We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Arden Oak

Arden Oak Road | Sheldon, Birmingham, England
0121 743 3438
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #908 of 1,453 restaurants in Birmingham
Price range: $5 - $26
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Reservations
Description: At The Arden Oak Harvester in Sheldon food is fresh, full of flavour and just how you like it. Choose your tasty grill, sauce and side at our restaurant and we'll get cooking - while you head off to the famous Harvester salad bar to grab as much crisp, freshly prepared tasty salad as you like.
Write a Review

45 reviews from our community

42% Recommend
    6
    13
    10
    6
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014

We met friends here for dinner and in general the food was very good, although they didn't have their signature fish, which is a bit off for a Friday evening - it's not like they don't know they're going to be busy. We were sat down quite quickly and the waiter was very friendly and funny. As I couldn't have... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Cannock, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2014

Went for a meal there last night with my wife and daughter. You can smell the toilets as you enter the door. We were given a table at the far end of the room and we could still smell them. Wished we hadn't stayed but it was getting late. The steak was awful, very very tough, couldn't chew it. Visit... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
2 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2014

Somewhere to go for pre drinks before going to Birmingham centre or Solihull centre or even go for a curry after which there is a restaurant called the shabar.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Coventry, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2014

I usually get a good meal from Harvester, and this time was no exception, however they really need to sort out their salad bar, last time I came here it was bad, but put it down to a one-off, however this time was the same with mushy tomatoes, stale bread rolls and the carrots had a bitter taste. If you're... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Birmingham
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

It's OK here for lunch and a quick evening meal as it is at the 'value' end of the market. It is not appropriate to compare with ' plusher' places. It's 'pub grub' and not too bad as meat is cooked freshly. But the format is tired; the salad Bar is awful with really poor presentation and the salad is... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Derby England
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2014

Called in here for an early evening meal that was truly awful! I ordered a rump steak cooked medium to well done. It came completely burned smelling terrible rather like bad breath, it was chargrilled which wasn't made very clear and a cooking process I'm not a fan of. Don't think I will return.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Harvester R, Public Relations Manager at The Arden Oak, responded to this review

We were sorry to see from your review that you were disappointed in your recent visit to us. Your feedback is always welcomed as our aim is to get it right, and we will learn from your comments. We have also replied to you personally on this matter. More

Stockport, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2014

As good as usual when visiting this Harvester. Portion was ok, but steak could have been nicer but had rum rather than sirloin which was a mistake. King prawns rather messy. Salad bar could have been better but it was Monday after all. Latte coffee was the oddest I have ever had. More coffee than milk just about. Lovely waitress,... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Harvester R, Public Relations Manager at The Arden Oak, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind review. All the staff here find it very encouraging to see feedback, and we are pleased that you enjoyed the experience when you visited us recently. We would love you to visit again, and have replied to you personally. More

Coventry, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2014

Normally this location is one of my favourites, but this time, not sure if it was because they were busy, but standards slipped and food portions shrunk! The salad bar looked awful, the tomatoes were mushy and the cucumber looked, can't explain it, it just didn't look right. As for the main, sometimes I can be a bore and go... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Harvester R, Public Relations Manager at The Arden Oak, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to post your review following your visit to The Arden Oak Harvester. We have replied to you personally as it is our aim to give every customer the very best experience possible, and your feedback will help us achieve this. More

Liverpool
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2014

This place is getting worse, the restaraunt is freezing, all the time. The food portions are getting smaller, even with a 25% discount it was a rip off. I asked for peas with my fish and jacket spud, they came out 10 mins after my meal, hard and cold, couldnt be eaten. My husbands gammon, was the worst he has... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Harvester R, Public Relations Manager at The Arden Oak, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to post your review following your visit to The Arden Oak Harvester. We have replied to you personally as it is our aim to give every customer the very best experience possible, and your feedback will help us achieve this. More

Coventry, England, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2014

Staff were lovely & couldn't do enough. The restaurant was freezing!!! made the food cold!! The staff were very apologetic and gave us free coffee which we needed as it was so cold.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Harvester R, Public Relations Manager at The Arden Oak, responded to this review

We are sorry that had disappointing visit to our Harvester Restaurant and we do appreciate you taking the time to give us your feedback. More

Travelers who viewed The Arden Oak also viewed

Birmingham, West Midlands
Birmingham, West Midlands
 
Birmingham, West Midlands
Birmingham, West Midlands
 

Been to The Arden Oak? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Arden Oak, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Manage your listing