We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

the walnut tree

Certificate of Excellence
+ Add cuisine
Improve this listing
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Your filters are still active.
There are no pins in your viewport. Try moving the map or changing your filters.
Get directions
Vinnetrow Road, Chichester PO20 1QB, England
+44 1243 785881
Website
Add hours for the walnut tree and help diners know when to go.
+ Add hours
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Good for:
Large groups
Special occasions

TripAdvisor Reviewer Highlights

Read all 222 reviews
Visitor rating
  • 97
    Excellent
  • 69
    Very good
  • 27
    Average
  • 20
    Poor
  • 9
    Terrible
Rating summary
  • Food
    4 of 5 stars
    Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
    Atmosphere
    4 of 5 stars
Most recent review
A pre-christmas meal with friends

We were a party of 30 and had pre-booked and pre-ordered our selection, this worked well and resulted in the food being served promptly, it was well cooked and everybody enjoyed the experience Looking forward to another visit soon

4 of 5 starsReviewed March 3, 2015
Ken G
,
Chichester, United Kingdom
Good for:
  • Large groups
  • Special occasions
  • Breakfast/Brunch
  • Lunch
  • Dinner
  • Reservations
  • Delivery
  • Late Night
Add Photo Write a Review

222 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Chichester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2015 NEW

We were a party of 30 and had pre-booked and pre-ordered our selection, this worked well and resulted in the food being served promptly, it was well cooked and everybody enjoyed the experience Looking forward to another visit soon

Was this review helpful? Yes
Chichester, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2015 NEW

Food was very nice plenty of it and all served streaming hot. Plenty of choice so something for all taste buds. Service was good and didn't feel rushed. Tip if you have the camembert to share it is more than plenty for two would serve more 3-4. Will definitely visit again.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Portsmouth
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2015

We visted the Wallnut Tree last friday for the advertised Valentine meal as saturday was fully booked. I had picked the Wallnut tree on the reputation it has alone as a suprise for my wife To say I am disapointed is an understatement, I had complained on the night after the meal and as we arrived as were told 'I... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Sussex
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2015

Visited on a Saturday lunchtime as a party of 15. Menu was varied, food tasty and well presented, staff polite and service perfectly satisfactory. The pub was busy so clearly a popular venue. Featherblade steak pie a good option and chocolate tort very enjoyable. Overall good value. Pub is tastefully decorated with a relaxing ambience. Worth a visit.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Horsham, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
236 reviews 236 reviews
98 restaurant reviews
149 helpful votes 149 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2015

More restaurant than pub for the style of food and the food is from a varied menu. Good presentation and the quality is very acceptable for what is still a pub. Staff usually up to the mark but some a bit lacking upstairs. Generally crowded feeling so not a good ambience and for someone with two hearing aids it’s actually... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
South Devon, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2015

Having visited this venue back in 2012 and found it rather disappointing i thought i'd try it again and give it a second chance. Unfortunately it's still disappointing and i'd describe this place as "rather odd." To start with, there's still this odd situation whereby you aren't aloud to sit down at a table until you've decided what you're going... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Sussexinns, Manager at the walnut tree, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments on your visit, I am sorry that you did not enjoy your meal. I am disappointed that you did not bring this to my attention at the time. Our steak Ciabatta is served with Onions, Potato Wedges and a Salad Garnish. Other than certain items that require freezing (ie Prawns and Ice Creams) all our... More 

London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2014

Not bad. Came as a party of 24, some having pre booked the 3 course Christmas menu. The pub has been refurbished and looks very different to the old days. Service was great, considering numbers in our party and different orders I wasn't aware of anyone having problems. I wasn't overly excited by my food - I kept it simple... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2014

Me and my family went for a christmas meal. The food was amazing, but somehow the food came out before we even had our drinks. The two waitresses basically ignored us for the whole time we were there. There were clearly inexperienced and did every job at a snails pace. They weren't even busy. When we first came in there... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Chichester, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2014

Around 50 to 60 of us had booked for an evening set Christmas meal. The service, quality and quantity would have given many a good hotel a run for their money. The food was piping hot, veg cooked to perfection and each plate nicely presented. Well done all of you! Great value for money.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
West Sussex, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2014

Attended xmas meal for 30+ people at the Walnut tree in Runcton .Found good food attentive service very nice atmosphere and good value for money.Would recommend this pub restaurant and will return.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1

Travelers who viewed the walnut tree also viewed

Chichester, West Sussex
Pagham, West Sussex
 
Woodmancote, West Sussex
Bognor Regis, West Sussex
 

Been to the walnut tree? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.

Manage your listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Location and Contact Information

  • Address: Vinnetrow Road, Chichester PO20 1QB, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  West Sussex  >  Chichester
  • Phone Number: +44 1243 785881

Restaurant Characteristics

  • Good for: Large groups, Special occasions

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from the walnut tree staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?