We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Mill Inn

English, Pub
Improve this listing
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Your filters are still active.
There are no pins in your viewport. Try moving the map or changing your filters.
Get directions
Market Cross Place, Aldeburgh IP15 5BJ, England
+44 1728 452563
Add hours for The Mill Inn and help diners know when to go.
+ Add hours
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Reservations
Description: We are an old fashioned seaside PUB serving tradional and modern pub food...
We are an old fashioned seaside PUB serving tradional and modern pub food and adnams ales and wines
read more

TripAdvisor Reviewer Highlights

Read all 69 reviews
Visitor rating
  • 12
    Excellent
  • 36
    Very good
  • 11
    Average
  • 4
    Poor
  • 6
    Terrible
Rating summary
  • Food
    4 of 5 stars
    Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
    Atmosphere
    3.5 of 5 stars
Always good

We eat here most times when we visit Aldeburgh and have never been served a bad meal. The portions are large and always fresh served in a nice atmosphere with lovely staff.

4 of 5 starsReviewed May 24, 2015
LondonFelix
,
london
Add Photo Write a Review

69 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
london
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2015 NEW

We eat here most times when we visit Aldeburgh and have never been served a bad meal. The portions are large and always fresh served in a nice atmosphere with lovely staff.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Mill Inn A, Owner at The Mill Inn, responded to this review

thankyou for your visit...always nice to know people return again and again...look forward to seeing you again...thankyou! More 

Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2015 NEW

Visited on a Saturday evening, excellent choice of beer and friendly staff. We had fish finger sandwiches which were excellent, and had very fresh tasting homemade fish fingers! Bit dark inside, but this is due to the age of the building, and there are benches outside if it is a nice day. Would happily recommend and visit again.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Mill Inn A, Owner at The Mill Inn, responded to this review

thankyou ror your review and your kind comments,we hope you will visit again..thankyou. More 

London, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2015

Can't be bothered , we won't go again. When we last ate there it was late, not very warm, & poorly presented. Dodgy tables, & woodwork going on around us!

Was this review helpful? Yes
Mill Inn A, Owner at The Mill Inn, responded to this review

not sure your review relates to the correct pub!!....the mill inn is 400 years old with low ceilings so if you come into the building on a sunny day it can sometimes seem a bit dark....but with regards to your comments,not sure what woodwork you are talking about,there certainly is never ever any maintenance going on in the building when... More 

Haverhill, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2015

We come to this pub every time we visit Aldeburgh but only for drinks, so on this occasion we decided to eat here with our friends. We ordered the beer battered fish and chips which was nice but the fish was very wet suggesting it was frozen fish not fresh fish! The pudding however were scrumptious. The meal was reasonably... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Mill Inn A, Owner at The Mill Inn, responded to this review

thankyou for visiting the mill,however i do need to defend our poor local fisherman!!...our fish is caught daily by local fisherman dean fryer located on aldeburghs seafront,with such a bounty of local fish on our doorstep we have the luxury of strolling across the road in the mornings to pick from his catch of the day...over easter weekend we sold... More 

Chelmsford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2015

Nicely positioned on the front . Friendly staff , very nice food and even better beer , always a high point of visiting Aldeburgh ;-)

Was this review helpful? Yes
Mill Inn A, Owner at The Mill Inn, responded to this review

thankyou for your feedback...we hope you will visit us again. More 

Norwich, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2015 via mobile

Probably the worst Sunday roast ever! !!!! Nice pub but how can you get a roast dinner wrong? Beef was over cooked and tasteless. Cabbage and cauliflower yuk! I should have had the fish finger sandwich.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Mill Inn A, Owner at The Mill Inn, responded to this review

oh dear what a shame that when the waitress checked on you with your meal you did not say at any time that you was unhappy with your meal...and indeed both of you ate your meal and still did not state that you was unhappy when your plates were cleared...we have not had any unhappy reports with the sunday roast,so... More 

london
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2015

We first went into this pub a couple of years ago and it was as if it had run out of stock/money. We only had a couple of cokes but it was served out of a 2 ltr bottle. Congratulations to the new managers they have turned it into a great pub. We always eat there now when in the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Mill Inn A, Owner at The Mill Inn, responded to this review

thankyou for your kind review,it has been hard work turning the pub around but getting busier all the time...thankyou and we hope you will visit us again soon. More 

Harlow, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2015

Really good food great atmosphere, and good value ....try the chicken sizzler.remember it's a pub so it might get loud but it was Really worth the visit .

Was this review helpful? Yes
St. Albans, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2015 via mobile

Booked a table this afternoon for 6 o clock arrived at 5 30 no tables available! The bar woman said she hadn't had time to put reserved signs on the tables which is strange as the place was empty when I booked !The other couple who booked at the same time as me for a little later will be disappointed... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Mill Inn A, Owner at The Mill Inn, responded to this review

sorry to hear you was not able to get the table you requested..table 10..however having looked into this matter,you did indeed arrive at 5.30,the table you requested was not going to be free until your booked time of 6pm,you made it clear to bar staff you did not wish to accept another table and left the building..did not return at... More 

Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2015

While visiting in Aldeburgh my friend and I ate at the Mill Inn twice. As it was January it was very quiet but we were made to feel welcome. We found it warm and cosy. On the first visit the fish was very fresh, and I had vegetarian choice of broccoli and Stilton tart which was also delicious. On our... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes

Travelers who viewed The Mill Inn also viewed

Aldeburgh, Suffolk
Aldeburgh, Suffolk
 

Been to The Mill Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.

Manage your listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Location and Contact Information

  • Address: Market Cross Place, Aldeburgh IP15 5BJ, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  East Anglia  >  Suffolk  >  Aldeburgh
  • Phone Number: +44 1728 452563

Price and Cuisine

  • Cuisine: English, Pub

Description

We are an old fashioned seaside PUB serving tradional and modern pub food and adnams ales and wines

Questions & Answers

Here's what previous visitors have asked, with answers from representatives of The Mill Inn and other visitors
1 question
Ask a question
Questions? Get answers from The Mill Inn staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?