We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Munnings Tea Room

The Crooked House | 7 High Street, Lavenham CO10 9RD, England
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 17 restaurants in Lavenham
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: Tea Room
6 visitor photos
Restaurant details
Write a Review

45 reviews from our community

86% Recommend
    34
    5
    1
    0
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2014 NEW

Took a hungry party of five to visit this cosy little English tea room after reading good reviews online and I am very glad to say we were not disappointed. We ordered the cream tea selection which came with a nice selection of prawn, salmon and avocado sandwiches with salad as well as a large pot of piping hot tea.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Oxted, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2014

Home cooked and prepared, lovely cakes and accommodating re selection of food. Very pleasant ladies who served us and a huge pot of tea for two!

Was this review helpful? Yes
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2014

My husband and I together with our twin teenage daughters visited this wonderful little coffee shop back in April 2014. Having read some of the very negative feedback already posted, I felt the need to post my positive experience . As a customer, I expect a friendly but professional service with tasty and good value for money food. This is... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2014

Wonderful lunch in a topically English tearoom. Good gluten free meals available, which my wife requires. Make sure you take cash or you may have to pop down to the Post Office/chemist for cash like I did.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Mount Morris, Michigan
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2014

We were on holiday from the U.S. and visited Lavenham, with my daughter and son-in-law who live in Ipswich, on a day of a bad storm. All the power was out in the village so everything was closed except Munnings. They had gas to heat water for tea and oil lamps for light. It really was quaint. Scones and other... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2014

On a very hot June day we stopped here for a cool drink, the waitress came over to the next table saying that as it was lunch time customers were expected to order food and as they only wanted drinks she would make an exception in their case but they agreed to order some cakes. We looked at the menu... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Calum M, Owner at Munnings Tea Room, responded to this review

Dear Franken M, We are sorry to hear your experience at Munnings Tea Room was disappointing, However seeing this review, I would like to clarify things from my side. After I went through the whole menu with yourself and also the table next to us, you then walked out. Rather than as you put it I `Chased you down the... More

Chelmsford, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2014

We had a lovely day at Lavenham today and a fantastic cream tea at Munnings tea room, the best one I've ever had and I've had a few. A must if you visit this beautiful village.

Was this review helpful? Yes
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2014

In my 53 years, I've experienced countless cream teas. I can't tell you how often my expectations have been dashed by rubbish "cream" or reheated, crusty scones. The day that my wife and I visited Munnings, the scones, clotted cream and jam were perfection. It was so large that we had to share it .... and there was plenty to... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
london
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
258 helpful votes 258 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2014

This tea room purports to be a quintessentially English tea room. In reality it's terrible! The background music made me feel ill! I just wanted to run out!

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Calum M, Owner at Munnings Tea Room, responded to this review

Dear BugsymaloneLondon, I am very sorry to hear you were utterly disappointed with your experience at Munnings Tea Room. We take so much pride and care in to what we do, including the atmosphere, which the heavy majority love so much. It is very hurtful to see reviews like this, especially as by the sounds of it we were simply... More

Maryland
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2014

Housed in a very old and crooked building on the high street this is a must for afternoon tea. I had the best Bakewell tart here that I have ever eaten. Should have asked who baked them. It is a little cramped inside but that just adds to its charm.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Travelers who viewed Munnings Tea Room also viewed

 

Been to Munnings Tea Room? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Munnings Tea Room, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Manage your listing