We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

horse and groom

Pub
Improve this listing
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Your filters are still active.
There are no pins in your viewport. Try moving the map or changing your filters.
Get directions
Epsom Road | Merrow, Guildford GU1 2RG, England
01483 575375
Website
Add hours for horse and groom and help diners know when to go.
+ Add hours
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, Late Night, Reservations

TripAdvisor Reviewer Highlights

Read all 142 reviews
Visitor rating
  • 27
    Excellent
  • 50
    Very good
  • 25
    Average
  • 34
    Poor
  • 6
    Terrible
Rating summary
  • Food
    3.5 of 5 stars
    Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
    Atmosphere
    4 of 5 stars
Delicious grilled salmon

I've just had the most delicious dinner at The Horse and Groom. We shared starters, all of which we're fabulous and I had the grilled salmon with feta and pea salad. I am partial to feta so when I ordered I ask for extra and the dish was one of the tastiest I've had in a long time. It was... read more

4 of 5 starsReviewed March 28, 2014
Jane M
,
Guildford, United Kingdom
Add Photo Write a Review

142 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Guildford, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2014

I've just had the most delicious dinner at The Horse and Groom. We shared starters, all of which we're fabulous and I had the grilled salmon with feta and pea salad. I am partial to feta so when I ordered I ask for extra and the dish was one of the tastiest I've had in a long time. It was... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Guildford, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2014

After reading some of the reviews I went to meet a friend for lunch at the Horse and Groom not expecting much. However, I am happy to report that we had a very enjoyable lunch with excellent service, good food and great atmosphere. The only downside was that the ice cream I had for dessert was very overpriced for what... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Bedford, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
133 reviews 133 reviews
92 restaurant reviews
132 helpful votes 132 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2014

Last visit for Sunday lunch was great ....this time totally different . Only one young lady behind the bar when we arrived so waited ages to be served . Big queue behind us and when i did get served no wine glasses in the bar ??? The lady had to leave the bar and go and get some wine glasses... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Guildford, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2014

Visited today for lunch poor service food not served together vegetable s over cooked staff not bothered when we complained no one cared Is this the way to run a restraunt ? Won't be returning spoilt our day with very special friends

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Guildford
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2014

The menu is very overpriced - £9.95 for 2 fishcakes and a bit of salad - chips extra!! The waiting and bar staff seem to have a take it or leave it attitude, missing off parts of the order, bringing out food on cold plates, bringing out tea in strange fluted glass cups. Total lack of attention. It would also... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Craig F, General Manager at horse and groom, responded to this review

Hi Guinny, just to make you aware our menu has recently changed if you would like to come back and give it a try. Unfortunately I am not able to contol the pricing but we do have a fixed price offer for our guest. 2 courses for £11.95 or 3 courses for £14.95. We try not to serve anything with... More 

Surrey
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2014 via mobile

We arrived for our reservation at 7.30pm on a Saturday evening. The bar service was good and efficient. We were shown to our table shortly after. Menus handed out promptly although we had to ask for the specials menu. We ordered quite quickly and starters arrived in good time. Drinks did not all come & staff had to be reminded... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Craig F, General Manager at horse and groom, responded to this review

Thank you antandf, your comments have been discussed and actions have been taken. As part of the service cycle, the specials are now introduced to our guest by the team members who will talk you through what is available on them. Drinks menu's have been made and are now used as part of the centerpiece on our tables so they... More 

Guildford, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2014

Have been coming to this pub for many years. Very friendly atmosphere and staff. Food is excellent and prompt. Staff are very doting and cope well when it is busy. The live music they often have is very good and well organised. Staff are always ready for a chat but equally remain proffessional and focussed. They have many regular clients... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Craig F, General Manager at horse and groom, responded to this review

Thanks Imogen, Keep your eye on Facebook and Twitter as well as internal advertisement about more live music as there will certainly be more to come. Take care and see you soon More 

Petersfield, United Kingdom
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2014

Just had a Sunday lunch here having not visited Guildford for many years. The pub has been delightfully refurbished since I last visited and I loved the decor. The Roast Chicken lunch was sooo good and the kids were happy with their meals but particularly the desert! The waiting staff were really friendly and helpful although extremely busy (which you... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Craig F, General Manager at horse and groom, responded to this review

Thanks Zara, always nice to hear the good and not just the bad. Keeping everyone happy is always the tricky part but we shall never stop trying ;) Thanks again, Hope to see you soon More 

London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2014

I was invited recently to have dinner in the "gastro pub" down the road,which I was told was a nice restaurant that had been refurbished and had a good all rounder menu. I was ready for a good evening meal in a pleasant english pub(I live Abroad) unfortunately it was nothing as I had expected.The food was poor value for... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Craig F, General Manager at horse and groom, responded to this review

After establishing that yourself and Lorna C were sitting at the same table, i would like to take this opportunity to apologise to the both of you for the experience you had. I Take every comment seriously and have ensured that every portion of salmon coming out of the kitchen is of the correct weight. My management Team has since... More 

Guildford, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2014

As you first enter the pub, you are greeted by an awful whiff of mustiness. Not a good start and things do not get better from there. We booked to have Saturday evening meal with a couple friends of ours. We had to ask for our drinks to be brought to our table twice. We were given complimentary bread and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Craig F, General Manager at horse and groom, responded to this review

After reading and considering all of your comments, we have decided to split our restaurant into 3 sections rather than the original 2. This will introduce a more personal service and allow time for continuous attention to detail to each table and every guest so that all requirements are met to the highest standard we can provide. Very unsure of... More 

Travelers who viewed horse and groom also viewed

 

Been to horse and groom? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.

Manage your listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Location and Contact Information

  • Address: Epsom Road | Merrow, Guildford GU1 2RG, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Surrey  >  Guildford
  • Phone Number: 01483 575375

Price and Cuisine

  • Cuisine: Pub

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from horse and groom staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?