We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The White House

British, Pub, International
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
8 High Street, Guildford GU2 4AJ, England
441483302006
Website
Improve this listing
Today
12:00 pm - 11:00 pm
Closed now
See all hours
Hours:
Sun 12:00 pm - 10:30 pm
Mon - Thu 12:00 pm - 11:00 pm
Fri - Sat 12:00 pm - 11:30 pm
Dining options: Drinks, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff
Good for: Bar scene
Description: Great Fullers pub in the heart of Guildford. Good craft beers, English...
Great Fullers pub in the heart of Guildford. Good craft beers, English Ales. Riverside setting
read more

TripAdvisor Reviewer Highlights

Read all 118 reviews
Visitor rating
  • 38
    Excellent
  • 43
    Very good
  • 24
    Average
  • 8
    Poor
  • 5
    Terrible
Rating summary
  • Food
    3.5 of 5 stars
    Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
    Atmosphere
    3.5 of 5 stars
Charming pub and great ales

Wonderful location in the middle of Guildford to stop for a pint. I'm a little biased as I love Fullers' ales; but that notwithstanding, it was very cosy inside and the whole place had a nice feel.

4 of 5 starsReviewed 2 weeks ago
Jack R
,
Bristol, United Kingdom
Add Photo Write a Review

118 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Surrey
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW via mobile

Had a very pleasant couple of hours here today. Warm welcome and efficient service from two youngsters who seemed to be running the show.Excellent choice of beer,lager and cider. Ordered three different main courses from menu and couldn't believe the time they took to arrive....literally minutes! Three clean plates testament to the quality of the food. Nice ambiance and good... More 

Helpful?
Thank sidneyparrot
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Excellent pub, good in summer for a beer on the river side terrace, as well as in winter for a cozy fire side cider. The place was renovated and now look fresh and airy. Exelent beer / cider selection, bonus good pub food.

Helpful?
Thank Alex3G
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Wonderful location in the middle of Guildford to stop for a pint. I'm a little biased as I love Fullers' ales; but that notwithstanding, it was very cosy inside and the whole place had a nice feel.

Helpful?
Thank Jack R
Whgford, Manager at The White House, responded to this review

Hi Thank-you for your lovely review Really pleased you enjoyed your visit and loved our Ales Kind Regards Michelle More 

Guildford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
376 reviews
207 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 296 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Came on a Wednesday night at around 7 and the place was packed! Lots of after work drinkers here. We were lucky enough to get a little table and try their nice starters (pan fried chorizo is amazing). All very nice. Dinner was very good. Service speedy and not bad wine. Huge lot near the pub available after 6pm for... More 

Helpful?
Thank HollisterRanchGirl
Battle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
153 reviews
77 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

The White House is a great pub, overlooking to Wey River in the centre of Guildford. Parking can be difficult although there is a pay and display over the road where you can park after 6pm. Anyway, the White House is a great place to eat or drink. It is a Fuller's pub with an excellent range of Fuller's ales... More 

Helpful?
Thank Robin Y
Whgford, General Manager at The White House, responded to this review

Hi Thank-you for taking the time to write a review, Im really pleased you like our pub and enjoy our ales Kind Regards Michelle More 

Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The environment is nice but the food was dry and less than ordinary. The service was somewhat friendly but quite restrictive. Won't be visiting for food again.

Helpful?
Thank Bmjkhaj
Whgford, General Manager at The White House, responded to this review

Hi I'm really sorry you didn't enjoy your food with us. We focus on food using all fresh ingredients and made from scratch. We try to run a different menu from other pub in the town Hope you will give us another try Kind Regards Michelle More 

Guildford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2015

what is happening down here , "tis the season to be jolly" not today . very disappointed ,food okish ,beer ok, customer sevice ? very questionable we saw a couple get booted of a table ,which was booked ,just because they turned up 45mins early, shocking management decision ,bet they wont be back.

Helpful?
1 Thank John A
Whgford, General Manager at The White House, responded to this review

Hi I'm sorry you were not happy with the food on this visit. With the booking that turned up early, the customer made a mistake on her timings and were actually going to wait, however the other party kindly moved in another table with no fuss and we bought them a drink to say thanks! We try to please everyone... More 

Guildford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2015 via mobile

Went last Sunday in late afternoon. Pub was busy, nice staff and lovely Christmas decorations. We had a roast beef and pork, both arrived in good time, the beef was lovely and rare (I think sirloin) and the pork had cracking, Nice crispy potatoes and fresh vegetables. The only thing I could fault was the cauliflower cheese which didn't have... More 

Helpful?
Thank Jono79
Whgford, General Manager at The White House, responded to this review

Hi Thankyou for your lovely review I'm pleased you enjoyed the Sunday roast, the chef has promised to add more cheese to the cauliflower! Kind Regards Michelle More 

Gillingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2015

went here for drinks with my good pal and had a great time, we didnt eat as they were soo busy. We have been here before during the summer last year and sat on the terrace by the river which was charming

Helpful?
Thank Paul C
Whgford, General Manager at The White House, responded to this review

Hi Thank-you for taking the time to write a lovely review. I'm pleased you enjoyed the pub Kind Regards Michelle More 

Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2015 via mobile

I recently wrote a review to recommend the White House's roast lunch. Whilst expensive, it was very good. Bouyed by my good experience, I returned again the very next Sunday ..... Oh dear. What a contrast! I retract all previous recommendations. The beer was served in some of the most disgusting glassware I've ever had the missfortune of receiving in... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank gj20152015
Whgford, General Manager at The White House, responded to this review

Hi I'm really sorry you didn't enjoy your roasts. I work every Sunday and wasn't aware of any issues, as you commented you gave us a great review a few weeks ago and were really happy with our standards. I'm sorry you felt this had changed and wasn't happy. I do hope you give us another try Kind Regards Michelle More 

Travelers who viewed The White House also viewed

 
Guildford, Surrey
 

Been to The White House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Location and Contact Information

  • Address: 8 High Street, Guildford GU2 4AJ, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Surrey  >  Guildford
  • Phone Number: 441483302006

Price and Cuisine

  • Cuisine: British, Pub, International

Restaurant Characteristics

  • Good for: Bar scene

Description

Great Fullers pub in the heart of Guildford. Good craft beers, English Ales. Riverside setting
Open Hours
Sunday
12:00 pm - 10:30 pm
Monday
12:00 pm - 11:00 pm
Tuesday
12:00 pm - 11:00 pm
Wednesday
12:00 pm - 11:00 pm
Thursday
12:00 pm - 11:00 pm
Friday
12:00 pm - 11:30 pm
Saturday
12:00 pm - 11:30 pm

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from The White House staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?