We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Improve this listing
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Your filters are still active.
There are no pins in your viewport. Try moving the map or changing your filters.
Get directions
29 Queen Street, Newcastle upon Tyne NE1 3UG, England
+44 (0)191 2210601
Website
Today
5:30 pm - 11:00 pm
12:00 pm - 2:00 pm
Closed now
See all hours
Hours:
Sun - Sat 5:30 pm - 11:00 pm
Mon - Sat 12:00 pm - 2:00 pm
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations

TripAdvisor Reviewer Highlights

Read all 179 reviews
Visitor rating
  • 86
    Excellent
  • 44
    Very good
  • 25
    Average
  • 12
    Poor
  • 12
    Terrible
Rating summary
  • Food
    4 of 5 stars
    Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
    Atmosphere
    4 of 5 stars
Food excellent, service needs some attention

We visited Vujon on Saturday night with friends, and arrived and were promptly shown to our table, the restaurant was busy but not full, we were offered drinks promptly and were allowed to peruse the menu, my wife asked for some recommendations which were not forthcoming, we decided each to order... read more

4 of 5 starsReviewed April 7, 2015
Stephen G
,
Northumberland, United Kingdom
via mobile
Good for:
  • Special occasions
  • Doing business
  • Entertaining clients
  • Romantic
Add Photo Write a Review

179 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Geneva, Switzerland
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2015 NEW via mobile

I've been to hundreds of top curry houses including all 100 in Pat Chapmans Good Curry Guide albeit an old edition. Living in Geneva for 15 years I have had to scale back my passion for this cuisine. However, on trips home I go back to my former self and may feast on 4 or more Indian meals in a... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Burton upon Trent, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2015

We are new in town and was recommended this place from the hotel.Not very professional welcoming and very hard to understand what the waiter was trying to explain about some of the dishes we were asking.Quiet different menu with bit high price but it`s OK as you have different taste in a sort of good way.But service is not definitely... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Sheila m, Owner at Vujon, responded to this review

Hello Thank you for your review. I am very disappointed to hear your experience here at Vujon hasn't been enjoyable and sorry to hear that you had some language issue with our staffs. We try our best to provide a service to make your visit here at Vujon memorable but dissappooined to know that your visit hasn't been as per... More 

Northumberland, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2015 via mobile

We visited Vujon on Saturday night with friends, and arrived and were promptly shown to our table, the restaurant was busy but not full, we were offered drinks promptly and were allowed to peruse the menu, my wife asked for some recommendations which were not forthcoming, we decided each to order different dishes, so we could taste the extensive range... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2015

Visited tonight early with my daughter after shopping in newcastle, had a lovely meal , service very good, and food first class

Was this review helpful? Yes
Middlesbrough, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2015

Visited on Sunday 15th with my wife. On entering the place was very quiet with only two couples inside. Ordered the chicken tikka and a sharing platter for two with plain rice and a plain naan. Drinks wise we ordered two cokes. There was no atmosphere no background music and we could hear the crunching of poppadoms. The starter arrived... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
Suffolk, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
109 reviews 109 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2015

Been here many times. Once again it didn't disappoint. Excellent. I like the fact they have brown rice on the menu. Service good and staff friendly but not in your face. Helped my with my main choice Saag Gosht - excellent and prawn starter fantastic. My favourite in Newcastle - wasn't to busy and as on my own this was... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Newcastle, England
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2015

Yes the food was lovely but the service was terrible, This was our first visit after recommendations but we felt unwanted from the beginning. The waiters were miserable and unhelpful and we just felt like they wanted us to hurry up and leave. Despite the food being good we wont be back.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Sheila m, Owner at Vujon, responded to this review

Hi Sorry to hear your experience at Vujon. Could you please let me know when you visited Vujon so I can have a chat with our staffs. Could you also please let me know how you felt you were hurried e.g. Food came too early or were you given the bill before you had asked. It will be useful to... More 

1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2015

First time visit and was pleased great service and food was good Inside deco was nice and they offered kulfi which most Resturant don't

Was this review helpful? Yes
U.K
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2015

One of the best Indians that I have ever eaten in. Refined, quality food that doesn't make you feel bloated like most other Indians. Watch out for the naan bread though, as they are huge and could easily feed 2-3 people.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Newcastle, UK
Top Contributor
108 reviews 108 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2015 via mobile

My friend and I took advantage of Restaurant Week to return to Vujon which we both visited some years ago. Excellent, varied and unusual menu. Really good service and obviously very well managed. Popadoms and pickles arrived straight away. I had a lovely salmon starter and she had a chicken chat. We shared a very unusual beef dish and a... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes

Travelers who viewed Vujon also viewed

Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
 
Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
 

Been to Vujon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.

Manage your listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Location and Contact Information

  • Address: 29 Queen Street, Newcastle upon Tyne NE1 3UG, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Tyne and Wear  >  Newcastle upon Tyne
  • Phone Number: +44 (0)191 2210601

Price and Cuisine

  • Average Prices: USD 59 - 59
  • Cuisine: Indian

Restaurant Characteristics

  • Good for: Special occasions, Doing business, Entertaining clients, Romantic
Open Hours
Sunday
5:30 pm - 11:00 pm
Monday
5:30 pm - 11:00 pm
12:00 pm - 2:00 pm
Tuesday
5:30 pm - 11:00 pm
12:00 pm - 2:00 pm
Wednesday
5:30 pm - 11:00 pm
12:00 pm - 2:00 pm
Thursday
5:30 pm - 11:00 pm
12:00 pm - 2:00 pm
Friday
5:30 pm - 11:00 pm
12:00 pm - 2:00 pm
Saturday
5:30 pm - 11:00 pm
12:00 pm - 2:00 pm

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Vujon staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?