need to go elsewhere e.g. Wal close by gave us a great welcome. If you ever go to Yorkshire, Kirkby Lonsdale has wonderful pubs, all dog friendly,... More 

Helpful?
Thank Gareth B
blackboy673604, Owner at The Black Boy Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for making it plain that we do not accept dogs.We do have pets ourselves in fact loads .But our policy at the Inn is plain and the reasons are because of the food trade .The Inn gets very busy and it would get very difficult if we allowed pets in .Thank you for the feedback. More 

Rhuddlan, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Very atmospheric pub. Busy the day we visited and service was a bit slow, but food was good-lovely-home made soup and excellent coffee.

Helpful?
Thank Maggi B
blackboy673604, Owner at The Black Boy Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for the review, glad you thought the atmosphere was nice. More 

Whalley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Decided to have a quick winter break and selected The Black Boy as destination and we were not disappointed with everything. The selection of cask ales was excellent and food was very traditional and plenty of it, our haddock was so big it overlapped our oval plates and perfectly cooked. The executive bedroom was huge with all the facilities you... More 

Helpful?
Thank rmm0255
blackboy673604, Owner at The Black Boy Inn, responded to this review

Thank you so much so glad you enjoyed your stay with us. As regards the builders that are here to do the winter refurbishments and tidy all after the winter storms. They are also going to stop the wind catching the doors by adding a covered way to breakfast room. We had noticed this year particularly that the wind is... More 

Barcelona
2 reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

The night of 2nd February, restaurant was full and we accepted to have dinner in the bar, the menu was the same. Until here, all OK. My complain is because we were obligated to pay in advance. When we've ordered, waiter requested us to pay BEFORE HAVING FOOD IN THE TABLE!!! When we asked him for loading it to my... More 

Helpful?
Thank carlos4340
blackboy673604, Owner at The Black Boy Inn, responded to this review

Your points are noted but they are all implemented for guest security and our own, I will answer your points in turn. 1 All bar area food orders are paid on ordering as most pubs do ,we do not treat the bar as part of the restaurant were table orders are allowed tabs. This is done as bar staff when... More 

Salou, Spain
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Bedroom was fantastic, staff are very friendly,view from our room was amazing, met the owner Gary what a great guy he even bought us a drink, will definitely be returning for a longer stay

Helpful?
Thank william562814
blackboy673604, Owner at The Black Boy Inn, responded to this review

Thank you very much for the review. More 

Travelers who viewed The Black Boy Inn also viewed

Caernarfon, Gwynedd
 
Caernarfon, Gwynedd
Caernarfon, Gwynedd
 

Been to The Black Boy Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Location and Contact Information

  • Address: Northgate Street, Caernarfon LL55 1RW, Wales
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  Wales  >  North Wales  >  Gwynedd  >  Caernarfon
  • Phone Number: +44 1286 673604

Price and Cuisine

  • Average Prices: USD 7 - 28
  • Cuisine: British, Pub, Welsh, International

Restaurant Characteristics

  • Good for: Families with children, Bar scene, Dining on a budget, Local cuisine, Romantic

Description

The Black Boy Inn is a listed building which is situated in the historic town walls of the Royal Borough of Caernarfon. The Inn is within easy walking distance to the town centre, and the famous 13th-century Castle. An old Inn dating back to 1522 and with its wooden paneling, low ceilings, and thick wooden support beams generates a cosy 'Olde Worlde' Welsh atmosphere. The Black Boy is a very busy Inn; please do not expect it to be a slow laid back hotel. It is in the centre of the tourist hub of North Wales and long wait times can be norm in middle of summer. Come and visit us in the winter season for a more laid back feeling.We now also have Black Jacks, which is another renovated building in courtyard, at rear of Inn .Black Jacks is away from the hustle of the main Inn . All suites have small kitchen area.No lift in building.Some Ground floor rooms are easy access with walk in showers , 1st floor variety of rooms as is 2nd floor.we offer 24 hour staff attendance. When you stay in any country you must wish to stay in somewhere that reflects that country ,we certainly do majority of our staff are welsh speaking and so are the owners .Meal TimesSunday to Thursday: Noon until 9.00p.m. Friday and Saturday. Noon until 9.30p.m.Table reservations can be made via reception up to 6.30p.m. Table allocation after 6.30.pm. will be made on availability. Waiting times can vary and an indication of any delay will be conveyed to you. To arrange a table reservation (up to 6.30p.m.)

Questions & Answers

Here's what previous visitors have asked, with answers from representatives of The Black Boy Inn and other visitors
5 questions
Ask a question
6 months ago
Leigh, United Kingdom

See all questions (5)

Questions? Get answers from The Black Boy Inn staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?