We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Improve this listing
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Your filters are still active.
There are no pins in your viewport. Try moving the map or changing your filters.
Get directions
29 Queen Street, Newcastle upon Tyne NE1 3UG, England
+44 (0)191 2210601
Website
Today
5:30 pm - 11:00 pm
12:00 pm - 2:00 pm
Closed now
See all hours
Hours:
Sun - Sat 5:30 pm - 11:00 pm
Mon - Sat 12:00 pm - 2:00 pm
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Good for:
Romance
Doing business
Special occasions
Entertaining clients

TripAdvisor Reviewer Highlights

Read all 173 reviews
Visitor rating
  • 84
    Excellent
  • 42
    Very good
  • 25
    Average
  • 10
    Poor
  • 12
    Terrible
Rating summary
  • Food
    4 of 5 stars
    Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
    Atmosphere
    4 of 5 stars
Most recent review
Good reviews but we have to disagree

Yes the food was lovely but the service was terrible, This was our first visit after recommendations but we felt unwanted from the beginning. The waiters were miserable and unhelpful and we just felt like they wanted us to hurry up and leave. Despite the food being good we wont be back.

2 of 5 starsReviewed February 18, 2015
Jingham
,
Newcastle, England
Good for:
  • Romance
  • Doing business
  • Special occasions
  • Entertaining clients
  • Lunch
  • Dinner
  • Reservations
  • Late Night
Add Photo Write a Review

173 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle, England
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2015

Yes the food was lovely but the service was terrible, This was our first visit after recommendations but we felt unwanted from the beginning. The waiters were miserable and unhelpful and we just felt like they wanted us to hurry up and leave. Despite the food being good we wont be back.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Sheila m, Owner at Vujon, responded to this review

Hi Sorry to hear your experience at Vujon. Could you please let me know when you visited Vujon so I can have a chat with our staffs. Could you also please let me know how you felt you were hurried e.g. Food came too early or were you given the bill before you had asked. It will be useful to... More 

1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2015

First time visit and was pleased great service and food was good Inside deco was nice and they offered kulfi which most Resturant don't

Was this review helpful? Yes
U.K
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2015

One of the best Indians that I have ever eaten in. Refined, quality food that doesn't make you feel bloated like most other Indians. Watch out for the naan bread though, as they are huge and could easily feed 2-3 people.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Newcastle, UK
Top Contributor
101 reviews 101 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2015 via mobile

My friend and I took advantage of Restaurant Week to return to Vujon which we both visited some years ago. Excellent, varied and unusual menu. Really good service and obviously very well managed. Popadoms and pickles arrived straight away. I had a lovely salmon starter and she had a chicken chat. We shared a very unusual beef dish and a... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Prudhoe
Top Contributor
126 reviews 126 reviews
93 restaurant reviews
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2015

Our contingent of 8 Curry Clubbers decided to visit the Vujon during the restaurant week in Newcastle. After our slight disappointment of having to go the downstairs restaurant instead of the beautiful ornate upstairs dining room due to a very busy night, we were not let down by anything at all. The poppadoms with very tasty accompaniments were brought swiftly,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Newcastle
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2015

We had a fantastic evening to celebrate my father in law's birthday. It was our first visit to Vujon in Newcastle and his first visit to an Indian restaurant! We were very impressed by the great ambiance and setting. The service was excellent and the food was delicious. There were five in our party and we all thought the starters... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2015

My family and I are regular visitors to the vujon and have always had excellent service and the food is first class. It may appear pricey compared to other indian restaurants but the price is for the quality of food you are served. We love it so much we often even order takeaways.

Was this review helpful? Yes
NE England
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2015

What a shame that my first visit to Vujon in eight years turned out to be a disappointment. Located close to Newcastle’s historic Quayside, it’s a lovely building with a great ambience and pleasant dining room. That much has not changed, but based on this trip, the food is now incredibly bland and lacking in distinctive character compared with previous... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
Prestwich, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2015

Called here with family.Staff very friendly on arrival.After ordering our food arrived promptly,I had the chicken rogan josh.....delicious as were all our meals.The service was excellent and the owner took the trouble to visit every table.Will call here again.

Was this review helpful? Yes
newcastle
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2015

lovely surroundings, attentive staff, lovely starters. Disappointing main courses and nan bread dry. Used to be much nicer. Menu also very limited and doesn't seem to change. Needs a bit of an overhaul I think.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Sheila m, Manager at Vujon, responded to this review

Hello Really sorry to hear that you had a disappointing meal and your visit here at Vujon didn't reach your past experience and we appreciate your feedback and have noted your recommendations. Just to inform you as per your recommendations we are introducing some dishes in NE1 restaurant week menu next week (19th to 25th Jan) we will be delighted... More 

Travelers who viewed Vujon also viewed

Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
 
Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
 

Been to Vujon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.

Manage your listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Location and Contact Information

  • Address: 29 Queen Street, Newcastle upon Tyne NE1 3UG, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Tyne and Wear  >  Newcastle upon Tyne
  • Phone Number: +44 (0)191 2210601

Price and Cuisine

  • Average Prices: USD 59 - 59
  • Cuisine: Indian

Restaurant Characteristics

  • Good for: Romance, Doing business, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Open Hours
Sunday
5:30 pm - 11:00 pm
Monday
5:30 pm - 11:00 pm
12:00 pm - 2:00 pm
Tuesday
5:30 pm - 11:00 pm
12:00 pm - 2:00 pm
Wednesday
5:30 pm - 11:00 pm
12:00 pm - 2:00 pm
Thursday
5:30 pm - 11:00 pm
12:00 pm - 2:00 pm
Friday
5:30 pm - 11:00 pm
12:00 pm - 2:00 pm
Saturday
5:30 pm - 11:00 pm
12:00 pm - 2:00 pm

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Vujon staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?