We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Castello Restaurant

4 Church Lane, Windsor SL4 1PA, England
+44 1753 858331
Improve this listing
Ranked #59 of 165 restaurants in Windsor
Cuisines: Italian, Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Outdoor seating
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Description: We are situated in the historic cobbled streets just minutes from Windsor Castle in Windsors 2nd oldest building which dates back to 1423.
Write a Review

149 reviews from our community

71% Recommend
    64
    43
    17
    11
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Winchester, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2014 NEW via mobile

We were revisiting Windsor after a gap of many years and were looking for somewhere for a light lunch. Costello is situated in a small fifteenth century building in a cobbled alley way - a quintessential mix of old England with an Italian flavour. My wife had two starters which were delicious and I had the Castello Pizza with tuna,... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Slough, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2014 NEW

We went to castello's restaurant last Saturday night had a great meal, food was excellent the service was excellent Annabelle was our server ( cheeky girl). We will defiantly make a return visit in the near future.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Ryde, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2014

We came for lunch on a day trip to windsor and didn't want to go to a chain restaurant. The food was really good but service was slow. This was not the staff's fault though. For two people serving a full house on a busy lunch time they did an amazing job. Would like to go back when the staff... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Lutterworth, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2014

We visited Castello Restaurant on tuesday evening whilst visiting Windsor for a couple of days. The evening was warm and we ate outside which was a treat in the UK. The food was excellent and we all were pleased with the choices we made. I had the pasta with salmon and peas which was lovely. The service was very good... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2014

Visited castellos last week with family as the satarters were brought out it was hard to believe they were not mains and the value for money wonderful excellent value for money wonderful quality of food polite staff enchanting to be eating in the oldest building to stand in windsor thx

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Grayshott, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2014 via mobile

Visited today, on outside thought will be good...nice Italian style, but only to bruschetta which had a cheese on it - this is not Italian, then pizza with lot of fat. By look (except the fat) was Italian but taste was horrible and have not been cooked properly....this restaurant do not have anything like Italian....pls do not go there as... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
david c, Owner at Castello Restaurant, responded to this review

Dear Reno661, thank you for taking the time to write a review and we are sorry your were disappointed. I must admit I did have a little trouble understanding your review.....! Please note - we are a Mediterranean restaurant. If you check out our website, we do not advertise ourselves as purely an Italian restaurant so why would we only... More

Watford, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2014

I have to say, if I had of read the reviews here first I probably wouldn't have gone however, this was a fantastic dinner date for my friends and I! We were in Windsor celebrating our 30ths and had an amazing meal here! So pleased we didn't go to a chain restaurant. We had 3 items from the specials menu... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 5
david c, Owner at Castello Restaurant, responded to this review

Dear Josephine C, Thank you for your very complimentary review - we are pleased to note that you and your friends had a great meal celebrating your 30th birthdays....and sorry the waiting staff forgot to give you the finger bowl for your mussels. We hope to welcome you to the restaurant again in the near future. Many thanks, once again... More

Slough, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2014

We have visited Castello on several occasions, the last being for Lunch on a Sunday afternoon. We sat outside and were given our menu and ordered drinks, then when we came to order our food, 2/3 of us chose dishes containing mushrooms and it wasn't until ordering that we were told they had no mushrooms that day. We then settled... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
david c, Owner at Castello Restaurant, responded to this review

Dear Kelly W, Thank you for taking the trouble to write a review. We were concerned to learn that you were disappointed, especially as you have visited Castello several times before. We are sorry that some of your mussels were closed shell and we have spoken to our fish supplier about this problem. We were unable to supply you with... More

Niles, Michigan
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2014

The food was good. I had the pasta with the smoked salmon and peas. There could have been more salmon, but otherwise it was a good meal served in the right portion size. The service was rather odd, with several waitresses serving us, but one ultimately doing everything for the table. Dining outdoors was nice and the restaurant was close... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Brierley Hll
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2014

After a lovely day in london got back to our hotel in windsor got ready for a meal in the town. We chose this place because it seemed to be popular each time visit - now I ask myself why. We chose our wine and main course, pizza, and were to follow it with a dessert. The hawain pizza's arrived... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
david c, Manager at Castello Restaurant, responded to this review

Dear reviewer, Thank you for taking the trouble to write a review, although it did strike us as odd that you did not pre-book a table with us for such a big momentous occasion for you and wife, and instead just turned up on spec at 9.30 pm. We were very surprised to hear that your Hawaaian pizza was lacking... More

Travelers who viewed Castello Restaurant also viewed

Windsor, Windsor and Maidenhead
Windsor, Windsor and Maidenhead
 
Windsor, Windsor and Maidenhead
Windsor, Windsor and Maidenhead
 

Been to Castello Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Castello Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Manage your listing