We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Long Melford Swan

Certificate of Excellence
$$$$
British, Contemporary
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
Hall Street, Long Melford CO10 9JQ, England
+44 1787 464545
Website
Improve this listing
Today
10:00 am - 11:00 pm
Closed now
See all hours
Hours:
Sun - Sat 10:00 am - 11:00 pm
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Drinks, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Good for: Families with children
Description: A beautiful listed building with a new contemporary feel. A family run...
A beautiful listed building with a new contemporary feel. A family run business with day to day involvement. A lovely restaurant and bar open from 10:00am, all day and every day. Coffees, snacks, lunch and dinner. Extensive wine list. Fresh ingredients from our suppliers using local producers whereever possible. Prepared specifically by our Chefs, to your requirements.
read more

TripAdvisor Reviewer Highlights

Read all 267 reviews
Visitor rating
  • 152
    Excellent
  • 69
    Very good
  • 25
    Average
  • 17
    Poor
  • 4
    Terrible
Rating summary
  • Food
    4.5 of 5 stars
    Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
    Atmosphere
    4.5 of 5 stars
Relaxing lunch

We were invited for lunch with friends to share husbands' birthdays. The meal was delicious, the staff attentive but not pushy. Would thoroughly recommend The Swan

5 of 5 starsReviewed 2 days ago
7brancaster
,
Long Melford, United Kingdom
via mobile
Add Photo Write a Review

267 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Long Melford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW via mobile

We were invited for lunch with friends to share husbands' birthdays. The meal was delicious, the staff attentive but not pushy. Would thoroughly recommend The Swan

Helpful?
Thank 7brancaster
Level Contributor
36 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Decided to try the Swan as do allow dogs in the bar area. All enjoyed our starters and desserts but unfortunately the mains were not so good, particularly the roast chicken. I had this and it was practically inedible as no real chicken on the boned piece I was given as mainly sinew. Seemed to be the bottom part of... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Tuning_the_radio
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW via mobile

We are regular visitors to the Long Melford Swan and the food now is the best it has been since it opened 4 1/2 years ago. We eat out a lot and their food is as good as many Michelin starred places. Speaking to the owners, not only are they in the final of a National Independent Pub Food Award... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank FoodieEA
AM-LM-Swan, Owner at Long Melford Swan, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your kind review. The Teams will be very appreciative of your remarks, a reward for all their hard work. Thank you and see you again soon. More 

Lincolnshire, United Kingdom
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

My husband and I booked half board with accommodation. We read the predominantly excellent reviews for the restaurant and we were really looking forward to our break. Every dish, without exception, was abysmal. We have stayed in some lovely boutique hotels and had wonderful meals and I can say without doubt this was not up to standard. The starters failed... More 

Helpful?
Thank K H
AM-LM-Swan, Owner at Long Melford Swan, responded to this review

I really don't think there is much I can say other than, I am very sorry you did not enjoy the food when you stayed with us recently. I'm glad the room, the service, the staff, the wine and what your husband had were good. At least we salvaged something from the trip. It is such a pity you didn't... More 

Colchester, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We booked a table for two online for a quiet romantic meal. When we arrived we were shown to our table which was in the noisy bar area. This was not conducive to a quiet evening out as it was difficult to hear each other talk. We would suggest that the seating arrangements are highlighted when booking on line. Fab... More 

Helpful?
Thank Sue B
AM-LM-Swan, Owner at Long Melford Swan, responded to this review

Since we introduced an online booking system this is the first feedback we have had, thank you. It is strange it doesn't highlight where you are sitting, it does when we log in. I will in future make sure this happens so customers know which area they are sitting in. There is also a box for comment which I would... More 

Bury St Edmunds, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

My wife and I have been stopping off for coffee at the Swan for about two years and it was always excellent with a nice homemade biscuit and very reasonably priced at £1.95 per cup. A couple of months ago the price went up to £2.20 which would still have been ok if the standard had been maintained. We drink... More 

Helpful?
Thank John B
AM-LM-Swan, Owner at Long Melford Swan, responded to this review

I am sorry your coffee experience wasn't good the last time you visited the Swan. We haven't changed the coffee, it is roasted and blended for us in Suffolk and the feedback has always been very good. We use the same, top coffee Italian machine. Many of our customers prefer it to the big brands. I can only think something... More 

Level Contributor
20 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

I am a fairly regular patron of The Swan. Arrived today and ushered to our table. No problems. Then a bit of a Fawlty Towers scenario when people tried to be seated near us! I offered a reasonably simple solution but 3 members of staff later we resolved the issue among ourselves. Ordered drinks and food. Table next to us... More 

Helpful?
Thank stephen h
AM-LM-Swan, Owner at Long Melford Swan, responded to this review

Thank you for your review and for your regular custom. As you know we have communicated via email as we do not want our customers to experience this type of service. I am sorry we didn't do a very good job with our service on your last visit. We have reviewed the situation and hopefully these mistakes will not happen... More 

Bury St. Edmunds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2016

a really nice place to eat and relax - lovely decor and good service-really worth a visit you won't be dissapointed

Helpful?
1 Thank sarahblack2016
AM-LM-Swan, Owner at Long Melford Swan, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind review. We look forward to seeing you again soon. More 

Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2015 via mobile

Lovely food - you couldn't fault that, but they need to pay attention to their clientele. We made a booking which we stated we wanted a high chair, but as there was only one on the premises it was already in use. As it happened we had our one in the car so ended up bringing that in and assembling... More 

Helpful?
Thank Charlieski74
AM-LM-Swan, Owner at Long Melford Swan, responded to this review

I am so glad you enjoyed your meal at the Long Melford Swan. I am sorry we did not do very well in accommodating your young children. We actually have two high chairs and it is the first time they have both been in use and another is required. We will, however, arrange for another to be there. The toilets... More 

Cambridge
Level Contributor
217 reviews
103 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2015

We visited after a days walking for a quick drink before travelling home. Friendly barman. Very clean front area nicely decorated. Three alcoholic drinks and a coffee for £16 a bit steep, perhaps we will try one of the other pubs next time. Interesting looking menu but pricey for us. Graded as very good for the staff and cleanliness and... More 

Helpful?
Thank Cotonboy
AM-LM-Swan, Owner at Long Melford Swan, responded to this review

Thank you and I am so glad you enjoyed the Long Melford Swan. I'm afraid I don't know exactly what you had but I think you will find us competitively priced on drinks and good value for the offer we deliver. I hope you will be able to visit us again. More 

Travelers who viewed Long Melford Swan also viewed

Long Melford, Suffolk
Long Melford, Suffolk
 

Been to Long Melford Swan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Location and Contact Information

  • Address: Hall Street, Long Melford CO10 9JQ, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  East Anglia  >  Suffolk  >  Long Melford
  • Phone Number: +44 1787 464545

Price and Cuisine

  • Average Prices: USD 17 - 79
  • Cuisine: British, Contemporary

Restaurant Characteristics

  • Good for: Families with children

Description

A beautiful listed building with a new contemporary feel. A family run business with day to day involvement. A lovely restaurant and bar open from 10:00am, all day and every day. Coffees, snacks, lunch and dinner. Extensive wine list. Fresh ingredients from our suppliers using local producers whereever possible. Prepared specifically by our Chefs, to your requirements.
Open Hours
Sunday
10:00 am - 11:00 pm
Monday
10:00 am - 11:00 pm
Tuesday
10:00 am - 11:00 pm
Wednesday
10:00 am - 11:00 pm
Thursday
10:00 am - 11:00 pm
Friday
10:00 am - 11:00 pm
Saturday
10:00 am - 11:00 pm

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Long Melford Swan staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?