We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Solomons Lounge

Certificate of Excellence
$$
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
404 Chillingham Road | Heaton, Newcastle upon Tyne NE6 5QX, England
441912760906
Website
Improve this listing
Today
5:00 pm - 11:00 pm
Open now
See all hours
Hours:
Sun 5:00 pm - 10:00 pm
Mon - Sat 5:00 pm - 11:00 pm
Dining options: Late Night, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Digital Payments, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Good for: Families with children, Special occasions
Description: Solomons Lounge offers you delectable Punjarbi/Kashmiri cuisine surrounded...
Solomons Lounge offers you delectable Punjarbi/Kashmiri cuisine surrounded in a luxurios authentic setting with second to none customer service. We pride ourselves in using only the finest of ingrediants cooked to perfection ensuring you a memorable dining experience.
read more

TripAdvisor Reviewer Highlights

Read all 193 reviews
Visitor rating
  • 128
    Excellent
  • 26
    Very good
  • 18
    Average
  • 11
    Poor
  • 10
    Terrible
Rating summary
  • Food
    4.5 of 5 stars
    Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
    Atmosphere
    4 of 5 stars
Fantastic food and service

I visited Solomans on Saturday with the family (who are fussy eaters so was a bit nervous going for a curry) but surprisingly everyone loved the food. The rice and curry was delicious (very traditional) nan bread was fresh and the service was exceptional. The waiter was very attentive and ensured... read more

5 of 5 starsReviewed 2 weeks ago
graham88882016
,
Sunderland, United Kingdom
Add Photo Write a Review

193 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW via mobile

We ordered a Fish item and Aaloo Parantha which will have a max bill of say £7.5 but while billing they charge, when we ask why the bill is so high, one of the guy told they charge £10 for anything below 10 and 20 if the bill is between 10 and 20, (well what is that, is it a... More 

Helpful?
Thank Gunjeshsunny
Sunderland, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I visited Solomans on Saturday with the family (who are fussy eaters so was a bit nervous going for a curry) but surprisingly everyone loved the food. The rice and curry was delicious (very traditional) nan bread was fresh and the service was exceptional. The waiter was very attentive and ensured everyone was enjoying themselves (bit surprised regarding the below... More 

Helpful?
Thank graham88882016
SolomonsGroup, Manager at Solomons Lounge, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your great review Graham. We are so pleased that you and your family enjoyed the food and the service and we really appreciate it when customers take the time and trouble to tell us when we get it right. Look forward to seeing you again soon...Your Cobra awaits !! Thanks from all @ Solomons. More 

2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2015 via mobile

So I went into the 'shop' and there was 5 of us, we where all hungry and as we went the waiter was a 12-14 boy who smelled like B.O he was rude and nasty and as he was walking away with our orders we heard him whisper "dumb white people" we where absolutely furious, but we thought he is... More 

Helpful?
4 Thank jenna S
SolomonsGroup, Public Relations Manager at Solomons Lounge, responded to this review

Dear Jenna S, we appreciate you taking the time to review however may we request you contact us directly at solomonsgroup@gmail.com to discuss your experience further. We do not have a member of staff who fits that description so would like to ascertain when your visit was so we can speak to the staff that were on shift. Cleanliness is... More 

Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2015 via mobile

Viseted last saturday evening with two work colegues i was embaresed when the waiter came to take our order he had a bad personal hygene problem he stunk of b o ordered our meals which were not the best of quality (iceland frozen came to mind ) i will never return

Helpful?
5 Thank Maroof D
SolomonsGroup, Public Relations Manager at Solomons Lounge, responded to this review

Dear Maroof D, thank you for taking the time to leave your feedback. May we request you contact us at solomonsgroup@gmail.com to advise when you came to the restaurant so we can see which members of staff were working at the time but as far as we are aware there is no staff members with such an issue. Cleanliness is... More 

Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2015

You have got to give this restaurant a try. Amazing food and excellent service. The guys in here definitely want your visit to be special. They cant do enough for you and the food is astounding speaking from one who has visited most of the Indian restaurants in the North East this one is way up top which ticks all... More 

Helpful?
Thank Marnie68
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2015 via mobile

We visited the Chillingham resteraunt and had an amazing night food was delicious and the staff wer great we couldn't fault it! But recently we decided one night to order after a long day at work so we rang Chillingham road but they're card machines did not work so we decided to drive from high heaton to denton and ordered... More 

Helpful?
Thank Ashley M
SolomonsGroup, Manager at Solomons Lounge, responded to this review

Thank you Ashley for the great review. We really appreciate it when our customers let us know how well we are doing Look forward to seeing you again soon. More 

1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2015 via mobile

Delicious food!!! Lovely atmosphere & staff. Will definately visit again. Also ordered takeaway other day & was again fantastic :0)

Helpful?
Thank Miri D
SolomonsGroup, Owner at Solomons Lounge, responded to this review

Dear Miri, thanks for the great review! We really appreciate you taking the time to give us your feedback! We hope to see you again soon! More 

Newcastle upon Tyne
Level Contributor
56 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2015

Our local Indian! We love the new decor and the light airy feeling. Staff always welcoming, friendly and helpful. Almost within walking distance on a nice evening. We tend to have takeaways more these days. As when we eat in we end up eating poppadoms, onion bhajis, etc first and then can't eat our main courses! Despite taking for ever... More 

Helpful?
Thank Simone N
SolomonsGroup, Owner at Solomons Lounge, responded to this review

Dear Simone, thank you so much for the great review! We really appreciate you taking the time to leave us your feedback and hope to see you again soon! More 

Marbella, Spain
Level Contributor
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2015

Long over due visit back to a favourite place in Newcastle. Not living in the area now we appreciated this wonderful restaurant 7th November 2015. Excellent food and great atmosphere with very friendly staff.

Helpful?
Thank Dawn F
SolomonsGroup, Manager at Solomons Lounge, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your great review Dawn . It was lovely to see you and Murf again .Always a pleasure to see you both when you're back. See you soon. More 

Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2015 via mobile

Usual quality and friendly service but portions seemed a little smaller than last time. Still worth a visit if thinking about trying - do it!

Helpful?
1 Thank 19jcb66
SolomonsGroup, Manager at Solomons Lounge, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind review . Look forward to seeing you again soon More 

Travelers who viewed Solomons Lounge also viewed

Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
 
Gateshead, Tyne and Wear
Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
 

Been to Solomons Lounge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Location and Contact Information

  • Address: 404 Chillingham Road | Heaton, Newcastle upon Tyne NE6 5QX, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Tyne and Wear  >  Newcastle upon Tyne
  • Phone Number: 441912760906

Price and Cuisine

  • Average Prices: USD 15 - 28
  • Cuisine: Indian

Restaurant Characteristics

  • Good for: Families with children, Special occasions

Description

Solomons Lounge offers you delectable Punjarbi/Kashmiri cuisine surrounded in a luxurios authentic setting with second to none customer service. We pride ourselves in using only the finest of ingrediants cooked to perfection ensuring you a memorable dining experience.
Open Hours
Sunday
5:00 pm - 10:00 pm
Monday
5:00 pm - 11:00 pm
Tuesday
5:00 pm - 11:00 pm
Wednesday
5:00 pm - 11:00 pm
Thursday
5:00 pm - 11:00 pm
Friday
5:00 pm - 11:00 pm
Saturday
5:00 pm - 11:00 pm

Questions & Answers

Here's what previous visitors have asked, with answers from representatives of Solomons Lounge and other visitors
1 question
Ask a question
Longbenton, Newcastle Upon Tyne, United Kingdom
5 months ago

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Solomons Lounge staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?