We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Sous le Nez en Ville

#24 of 1,470 Restaurants in Leeds
#25 of 1,591 Places to Eat in Leeds
Certificate of Excellence
Leeds City Centre
Bar, Wine Bar, French, Pub
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
Quebec street, Leeds LS1 2HA, England
+44 113 244 0108
Website
Improve this listing
Today
12:00 pm - 2:00 pm
5:30 pm - 10:30 pm
Closed now
See all hours
Hours:
Mon - Fri 12:00 pm - 9:45 pm
Sat 12:00 pm - 2:00 pm
5:30 pm - 10:30 pm
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Good for: Special occasions, Business meetings
Description: It's all about a different atmosphere. It's about good food. It's about...
It's all about a different atmosphere. It's about good food. It's about good service and attention to detail.So no wonder the long-established Sous Le Nez is one of the most acclaimed restaurant and winebars in Leeds. In fact, our award winning basement bar and bistro - in a handy, city centre location - has been providing mouthwatering food to Leeds diners for over 15 years. Our wine list is as unusual as it is extensive, and our lunchtime and evening menus are creative and very popular. And our portions are huge too!
read more

TripAdvisor Reviewer Highlights

Read all 693 reviews
Visitor rating
  • 436
    Excellent
  • 167
    Very good
  • 47
    Average
  • 25
    Poor
  • 18
    Terrible
Rating summary
  • Food
    4.5 of 5 stars
    Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
    Atmosphere
    4.5 of 5 stars
Good bistro and wine bar

A good place to eat in Leeds. Seems very popular and busy. Good French bistro style food. Service good, but a little distant. But exactly unfriendly but a little removed. The big plus point is the 70 page wine list. Some 3 star restaurants would be envious.

4 of 5 starsReviewed yesterday
RGBCMYK
,
Hertfordshire
Add Photo Write a Review

693 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Hertfordshire
Level Contributor
28 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

A good place to eat in Leeds. Seems very popular and busy. Good French bistro style food. Service good, but a little distant. But exactly unfriendly but a little removed. The big plus point is the 70 page wine list. Some 3 star restaurants would be envious.

Helpful?
Thank RGBCMYK
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Ate there on Tuesday 26th Jan in the evening. Three of us. It's the second time I've eaten there. And to be honest French food I have found a bit fussy. Not here Both times the food, service has been first class. Both times I have had to drive. Next time, cab. I can then sample some of the wines!... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank Jay M
Hebden Bridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

It's difficult to say anything good about this restaurant. Although, the guy behind the bar was very friendly and helpful. After that first drink, though, things went downhill. And even that drink was shocking. The prices are almost hilarious – more than £8 for a glass of mediocre rosé. On a busy Saturday night, the acoustics are awful. The noise... More 

Helpful?
4 Thank TasteTestersUK
nottingham
Level Contributor
50 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Stayed at Quebec's Hotel above restaurant for a couple of nights last week 20th January and had booked through Quebec's on a stay and dine package early table booked as we like to eat early, was not sure on initial appearance of what to expect entrance down some outside stairs to the basement.!!!! first area is the bar sufficient enough... More 

Helpful?
3 Thank bertyNottingham
S H, Owner at Sous le Nez en Ville, responded to this review

Hello and thank you for your lovely review. We’re very pleased to read that you enjoyed not one, but two evenings with us, and found the food cooked to perfection on both occasions. We pride ourselves on our customer service and we’re thrilled to hear we did not disappoint, we’ll ensure your kind words are passed on to our extremely... More 

Kingston-upon-Hull, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I visited last Friday with friends in a party of six. We ate at 5.30 on the Early Bird menu - three courses and half a bottle of wine each for £27. The service was first class, the food excellent and the wine was very drinkable! The same wine cost £16 per bottle - so three courses and half a... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank rogerp1952
S H, Owner at Sous le Nez en Ville, responded to this review

Hello and thank you for your glowing review. We’re thrilled to hear you enjoyed your evening with us, and that you feel there is nothing to criticise! We’ll ensure your lovely comments are passed on to our hardworking team and we hope to welcome you back in the near future. More 

Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We have visited here many time over the years. Last night we attended a Birthday Party and again Su Le Nez was the perfect place for a meal. The staff were friendly and the meal was delicious. I would recommend this Restaurant.

Helpful?
2 Thank Rose B
S H, Owner at Sous le Nez en Ville, responded to this review

Hello and thank you for your great review. We’re thrilled to read you had a wonderful evening once again at Sous Le Nez, and thoroughly enjoyed your meal and the customer service. We’ll make sure your lovely comments are passed on to our hardworking team. We hope to welcome you back soon. More 

leeds
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Been coming for years. Seemed to lose its way a few years ago but not to me it's the only place to go in Leeds at lunch or dinner for great service and individually well cooked dishes. I have been several times before and after Christmas with different size parties. Every time they have been really on top of their... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank LeedsAnon
S H, Owner at Sous le Nez en Ville, responded to this review

Hello and thank you for your lovely review. We’d also like to thank you for your loyal custom over the years; it’s a great compliment to hear that we’re the only restaurant you’d recommend in Yorkshire! It’s very pleasing to hear you’ve enjoyed your recent visits with us, and recognised our extensive wine list! We’ll be sure to pass on... More 

Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

I complained about the service in our October visit, having enjoyed previous visits. Our January 2016 visit was back to the normal very good service. Excellent waitress service and very good food. Enjoyable experience once again.

Helpful?
1 Thank Rod557
S H, Public Relations Manager at Sous le Nez en Ville, responded to this review

Hello and thank you for taking time to write your review. After a disappointing visit, we’re very happy that we had the opportunity to welcome you back and we’re pleased to hear your experience was once again of a high standard. We look forward to welcoming you back soon. More 

Narborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Booked a table for 5 following a business meeting on recommendation. Waiting staff were great, varied menus and large wine cellar. It was a busy night for Wednesday mid January so obviously popular with the locals. The food was fantastic and we stayed until closing time and had a very enjoyable experience.

Helpful?
1 Thank themugganator
S H, Public Relations Manager at Sous le Nez en Ville, responded to this review

Hello and thank you for your lovely review. We’re thrilled to hear you visited our restaurant based on a recommendation and that you enjoyed your experience with us. We’ll be sure to pass on your kind words to our hard-working team and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future. More 

Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Good choise of the organisors of the university. Food is good and the service was well organized. The local dessert (Yorkshire pudding) was very tastefull, also the wine was well selected by the waiters. The visit is good for repeatition

Helpful?
1 Thank Ferry S
S H, Public Relations Manager at Sous le Nez en Ville, responded to this review

Hello and thank you for your review. We’re pleased to hear you enjoyed what sounds to be your first visit to our restaurant. We hope to welcome you back on your next visit soon. More 

Travelers who viewed Sous le Nez en Ville also viewed

Leeds, West Yorkshire
Leeds, West Yorkshire
 
Leeds, West Yorkshire
Leeds, West Yorkshire
 

Been to Sous le Nez en Ville? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Location and Contact Information

  • Address: Quebec street, Leeds LS1 2HA, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Yorkshire  >  West Yorkshire  >  Leeds>  > Leeds City Centre
  • Neighborhood: Leeds City Centre
  • Phone Number: +44 113 244 0108

Price and Cuisine

  • Cuisine: Bar, Wine Bar, French, Pub

Restaurant Characteristics

  • Good for: Special occasions, Business meetings

Description

It's all about a different atmosphere. It's about good food. It's about good service and attention to detail.So no wonder the long-established Sous Le Nez is one of the most acclaimed restaurant and winebars in Leeds. In fact, our award winning basement bar and bistro - in a handy, city centre location - has been providing mouthwatering food to Leeds diners for over 15 years. Our wine list is as unusual as it is extensive, and our lunchtime and evening menus are creative and very popular. And our portions are huge too!
Open Hours
Monday
12:00 pm - 9:45 pm
Tuesday
12:00 pm - 9:45 pm
Wednesday
12:00 pm - 9:45 pm
Thursday
12:00 pm - 9:45 pm
Friday
12:00 pm - 9:45 pm
Saturday
12:00 pm - 2:00 pm
5:30 pm - 10:30 pm

Questions & Answers

Here's what previous visitors have asked, with answers from representatives of Sous le Nez en Ville and other visitors
3 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (3)

Questions? Get answers from Sous le Nez en Ville staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?