We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 28 Haworth Restaurants

The Old White Lion Hotel Restaurant

6-10 West Lane. | The Old White Lion Hotel, Haworth, Keighley, England (Formerly Candle Lit Restaurant)
01-535-642313
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #11 of 28 Restaurants in Haworth
Price range: $10 - $32
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Description: Our award winning Candle Lit Restaurant has featured in major food guides we use fresh, seasonal and local produce. The Restaurant offers both an extensive A La Carte and set Three course monthly menu catering for all diets. With a comprehensive wine list we are sure a choice can be reached to accompany any meal.
Write a Review

266 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    162
    67
    18
    11
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
teesside
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2015 NEW

Very friendly, food excellent, Mulled wine and log fire what more could you ask for, Local beers accommodation looked very nice

Was this review helpful? Yes
Steeton, England, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2015

We were in Haworth decided to have a meal and chose the White Lion at random. We found the pup to be warm, cheerful and inviting. We had 2 courses and the food was excellent. The flavours were not overpowering meaning you could taste everything that was on your plate, very generous portions and very reasonably priced. The service was... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
oldwhitelion, Front Office Manager at The Old White Lion Hotel Restaurant, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write about you recent visit and dining experience. I hope others will be enticed to visit after reading your review and we hope to see you again soon. More 

County Durham, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2014

Recommended by the guest house. Booked in advance for a Saturday evening. Good service. Lovely old building which looked lovely all dressed up for xmas.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
oldwhitelion, Manager at The Old White Lion Hotel Restaurant, responded to this review

Thank you for the kind words in your review. We have a great relationship with the guest houses around us and it is lovely to hear that you were recommended by them. I am glad to hear that you were pleased with our service and we hope to welcome you again in the near future. Merry Christmas. Many Thanks, Jimmy More 

Durham UK
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2014

This pub was recommended to us and it was a treat. We had the bar meals which were a little cheaper but superb value. Second night we went in again. Beef Skirt was gorgeous, service excellent, Beers good lovely atmosphere.

Was this review helpful? Yes
oldwhitelion, Manager at The Old White Lion Hotel Restaurant, responded to this review

Thank you for the kind comments in your review. We pride ourselves on the quality of our products and service, so it is great to hear that is has been appreciated by yourselves. I will certainly pass these comments on to our chefs and our front of house team as well. We hope to see you again soon. Many Thanks,... More 

Truro, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
150 reviews 150 reviews
110 restaurant reviews
175 helpful votes 175 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2014 via mobile

Recommended by our B&B owners and given a 10 per cent off voucher. Nice atmosphere, friendly waitress Sue, ordered a suet pudding, which needed more gravy, also the game pie, which was also disappointing as the potato slice topping was rubbery so I had to leave it. I did tell Sue so hopefully that won't happen again. The veg were... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
oldwhitelion, Manager at The Old White Lion Hotel Restaurant, responded to this review

Hl, Many Thanks for your review. Firstly, may I apologise that your meals haven't seemed to be up to the standards we set ourselves. If this was mentioned at the beginning of the meal we would have gladly re-made the meals for you. We strive to deliver excellent quality food and I can assure you that this is a very... More 

west yorkshire
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2014

couldnt fault anything and staff were wonderful so friendly and the food was also wonderful i would reccomend this place to anyone

Was this review helpful? Yes
oldwhitelion, Manager at The Old White Lion Hotel Restaurant, responded to this review

Hi there, I am so glad you enjoyed your stay with us and thank you for your kind words. I will pass on your comments to all the team. We hope to see you again in the near future. Many Thanks, Jimmy More 

Preston, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2014

We were in Haworth for the afternoon and decided on the the Old White Lion for lunch after a review that one of us had read. We were not disappointed. Good simple food with some nice beer served by friendly attentive staff. Great place for a basic lunch.

Was this review helpful? Yes
oldwhitelion, Manager at The Old White Lion Hotel Restaurant, responded to this review

Hi there, Thank you for your comments. I am glad you enjoyed your Lunch with us. We hope to see you again in the near future. We have much more to offer than just our extensive bar meals menu such as our Daily Specials Board, A la Carte Menu or our 3 Course set menu to choose from as well.... More 

blackpool
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2014

Service was a little slow but good when was ok for bar food . Prices was higher than a normal pub but it's in a tourist place so can get away with , But credit where it's due enjoyed the food .

Was this review helpful? Yes
oldwhitelion, Manager at The Old White Lion Hotel Restaurant, responded to this review

Hi there, Thank you for your comments. I am glad you enjoyed your food, I apologise if you had a longer waiting time than normal. I can only accommodate this as being because we were busy at the time you came in. Many Thanks, Jimmy More 

keighley
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2014

Can't believe the way this hotel treats complaints. Not even had a phone call back to explain or apologise for the disgustingly poor buffet provided for my group 5 days ago. 2 groups of 20 people paying £5 each - 3 plates of dry sandwiches and a bowl of salad for each group. Total cost £200 plus £50 to hire... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
oldwhitelion, Manager at The Old White Lion Hotel Restaurant, responded to this review

Hi Andrea, Firstly we did make an attempt to contact you on the Saturday teatime after you had called earlier on in the day. We got no answer at your end and a message was left for you at the desk if you were to ring back. Just to clear up a few points, You have stated that nobody had... More 

Blackpool, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2014

This is the second time we have visited the Gimmerton restaurant and it was even better than the first. We visited earlier this month as part of our honeymoon celebrations and had the most beautiful meal with lovely, friendly service. Every course was delicious, the scallops were perfect and this is a gorgeous plate. Please don't ever take this off... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
oldwhitelion, Manager at The Old White Lion Hotel Restaurant, responded to this review

Hello!!! Once again many congratulations to yourself and James. I am so glad we helped make your honeymoon a fantastic time. Was great meeting you both and we hope to see you again very soon. Please pass my regards on to James also. Many Thanks, Jimmy More 

Travelers who viewed The Old White Lion Hotel Restaurant also viewed

 
Haworth, Keighley
Haworth, Keighley
 

Been to The Old White Lion Hotel Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Old White Lion Hotel Restaurant

Address: 6-10 West Lane. | The Old White Lion Hotel, Haworth, Keighley, England (Formerly Candle Lit Restaurant)
Phone Number: 01-535-642313
Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Yorkshire  >  West Yorkshire  >  Keighley  >  Haworth
Average Prices: USD 10 - 32
Cuisine: British

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.

Manage your listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what previous visitors have asked, with answers from representatives of The Old White Lion Hotel Restaurant and other visitors
2 questions
Ask a question
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
28 days ago
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
28 days ago

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from The Old White Lion Hotel Restaurant staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?