We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Arden Oak

Arden Oak Road | Sheldon, Birmingham, England
0121 743 3438
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #851 of 1,476 restaurants in Birmingham
Price range: $5 - $25
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Reservations
Description: At The Arden Oak Harvester in Sheldon food is fresh, full of flavour and just how you like it. Choose your tasty grill, sauce and side at our restaurant and we'll get cooking - while you head off to the famous Harvester salad bar to grab as much crisp, freshly prepared tasty salad as you like.
Write a Review

52 reviews from our community

41% Recommend
    7
    15
    13
    7
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Solihull, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2014 NEW

My sister was visiting from Canada. My family wanted to have a family meal out. We were a party of 9 all of whom agreed that they all enjoyed their meal. The price was fair, the meal good.and the service was also good.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Northampton, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2014

We visited the night before an early morning flight and i was not sure whether to eat here or stay at the travelodge for food, but decided to take a chance (after reading all the bad reviews). To be honest the food was quite good and as the restaurant was busy the service was not bad either. I may have... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2014

Service, a bit slow for takeaway service and they 'forgot' my order which had to be submitted again after 10 minutes waiting!! Food average, nothing special.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Coventry, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2014

As a regular visitor to this branch I know what the expect, however when ordering the drinks (it was a fairly hot day) we were informed that we could only have Pepsi from the refills as the Max & Diet Pepsi taps weren't working. Having remembered that last time we visited some three or so weeks previous the Pepsi Max... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Harvester R, Public Relations Manager at The Arden Oak, responded to this review

May we take this opportunity to thank you for raising these issues with us. We always aim to learn through the feedback we receive, and we have replied to you personally about this matter. More

solihull west midlands
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2014

The waitresses and staff here are excellent,friendly and obliging. We were there at 9.00 on Sunday (not too late) Salads were few and what was available was old and had been messed about by other diners. As for the food (we had scampi????/king prawns?? NOT) 2 small glasses of wine...the food was awful...would have sent it back but we were... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Harvester R, Public Relations Manager at The Arden Oak, responded to this review

We were sorry to see from your review that you were disappointed in your recent visit to us. Your feedback is always welcomed as our aim is to get it right, and we will learn from your comments. We have also replied to you personally on this matter. More

Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2014

Visited with husband and two young grand daughters. Great for the children as they could pick and mix the salad. Good choices for adults too although why they coat green beans in oil I have no idea, they were ghastly. The salmon and rice however were really good with a nice chilli and ginger sauce. Our other meals were good... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Harvester R, Public Relations Manager at The Arden Oak, responded to this review

Thank you for your positive review following your recent visit. We are passionate about getting it right and your feedback will help us to achieve this aim. We really hope you will visit us again and we have sent you a personal reply. More

Birmingham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2014

Ok, Ive been here twice this week. Both visits have been good. I'm gunna review the Breakfast Menu first. My visit was specifically to review the brekky and I ordered a few extra bits. I had the simple breakfast and ordered extra toast and the Cajun Potato Bites and the Potato Slices. The sausages are great. Cooked on the chargrill.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Harvester R, Public Relations Manager at The Arden Oak, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind review. All the staff here find it very encouraging to see feedback, and we are pleased that you enjoyed the experience when you visited us recently. We would love you to visit again, and have replied to you personally. More

Birmingham, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014

We met friends here for dinner and in general the food was very good, although they didn't have their signature fish, which is a bit off for a Friday evening - it's not like they don't know they're going to be busy. We were sat down quite quickly and the waiter was very friendly and funny. As I couldn't have... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Harvester R, Public Relations Manager at The Arden Oak, responded to this review

We were disappointed to hear that you did not enjoy your recent visit. We have replied to you personally as all the feedback we receive helps us to improve our service and we assure you we will pay attention to your comments. More

Cannock, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2014

Went for a meal there last night with my wife and daughter. You can smell the toilets as you enter the door. We were given a table at the far end of the room and we could still smell them. Wished we hadn't stayed but it was getting late. The steak was awful, very very tough, couldn't chew it. Visit... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Harvester R, Public Relations Manager at The Arden Oak, responded to this review

We have replied to you personally following your recent comments left on Trip Advisor. We aim to improve and your feedback will help us to achieve this. More

2 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2014

Somewhere to go for pre drinks before going to Birmingham centre or Solihull centre or even go for a curry after which there is a restaurant called the shabar.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Harvester R, Public Relations Manager at The Arden Oak, responded to this review

Thank you for your review, we do appreciate that you have taken the time to share your comments following your recent visit to The Arden Oak Harvester. More

Travelers who viewed The Arden Oak also viewed

Birmingham, West Midlands
Birmingham, West Midlands
 
Birmingham, West Midlands
 

Been to The Arden Oak? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Arden Oak, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Manage your listing