We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The White House

International, Pub
Improve this listing
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Your filters are still active.
There are no pins in your viewport. Try moving the map or changing your filters.
Get directions
8 High Street, Guildford GU2 4AJ, England
441483302006
Website
Today
12:00 pm - 11:30 pm
Open now
See all hours
Hours:
Sun 12:00 pm - 10:30 pm
Mon - Thu 12:00 pm - 11:00 pm
Fri - Sat 12:00 pm - 11:30 pm
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Drinks, Reservations
Description: Great Fullers pub in the heart of Guildford. Good craft beers, English...
Great Fullers pub in the heart of Guildford. Good craft beers, English Ales. Riverside setting
read more

TripAdvisor Reviewer Highlights

Read all 82 reviews
Visitor rating
  • 24
    Excellent
  • 32
    Very good
  • 17
    Average
  • 6
    Poor
  • 3
    Terrible
Rating summary
  • Food
    3.5 of 5 stars
    Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
    Atmosphere
    3.5 of 5 stars
Fun evening!!

Refurb is nice and the service was good! Table over over ten people all eating on a Thursday night. Food came out together and was nice. Enjoyed free drink that can register for online. Work just down road so will be back!!

4 of 5 starsReviewed April 18, 2015
Sunshine01Woking
,
Woking, Surrey
Add Photo Write a Review

82 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Your overall rating of this restaurant
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2015

I went here for some after work drinks with my coworkers (they're locals) and was impressed with the wide selection and friendly bartenders.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Whgford, General Manager at The White House, responded to this review

Thanks for the review, glad you liked the pub Regards Michelle More 

London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2015 via mobile

Been in here a few times since refurb. The food is good selection like the tapas ideas. The Sunday roast was excellent and well priced Like the different beers to choose from. Great staff that actually know what they are doing, Will be back

Was this review helpful? Yes
Whgford, General Manager at The White House, responded to this review

Hi Thanks for your lovely review Michelle More 

Guildford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2015 via mobile

A disappointing lunch spent at this pub on what should have been a chilled birthday lunch. The food was so nice but really spoilt by the extremely slow service not just with the food coming out but also at the bar, over 15 minutes to order a drink! On one of the hottest days so far the lack of staff... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
Whgford, General Manager at The White House, responded to this review

Hi I'm really sorry on this occasion we didn't meet you expectations. The weather at the moment is so up and down its hard to judge. Last Thursday we were hit by everyone at the same time and struggled to deliver food to everyone during their short lunch breaks. We have looked into this and will work with our team... More 

Croydon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
80 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2015

we have never been to Guildford before, my two friends and I went shopping and around 5pm wanted something to eat close by the station, we just went in and got a table just inside (too cold outside) but over looking the river. Table service was great, we could order drinks and food without having to go to the bar.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Whgford, General Manager at The White House, responded to this review

Hi Thanks for the lovely review. Glad you enjoyed it Michelle More 

Level Contributor
44 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2015

The place is nice, the staff average drinks ok, the terrace very good but crowded in the evenings. Nice place, service could do with a smile

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Whgford, General Manager at The White House, responded to this review

Thanks for the review Regards Michelle More 

Guildford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2015

Went last bank holiday for a roast. Very busy but lunch came quickly and was great. I picked the Trio, all the meat was cooked perfectly, lovely spuds and a giant yorkie. Good cider on draught, can't wait for summer drinks here by the river

Was this review helpful? Yes
Whgford, General Manager at The White House, responded to this review

Hi Thanks for the review, really pleased you enjoyed your roast Regards Michelle More 

Surrey
Level Contributor
45 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2015

This has recently become a place I come to every week, sometimes twice in one day. There is a cosy area with armchairs, perfect for drinking their excellent coffee with its free biscuits, or their tasty lemon drizzle cake when I come on my own or with a couple of friends.There are benches and large tables inside for when I... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Whgford, General Manager at The White House, responded to this review

Hi I'm really pleased you like the new look pub and enjoy the biscuits and cake ! Thanks Michelle More 

Guildford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2015

The White House which is on the river Wey has just had a make over which is a huge improvement. It is now frequented by younger drinkers but also families at the weekend. There are heaters set up in part of the outside space but the whole area is fairly small. I was in there last Friday evening and the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Whgford, General Manager at The White House, responded to this review

Hi Thanks for the review On Friday we had 4 behind the bar and checking the cameras at no point was there one person behind the bar, however we did have about 150 people in the pub and this does take time to make sure everyone is served. We were also doing table service for people in the bar area... More 

Woking, Surrey
Level Contributor
72 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2015

Refurb is nice and the service was good! Table over over ten people all eating on a Thursday night. Food came out together and was nice. Enjoyed free drink that can register for online. Work just down road so will be back!!

Was this review helpful? Yes
Whgford, General Manager at The White House, responded to this review

Hi Glad you like the new look and enjoyed the drink Thanks for the review Michelle More 

Guildford, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2015

We live near the White House, but hadn't been for a while, as previously unimpressed. Following the refurb, and new management, we decided to retry. So glad we did! Delicious roasts, and excellent service. The meat was perfectly cooked, and the nut roast was particularly good. Our waitress was knowledgeable and experienced, and managed our baby grabbing her every time... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Whgford, General Manager at The White House, responded to this review

Hi Thanks for the lovely review, glad you enjoyed your Easter Sunday See you soon Michelle More 

Travelers who viewed The White House also viewed

Guildford, Surrey
 
Guildford, Surrey
 

Been to The White House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The White House

Address: 8 High Street, Guildford GU2 4AJ, England
Phone Number: 441483302006
Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Surrey  >  Guildford
Open Hours:
Sunday 12:00 pm - 10:30 pm
Monday 12:00 pm - 11:00 pm
Tuesday 12:00 pm - 11:00 pm
Wednesday 12:00 pm - 11:00 pm
Thursday 12:00 pm - 11:00 pm
Friday 12:00 pm - 11:30 pm
Saturday 12:00 pm - 11:30 pm
Cuisine: International, Pub

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.

Manage your listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Location and Contact Information

  • Address: 8 High Street, Guildford GU2 4AJ, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Surrey  >  Guildford
  • Phone Number: 441483302006

Price and Cuisine

  • Cuisine: International, Pub

Description

Great Fullers pub in the heart of Guildford. Good craft beers, English Ales. Riverside setting
Open Hours
Sunday
12:00 pm - 10:30 pm
Monday
12:00 pm - 11:00 pm
Tuesday
12:00 pm - 11:00 pm
Wednesday
12:00 pm - 11:00 pm
Thursday
12:00 pm - 11:00 pm
Friday
12:00 pm - 11:30 pm
Saturday
12:00 pm - 11:30 pm

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from The White House staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?