We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Wheatsheaf, Lower Woodford

Certificate of Excellence
$$
English, British, Bar, Brew Pub
Improve this listing
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Your filters are still active.
There are no pins in your viewport. Try moving the map or changing your filters.
Get directions
Lower Woodford, Salisbury, England (Formerly The Wheatsheaf)
01722 782203
Website
Add hours for The Wheatsheaf, Lower Woodford and help diners know when to go.
+ Add hours
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night

TripAdvisor Reviewer Highlights

Read all 156 reviews
Visitor rating
  • 65
    Excellent
  • 43
    Very good
  • 21
    Average
  • 22
    Poor
  • 5
    Terrible
Rating summary
  • Food
    3.5 of 5 stars
    Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
    Atmosphere
    4 of 5 stars
Most recent review
Let down but will still go back...

We have been here several times and never been let down but they must have been having a bad day when we went on our last visit! There was a mix up on reservations which was overcome eventually and when we ordered our food at 8.45 (PM) two of the starters had already sold out! Sadly the service was... read more

5 of 5 starsReviewed March 1, 2015
Brian L
,
Wiltshire, United Kingdom
Good for:
  • Breakfast/Brunch
  • Lunch
  • Dinner
  • Reservations
  • Late Night
Add Photo Write a Review

156 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wiltshire, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2015 NEW

We have been here several times and never been let down but they must have been having a bad day when we went on our last visit! There was a mix up on reservations which was overcome eventually and when we ordered our food at 8.45 (PM) two of the starters had already sold out! Sadly the service was pretty... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Salisbury
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2015 NEW

Went here for lunch today with the fiancé. We weren't seated but told to find our own table and told to return to the bar to order food and give them our table number. So we ordered, and in no time the starter was with us. just plonked on the table, we didn't have cutlery let alone were we asked... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
salisbury uk
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2015 NEW

Called in for lunch today and was met by 2 very polite and smart male staff who showed me and my daughter to the table of our choice. Food was excellent,service was impeccable all in all a very nice exsperience,it's nice to see the youth of today with standards. A big high five to the wheatsheaf I have never yet... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Lymington, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2015

I met a friend at the Wheatsheaf as it is situated halfway between our homes, neither of us had eaten there before. There is plenty of parking and the pub has a very warm feel about it. We had a three course lunch which was well cooked and served promptly. I would definitely visit again.

Was this review helpful? Yes
england
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2015

Enjoyed a lovely evening for Valentines night with my husband, unfortunately the service was slow which was not too much of a problem but the sirloin steak was quite fatty. We both had a sirloin steak and asked to have a doggy bag for the left over steak for our dog. On returning home, out of curiosity the fatty leftover... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Hall W, General Manager at The Wheatsheaf, Lower Woodford, responded to this review

We are very sorry for the experience you had on this visit to the Wheatsheaf. Please allow me to apologise for the slow service, and the disappointing steak. We have sent you a private message, regarding your review. More 

Salisbury, United Kingdom
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2015

The food is good traditional pub grub, atmosphere nice, but the service is always so slow. We keep giving this place the benefit of the doubt, tonight we were sat for 1.5 hours before we saw our mains, which for some is fine but with kids just isn't acceptable. This is a consistent problem, experienced 4 or 5 times.....

Was this review helpful? Yes
Wiltshire, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2015

Some friends kindly asked us out to lunch at the Wheatsheaf - a very good choice of venue. We have eaten here before, but this was one of our more enjoyable visits. The restaurant was quiet, and the service excellent. Four of us made our choice from the varied menu, which catered well for us veggies. The crumbed mushroom starter... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Wiltshire, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2015

Yet again a wonderful time. We love coming here as the atmosphere is so good, likewise the food, service, cleanliness, value for money. To be honest the only fault is.....its not on our doorstep!! The menu is well thought out, with varying sizes of portions, sharing boards, meal deals etc. The staff are always obliging. It's also an attractive pub... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Salisbury, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2015 via mobile

Always great service and always lovely food at a reasonable price. Would always come here for a meal if I had the family down or even for a quiet date night

Was this review helpful? Yes
Lightwater Uk
Top Contributor
234 reviews 234 reviews
118 restaurant reviews
167 helpful votes 167 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2015

Four of us visited for dinner and we were all delighted with the evening. The Wheatsheaf has a cosy feel despite being a fairly large pub. The menu is reasonably priced and has a varied selection. We had the fish and chip special, this was excellent with cod, scampi and haddock fish cakes, be warned you'll need a good appetite.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes

Travelers who viewed The Wheatsheaf, Lower Woodford also viewed

Salisbury, Wiltshire
 
Salisbury, Wiltshire
Salisbury, Wiltshire
 

Been to The Wheatsheaf, Lower Woodford? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.

Manage your listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Location and Contact Information

  • Address: Lower Woodford, Salisbury, England (Formerly The Wheatsheaf)
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Wiltshire  >  Salisbury
  • Phone Number: 01722 782203

Price and Cuisine

  • Average Prices: USD 11 - 22
  • Cuisine: English, British, Bar, Brew Pub

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from The Wheatsheaf, Lower Woodford staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?