We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 106 Warwick Restaurants

The Cape of Good Hope

66 Lower Cape, Warwick CV34 5DP, England
01926 498 138
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #25 of 106 Restaurants in Warwick
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: English
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Outdoor seating
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Description: Warwick's Best Kept Secret. A true canal side real ale pub. The water is a few feet from the front door, adjacent to Cape top lock on the Grand Union Canal. Open every day from 12 noon, and serving food 12 - 2:15pm & 6-9:15pm Monday - Thursday & all day 12-9:15pm Friday - Sunday. 3 resident real ales & ever changing guest ales. Good food, Good beer, Great location.
Write a Review

76 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    43
    24
    5
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2014 NEW

We stopped at the Cape while on a narrow boat holiday - it was a welcome sight after travelling through Leamington Spa and finding nowhere nice to stop. The food was excellent and the staff were friendly and professional. Great atmosphere, too. Would recommend for food or drinks, especially if you're travelling by boat.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Leamington Spa, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2014

The Cape's hotdog used to be one of my most favourite things: crispy white roll, wonderful chips in a metal basket, little dishes with mustard and mayonnaise, and the hotdog it's self - amazing. No longer! A horrible and soggy whole meal roll, the hotdog was over cooked, chips thrown on the plate, no garnish and I wasn't given cutlery.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Tewharema, Owner at The Cape of Good Hope, responded to this review

Thanks for your review, however we're not sure if you have us confused with somewhere else. We have never used white rolls or given pots of mayonnaise with the long dogs? The rolls we use are seeded brown, not wholemeal. We don't give pots of sauce on the plates anymore as they are supplied on each table and we have... More

London, UK
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2014

What a blessing this place is! If there is a pub "right on the canal" then this is one of them. We were heading for the Hatton Flight the next day and the moorings were crowded. None the less, we squeezed in, called and booked a table, arrived, ordered, ate and paid. First class pub with good food, friendly staff,... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2014

Despite living in the area for a very long time, I have never visited the Cape before. It's a real gem and just what a pub should be. Excellent selection of beers and a wide and competitive food menu. A real bonus that it is open all day, an increasing rarity as we like to eat earlier. Food was very... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Worcestershire, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2014

Walked from Leamington Spa along the river and canal with our 2 Bernese Mountain Dogs. The staff were very friendly, we were made to feel very welcome and there was plenty of choice of good food, beer and cider. Initially we sat outside for our sharing platter but as the weather turned a little colder, we moved inside for our... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2014

We moored up here after finishing the Hatton flight and were delighted with the choice of food on offer. The staff were very friendly and efficient, we will definitely return when in the area.Good Wifi too !!

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Halesowen, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2014

Our group moored outside the Cape of Good Hope, after ascending the lock flight, in the steam powered narrow boat President and the butty Kildare. The Cape is under new management. The food is good, the real ale good and the staff and management pleasant and accommodating. The Cape caters for a variety of people. We found it difficult to... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2014

This little old pub retains all its old character and is nestled quietly by the canal side just before warwick the staff were friendly and inviting and a great range of simple food and good beers was available Nice to sit outside and watch the canal activity - can be quite busy as it seems quite popular but that just... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Coventry, United Kingdom
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2014

If you ever walk by the canal in Warwick, make sure you have enough time to stop for some drinks and/or food in the Cape of Good Hope - actually, if you don't walk by the canal, make sure that one day you do... Very nice traditional atsmophere, cool water jugs available on a self-service basis (always appreciated after walking... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Preston, United Kingdom
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2014

I had booked a table here after reading some great reviews. The staff were very friendly and the atmosphere relaxed. When our food arrived it looked lovely and tasted amazing. There were 8 of us and we all cleared our plates including one fussy child. The desserts were also fantastic. What an amazing chef they have. Thankyou so much for... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2

Travelers who viewed The Cape of Good Hope also viewed

Warwick, Warwickshire
Warwick, Warwickshire
 
Warwick, Warwickshire
Warwick, Warwickshire
 

Been to The Cape of Good Hope? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Do you own or manage The Cape of Good Hope?

Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.

Manage your listing