We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Marco Polo Restaurant

$$
Italian, Pizza & Pasta, Contemporary, Bistro
Improve this listing
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Your filters are still active.
There are no pins in your viewport. Try moving the map or changing your filters.
Get directions
33 Dean St, Newcastle upon Tyne NE1 6JQ, England
+44 191 232 5533
Website
Today
12:00 pm - 9:45 pm
Closed now
See all hours
Hours:
Sun - Thu 12:00 pm - 9:45 pm
Fri - Sat 12:00 pm - 10:00 pm
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Description: Marco Polo is an Italian bistro that is celebrating its 40th year of...
Marco Polo is an Italian bistro that is celebrating its 40th year of trading. We are an independent restaurant and locally owed. We offer a wide range of pizza/pasta and consider this to be our bread and butter. However we really come in to our own on the a la carte side of the menu. All our dishes are prepared on site and deliver extremely good value. The restaurant is always busy and has great atmosphere. We can cater for most requests. We take reservations and also hold a number of tables back for walk-in custom. So if you're passing pop in.
read more

TripAdvisor Reviewer Highlights

Read all 735 reviews
Visitor rating
  • 322
    Excellent
  • 263
    Very good
  • 87
    Average
  • 33
    Poor
  • 30
    Terrible
Rating summary
  • Food
    4.5 of 5 stars
    Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
    Atmosphere
    4 of 5 stars
Best Italian In Newcastle.

Marco Polo never disappoints, great Italian cuisine cooked & presented very well. Excellent choice of drinks and always a good lively atmosphere.

4 of 5 starsReviewed April 28, 2015
swisstony74
,
Newcastle
Good for:
  • Doing business
  • Large groups
  • Romantic
  • Entertaining clients
Add Photo Write a Review

735 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Hartlepool
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2015 NEW

Tried here for the first time and was really impressed. There was a buzzing atmosphere inside and although a bit of a wait for the food it was definitely worth it.

Was this review helpful? Yes
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2015 NEW via mobile

ordered prosciutto n mushroom pizza got British ham n mushroom, cutting down cost eh, service is supposed to be with a smile and seating arrangements for a big group were horrendous having to empty a row of people to go to bathroom etc. Marco Polo ha keep it! zizzi's is better

Was this review helpful? Yes
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2015 NEW

Lovely Italian food, pleasant surroundings and great service. I have loved this place for many many years. Happy memories eating here.

Was this review helpful? Yes
MarcosManager, Manager at Marco Polo Restaurant, responded to this review

Thanks for your great review. We will continue to work hard to keep up our high standards More 

Newcastle
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2015 NEW

Marco Polo never disappoints, great Italian cuisine cooked & presented very well. Excellent choice of drinks and always a good lively atmosphere.

Was this review helpful? Yes
MarcosManager, Manager at Marco Polo Restaurant, responded to this review

Thanks for your positive review. We look forward to seeing you again in the near future More 

Salisbury, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2015

We were looking for a restaurant in Newcastle to host a large birthday party. After quite a bit of searching for a suitable venue we opted for Marco Polo; what a great decision! It proved to be everything we were after. Despite being a busy Saturday night the Marco Polo team were attentive and there was just the right atmosphere... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
MarcosManager, Manager at Marco Polo Restaurant, responded to this review

Thanks for your great review. Its really good to hear that our customers appreciate our hard work. We will continue to provide high quality food made with the freshest ingredients and keep up our high standards of service. Thanks again More 

Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2015

Poor food, poor service. Complained and manager didn't seem bothered. Steaks were inedible sauce tasted off. Sons pizza was cold. Emailed later to raise complaint again and restaurant hasn't even bothered to email back.

Was this review helpful? Yes
MarcosManager, Manager at Marco Polo Restaurant, responded to this review

Thanks for your review. We are very disappointed that you have had a bad experience with us at Marco Polo. It is very rare that we experience negative comments towards both our service and quality of food and it is a shame you have taken to trip advisor to vent your anger. We feel that we dealt with the situation... More 

Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
80 restaurant reviews
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2015

Visited on a Saturday teatime before a visit to the theatre. Shown to a table near window in 2nd room, but this was very drafty and right in corner where waiters and waitresses pass by with empty plates. Food and drinks were ordered and starters of Garlic Bread and Wild Boar Salami were very tasty. Mains were also mixed, Rabbit... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
MarcosManager, Manager at Marco Polo Restaurant, responded to this review

Thanks for your your feedback. We always appreciate both positive and negative comments. Please don't be shy next time you visit to ask for a different table if you are not happy with the one we sit you at. We will always try to meet our customers needs and everyone has different requests. This also goes for the food, if... More 

1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2015 via mobile

It's been a few years since we were last here. Called in for lunch today after a visit to the Sunday Quayside market and had a beautiful meal. The flavours in the pasta were wonderful , really fresh ingredients. Won't leave it so long next time !

Was this review helpful? Yes
MarcosManager, Manager at Marco Polo Restaurant, responded to this review

Thanks for your great review. Its lovely to hear that customers are pleasantly surprised when returning after so long. We will continue to work hard to compete with the ever growing number of chain restaurants popping up around us More 

Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2015

We went for a birthday and the staff were nice to us all. They gave my cousin a colouring book and crayons upon arrival. The pizza I had was so nice I ordered another one to share.

Was this review helpful? Yes
MarcosManager, Manager at Marco Polo Restaurant, responded to this review

Thanks for your great review. We look forward to you next visit More 

Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2015

Beautiful food, ideal location, fab service and friendly staff. What more can you ask for? Highly recommended.

Was this review helpful? Yes
MarcosManager, Manager at Marco Polo Restaurant, responded to this review

Thanks for your positive review. We hope to see you again in the near future More 

Travelers who viewed Marco Polo Restaurant also viewed

Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
 
Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
 

Been to Marco Polo Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.

Manage your listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Location and Contact Information

  • Address: 33 Dean St, Newcastle upon Tyne NE1 6JQ, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Tyne and Wear  >  Newcastle upon Tyne
  • Phone Number: +44 191 232 5533

Price and Cuisine

  • Average Prices: USD 9 - 22
  • Cuisine: Italian, Pizza & Pasta, Contemporary, Bistro

Restaurant Characteristics

  • Good for: Doing business, Large groups, Romantic, Entertaining clients

Description

Marco Polo is an Italian bistro that is celebrating its 40th year of trading. We are an independent restaurant and locally owed. We offer a wide range of pizza/pasta and consider this to be our bread and butter. However we really come in to our own on the a la carte side of the menu. All our dishes are prepared on site and deliver extremely good value. The restaurant is always busy and has great atmosphere. We can cater for most requests. We take reservations and also hold a number of tables back for walk-in custom. So if you're passing pop in.
Open Hours
Sunday
12:00 pm - 9:45 pm
Monday
12:00 pm - 9:45 pm
Tuesday
12:00 pm - 9:45 pm
Wednesday
12:00 pm - 9:45 pm
Thursday
12:00 pm - 9:45 pm
Friday
12:00 pm - 10:00 pm
Saturday
12:00 pm - 10:00 pm

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Marco Polo Restaurant staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?