We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Melford Valley Tandoori

Certificate of Excellence
Improve this listing
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Your filters are still active.
There are no pins in your viewport. Try moving the map or changing your filters.
Get directions
Hall Street, Long Melford CO10 9JT, England
01787 311518
Website
Add hours for Melford Valley Tandoori and help diners know when to go.
+ Add hours

TripAdvisor Reviewer Highlights

Read all 160 reviews
Visitor rating
  • 106
    Excellent
  • 33
    Very good
  • 8
    Average
  • 6
    Poor
  • 7
    Terrible
Rating summary
  • Food
    4.5 of 5 stars
    Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
    Atmosphere
    4 of 5 stars
Excellent evening

Suffolk is quinissential England and Long Melford is a sheer delight.This Indian Restaurant provides top class sevice and value.Also there is no music blaring thus helping conversation.Only downside is they don't sell Bitter just the usual Lagers but Robbie was a quite brilliant Guy,keen football... read more

4 of 5 starsReviewed March 27, 2015
geoffreybanwell
,
Stafford, United Kingdom
Good for:
  • Breakfast/Brunch
  • Dinner
  • Reservations
  • Delivery
  • Late Night
Add Photo Write a Review

160 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Stafford, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
126 reviews 126 reviews
99 restaurant reviews
94 helpful votes 94 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2015 NEW

Suffolk is quinissential England and Long Melford is a sheer delight.This Indian Restaurant provides top class sevice and value.Also there is no music blaring thus helping conversation.Only downside is they don't sell Bitter just the usual Lagers but Robbie was a quite brilliant Guy,keen football fan who supports Bishop Stortford F.C.(Who?) Superb service,lovely food and a great end to our... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Sudbury, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2015

Melford Valley would be the jewel in their crown! We live locally and have used this restaurant for around 5 years for both eating in and take aways. I travel for my job and regularly eat curry while I'm staying away, I've yet to find anything that rivals the quality of the food produced by Melford Valley. It is just... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Suffolk, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
102 reviews 102 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2015

OK - here goes, and I know my curries dining around the UK. Decided to go here as it had won some awards. Couldn't get the menu to open on line so went in to order. Staff friendly and helpful and there were quite a few people waiting for take away food orders and there is little room for people... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
melfordvalley, Manager at Melford Valley Tandoori, responded to this review

Thank you for your review and for your honesty, I am glad you enjoyed most of your meal and that you did not have to wait further for your food. Our takeaway menu and our restaurant menu are different, the takeaway menu consists of traditional British curries that you will find in most places whereas our restaurant menu is our... More 

Essex
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2015

Heard that this restaurant had received awards, so tried the Sunday Buffet. Starters were pathetic and some of the meat dishes were dried out. The rice was nice! Service was "relaxed" and there wasn't much of a welcome for new customers. Sorry to be negative but we expected better. Finally, please turn up the heating.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
melfordvalley, Manager at Melford Valley Tandoori, responded to this review

I am sorry to hear about your poor experience at the restaurant and would also like to apologise for the delay in responding to your review. I have taken all your comments into consideration and have now made a few changes. Unfortunately the time you came in I was on a break and could not therefore meet and greet you... More 

Suffolk, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2015

My husband and I booked a table here for 8 o' clock on Valentines Day. When we phoned to book a table we were made aware that it was going to be very busy and that they were almost fully booked - which was good for organisation. On the night they were right it was completely busy which is always... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
melfordvalley, Manager at Melford Valley Tandoori, responded to this review

Thank you for your review and I am glad that you were happy on a busy Valentines evening. Looking through your profile I can see that you have also reviewed Café Clare with five stars and I will personally now on your recommendation try this place. Proof that TripAdvisor can work. More 

Ipswich, United Kingdom
2 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2015

nice place plenty of food to select can get busy on sundays most of the dishes were topped up quite quick and the food was hot and tasty just remember the £6.95 price is only for i hour of the day otherwise its £7.95

Was this review helpful? Yes
melfordvalley, Manager at Melford Valley Tandoori, responded to this review

Thank you for your review and for your wonderful comments. The buffet has now changed to £7.95 and stays the same price throughout the day up until the evening, there are no hidden charges. The reason why we used to lower the price to £6.95 between 3pm and 4pm was because this was the quiet period and it was used... More 

Chelmsford
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2015

The food is consistently fantastic, and it continues to be my favourite place for curry. My partner and I had a table booked on valentines night. The restaurant was heaving and therefore the service was slower than I'd experienced on previous visits. Which was a little frustrating but not unbearable. The long wait aside, we both had a lovely evening... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
melfordvalley, Manager at Melford Valley Tandoori, responded to this review

Thank you for your review and for your consideration on a busy Valentines evening. I am glad you enjoyed your meal and that you have had positive previous experiences and look forward to be able to serve you again. More 

Billericay, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2015

We had booked a meal here for Valentine's day, we have been before, while staying in Long Melford, and as we were back in Long melford for the weekend, it was the obvious choice. Our table was booked for 8.30, arriving at thr restaurant 15mins early it was obvious, we would not be eating anytime soon, it was chaos, lots... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
melfordvalley, Manager at Melford Valley Tandoori, responded to this review

Dear Jan Your table was booked for 830pm as we had no tables available earlier (as mentioned on the phone when you were booking the table) but I know lets go to the restaurant fifteen minutes early (which they said they cant do on the phone) on the busiest Saturday of the year and lets pretend that its 830pm. Seriously???... More 

Sudbury, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2015

We visited last Sunday for my partners mums birthday. We had the buffet meal. The food was good, and very reasonably priced. The only downside was where we were seated. We sat on the table opposite the toilets. This was quite dark and dingy. The rest of the restaurant seemed a lot brighter. We will come back, but will request... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
melfordvalley, Manager at Melford Valley Tandoori, responded to this review

Thank you for your review and for your kind comments. I am glad you enjoyed your meal and that you had a good birthday. Our restaurant starts its refurbishment very soon with the view to this being completed shortly, hopefully the next time you come and visit there will not be any tables that are not as desirable as others... More 

Sudbury
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2015

we ordered the takeaway at 6.30 pm at a very busy time St Valentines Day (a Saturday). We live in a difficult to find rural location yet the driver found us. The food was extremely good. Full of praise.

Was this review helpful? Yes
melfordvalley, Manager at Melford Valley Tandoori, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We do not receive many reviews for our home delivery service so its nice to read about it and its positive. I hope we continue to provide you a five star service. More 

Travelers who viewed Melford Valley Tandoori also viewed

Long Melford, Suffolk
 
Long Melford, Suffolk
Long Melford, Suffolk
 

Been to Melford Valley Tandoori? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.

Manage your listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Location and Contact Information

  • Address: Hall Street, Long Melford CO10 9JT, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  East Anglia  >  Suffolk  >  Long Melford
  • Phone Number: 01787 311518

Price and Cuisine

  • Cuisine: Indian

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Melford Valley Tandoori staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?