We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

the five swans

International, Pub
Improve this listing
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Your filters are still active.
There are no pins in your viewport. Try moving the map or changing your filters.
Get directions
14 st marys place, Newcastle upon Tyne, England
Website
Add hours for the five swans and help diners know when to go.
+ Add hours
Dining options: Lunch, Drinks, Breakfast, Dinner, Reservations

TripAdvisor Reviewer Highlights

Read all 110 reviews
Visitor rating
  • 22
    Excellent
  • 50
    Very good
  • 18
    Average
  • 7
    Poor
  • 13
    Terrible
Rating summary
  • Food
    3.5 of 5 stars
    Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
    Atmosphere
    3.5 of 5 stars
Love this place

Love coming here for food the Mexican burger is beautiful and the price is great. Staff are very friendly and the setting is nice too

4 of 5 starsReviewed July 29, 2015
dougbrowni95
,
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Add Photo Write a Review

110 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Rate and write a review
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
49 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2015 NEW

Love coming here for food the Mexican burger is beautiful and the price is great. Staff are very friendly and the setting is nice too

Was this review helpful? Yes
Gloucester
Level Contributor
88 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2015

Had a really good cheap meal in this restaurant one night. The service was friendly and efficient. A great place to hang out in the evening. Good sheltered places to sit outside. An excellent Wetherspoons pub, popular with university students. Just a shame they had the water problem during my stay in Newcastle. Hope this has been sorted out now.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2015

This is a busy city centre Wetherspoons pub opposite the Civic Centre and 2 minutes walk from the Haymarket metro station and bus station, there is a good selection of fine ales and the food seems very popular, there are plenty of staff behind the bar and serving the meals so even when it is very busy (most days) you... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
james b, Manager at the five swans, responded to this review

Hi Michael Thank you for your lovely review and we're pleased you enjoy visiting us. we look forward to seeing you again soon More 

Newcastle
Level Contributor
212 reviews
145 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 143 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2015

...at the back is a nice little outdoor area made all the better by being non-smoking so you can sidestep the outside seating at that busy junction and avoid the additional horror of cigarette smoke in your face and still enjoy the sunshine...if you're lucky. Well done for providing this amenity.

Was this review helpful? Yes
james b, Manager at the five swans, responded to this review

Hi Thank you for your kind review. Our non smoking beer garden is a lovely addition to the pub, on a sunny afternoon it is like a sun trap and on an evening has lovely lighting. we are pleased you enjoyed your visit and hope to see you again soon More 

Spilsby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2015

amazing value like all Wetherspoon's, and huge inside with seating outside as well. Lots of tables inside but still gets completely packed from the spring all through summer. Service is fab, food comes really quickly, and the toilets are lovely but a bit tucked away upstairs. Some nice pictures on the wall with a bit of history information next to... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
james b, Manager at the five swans, responded to this review

Hi Jimmy Thank you for your very kind review We are pleased you enjoyed your visit to us and hope to see you again soon More 

2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2015

Had some nice lunch at this lovely pub... pulled pork burger with a pint for £7.00 bargain. Me and my friends were really happy with the quality of food. I also like the fact u can sit outside, specially when the weather is good. Will definitely come back and try some other offers they have.

Was this review helpful? Yes
james b, Manager at the five swans, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your kind review. I'am pleased you enjoyed your meal with us and look forward to your visit in the future More 

Ukunda, Kenya
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2015

very basic pub food but very popular, its near the University so popular with students. families eat in there too. Prices are average too. Nice seating area outside lovely when its sunny. Staff are friendly. I would go back.

Was this review helpful? Yes
james b, Manager at the five swans, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. Its nice to hear you would like to visit us again in the future More 

Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2015

I've been coming in this place for years. It's amazing that you can sit outside a busy road junction and yet the traffic doesn't bother you. Very relaxing. I'm not such a fan of its almost all dining area incarnation inside. Now the beer selection is fine and the price is certainly good. However; certain beers are best served in... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
james b, Manager at the five swans, responded to this review

Hi Paul Thank you for your comments. I agree that drinks do taste better out of the correct glass, the long guinness glass is their new designed branded glass that they supply for us. we do have a limited supply of the old style glasses and should you prefer your drink in one of these ask at the bar and... More 

Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2015

Ive been drinking in this bar for many years now and never get tired of it.The bar staff all look very professional and never stop working.Always cheerful.Only one quibble though,Sometimes you can be standing at the bar waiting to be served for a long time as the staff sometimes serve the nearest person to the person who's just been served... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
james b, Manager at the five swans, responded to this review

Hi Jeffrey Thank you so much for your kind review and we are pleased you enjoy visiting us. The staff do work very hard in a busy environment and it can be a challenge getting everyone served in order but its one to take a look at. As we are a Wetherspoons pub we unfortunately dont have a music license... More 

Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2015

Met with two friends today 2nd June for our regular get together at 5 Swans.We always have lunch there,I ordered for all of us and made quite clear to assistant my order of 5 bean chilli,not chilli jacket potato when she repeated order back to me.Was informed 15 to 20 minute wait which we didn't mind.When orders arrived I was... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
james b, Manager at the five swans, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We work very hard to ensure we offer the best customer service possible, I'am sorry you did not enjoy your visit on this occassion. I hope you will visit us again in the future and this one off experience has not put you off any further visits More 

Travelers who viewed the five swans also viewed

Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
 
Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
 

Been to the five swans? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about the five swans

Address: 14 st marys place, Newcastle upon Tyne, England
Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Tyne and Wear  >  Newcastle upon Tyne
Cuisine: International, Pub

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.

Manage your listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Location and Contact Information

  • Address: 14 st marys place, Newcastle upon Tyne, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Tyne and Wear  >  Newcastle upon Tyne

Price and Cuisine

  • Cuisine: International, Pub

Questions & Answers

Here's what previous visitors have asked, with answers from representatives of the five swans and other visitors
1 question
Ask a question
Questions? Get answers from the five swans staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?