We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Alma

Certificate of Excellence
$$
English
Improve this listing
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Your filters are still active.
There are no pins in your viewport. Try moving the map or changing your filters.
Get directions
61 Springfield Road, Windsor, England
+44 1753 840515
Website
Today
3:00 pm - 11:30 pm
Closed now
See all hours
Hours:
Sun 12:00 pm - 11:00 pm
Mon - Thu 3:00 pm - 11:30 pm
Fri 3:00 pm - 12:30 am
Sat 12:00 pm - 12:30 am
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Description: You'll find The Alma just 5 minutes walk from Windsor town centre tucked...
You'll find The Alma just 5 minutes walk from Windsor town centre tucked away on a charming Victorian red brick terraced lined street. We are a traditional English pub serving a range of beers, ales, fine wines and great food....The size of our portions are legendary. We also have the largest beer garden in Windsor, great for those hot summer days and evenings, should we see them! We are conveniently located for Heathrow, the M4 and the M25. The Alma is full of antiques and collectable's including: furniture, paintings, pictures, mirrors, ceramics and interesting knick-knacks We also have a collection of rare film posters and are constantly adding interesting and unusual items to The Alma. It's like pubs used to be and, in our opinion, should be.
read more

TripAdvisor Reviewer Highlights

Read all 124 reviews
Visitor rating
  • 81
    Excellent
  • 32
    Very good
  • 2
    Average
  • 6
    Poor
  • 3
    Terrible
Rating summary
  • Food
    4.5 of 5 stars
    Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
    Atmosphere
    4.5 of 5 stars
Most recent review
Great time at the Alma

Tried the Alma on the recommendation of Trip Advisor, and I am glad I did. We had some great pub food recommended to us by the barman Andy, got chatting to some of the locals and had a few more drinks than we planned but overall a really good night. Its only a few minutes’ walk from the center of... read more

5 of 5 starsReviewed February 27, 2015
Marhenriksen
,
Oslo, Norway
Good for:
  • Breakfast/Brunch
  • Reservations
  • Late Night
Add Photo Write a Review

124 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Oslo, Norway
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2015 NEW

Tried the Alma on the recommendation of Trip Advisor, and I am glad I did. We had some great pub food recommended to us by the barman Andy, got chatting to some of the locals and had a few more drinks than we planned but overall a really good night. Its only a few minutes’ walk from the center of... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Helen M, Owner at The Alma, responded to this review

Hi Marhenriksen, Thank you for taking the time to leave us such a lovely review, Andy is a little gem, always happy to stand and chat! We are very lucky with such a friendly bunch of locals!! See you next time you are over! Helen More 

Windsor, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2015

I did a review a few years ago as I love the chillie cheesy chips in the Alma. I didn't think it was possible but the new chillie recipe is even better than before!! Every mouthful (and there are a lot of them as the portion size is v generous) is an absolute joy and I really must ask for... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Helen M, Owner at The Alma, responded to this review

Hi Ali_Bali_13, Nummy nummy, have not heard that in a while! What a lovely review, Dave our chef, has recently improved the chilli so glad he brought a smile to your face!! Thank you for taking the time to leave us your thoughts! Helen More 

Genova, Italy
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2015

I've been here after reading good reviews about their food, so I reserved a table on a Saturday night with my wife. Unfortunately on that night there was some private party in the back half of the pub so noise and attendees were overflowing their area, but that was acceptable as we were anyway in a pub on a Saturday... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Helen M, Owner at The Alma, responded to this review

Hi G_The_Traveller, Really sorry you thought the food was average, it was myself that cleared your plates and when I asked you seemed quite warm and happy with your response. and as you have said your wife finished all of hers so I assumed from that you had enjoyed it like you both said. If you do have any direct... More 

Windsor, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2015

Both myself and my wife were in this pub with five other guests (my family) in total we most likely spent the best of £200.00... we were there for my friend Craig`s 40th Birthday party who plays music there often. I had just bought both myself and my wife a drink as the rest of my party were leaving in... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Helen M, Owner at The Alma, responded to this review

You know this is not what happened and actually your own group have apologised for you behaviour. I also apologised to the customer who you pushed out of the way upon leaving the pub (the first time around) and to you for removing your drink. As I was advised afterwards you are a landlord too so I would have hoped... More 

Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2015

The Alma's chips are second to none! It's a brilliant place to spend a good evening with friends, live music, quiz and just a nice proper pub like we don't see them any more. It's not trying to be a gastro-bistro-fancy doohdah, it's a pub, and a very good one! If you remember what pubs used to be and you're... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Helen M, Owner at The Alma, responded to this review

Hi Christine P, Thank you very much, we get such lovely comments about our chips! The chef is very proud. Glad you enjoyed everything, I think you had the steaks and wine if I remember......Look forward to seeing you next time. Again thank you for the toilets comment, seems they have started a hot topic on here!! Thank you, Helen More 

Windsor, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2015

Dropped in for a very quick visit and was pleasantly surprised Apparently the food is very good ! ( I will rate it soon-hopefully ) The atmosphere was reasonably good Although the bar area was very quiet Noticed on reviews re the cleanliness of the toilets and I would agree they have to ensure that this is acted upon -... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Helen M, Owner at The Alma, responded to this review

Hi Ken L, Glad you popped in, we are sorry it was not that busy when you came in, try us next time on a Thursday for the Quiz, we have around 50-60 every week so I am sure you would enjoy the atmosphere! Again thank you for noticing the toilets, we have spent extra time over the past few... More 

Windsor, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2015

There aren't many decent pubs in Windsor, fortunately the Alma is more than decent. Excellent beer selection, fantastic atmosphere and the food was great. Staff really effective and friendly. Had a fab Friday night there with a group of girlfriends.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Helen M, Owner at The Alma, responded to this review

Hi Iuotzabl, Thank you so much for your lovely comments, I often say on here how much the team take great pride in getting reviews and this is perfect example, the day your post went live on here, 3 of the team tx'd me to make sure I had seen it! They were so chuffed as they were the one... More 

jimmyjon1978
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2015

Friends took me to he Alma yesterday. We had lunch which I can only describe as the best Sunday roast I have had In a very long time. The place is quirky and has a really chilled out feeling and Owen behind the bar helps keep it that way with his welcoming manner and friendly personality. Its the perfect place... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Helen M, Owner at The Alma, responded to this review

Hi Jimmyjon1978, So glad you feel the same way we do about the place! Chilled and awesome, he he Owen is our little Irish charm - er! He certainly is welcoming and friendly, gives him an opportunity to chat away to you! Look forward to seeing you next time! Helen More 

Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2015

Quaint pub in Windsor with a retro like feel. The Sunday roasts are one one of the biggest sized servings I have come across.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Helen M, Owner at The Alma, responded to this review

Hi Steven K, Short and sweet, love it! So glad you enjoyed yourself and I look forward to seeing you again for a 5* next time. Thank you, Helen More 

Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2015

Our friends took us to the Alma for late lunch and I have to say I was so impressed with the quality of the food and what a great little pub, has so much nostalgic pub charm, a nice friendly atmosphere and even the little pub terrier wandering around just added to this pubs charm. we had Sunday lunch and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Helen M, Owner at The Alma, responded to this review

Hi Jack M, Love the pic! And I love the pork belly too, no idea how the chef gets it so meaty, generally they are a fatty cut but he does a great job minimising that! In terms of the black pudding salad, thank you for the feedback the chef has increased the amount of black pudding now. I look... More 

Travelers who viewed The Alma also viewed

Windsor, Windsor and Maidenhead
Windsor, Windsor and Maidenhead
 
Windsor, Windsor and Maidenhead
Windsor, Windsor and Maidenhead
 

Been to The Alma? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.

Manage your listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Location and Contact Information

  • Address: 61 Springfield Road, Windsor, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Berkshire  >  Windsor and Maidenhead  >  Windsor
  • Phone Number: +44 1753 840515

Price and Cuisine

  • Average Prices: USD 6 - 28
  • Cuisine: English

Description

You'll find The Alma just 5 minutes walk from Windsor town centre tucked away on a charming Victorian red brick terraced lined street. We are a traditional English pub serving a range of beers, ales, fine wines and great food....The size of our portions are legendary. We also have the largest beer garden in Windsor, great for those hot summer days and evenings, should we see them! We are conveniently located for Heathrow, the M4 and the M25. The Alma is full of antiques and collectable's including: furniture, paintings, pictures, mirrors, ceramics and interesting knick-knacks We also have a collection of rare film posters and are constantly adding interesting and unusual items to The Alma. It's like pubs used to be and, in our opinion, should be.
Open Hours
Sunday
12:00 pm - 11:00 pm
Monday
3:00 pm - 11:30 pm
Tuesday
3:00 pm - 11:30 pm
Wednesday
3:00 pm - 11:30 pm
Thursday
3:00 pm - 11:30 pm
Friday
3:00 pm - 12:30 am
Saturday
12:00 pm - 12:30 am

Questions & Answers

Here's what previous visitors have asked, with answers from representatives of The Alma and other visitors
3 questions
Ask a question
Bath, United Kingdom
29 days ago

See all questions (3)

Questions? Get answers from The Alma staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?