We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Emperor of India

5 Windsor Road | Bray Wick, Maidenhead SL6 1UZ, England
01628 624100
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #18 of 108 restaurants in Maidenhead
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: Indian
Dining options: Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
4 visitor photos
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Write a Review

102 reviews from our community

88% Recommend
    61
    29
    3
    5
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014 NEW

We visited the Emperor last night for the first time and were particularly impressed with the food. Prices weren't ridiculous as some people have stated; I would rather pay a little more for quality (the bill came to £38.00 for two people with main courses, sides and drinks so not bad!) rather than a plateful of oil and lack of... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Maidenhead, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2014 NEW

Another fabulous meal in what is now our favourite restaurant in the area. I can truly say if you want to sample some of the best indian cuisine then this is the place to be. Tonight we had Chicken Korma, Biryani and Masala and all were absolutely superb. The staff are just so friendly and helpful and we had such... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Wokingham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2014

I have eaten at the Emperor of India many times, sometimes for business (small and large groups), sometimes with family and others with friends. Never have I or any of my guests been disappointed with this restaurant. In fact the quality of the food is so high that many of those that I have invited to this restaurant have asked... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2014

Just had another great night at the emperor. Food is always first class as well as the service which is attentive. The prices are on the higher side but you get what you pay for.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Wraysbury, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2014

the food was lovely but portions verty small considering the prices!!! however the waiters were so moody and the frowns on there faces were so depressing!! they also have disabled car parking bays but dont have a disabled toilet. which i presumed would have a baby changing unit but it doesnt. i had to change my baby in the ladies... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Azmal A, Owner at Emperor of India, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write your review on our restaurant. We were sorry to hear that you were "not happy" and did not have a positive experience. As per your comments we would like to take this opportunity to respond to some of your points. Firstly we would like to apologise to you and assure you that... More

maidenhead
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2014

Food good but smallish portion ( had the quick lunch). Would have been nice to have had pickles included.very pleasant decor and service was efficient and friendly.

Was this review helpful? Yes
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2014

I was passing by from the area and thought of having food here. Ambience was OK, pub been converted to restaurant. Food was average but damn expensive for the location, quality, quantity and ambience. What didn't go well with me at all: 1. My wife is pregnant and therefore was carrying her own water. The manager made an issue out... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Azmal A, Owner at Emperor of India, responded to this review

We were sorry to read your review regarding your experience at our restaurant. May we take this opportunity to respond. Firstly when you were seated down with the menu you had the opportunity to view the prices and if you felt this was too expensive it was not too late to leave. We have all our prices clearly stated on... More

Stratford-upon-Avon, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2014 via mobile

My Wife and I thoroughly enjoyed the food. However... When it came to pay, we found that a 10% service charge had been added to the bill by default. A service charge is generally included at the discretion of the diner, not the restaurant. In addition, service charge can be added for a table with a large number of diners... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
320 reviews 320 reviews
225 restaurant reviews
193 helpful votes 193 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2014

Yes the food was nice as was the restaurant. What I didn't like was the rushed feeling that we experienced. In and out within 70 minutes, and spent a fair bit on a two course meal with additional side dishes. Expected more of a night out. We weren't the only table rushed. The table next to us arrived later and... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Bray on Thames, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

If Indian food is for you, there is no better place to dine than the Emperor Of India. We have probably eaten there 50 or 60 times now and every meal is simply the finest of Indian cuisine. The atmosphere in the restaurant is of the highest quality, as is the tableware and the service. We have tried other Indian... More

Was this review helpful? Yes

Travelers who viewed Emperor of India also viewed

Maidenhead, Windsor and Maidenhead
Maidenhead, Windsor and Maidenhead
 
Maidenhead, Windsor and Maidenhead
Maidenhead, Windsor and Maidenhead
 

Been to Emperor of India? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Emperor of India, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Manage your listing