We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Black Boy Inn

Northgate Street, Caernarfon LL55 1RW, Wales
+44 1286 673604
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #8 of 99 restaurants in Caernarfon
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $8 - $32
Cuisines: International, Pub, Welsh
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance, Local cuisine, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Description: The Black Boy Inn is a listed building which is situated in the historic town walls of the Royal Borough of Caernarfon. The Inn is within easy walking distance to the town centre, and the famous 13th-century Castle. An old Inn dating back to 1522 and with its wooden paneling, low ceilings, and thick wooden support beams generates a cosy 'Olde Worlde' Welsh atmosphere. The Black Boy is a very busy Inn; please do not expect it to be a slow laid back hotel. It is in the centre of the tourist hub of North Wales and long wait times can be norm in middle of summer. Come and visit us in the winter season for a more laid back feeling.We now also have Black Jacks, which is another renovated building in courtyard, at rear of Inn .Black Jacks is away from the hustle of the main Inn . All suites have small kitchen area.No lift in building.Some Ground floor rooms are easy access with walk in showers , 1st floor variety of rooms as is 2nd floor.we offer 24 hour staff attendance. When you stay in any country you must wish to stay in somewhere that reflects that country ,we certainly do majority of our staff are welsh speaking and so are the owners .Meal TimesSunday to Thursday: Noon until 9.00p.m. Friday and Saturday. Noon until 9.30p.m.Table reservations can be made via reception up to 6.30p.m. Table allocation after 6.30.pm. will be made on availability. Waiting times can vary and an indication of any delay will be conveyed to you. To arrange a table reservation (up to 6.30p.m.)In peak season we cannot accept table bookings at all due to the volume of trade.
Write a Review

622 reviews from our community

84% Recommend
    345
    180
    53
    25
    19
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bothell, WA
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2014 NEW

The Black Boy Inn had everything we hoped for in a Welsh pub--great selection of drinks, wonderful food, fun atmosphere and friendly locals speaking Welsh. The only downside was the food was so good and such huge portions that we didn't have room for dessert. Even on a busy evening in July we didn't have to wait long for our... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Brighton, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2014 NEW

This was the only place open to eat in on a Sunday night in Caernafon. Luckily the food and service was excellent and it is also a great pub serving good beer

Was this review helpful? Yes
blackboy673604, Owner at The Black Boy Inn, responded to this review

We hopefully provide what it states on the tin, good old fashioned Inn. Thank you for the review. More

Leicester, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2014 NEW

Had a lovely meal in this quaint pub, sat in the bar area, bit squashed but added to the overall friendly experience. Food was very good, had gammon and the pie which were both very nice and good value! Go early because if they are extremely busy the do stop food orders and you could have a wait, although this... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
blackboy673604, Owner at The Black Boy Inn, responded to this review

Glad you felt the staff kept you informed ,we do get very busy at certain times of the day and at peak seasons in the year . We serve up to 750 main meals a day we therefore can only accept a certain amount of bookings as we operate mostly via waiting list from the doors as people wait for... More

Liverpool, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2014 NEW

Stop in yesterday for a bar meal. Great well stocked bar. The choice of food is massive. Probably too much. The food was excellent. Beautiful fish in excellent thin crispy batter. The steak pie was full of excellent cuts of beef, and the chunky chips have to be the biggest on the planet .only one criticism the pie is a... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
blackboy673604, Owner at The Black Boy Inn, responded to this review

Thank you very much for the review . The steak and ale is one of our biggest sellers , the recipe is Marius the head chef own and may not be to everyones taste . But come back again as you say plenty of choice. More

Lake Oswego, Oregon
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2014 NEW

We were in Caenarfon and decided to try the Black Boy Inn......there was a 1 hour wait and we were told it was worth the while.....it was!!! I had the Seafood Crumble which was exceptional!!! Our group had a lasagna, caesar salad and Giant Yorkshire Puddings......no one complained, they were all excellent!!! Will be back again as soon as possible!!

Was this review helpful? Yes
blackboy673604, Owner at The Black Boy Inn, responded to this review

We as you have seen a very busy Inn in peak season hence the wait times and also the odd table booking system . We have to operate this way due to the 750 meals we serve daily at this time of the year . We cannot therefore reserve tables as they get taken as soon as they are empty... More

Wallasey, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2014 NEW

This is an old Inn dating back centuries withlots of nooks and crannies to get tucked away in. The food was excellent and imaginative. Highly recommended, but it does get busy.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
blackboy673604, Owner at The Black Boy Inn, responded to this review

We are a very busy Inn in the heart of welsh speaking Wales ,hence the welcome. Thank you for the review. More

Northampton, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2014 NEW

We recently stayed for two nights at the Inn as part of a tour of Wales and have to say that every aspect of our stay was excellent, including the food. Breakfast was particularly great as neither of us like a full English and had fantastic options offered as an alternative. Staff here are attentive, friendly and accommodating. We would... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
blackboy673604, Owner at The Black Boy Inn, responded to this review

Please come back soon to this old Inn . Thank you very much for review. More

London, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2014

Authentic old coaching inn within the town walls.....oak beams, low ceilings, very popular. Will definitely visit again.

Was this review helpful? Yes
blackboy673604, Owner at The Black Boy Inn, responded to this review

We are what we are i suppose , not a fancy plastic modern building but a true old Inn with modern conveniences. Thank you very much for review. More

North Wales
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2014

Gave the black boy another go as food always looks nice when I'm walking past. Ordered the chowder or fishy dish water as it should be called. Have never been served chowder like it. Slimey fish chunks and large chunks of carrot in a tasteless water. Awful. Kids meals were ok but nothing fantastic.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
blackboy673604, Owner at The Black Boy Inn, responded to this review

Sorry we were disappointed with your meal at the Inn . If i was aware at the time i would have come to see you personally.Myself and Marius the head chef take our very seriously and are always disappointed when a guest leaves disappointed. More

Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2014

I went to this pub with my 5 year old daughter for a meal. Weather was lovely so we sat outside. Inside was extremely busy but the food arrived quite quickly. The menu is quite traditional with lots of seafood options which you would expect from a seaside pub. I had a seafood crumble which was very well presented, quite... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
blackboy673604, Owner at The Black Boy Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for the review , we are what we state on the Tin really a pub with meals . We indeed to get very busy at peak times . More

Travelers who viewed The Black Boy Inn also viewed

Caernarfon, Gwynedd
Caernarfon, Gwynedd
 
Caernarfon, Gwynedd
Caernarfon, Gwynedd
 

Been to The Black Boy Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Black Boy Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Manage your listing