We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Vujon

Certificate of Excellence
$$$$
Improve this listing
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Your filters are still active.
There are no pins in your viewport. Try moving the map or changing your filters.
Get directions
29 Queen Street, Newcastle upon Tyne NE1 3UG, England
+44 (0)191 2210601
Website
Today
5:30 pm - 11:00 pm
12:00 pm - 2:00 pm
Closed now
See all hours
Hours:
Sun - Sat 5:30 pm - 11:00 pm
Mon - Sat 12:00 pm - 2:00 pm
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations

TripAdvisor Reviewer Highlights

Read all 182 reviews
Visitor rating
  • 88
    Excellent
  • 44
    Very good
  • 26
    Average
  • 12
    Poor
  • 12
    Terrible
Rating summary
  • Food
    4 of 5 stars
    Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
    Atmosphere
    4 of 5 stars
Food excellent, service needs some attention

We visited Vujon on Saturday night with friends, and arrived and were promptly shown to our table, the restaurant was busy but not full, we were offered drinks promptly and were allowed to peruse the menu, my wife asked for some recommendations which were not forthcoming, we decided each to order... read more

4 of 5 starsReviewed April 7, 2015
Stephen G
,
Northumberland, United Kingdom
via mobile
Good for:
  • Doing business
  • Special occasions
  • Romantic
  • Entertaining clients
Add Photo Write a Review

182 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2015 NEW

Went here last weekend with old friends for a re-Union, what an awesome place. I went here previously 8 years ago and it was awesome then and it has just got better. Bit pricey but hey it's worth it! Menu is so unusual that you sit there forever pondering what to have!!! Go it's a good place!

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2015

Been to Vujon quite a few times over the last 15 years.The service and surroundings are as good as ever but on our latest visit the food did not have the the subtle and complex flavours it used to have.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2015 via mobile

For something a little different from the usual Indian Vujon offers great food with professional staff. White linen tablecloths complete the ambience

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Geneva, Switzerland
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2015 via mobile

I've been to hundreds of top curry houses including all 100 in Pat Chapmans Good Curry Guide albeit an old edition. Living in Geneva for 15 years I have had to scale back my passion for this cuisine. However, on trips home I go back to my former self and may feast on 4 or more Indian meals in a... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Burton upon Trent, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2015

We are new in town and was recommended this place from the hotel.Not very professional welcoming and very hard to understand what the waiter was trying to explain about some of the dishes we were asking.Quiet different menu with bit high price but it`s OK as you have different taste in a sort of good way.But service is not definitely... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Sheila m, Owner at Vujon, responded to this review

Hello Thank you for your review. I am very disappointed to hear your experience here at Vujon hasn't been enjoyable and sorry to hear that you had some language issue with our staffs. We try our best to provide a service to make your visit here at Vujon memorable but dissappooined to know that your visit hasn't been as per... More 

Northumberland, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2015 via mobile

We visited Vujon on Saturday night with friends, and arrived and were promptly shown to our table, the restaurant was busy but not full, we were offered drinks promptly and were allowed to peruse the menu, my wife asked for some recommendations which were not forthcoming, we decided each to order different dishes, so we could taste the extensive range... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2015

Visited tonight early with my daughter after shopping in newcastle, had a lovely meal , service very good, and food first class

Was this review helpful? Yes
Middlesbrough, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2015

Visited on Sunday 15th with my wife. On entering the place was very quiet with only two couples inside. Ordered the chicken tikka and a sharing platter for two with plain rice and a plain naan. Drinks wise we ordered two cokes. There was no atmosphere no background music and we could hear the crunching of poppadoms. The starter arrived... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
Suffolk, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
115 reviews 115 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2015

Been here many times. Once again it didn't disappoint. Excellent. I like the fact they have brown rice on the menu. Service good and staff friendly but not in your face. Helped my with my main choice Saag Gosht - excellent and prawn starter fantastic. My favourite in Newcastle - wasn't to busy and as on my own this was... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Newcastle, England
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2015

Yes the food was lovely but the service was terrible, This was our first visit after recommendations but we felt unwanted from the beginning. The waiters were miserable and unhelpful and we just felt like they wanted us to hurry up and leave. Despite the food being good we wont be back.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Sheila m, Owner at Vujon, responded to this review

Hi Sorry to hear your experience at Vujon. Could you please let me know when you visited Vujon so I can have a chat with our staffs. Could you also please let me know how you felt you were hurried e.g. Food came too early or were you given the bill before you had asked. It will be useful to... More 

Travelers who viewed Vujon also viewed

Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
 
Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
 

Been to Vujon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.

Manage your listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Location and Contact Information

  • Address: 29 Queen Street, Newcastle upon Tyne NE1 3UG, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Tyne and Wear  >  Newcastle upon Tyne
  • Phone Number: +44 (0)191 2210601

Price and Cuisine

  • Average Prices: USD 59 - 59
  • Cuisine: Indian

Restaurant Characteristics

  • Good for: Doing business, Special occasions, Romantic, Entertaining clients
Open Hours
Sunday
5:30 pm - 11:00 pm
Monday
5:30 pm - 11:00 pm
12:00 pm - 2:00 pm
Tuesday
5:30 pm - 11:00 pm
12:00 pm - 2:00 pm
Wednesday
5:30 pm - 11:00 pm
12:00 pm - 2:00 pm
Thursday
5:30 pm - 11:00 pm
12:00 pm - 2:00 pm
Friday
5:30 pm - 11:00 pm
12:00 pm - 2:00 pm
Saturday
5:30 pm - 11:00 pm
12:00 pm - 2:00 pm

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Vujon staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?