We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Long Melford Swan

Certificate of Excellence
Contemporary
Improve this listing
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Your filters are still active.
There are no pins in your viewport. Try moving the map or changing your filters.
Get directions
Hall Street, Long Melford CO10 9JQ, England
+44 1787 464545
Website
Today
10:00 am - 11:00 pm
Closed now
See all hours
Hours:
Sun - Sat 10:00 am - 11:00 pm
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Description: A beautiful listed building with a new contemporary feel. A family run...
A beautiful listed building with a new contemporary feel. A family run business with day to day involvement. A lovely restaurant and bar open from 10:00am, all day and every day. Coffees, snacks, lunch and dinner. Extensive wine list. Fresh ingredients from our suppliers using local producers whereever possible. Prepared specifically by our Chefs, to your requirements.
read more

TripAdvisor Reviewer Highlights

Read all 197 reviews
Visitor rating
  • 112
    Excellent
  • 48
    Very good
  • 21
    Average
  • 13
    Poor
  • 3
    Terrible
Rating summary
  • Food
    4.5 of 5 stars
    Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
    Atmosphere
    4.5 of 5 stars
Really good food

Food was great, impressive menu, not too big. Lots of quality ingredients, cooked very well. Nice decor, relaxed. Something about the layout/noise however was just not quite right. Our table felt like it was on a bit of a 'walk through' between the front door, bar and kitchen. Not quite sure it has... read more

4 of 5 starsReviewed April 9, 2015
hannahwoolley81
Add Photo Write a Review

197 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Halstead, United Kingdom
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2015 NEW

We have been to The Swan a few times and enjoyed the food. On our last visit we decided to take some friends who also enjoy good food.We were so disappointed,the food was good but service awful. The table we sat at was next to a walk through to the garden and there was a constant stream of people from... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Colchester
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2015

Very nice surroundings and that's where it starts and stops. The velouté of asparagus was like watery green soup with 3 broad beans, a few peas and 3 pieces of ham hock with 2 salty muffins! The guinea fowl was so tough my guest had to leave it. I asked for crème caramel and was served rhubarb trifle - unfortunately... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
AM-LM-Swan, Owner at Long Melford Swan, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We always try and act on the feedback we get and improve our customer experience. I am very glad you enjoyed your meal apart from the Volute and part of the service to you. Obviously mistakes happen but we do not want our customers to feel the way you clearly did. It is a pity,... More 

Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2015

Food was great, impressive menu, not too big. Lots of quality ingredients, cooked very well. Nice decor, relaxed. Something about the layout/noise however was just not quite right. Our table felt like it was on a bit of a 'walk through' between the front door, bar and kitchen. Not quite sure it has a 'restaurant feel', our table felt like... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
AM-LM-Swan, Owner at Long Melford Swan, responded to this review

Thank you for your very nice feedback and we are so pleased you enjoyed our food. Sorry if the table was a bit noisy, next time we will find you something quieter. We look forward to seeing you again soon. More 

Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2015

Went there for the steak night. Food was very good, and had some nice starters too. Only criticism was the service was quite slow, but we weren't in a hurry, so that was fine.

Was this review helpful? Yes
AM-LM-Swan, Owner at Long Melford Swan, responded to this review

So glad you enjoyed one of our Tuesday and Thursday steak nights. They are proving extremely popular. I am sorry you felt the service a little slow but pleased it didn't spoil the evening too much. We will try to look for ways to improve this in future. We hope to see you again soon. More 

Swaffham, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
219 reviews 219 reviews
113 restaurant reviews
107 helpful votes 107 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2015

This refurbished pub is more of a restaurant but none the less (probably more) for that. The stylish and comfortable décor is enhanced by friendly welcome and attentive service, for meals from an extensive, interesting and impressive menu, at very reasonable prices.

Was this review helpful? Yes
AM-LM-Swan, Owner at Long Melford Swan, responded to this review

Thank you very much for such a great review. A great review is always very well received by our team and a fitting reward for their very hard work trying to create the best experience we can for our customers. Hope to see you again soon. More 

United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2015

Wow this place is 5* the food is out of the world and wow the setting and the staff are all there at your call. I spent my Birthday there in the private dining room that looks in the Kitchen where you can see the chefs preparing your dinner. Please stop by this pub when you visit long Melford.

Was this review helpful? Yes
AM-LM-Swan, Owner at Long Melford Swan, responded to this review

Thank you for your very kind review and I am so glad you enjoyed your Birthday celebration. When we recently opened our new kitchen we installed the large window to see a big part of the kitchen. Many customers now spend several minutes watching how a busy restaurant kitchen operates and at times our Head Chef will even come out... More 

Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2015

Visited for lunch on a Saturday - we were the last to secure an unbooked table so I'd recommend booking if you can. There is a main menu with supplementary vegetarian menu which has several choices for each course; the wait staff also ask if the table has any allergies. The croque monsieur and mushrooms and spinach on brioche were... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
AM-LM-Swan, Owner at Long Melford Swan, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. I am so glad you enjoyed your recent visit to the Long Melford Swan. We have recently expanded our vegetarian and light lunch menus wich are proving very popular. So glad you liked it and we look forward to seeing you again soon. More 

Stansted, Kent
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2015

An extensive menu, food well cooked and presented and staff who not only knew their job but did it well. A little on the pricey side but all things considered well worth it.

Was this review helpful? Yes
AM-LM-Swan, Owner at Long Melford Swan, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your feedback. We are working very hard on our food offer and it is great to receive such good feedback, thank you and I am so glad you enjoyed your meal. We look forward to seeing you again soon? More 

London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2015

We dropped in for lunch and were promptly served by a very friendly waitress. We really only wanted s sandwich but the closest they did was a Croque Monsieur. Most of the light snacks were in the £7-8 range which is quite expensive. However it was a pleasant place to have a pint and a snack. Most impressed with the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
AM-LM-Swan, Owner at Long Melford Swan, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to give the Team some feedback, they really appreciate it. We try hard especially with the little things such as the towels. We look forward to seeing you again soon. More 

Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2015 via mobile

I love long melford and Regularly go when I can as it is so beautiful, a couple of weeks ago and what a place I went into too, the food is beautiful the layout inside is modern but has a edge to it making the whole complete the staff was friendly and looked after us well! 5/5 definitely!

Was this review helpful? Yes
AM-LM-Swan, Owner at Long Melford Swan, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review and thank you for such a good one. I am delighted you enjoyed your visit so much and all the Team look forward to your next visit. Thank you. More 

Travelers who viewed Long Melford Swan also viewed

Long Melford, Suffolk
Long Melford, Suffolk
 
Lavenham, Suffolk
 

Been to Long Melford Swan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.

Manage your listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Location and Contact Information

  • Address: Hall Street, Long Melford CO10 9JQ, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  East Anglia  >  Suffolk  >  Long Melford
  • Phone Number: +44 1787 464545

Price and Cuisine

  • Cuisine: Contemporary

Description

A beautiful listed building with a new contemporary feel. A family run business with day to day involvement. A lovely restaurant and bar open from 10:00am, all day and every day. Coffees, snacks, lunch and dinner. Extensive wine list. Fresh ingredients from our suppliers using local producers whereever possible. Prepared specifically by our Chefs, to your requirements.
Open Hours
Sunday
10:00 am - 11:00 pm
Monday
10:00 am - 11:00 pm
Tuesday
10:00 am - 11:00 pm
Wednesday
10:00 am - 11:00 pm
Thursday
10:00 am - 11:00 pm
Friday
10:00 am - 11:00 pm
Saturday
10:00 am - 11:00 pm

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Long Melford Swan staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?