We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
Darlington Road | Elton, TS21 1AH , England
01642 582350
Website
Improve this listing
Add hours for The Sutton Arms and help diners know when to go.
+ Add hours
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff

TripAdvisor Reviewer Highlights

Read all 266 reviews
Visitor rating
  • 100
    Excellent
  • 57
    Very good
  • 42
    Average
  • 18
    Poor
  • 49
    Terrible
Rating summary
  • Food
    3.5 of 5 stars
    Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
    Atmosphere
    3.5 of 5 stars
Ok for the money

Lots of choice and offers in here. I personally wouldn't call it quality food but I do think it's good for the price.

3 of 5 starsReviewed 3 days ago
Susan R
via mobile
Add Photo Write a Review

266 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Level Contributor
71 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW via mobile

Lots of choice and offers in here. I personally wouldn't call it quality food but I do think it's good for the price.

Helpful?
Thank Susan R
Middlesbrough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We were greeted & served by a friendly & helpful lady. The food was very generous in portions, and tasty. Was pleasantly suprised by the bill also as it was very reasonable. I know this place has had some negative press of late but having been in the past we decided we would try it again and we are glad... More 

Helpful?
Thank H M
Stockton, UK
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 weeks ago

Went on a Monday to avoid the weekend crowds, which was a good choice as we were told the previous night was manic. Menu is very extensive, but not sure why they need so many choices, would be better to specialize in a few and offer 'chef specials'. The food was of a reasonable standard, though portions are not over... More 

Helpful?
Thank WorldwiseStockton_UK
SuttonStocktonOnTees, Public Relations Manager at The Sutton Arms, responded to this review

thank you for your review glad you liked our food and our décor we do have specials offered every day we a main course for £4-95 served 12 to 3pm and 2 main courses for £8 served 3 to 6pm we also have a TDH menu consisting of 3 courses for only £12-95 More 

Hartlepool, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2016

my friends and I called here for lunch today. I coudnt believe the vast menu available. we opted for the Chinese curry and breaded chicken with garlic sauce, all with vegetables and chips. The food was cooked fresh and it was excellent. Value for money is an understatement we will be definitely be calling here again

Helpful?
1 Thank Cecil S
SuttonStocktonOnTees, Public Relations Manager at The Sutton Arms, responded to this review

thank you for your comment we are always striving to give value for money and a range of dishes to please everyone who calls its always nice to receive good feedback More 

Hartlepool
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2016

Just been and.had roast lamb dinner,it was excellent. Friendly staff, prices very good.We only just got a table because we didn't book. Will be going back again soon.

Helpful?
Thank extrovert2013
SuttonStocktonOnTees, Public Relations Manager at The Sutton Arms, responded to this review

thank you for your review we are glad you enjoyed your meal and hope to see you again soon More 

Billingham-on-Tees, null, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2015 via mobile

After reading some of the negative reviews (as i always do) I was prepared for a huge selection of less than memorable meals. After a family birthday meal where we ordered a mixture of Sunday dinners and some more 'fancy' meals of wild boar and duck, everything was perfect. So much so that my wife claimed the duck in cherry... More 

Helpful?
Thank Jason M
SuttonStocktonOnTees, Public Relations Manager at The Sutton Arms, responded to this review

thank you very much we do try to give all our customers a great dining experience and great food so glad you where happy with our food and staff hope to see you again soon More 

Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2015 via mobile

It is very rare I get a Sunday off work but when I do there is no better traditional Sunday lunch than at the Sutton arms. We got a large and a regular lamb and it was absolutely delicious. The surroundings are comfortable and cozy and the decor is quirky and interesting not at all like "clutter" as stated in... More 

Helpful?
Thank NatalieJ1976
SuttonStocktonOnTees, Public Relations Manager at The Sutton Arms, responded to this review

thank you so much its always nice to have good feedback our sunday lunches we think are outstanding and its nice when our valued customers confirm this glad you like our surroundings and our décor we search far and wide to find interesting items to add so our customers will always find something to talk about lastly thank you for... More 

Dewsbury
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2015 via mobile

Nice meal. Pub was rather cluttered with artifacts. Good service but felt as though we outstayed our welcome. Okay but wouldn't return out of choice

Helpful?
Thank ade128
SuttonStocktonOnTees, Public Relations Manager at The Sutton Arms, responded to this review

firstly thank you for your comments on your meal all of the artifacts are sourced to give our customers something to look at and comment on we have people from around the country come to The Sutton Arms to view all of our artifacts thanks for your comment on the staff given good service but I cant understand you feeling... More 

Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2015 via mobile

My wife and I had 2 different dishes off the specials board and both were very nice. Fabulous extensive menu on display(a good kitchen will always cope with a large menu) so don't jump on the "it's too big" bandwagon.

Helpful?
1 Thank paulstewie
SuttonStocktonOnTees, Public Relations Manager at The Sutton Arms, responded to this review

thank you for your review we do our best to make all our customers feel they are welcome and give them value for money and we appreciate that you understand how we are able to have a large menu and are still able to serve all our meals cooked freshly hope to see you again soon More 

Stockton-on-Tees, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2015

Menu is quiet poor chips are awful they are left over jacket potatoes could be a lot better steaks are nice though

Helpful?
Thank Valerie G
SuttonStocktonOnTees, Public Relations Manager at The Sutton Arms, responded to this review

thank you for your comments although Im at a loss to understand them our main menu contains around 300 dishes we also have 2 specials menus that both have around 100 dishes aswell as our TDH menus so im sure that we do not have poor menus also we do not use old jacket potatoes our chips are freshly cooked... More 

Travelers who viewed The Sutton Arms also viewed

Great Broughton, North Yorkshire
 
Middlesbrough, North Yorkshire
Darlington, County Durham
 

Been to The Sutton Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Location and Contact Information

  • Address: Darlington Road | Elton, TS21 1AH, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Stockton-on-Tees
  • Phone Number: 01642 582350

Price and Cuisine

  • Cuisine: British, Pub

Questions & Answers

Here's what previous visitors have asked, with answers from representatives of The Sutton Arms and other visitors
2 questions
Ask a question
3 months ago
Northampton, United Kingdom
5 months ago

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from The Sutton Arms staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?