We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The White House

International, Pub
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
8 High Street, Guildford GU2 4AJ, England
441483302006
Website
Improve this listing
Today
12:00 pm - 11:00 pm
Closed now
See all hours
Hours:
Sun 12:00 pm - 10:30 pm
Mon - Thu 12:00 pm - 11:00 pm
Fri - Sat 12:00 pm - 11:30 pm
Dining options: Drinks, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations
Description: Great Fullers pub in the heart of Guildford. Good craft beers, English...
Great Fullers pub in the heart of Guildford. Good craft beers, English Ales. Riverside setting
read more

TripAdvisor Reviewer Highlights

Read all 94 reviews
Visitor rating
  • 29
    Excellent
  • 34
    Very good
  • 19
    Average
  • 8
    Poor
  • 4
    Terrible
Rating summary
  • Food
    3.5 of 5 stars
    Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
    Atmosphere
    3.5 of 5 stars
Decent food and good value

I came here with a friend for dinner. We had 2 pints and 2 large gin and tonics while we looked at the menu, and then had three courses each. The starters, battered cod cheeks and ham hock croquettes, were quite small- but our mains were a decent size and my cod, chips and minty peas were... read more

4 of 5 starsReviewed July 30, 2015
ChristopherHaslemere
,
Haslemere
Add Photo Write a Review

94 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Rate and write a review
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
50 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2015

A great location at the bottom of the High Street and by the river maybe means they do not have to run a tight ship and provide good value to attract customers. The beer battered cod was good (10,50) but was served with soft chips described as 'gourmet' but they seemed reconstituted and the miniscule portion pea puree was tasteless.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Whgford, General Manager at The White House, responded to this review

Hi We worked hard with the refurbishment to do something different, its been very popular to date. The dishes you picked are our two biggest sellers and sorry on this occasion you were not fully happy I do hope you visit us again to see us at our best Regards Michelle More 

Guildford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2015

Have visited regularly since the refurbishment and enjoyed the varied food and drinks that the pub have to offer. The Scotch eggs are just to die for! On our last visit I was taken poorly and the staff could not have done more to help. They were discreet and made sure I was well enough to go home. Always very... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Whgford, General Manager at The White House, responded to this review

Hi Thank you for the review. Im glad we could look after you and that we took care of you when ill Hope to see you soon Regards Michelle More 

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
100 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2015

We've visited twice since the refurbishment. The first visit was lacklustre, but we gave it the benefit of the doubt as it was so newly re-opened. The second visit was absolutely terrible. A visit for my parent's joint birthday with my sister and brother-in-law, both of whom have food allergies. We phoned and asked in advance whether the kitchen needed... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Whgford, General Manager at The White House, responded to this review

Hi There seems to be some confusion. I did reply to your email on the day I received it. The law changed with allergens end of last year and Fullers work hard to ensure we can give the correct information for customers We are sorry you were not happy on this visit Regards Michelle More 

Haslemere
Level Contributor
39 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2015

I came here with a friend for dinner. We had 2 pints and 2 large gin and tonics while we looked at the menu, and then had three courses each. The starters, battered cod cheeks and ham hock croquettes, were quite small- but our mains were a decent size and my cod, chips and minty peas were excellent. With two... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Whgford, General Manager at The White House, responded to this review

Hi Thanks for the review. Glad you enjoyed your visit Regards Michelle More 

Guildford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2015

I recently had my Sisters baby shower at the White house. We were offered the private terrace at the top of the White house- which gave stunning views looking over the river. On arrival each guest was greeted with a glass of Prosecco, which set the atmosphere for a perfectly beautiful day! We were then served food which included baked... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Whgford, General Manager at The White House, responded to this review

Hi Thanks for the lovely review. I'm glad your enjoyed the room and your day Regards Michelle More 

Guildford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2015

Had the best time last week. The bar staff are great and are more than happy to help you experiment with new cocktail ideas. We discovered some new ones to add to our list for the future! Lovely riverside garden to enjoy the summer evenings. Such a great setting. Why can't all town centre pubs be like this?

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Whgford, General Manager at The White House, responded to this review

Hi Thanks for the review. Im glad you enjoyed the cocktails Regards Michelle More 

Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2015

I figured that I had to try the fish and chips. When we went we went in a very large group after a conference, so they might have been overwhelmed. The service was good regardless. However, the portion sizes for most of my colleagues were relatively small (not just my American colleagues, but also my French and Australian colleagues). I... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Whgford, General Manager at The White House, responded to this review

Hi Thanks for the review. Glad you enjoyed the Fish and Chips Regards Michelle More 

Level Contributor
19 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2015

Since it's referb, the pub has gone downhill..Food menu limited and we'll over priced (£3 for a small portion of uncooked chips). Won't be returning

Was this review helpful? Yes
Whgford, General Manager at The White House, responded to this review

Hi Sorry you don't like the new look and feel of the pub. Its been a great success in Guildford since we opened in March Kind Regards Michelle More 

Alton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
99 reviews
73 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2015

On a hot day, the large outside seating area is a big draw to the White House. We arrived mid afternoon and sat just inside as we waited for an outside table to become available. Meantime Yakima Red on tap was a winner.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Whgford, General Manager at The White House, responded to this review

Hi Thanks for the review Regards Michelle More 

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
68 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2015

I always think a burger is a good yardstick - if you can't prepare a good burger, you may as well shut up shop! I wasn't asked how I'd like it cooked so I expected it to be grey and dry and so it was. The chollah bun was nice and there were the usual salady bits inside, but it... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Whgford, General Manager at The White House, responded to this review

Hi I've looked into your comment and will discuss with our chefs Regards Michelle More 

Travelers who viewed The White House also viewed

Guildford, Surrey
 
Guildford, Surrey
 

Been to The White House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Location and Contact Information

  • Address: 8 High Street, Guildford GU2 4AJ, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Surrey  >  Guildford
  • Phone Number: 441483302006

Price and Cuisine

  • Cuisine: International, Pub

Description

Great Fullers pub in the heart of Guildford. Good craft beers, English Ales. Riverside setting
Open Hours
Sunday
12:00 pm - 10:30 pm
Monday
12:00 pm - 11:00 pm
Tuesday
12:00 pm - 11:00 pm
Wednesday
12:00 pm - 11:00 pm
Thursday
12:00 pm - 11:00 pm
Friday
12:00 pm - 11:30 pm
Saturday
12:00 pm - 11:30 pm

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from The White House staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?