We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Little Saigon

6 Bigg Market, Newcastle upon Tyne NE1 1UW, England
+44 191 233 0766
Website
Update restaurant details
Certificate of Excellence 2013
Price range: $17 - $50
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance, Large groups, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Description: Opened in 2008, Little Saigon is the not the first but the one and only Vietnamese Restaurant in North East England. Located at the centre of Newcastle City Centre, Little Saigon offers a wide range of authentic Vietnamese food at the reasonable price with a warm, cosy atmosphere and excellent customer service. In 2009, Little Saigon has won the Best Oriental Restaurant in North East by Gourmet Society. Continuously, in 2010, the restaurant was the Champion in UK Fusion Food Festival. In 2011, we won no.1 on Trip Advisor for the best restaurant in Newcastle. It was a tough time for us in 2012 when we had to change our head-chef by accident, the food taste was changed, the mistakes in service, the customers reputation went down sadly. Nevertheless, we decided not to give up, but admit our mistakes and learn from them. We are now regaining our customers satisfaction by improving both quality of food and services. We are and will always do our best to win our customers trusts and make them happy again.
Write a Review

264 reviews from our community

73% Recommend
    111
    83
    31
    26
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
scotland
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2014 NEW

we went here the other night for the first time and its the best restaurant in the bigg market. we had; tiger prawns, monkfish and chicken sate to start. beef stir fry, shaking beef, and caramel chicken for mains. all really good and fresh.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Gateshead, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2014

I've visited this restaurant a few times in the past and the vegetarian curry was delicious and unlike one I'd tasted anywhere else. I returned yesterday and was disappointed to find that the recipe has changed since my last visit. It now resembles a curry from a Chinese take-away, which is a great shame.

Was this review helpful? Yes
newcastle
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2014

We used to eat here a lot and always enjoyed it . But the last couple of times have put me off . The food is no where near as good as it once was. I am a believer in everyone one can have a bad day so the first time we had a bad meal I put it down... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Natalie D, Owner at Little Saigon, responded to this review

Hello NewcastleMarkone, First, I would like to say sorry for the bad experiences you had with our restaurant lately. I also thank you for spending your time to leave some comments for us on Trip Advisors. We take both good and bad comments as motivations to work harder and get better. We understand from your comment that you were not... More

Newcastle upon Tyne
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2014

The fact that me and my guest were the only people in the place at 1pm on a weekday should have been a warning sign. Appalling service aside, the food was awful. Bland, poor quality questionable meat meant i left as hungry as when I had gone in. There are far better places in Newcastle to eat. I wish I'd... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Natalie D, Owner at Little Saigon, responded to this review

Dear MIckb1979, First of all, we are truly sorry for what you have been experienced in our restaurant. Through your comment, we understand that you are really unhappy with our food. By any chance, please give us a call to have further discussion about what happened to you on that day, so we could improve from our mistakes and make... More

Newcastle upon Tyne, England
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2014

Went there on a sunday with my partner as he had never been before, they got wrong order with our noodles and found a short black hair in the food which wasn't my partner nor mine hair. Told the English waiter who said thanks for letting me know. Our mains had literally no meat nor chicken in we forgot what... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Natalie D, Owner at Little Saigon, responded to this review

Dear 1CeeCee, Though we had called and talked to you through this problem over phone previously, since I saw this review on Trip Advisors, we, once again, apologise profusely for what you have been experienced in our restaurant. We have received a report from Mark - our Manager, who dealt with you on the day. He says that he apologised... More

Newcastle
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2014

Fantastic place to get unusual dishes like garlic ong choi - amazing! Beautifully decorated throughout, I love the maple mural, with an air of calmness about it. Smiling service and delicious, piping hot food. A little pricey, but that maybe down to its central location. Highly recommended

Was this review helpful? Yes
Natalie D, Owner at Little Saigon, responded to this review

Dear Andy T, We are so glad that you had a good time in our restaurant. Your complement means so much to us. Just to let you know that we have number of discounts for NE1 staffs, students, promotion cards (Like gourmet cards, early bird, More, etc.) and loyalty customers. Please ask our staffs for further details so you can... More

Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2014

This is a regular choice for the wife & I, probably down to the fact that it's the only place you can get a bowl of Pho round here. I've felt the quality of food has deteriorated in our last visits. The amount of beef in the dish is now scarce and the stock for the soup doesn't taste as... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Natalie D, Owner at Little Saigon, responded to this review

Dear Kenny, First, we are sorry that the meal you had did not match your expectation. We have passed your complaints to our chef and the kitchen. They are now fully understand the problems and will pay more attentions on the dishes to make sure improving the quality of the food. We thank you for letting us know your experience... More

Newcastle, United Kingdom
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2014

This is the 3rd time I've been to this restaurant and each time I've enjoyed it. Rather than choose from the normal menu, my friend and myself went for the set menu. The spring rolls were nice and crispy and the Konkol beef was very tasty. The lime salad had a bit too much raw onione though. The main courses... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Natalie D, Owner at Little Saigon, responded to this review

Dear FoodGuy416, We thank you for spending your time leaving the good comment to us on Trip Advisor. We are even happier to know that you keep coming back to our restaurant and feel happy all the time. Also, we have to say it was a very clever choice on Set menu B , as it is our best selling... More

Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2014

Have been a few times to Little Saigon a while ago and enjoyed it but tonight was very poor. Starter of Chili Spare Ribs were greasy, too salty, and very little meat on the ribs. The fresh rolls were over filled with noodles, no herbs and what should be a wonderful simple fresh dish was limp and tasteless. Mains were... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Natalie D, Owner at Little Saigon, responded to this review

Dear ManLikesFood, We are disappointed that you did not enjoy the last visit at our restaurant at all. From your detail comments, we fully understand the problems and we seriously pass the complaints to the kitchen to make sure it won't happen again. On the other hand, we thank you for your comment so we know exactly where the problems... More

Belfast, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2014

Went on a Sunday night for restaurant week and I was very impressed. Great value, even without restaurant week offers. Food was out really fast with delicious flavours. Good portions. Note- no cutlery on the table, it's chopstick time. The salt and chilli squid starter was perfect and I was impressed by the rest too.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Natalie D, Owner at Little Saigon, responded to this review

Dear DBrody, We thank you very much for spending your time leaving us a great comment on Trip Advisor. We are glad that you did enjoy your meal. To your note, We have to add that, for any customers who do not know how to use chopsticks. It's perfectly fine! Just let our staffs know, we will bring knife and... More

Travelers who viewed Little Saigon also viewed

Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
 
Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
 

Been to Little Saigon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Little Saigon, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Manage your listing