We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Northumbrian Piper

Fawdon House, 1 Fawdon close | Gosforth, Newcastle upon Tyne Ne3 2AH, England
01912856793
Website
Improve this listing
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $9 - $22
Cuisines: Barbecue, English, Steakhouse, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Doing business, Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Description: Hidden away, it has for decades, remained one of Gosforth's best kept secrets, serving as a welcoming watering hole for residents of the town's Red House Farm Estate and the surrounding areas. But now the word is officially out and discerning diners from across the region are descending upon and discovering the culinary treasures of this stunning, hidden gem.
Write a Review

142 reviews from our community

79% Recommend
    84
    28
    14
    12
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Northumberland, UK
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2014 NEW

Went after work for a quick bite with friends. Had the chicken chorizo Salad, the plus is that you got a really good chicken portion but the salad was minimal, leaves and not much else. Colleagues meals were all a bit dull.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
508 reviews 508 reviews
279 restaurant reviews
229 helpful votes 229 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2014

Well I said I would be back and have been twice since. Once for the Thursday grill night 2 mains and a bottle of wine for £20: we had a gammon steak and salmon - both very good and enjoyed in the garden with a bit of sunshine (-: Then tonight back again - this time the ultimate tower burger,... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
JohnnyGandLynne, Owner at The Northumbrian Piper, responded to this review

You have just restored my faith in people thank you so much. It's so disappointing when you are all trying to achieve the best and you get bad reviews because we didn't have something or some other reason. You review is lovely and I will pass the comments on to Craig who we think was on when you came in.... More

Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

Really didn't live up to their website. Vegetarian food (Gourmet burger, chick peas and coriander), was on the menu but not available. The wait was long, but after visiting the webpage, we expected that, being 'freshly cooked'. Unfortunately the fish was completely tasteless, and I would question if it was even cod. Chips seemed like the scraps from the bottom... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 6
JohnnyGandLynne, Owner at The Northumbrian Piper, responded to this review

Apologies for late response to this review I did ask trip advisor about it but I have not had a response yet I find it interesting that bad reviews like this attract more helpful votes than excellent ones do which I wonder why that is. Anyways you clearly didn't enjoy the fresh food and I am sorry for that. The... More

Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014

4 of us went to the Northumbrian Piper for a meal and drinks last night but it was a catalogue of problems and poor service. On a lovely summer evening nothing nicer than a martini and lemonade. Sorry we have run out....they also ran out of bells whiskey for another customer. We had a decent burger only no Stilton for... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 5
JohnnyGandLynne, Owner at The Northumbrian Piper, responded to this review

Well very disappointing review on many levels. Firstly your choice of drinks were not available on that we had ran out of martini, strange as we don't sell a lot of martini these days nor do we sell much bells whiskey. We had had an extremely busy week. We do of course have other whiskeys. The food you ordered the... More

Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014 via mobile

A table for 18 was no problem we we're ask to pre order food to ensure our selection was available. All meals arrived within 5 mins of each other comments from some of our group who had not been there before. The steak was the best they have ever had. Puddings were enjoyed by most of the party the rest... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
JohnnyGandLynne, Owner at The Northumbrian Piper, responded to this review

Well thank you so much for taking the time out to give us such praise its is so much appreciated by the team here at the Piper. Its often not that easy to manage a large party as you are getting other walk ins at the same time which of course makes it a lot harder on the kitchen. they... More

Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
508 reviews 508 reviews
279 restaurant reviews
229 helpful votes 229 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2014

Despite being only a 5-10 minute walk from the edge of the Great Park have only been here a few times. It is definitely unusual to find such an old building with large beer garden in amongst a housing estate. Visited on a sunny Friday night and booked in advance. Bit confused on arrival by a sign that suggested my... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
JohnnyGandLynne, Owner at The Northumbrian Piper, responded to this review

hello and thanks for your lovely review mate much appreciated. Glad you enjoyed the food the fish is delicious from Taylors of North shields. Apologies over the confusion re the timings. Unfortunately our premises licence is such that it limits the times that children can be on the premises which I agree is not ideal but nothing that we can... More

Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2014

Went here today with my partner and young son, the pub has a great outdoor area with picnic benches and a play area as well as a covered smoking area. We ordered starters of breaded mushroom and prawn cocktail which were both large portions and very tasty, then we both had fish and chips which I have to say is... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
JohnnyGandLynne, Owner at The Northumbrian Piper, responded to this review

Thank you so much for you great review it's much appreciated . Sorry you only gave us a 4* ha I'm sorry you waited for your meals I'm not sure why . I do know that sometimes it looks quiet and you wonder why the Wait but sometimes we have meetings in the rooms that have maybe ordered meals just... More

Cramlington, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2014

Looking for a nice place for lunch on my birthday we came across the Northumbrian Piper. Wouldn't have known it was there but for a sign on the main road as this pub is really tucked out of the way at the back of a housing estate, Looks like a true country pub, has large outdoors, lots of trees and... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
JohnnyGandLynne, Owner at The Northumbrian Piper, responded to this review

Well what can I say we are delighted with your review and it's so kind of you to take time out to write it and let others know that you enjoyed yourself both the place and the food. As you say we do make everything fresh so yes it does sometimes take a little longer . Sometimes also there may... More

Newcastle, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

I've been in a few times for lunch and the food was very tasty and reasonably priced. Portion sizes are very generous too. It is the perfect pub for soaking up some sun as they have a large beer garden, with a childrens play area too,

Was this review helpful? Yes
JohnnyGandLynne, Owner at The Northumbrian Piper, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your lovely review and we are all so pleased that you have returned a few times and are becoming a regular customer. It's much appreciated that you took time out to help spread the word about the pub and the fresh food message. We believe the fresh quality food way is the best way and... More

Sunderland, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2014

Visited the piper on the 11th for Sunday Lunch with my family, lived in Fawdon many years ago and would often drink in this boozer, never ate here but to be fair it has changed a lot since then, for the better that it is, Three of our party had the roast lamb, one childrens chicken dinner and one childs... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
JohnnyGandLynne, Owner at The Northumbrian Piper, responded to this review

Thank you so so much for your tremendous review and I'm so happy that your return to the piper after 20 years was a great experience for you. We have been striving for 5 years now to make it better and it's slowly working although it was in a state when we took it over as I sure you might... More

Travelers who viewed The Northumbrian Piper also viewed

Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
 
Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
 

Been to The Northumbrian Piper? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Northumbrian Piper, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Manage your listing