We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Marco Polo Restaurant

33 Dean St, Newcastle upon Tyne NE1 6JQ, England
+44 191 232 5533
Website
Improve this listing
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $9 - $22
Cuisines: Italian, Contemporary, Pizza & Pasta, Bistro
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Large groups, Doing business, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Description: Marco Polo is an Italian bistro that is celebrating its 40th year of trading. We are an independent restaurant and locally owed. We offer a wide range of pizza/pasta and consider this to be our bread and butter. However we really come in to our own on the a la carte side of the menu. All our dishes are prepared on site and deliver extremely good value. The restaurant is always busy and has great atmosphere. We can cater for most requests. We take reservations and also hold a number of tables back for walk-in custom. So if you're passing pop in.
Write a Review

595 reviews from our community

78% Recommend
    252
    214
    73
    30
    26
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Sussex, UK
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2014 NEW

We visited Marco Polo early on a Sunday evening and the restaurant was fairly quiet. It's on Dean Street and all the on-street parking was taken but there was plenty of space in the Dean Street Car Park across the road, free at that time on a Sunday. It's ostensibly Italian cuisine though not in the traditional sense we often... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
MattManager81, Manager at Marco Polo Restaurant, responded to this review

It's great to hear that you all enjoyed your food, I am sorry that we didn't seem to hit that higher level for you and hopefully can on a return visit. More

St Austell, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2014 NEW

Excellent greeting on arrival polite friendly and welcoming, restaurant was clean and pleasant the food was very good but was let down by one dish a soggy based pizza which was a great shame as without this I would have said we had an excellent evening and give a higher rating, some may say this is harsh but such a... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
MattManager81, Manager at Marco Polo Restaurant, responded to this review

I can only apologise and agree that yes it shouldn't happen and it's not often it does. I do hope you can look past this very rare occurrence and give us another go. More

Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2014

On arrival we were met by a very gracious hostess who went out of her way to get us a better table which was of course very much appreciated. Unfortunately the food did not meet the same standard as the warm welcome, or indeed the quality I have come to expect from Marco Polo. The pizza dough was raw in... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2014

We descended on the restaurant (booked in advance) as a party of 15 on a busy Saturday night. The staff were superb and could not do enough for us. We never felt rushed and our meal was managed at our pace. Everyone in our group reported an excellent meal - my rabbit lasagne was fantastic. This all helped make it... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
MattManager81, Manager at Marco Polo Restaurant, responded to this review

Thanks for a great review and I'm glad we were able to deliver for you and your party, it's not always easy to satisfy everyone in a large group. We hope to see you all again. More

Newcastle, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2014

Visited on a Sunday evening about 6. We ordered garlic bread with fontina cheese (£3.95) to start which was very nice. For my main I had 'Orecchiette nduja e gambrel' (£10.95) which was supposed to be prawn and salami pasta with mascarpone. It was pretty tasteless and had red onions in it which were not part of the dish according... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2014

Came here for my friends 40th and loved the look of the place, very classy and modern. The staff were very helpful and polite, the food was served quickly also. We all enjoyed our meals ranging from pizza to pasta dishes and thought the prices were reasonable for the quality of the food. Would go again if I was in... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
MattManager81, Manager at Marco Polo Restaurant, responded to this review

Thanks for taking the time to write a great review and we look forward to seeing you again when you are in the area. More

Welwyn Garden City, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2014

The menu looks exciting and different to your usual Italian restaurants but the execution of the dishes were not right. The spicy salami garlic bread was very salty. The crab pasta had a very fishy smell to it. I know it will smell a bit fishy but this was very strong. It was very bland. The service was spot on... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2014

Newcastle has a proliferation of Italian restaurants, many of which are distinctly average - our meal at Marco Polo was definitely not that. We enjoyed a great meal and enjoyed every course. I can recommend the chargrilled squid, the orrichiette and we shared the sweet selection for desert which avoided having to choose just one desert on the menu. The... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
MattManager81, Manager at Marco Polo Restaurant, responded to this review

It is great to hear you had such a great meal with us and I do hope we see you again soon. Everything is made fresh on site so most if not all dishes can be adjusted some what to cater for every requirement. More

Durham, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2014

It is a shame when an Italian resturant cannot cook a pizza properly, ours were undercooked, no crispy base here, the chips were distinctly anaemic too.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

A new menu but still familiar dishes that never disappoint. The refurbishment is not "obvious" but the staff pointed out the work undertaken and were very happy with a new kitchen and air conditioning - expensive items! Back to food. Simply delicious. The fish croquettes were splendid. Tasty. The sea bass was crisp on the skin and melted when removed.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
MattManager81, Manager at Marco Polo Restaurant, responded to this review

Thank you for the great review. The sea bass is my favourite fish dish on the menu I am glad you agree. We look forward to seeing you again soon. More

Travelers who viewed Marco Polo Restaurant also viewed

Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
 
Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
 

Been to Marco Polo Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Marco Polo Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Manage your listing