We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Mill Inn

English
Improve this listing
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Your filters are still active.
There are no pins in your viewport. Try moving the map or changing your filters.
Get directions
Market Cross Place, Aldeburgh IP15 5BJ, England
01728 452563
Add hours for The Mill Inn and help diners know when to go.
+ Add hours
Dining options: Reservations

TripAdvisor Reviewer Highlights

Read all 64 reviews
Visitor rating
  • 10
    Excellent
  • 34
    Very good
  • 10
    Average
  • 4
    Poor
  • 6
    Terrible
Rating summary
  • Food
    4 of 5 stars
    Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
    Atmosphere
    3.5 of 5 stars
Most recent review
Horrible

Probably the worst Sunday roast ever! !!!! Nice pub but how can you get a roast dinner wrong? Beef was over cooked and tasteless. Cabbage and cauliflower yuk! I should have had the fish finger sandwich.

1 of 5 starsReviewed February 8, 2015
Deb5872
,
Norwich, United Kingdom
via mobile
Good for:
  • Reservations
Add Photo Write a Review

64 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Norwich, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2015 via mobile

Probably the worst Sunday roast ever! !!!! Nice pub but how can you get a roast dinner wrong? Beef was over cooked and tasteless. Cabbage and cauliflower yuk! I should have had the fish finger sandwich.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Mill Inn A, Owner at The Mill Inn, responded to this review

oh dear what a shame that when the waitress checked on you with your meal you did not say at any time that you was unhappy with your meal...and indeed both of you ate your meal and still did not state that you was unhappy when your plates were cleared...we have not had any unhappy reports with the sunday roast,so... More 

london
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2015

We first went into this pub a couple of years ago and it was as if it had run out of stock/money. We only had a couple of cokes but it was served out of a 2 ltr bottle. Congratulations to the new managers they have turned it into a great pub. We always eat there now when in the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Harlow, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2015

Really good food great atmosphere, and good value ....try the chicken sizzler.remember it's a pub so it might get loud but it was Really worth the visit .

Was this review helpful? Yes
St. Albans, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2015 via mobile

Booked a table this afternoon for 6 o clock arrived at 5 30 no tables available! The bar woman said she hadn't had time to put reserved signs on the tables which is strange as the place was empty when I booked !The other couple who booked at the same time as me for a little later will be disappointed... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Mill Inn A, Owner at The Mill Inn, responded to this review

sorry to hear you was not able to get the table you requested..table 10..however having looked into this matter,you did indeed arrive at 5.30,the table you requested was not going to be free until your booked time of 6pm,you made it clear to bar staff you did not wish to accept another table and left the building..did not return at... More 

Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2015

While visiting in Aldeburgh my friend and I ate at the Mill Inn twice. As it was January it was very quiet but we were made to feel welcome. We found it warm and cosy. On the first visit the fish was very fresh, and I had vegetarian choice of broccoli and Stilton tart which was also delicious. On our... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Norwich
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2015

Called I for a drink on a cold winters day. Staff were friendly and free mince pies. Nice clean old fashioned pub, better than average.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Essex
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2015

Very friendly staff even when they are under pressure. Food good at very reasonable price. Would recommend

Was this review helpful? Yes
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
71 restaurant reviews
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2015 via mobile

Lovely atmospheric Adnams House ideal stop off for lunch after a long walk along the coast. Very friendly to man and beast a like all made to feel welcome. Choose a fish finger and tartare sauce roll and got quite a surprise got the most delicious cod chunks in homemade batter best F&F roll l have ever had. Pay them... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Essex, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2015

Dropped into Aldeburgh for a spot of Sunday roast, got a blank from the first three members of staff as we entered the premises, would have liked a smile at least. Sunday roast, okayish, focused more on quantity then quality, but did the job on a cold day for £11.50. There were three dogs in the room, I have been... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Leigh-on Sea, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2014

Friendly, welcoming pub serving good beers and bar food or larger main meals. Roomy tables with plenty of space. Gets busy so get there early to have a choice of tables.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Travelers who viewed The Mill Inn also viewed

 
Aldeburgh, Suffolk
 

Been to The Mill Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.

Manage your listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Location and Contact Information

  • Address: Market Cross Place, Aldeburgh IP15 5BJ, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  East Anglia  >  Suffolk  >  Aldeburgh
  • Phone Number: 01728 452563

Price and Cuisine

  • Cuisine: English

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from The Mill Inn staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?