We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Black Boy Inn

Certificate of Excellence
$$
International, Pub, Welsh
Improve this listing
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Your filters are still active.
There are no pins in your viewport. Try moving the map or changing your filters.
Get directions
Northgate Street, Caernarfon LL55 1RW, Wales
+44 1286 673604
Website
This restaurant is at Black Boy Inn
Add hours for The Black Boy Inn and help diners know when to go.
+ Add hours
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Description: The Black Boy Inn is a listed building which is situated in the historic...
The Black Boy Inn is a listed building which is situated in the historic town walls of the Royal Borough of Caernarfon. The Inn is within easy walking distance to the town centre, and the famous 13th-century Castle. An old Inn dating back to 1522 and with its wooden paneling, low ceilings, and thick wooden support beams generates a cosy 'Olde Worlde' Welsh atmosphere. The Black Boy is a very busy Inn; please do not expect it to be a slow laid back hotel. It is in the centre of the tourist hub of North Wales and long wait times can be norm in middle of summer. Come and visit us in the winter season for a more laid back feeling.We now also have Black Jacks, which is another renovated building in courtyard, at rear of Inn .Black Jacks is away from the hustle of the main Inn . All suites have small kitchen area.No lift in building.Some Ground floor rooms are easy access with walk in showers , 1st floor variety of rooms as is 2nd floor.we offer 24 hour staff attendance. When you stay in any country you must wish to stay in somewhere that reflects that country ,we certainly do majority of our staff are welsh speaking and so are the owners .Meal TimesSunday to Thursday: Noon until 9.00p.m. Friday and Saturday. Noon until 9.30p.m.Table reservations can be made via reception up to 6.30p.m. Table allocation after 6.30.pm. will be made on availability. Waiting times can vary and an indication of any delay will be conveyed to you. To arrange a table reservation (up to 6.30p.m.)
read more
Good for:
Families with children
Romance
Local cuisine
Dining on a budget

TripAdvisor Reviewer Highlights

Read all 774 reviews
Visitor rating
  • 437
    Excellent
  • 230
    Very good
  • 58
    Average
  • 30
    Poor
  • 19
    Terrible
Rating summary
  • Food
    4.5 of 5 stars
    Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
    Atmosphere
    4.5 of 5 stars
Amazing traditional Inn, Excellent hopitality

I stayed with a friend over the weekend and we were blown away with the Black Boy Inn. The accommodation was fantastic - very spacious and safe with a generous breakfast. The Inn itself has two beautiful, traditional bars with a relaxed and enjoyable atmosphere. The decor of the beautiful old... read more

4 of 5 starsReviewed March 31, 2015
Claire W
,
Essex
Good for:
  • Families with children
  • Romance
  • Local cuisine
  • Dining on a budget
  • Breakfast/Brunch
  • Lunch
  • Dinner
  • Reservations
  • Delivery
  • Late Night
Add Photo Write a Review

774 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Essex
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2015 NEW

I stayed with a friend over the weekend and we were blown away with the Black Boy Inn. The accommodation was fantastic - very spacious and safe with a generous breakfast. The Inn itself has two beautiful, traditional bars with a relaxed and enjoyable atmosphere. The decor of the beautiful old building is great - a proper pub. Above all... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Manchester, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2015 NEW

Booked a table in the restaurant for my husbands birthday meal, we have previously eaten in the bar area so decided to treat ourselves. We were not disappointed we had the baked camembert as a shared starter which was delightful, my husband then chose the Stuffed chicken breast with welsh goats cheese and sun dried tomatoes, wrapped in bacon,served with... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
blackboy673604, Owner at The Black Boy Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for the review , please return soon to us. More 

Colwyn Bay, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2015 NEW via mobile

always a pleasure to visit here, whether for food or just a drink. A great choice of food dishes, all good quality and tasty, coupled with a real old world charm.

Was this review helpful? Yes
blackboy673604, Owner at The Black Boy Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for the kind review.Please return soon. More 

1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2015 NEW

We came here for lunch on a weekday. We were seated in the restaurant area by an amazing huge fireplace. The building is very old and still has all its features. The decor was really nice and the place had a nice atmosphere. We had the rib eye steak and the fish crumble. The steak was perfect and the portions... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
blackboy673604, Owner at The Black Boy Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for lovely review ,please return soon. More 

neston,wirral,england
Top Contributor
122 reviews 122 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
121 helpful votes 121 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2015 NEW

Ate at the Black Boy as we were staying at their Ty Dre Town House B & B. We were lucky & got a table instantly just before the rush. Starters. Except for the soup the starters are a tad expensive. My wife had soup & I had fried Chicken with chilli & salad, both were very good. Mains. My... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
blackboy673604, Owner at The Black Boy Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for the review please return soon. More 

Dublin, Ireland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2015 NEW via mobile

My wife and I ate here on a couple of occasions during a stay in the town last week. Both times we found the food to be of a good standard (if possibly on the too large portion size at times- felt full just looking at the large yorkshire pudding option) However the service levels need to be increased to... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
blackboy673604, Owner at The Black Boy Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for the review .The Black Boy does not get very busy and this can create a rushed feeling sometimes at peak times .Sorry for this . More 

Caernarfon
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2015 NEW

An atmospheric pub with a great bar. The pub stocks local beers as well as the market leaders. The food can be excellent, and is a little pricey, but also is not consistent. On one visit the standard will be top but the next time the same dish has disappointed. This has happened over several visits & different dishes.

Was this review helpful? Yes
blackboy673604, Owner at The Black Boy Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for the review.Please return soon. More 

Southampton, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2015

I'd read good reviews about The Black Boy Inn so we popped along for dinner whilst staying in Wales. The building is beautiful and a proper traditional pub, or Inn should I say. We walked in and asked if there was a table for 2 available and the gentleman said he would make up a table and it would be... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
blackboy673604, Owner at The Black Boy Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for the feedback .You are correct we do not take many table bookings and none at all after 6.30pm.As you will have seen it gets very busy here and it is impossible with the type of meals we serve to have table booking service . More 

Cardiff, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2015 via mobile

I went there for food while staying nearby as it was recommended and so glad I did. For the quality and portion size you would expect it to cost more. No matter how busy they are, the staff are friendly and do their best to fit you in so do not be put off when faced with a busy restaurant.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
blackboy673604, Owner at The Black Boy Inn, responded to this review

We have a large local trade as well as a very busy accommodation trade. Thank you for the review. More 

Stoke on Trent
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2015

From an establishment enjoying a such a great location, a great image and an appropriately high priced menu - the Black Boy Inn has the potential to rate very highly in mine and my partner's preferred eateries. However we were greeted by a bustling and crammed atmosphere when entering the restaurant; disappointing in the face of the great looking food.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
blackboy673604, Owner at The Black Boy Inn, responded to this review

Sorry you feel we are unhelpful of course the Black Boy is a very busy Inn.And this is so, due to the service and food that is supplied by us on a daily basis .I apologize that you feel you were not treated in the manner to which you expected .I will bring the matter up at weekly staff meeting,... More 

Travelers who viewed The Black Boy Inn also viewed

Caernarfon, Gwynedd
 
Caernarfon, Gwynedd
Caernarfon, Gwynedd
 

Been to The Black Boy Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.

Manage your listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Location and Contact Information

  • Address: Northgate Street, Caernarfon LL55 1RW, Wales
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  Wales  >  North Wales  >  Gwynedd  >  Caernarfon
  • Phone Number: +44 1286 673604

Price and Cuisine

  • Average Prices: USD 7 - 28
  • Cuisine: International, Pub, Welsh

Restaurant Characteristics

  • Good for: Families with children, Romance, Local cuisine, Dining on a budget

Description

The Black Boy Inn is a listed building which is situated in the historic town walls of the Royal Borough of Caernarfon. The Inn is within easy walking distance to the town centre, and the famous 13th-century Castle. An old Inn dating back to 1522 and with its wooden paneling, low ceilings, and thick wooden support beams generates a cosy 'Olde Worlde' Welsh atmosphere. The Black Boy is a very busy Inn; please do not expect it to be a slow laid back hotel. It is in the centre of the tourist hub of North Wales and long wait times can be norm in middle of summer. Come and visit us in the winter season for a more laid back feeling.We now also have Black Jacks, which is another renovated building in courtyard, at rear of Inn .Black Jacks is away from the hustle of the main Inn . All suites have small kitchen area.No lift in building.Some Ground floor rooms are easy access with walk in showers , 1st floor variety of rooms as is 2nd floor.we offer 24 hour staff attendance. When you stay in any country you must wish to stay in somewhere that reflects that country ,we certainly do majority of our staff are welsh speaking and so are the owners .Meal TimesSunday to Thursday: Noon until 9.00p.m. Friday and Saturday. Noon until 9.30p.m.Table reservations can be made via reception up to 6.30p.m. Table allocation after 6.30.pm. will be made on availability. Waiting times can vary and an indication of any delay will be conveyed to you. To arrange a table reservation (up to 6.30p.m.)

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from The Black Boy Inn staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?