We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 1,481 Birmingham Restaurants

The Arden Oak

Arden Oak Road | Sheldon, Birmingham, England
0121 743 3438
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #882 of 1,481 Restaurants in Birmingham
Price range: $5 - $24
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Reservations
Description: At The Arden Oak Harvester in Sheldon food is fresh, full of flavour and just how you like it. Choose your tasty grill, sauce and side at our restaurant and we'll get cooking - while you head off to the famous Harvester salad bar to grab as much crisp, freshly prepared tasty salad as you like.
Write a Review

57 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    7
    15
    16
    9
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
birmingham
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2014 NEW

We have visited many times but this time was not good the salad bar had dirty plates and the cucumber was slimily we had children with us 2 of them ordered sausage and mash all it was 2 chipotle sausage and tiny bit of mash. Next time think we will use the Toby carvery visted 21st September

Was this review helpful? Yes
Birmingham,,England
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2014 NEW

We have been visiting this branch for years and it is always, 'Hit & Miss'. sometimes Great and sometimes Dire..They can't quite seem to get it right! We visited as a family and required a table for five...The drinks order was taken and then the wait began...Not good...We eventually ordered and then set off to the salad bar...As a previous... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Bedford, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
460 reviews 460 reviews
215 restaurant reviews
382 helpful votes 382 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2014 NEW

We often frequent the harvester so before a night out at the national indoor arena we popped into this one on the outskirts of Birmingham.As soon as we walked in i smelt urine from the nearby toilets,this continued through to the restaurant area which in turn was also very grubby with tables not being wiped down and food on the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2014

We went last night as staying in local hotel, went with hubby and two children 9 and 11. We where given a table straight away, it needed a wipe. The waiter was very friendly we asked him questions and he knew what he was on about. We placed our order and only waited 15 minutes, the side order of mashed... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Birmingham
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2014 via mobile

Normally really enjoy going to the harvester. Chose this restaurant as you can book a table here, which is always a plus when you have children dining with you. The refillable drinks machine was standard, not as much choice as I've seen in other harvesters. The salad bar was also not as good as usual, didn't seem much choice. When... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Solihull, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2014

My sister was visiting from Canada. My family wanted to have a family meal out. We were a party of 9 all of whom agreed that they all enjoyed their meal. The price was fair, the meal good.and the service was also good.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Northampton, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2014

We visited the night before an early morning flight and i was not sure whether to eat here or stay at the travelodge for food, but decided to take a chance (after reading all the bad reviews). To be honest the food was quite good and as the restaurant was busy the service was not bad either. I may have... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2014

Service, a bit slow for takeaway service and they 'forgot' my order which had to be submitted again after 10 minutes waiting!! Food average, nothing special.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Coventry, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2014

As a regular visitor to this branch I know what the expect, however when ordering the drinks (it was a fairly hot day) we were informed that we could only have Pepsi from the refills as the Max & Diet Pepsi taps weren't working. Having remembered that last time we visited some three or so weeks previous the Pepsi Max... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Harvester R, Public Relations Manager at The Arden Oak, responded to this review

May we take this opportunity to thank you for raising these issues with us. We always aim to learn through the feedback we receive, and we have replied to you personally about this matter. More

solihull west midlands
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2014

The waitresses and staff here are excellent,friendly and obliging. We were there at 9.00 on Sunday (not too late) Salads were few and what was available was old and had been messed about by other diners. As for the food (we had scampi????/king prawns?? NOT) 2 small glasses of wine...the food was awful...would have sent it back but we were... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Harvester R, Public Relations Manager at The Arden Oak, responded to this review

We were sorry to see from your review that you were disappointed in your recent visit to us. Your feedback is always welcomed as our aim is to get it right, and we will learn from your comments. We have also replied to you personally on this matter. More

Travelers who viewed The Arden Oak also viewed

Solihull, West Midlands
Birmingham, West Midlands
 
Birmingham, West Midlands
 

Been to The Arden Oak? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Do you own or manage The Arden Oak?

Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.

Manage your listing