We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Sous le Nez en Ville

#61 of 1,416 Restaurants in Leeds
Certificate of Excellence
Improve this listing
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Your filters are still active.
There are no pins in your viewport. Try moving the map or changing your filters.
Get directions
Quebec street, Leeds LS1 2HA, England
+44 113 244 0108
Website
Today
12:00 pm - 9:45 pm
Closed now
See all hours
Hours:
Mon - Fri 12:00 pm - 9:45 pm
Sat 12:00 pm - 2:00 pm
5:30 pm - 10:30 pm
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Description: It's all about a different atmosphere. It's about good food. It's about...
It's all about a different atmosphere. It's about good food. It's about good service and attention to detail.So no wonder the long-established Sous Le Nez is one of the most acclaimed restaurant and winebars in Leeds. In fact, our award winning basement bar and bistro - in a handy, city centre location - has been providing mouthwatering food to Leeds diners for over 15 years. Our wine list is as unusual as it is extensive, and our lunchtime and evening menus are creative and very popular. And our portions are huge too!
read more
Good for:
Special occasions
Entertaining clients

TripAdvisor Reviewer Highlights

Read all 564 reviews
Visitor rating
  • 365
    Excellent
  • 126
    Very good
  • 40
    Average
  • 18
    Poor
  • 15
    Terrible
Rating summary
  • Food
    4.5 of 5 stars
    Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
    Atmosphere
    4.5 of 5 stars
Most recent review
Great celebratory meal with the Mrs

Went here to celebrate a new position for work and wasn't disappointed. I had been put off by a friend due to poor service but my Mrs wanted to go. From my view, the food was fantastic, the service was good and it wasn't too pricey. We ordered 3 starters to share followed by the pork pilo for... read more

5 of 5 starsReviewed March 3, 2015
DavidJBirks
,
Leeds, United Kingdom
Good for:
  • Special occasions
  • Entertaining clients
  • Breakfast/Brunch
  • Lunch
  • Dinner
  • Reservations
  • Late Night
  • Dessert
Add Photo Write a Review

564 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Russian first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Leeds, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2015 NEW

Went here to celebrate a new position for work and wasn't disappointed. I had been put off by a friend due to poor service but my Mrs wanted to go. From my view, the food was fantastic, the service was good and it wasn't too pricey. We ordered 3 starters to share followed by the pork pilo for her and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Leeds, England, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2015 NEW

If, like me, in Leeds, you are fed up with soulless restaurant chains such as Restaurant Bar & Grill, fake Italian bonhomie such as San Carlos never mind Bibis, the ubiquitous Loch Fyne and never mind plastic nonsense such as Jamie's Italian, then eat at SLN. It is a on-off. The food is always good, occasionally excellent, the service is... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Warrington, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2015 NEW

We booked the restaurant as it was under the Hotel. The service was brilliant. And the food was very well presented and tasted great. Wine wasn't bad either. I would recommend.

Was this review helpful? Yes
York, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2015 NEW

visited here as part of a large group on saturday night, we had ordered all our food weeks ago due to the size of the group, but upon arrival were told the menu had changed and we had to re-order, ok no big problem to be fair. I had the french onion soup to start which was lovely, everyone seemed... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2015 NEW

We went here mid week to take advantage of a deal where it's £26 for three courses and half a bottle of wine. We were greeted and sat immediately, our drinks followed after. The house wine that came with the deal was okay. We both had chicken liver parfait, pigeon with chorizo and bubble and squeak with the sorbet to... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Leeds, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2015

We have been going to the restaurant for many years and have always had excellent service and good food in a comfortable and friendly setting. Today I was quite shocked the service on arrival was not good even though the place was not busy the staff did not welcome us, no one asked us if they could take our coats... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2015

Visiting daughter at uni in Leeds. Went for the set meal served until 7pm. An interesting choice, good portions and beautifully presented. SErvice was also excellent.

Was this review helpful? Yes
S H, Public Relations Manager at Sous le Nez en Ville, responded to this review

Hello, thank you for writing your lovely review. We’re very pleased to hear that you enjoyed your meals from what sounds to be our Menu Du Soir. We will pass on your kind comments to our staff and hope that we can welcome you back soon. More 

Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2015

We dined here last night after a recommendation and were not at all disappointed. We'd booked a table for 8pm and were taken straight to it on arrival. The restaurant is underneath the Quebecs hotel and despite being in the basement feels intimate not dingy. We were handed the menus and a very extensive wine list with sections listing numerous... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
S H, Public Relations Manager at Sous le Nez en Ville, responded to this review

Hello and thank you for writing your review, we are pleased that you chose to dine with us based on a recommendation. It is great to hear from new diners and their experiences at our restaurant we are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your visit. We pride ourselves on our extensive wine list and we are happy to hear... More 

Leeds, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2015

Gorgeous ffrench ood and wine but a little pricey. A nice atmosphere but can get very busy so often difficult to get a booking. Service is ok but could be more friendly

Was this review helpful? Yes
S H, Public Relations Manager at Sous le Nez en Ville, responded to this review

Hello, thank you for your review about your visit to Sous le Nez. We are pleased to hear you enjoyed you meal and found our restaurant to have a nice atmosphere. We are sorry to hear you were not completely satisfied with the service but we hope that this does not deter you from making a return visit, and your... More 

Leeds, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2015

After looking at the valentines menu online and seeing what was being offered we booked a table at Sous le Nez. We were really looking forward to the chateaubriand so you can imagine our disappointment when we saw it had been taken off the menu. Now it is understandable that things can change but a sense of being led on... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
S H, Public Relations Manager at Sous le Nez en Ville, responded to this review

Hello and thank you for your honest feedback about your latest experience at Sous le Nez. We are disappointed to hear that you left our restaurant feeling let down by our customer service. First of all, we would like to apologise for the menu error, we did unfortunately experience some issues with menu for the evening and this was not... More 

Travelers who viewed Sous le Nez en Ville also viewed

 
Leeds, West Yorkshire
 

Been to Sous le Nez en Ville? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.

Manage your listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Location and Contact Information

  • Address: Quebec street, Leeds LS1 2HA, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Yorkshire  >  West Yorkshire  >  Leeds
  • Phone Number: +44 113 244 0108

Price and Cuisine

  • Cuisine: French

Restaurant Characteristics

  • Good for: Special occasions, Entertaining clients

Description

It's all about a different atmosphere. It's about good food. It's about good service and attention to detail.So no wonder the long-established Sous Le Nez is one of the most acclaimed restaurant and winebars in Leeds. In fact, our award winning basement bar and bistro - in a handy, city centre location - has been providing mouthwatering food to Leeds diners for over 15 years. Our wine list is as unusual as it is extensive, and our lunchtime and evening menus are creative and very popular. And our portions are huge too!
Open Hours
Monday
12:00 pm - 9:45 pm
Tuesday
12:00 pm - 9:45 pm
Wednesday
12:00 pm - 9:45 pm
Thursday
12:00 pm - 9:45 pm
Friday
12:00 pm - 9:45 pm
Saturday
12:00 pm - 2:00 pm
5:30 pm - 10:30 pm

Questions & Answers

Here's what previous visitors have asked, with answers from representatives of Sous le Nez en Ville and other visitors
2 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from Sous le Nez en Ville staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?