We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Shropshire Inn

Newport Road | Haughton, Stafford, England
01785 780904
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #56 of 189 Restaurants in Stafford
Cuisines: Contemporary
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
8 visitor photos
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Write a Review

118 reviews from our community

66% Recommend
    56
    22
    19
    12
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Stafford, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2014 NEW

We books a table for two mid week after 7 pm. A warm greeting and a lovely clean well decorated restaurant with an upmarket feel. Food was above average,huge portions and nice and hot. My disappointment was the starter my partner ordered (chilli noodle with king prawns) was exactly the same as my main (sous vide chicken) except there was... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2014 NEW

we had a week away in Stafford and used this restaurant 4 times.The food was lovely tasty and friendly staff.Cannot fault it

Was this review helpful? Yes 6
Stafford, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2014

MId week meal, quite busy to say the least,with over 30+ covers when we entered the very spacious,light resturant which hides people and numbers very well. (room enough for a good function room) The menu we were presented with was on an A3 double side card, offering the very basics in pub grub, limited selection but covered most of the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 5
1 review
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2014 via mobile

My husband and I would like to thank Stu, Jan, Matt and the team at the Shropshire Inn, Haughton, for making our wedding day magical and certainly a day to remember. The food and service was fantastic and the venue looked amazing. Our guests had a fantastic day and received super customer service from start to finish! Thank-you all for... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 10
Shropshire
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

My friend and I stopped off here one lunchtime on the way back from Stafford. I had been passing several times previously and always thought it looked nice. We had a gorgeous Pimms and opted for the 2 course set menu, which I thought was very reasonably priced. We were treated very well throughout and the food was delicious. We... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 16
Eccleshall, United Kingdom
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2014

After our orders were taken, starters took a long time to come. The crab and chili fish cakes were lacking in both chili and crab and were very average. Some of the Main courses were huge portions and off-putting to begin with. The noise level inside made it difficult to hear and speak to each other at times even though... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 5
stuart b, General Manager at The Shropshire Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write your review. The evening you visited our resturant (wednesday 30th july) was a fully booked out evening with 77 guests. Thank fully all our tables receive a comment card with each and every bill so we can monitor our progress on that particular night we received yours, again thankfully the only poor... More

Stafford, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2014

We were booked in for 7 15pm. 4 adults and 3 children, the drinks took a while to arrive, the restaurant was not busy at all at this point, whilst we waited we asked what the fish was on the steak menu, we were told twice Matthew would take our order and tell us all. The children got restless, and... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 6
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2014

Large windows and a lovely garden space,give an airy spacious and well-decorated feel to this pristine looking place. We have been 3 times now and each time the service was friendly and efficient. The choices given were not too many but that only helped the quality of the food..The Sunday Roast was very good as were the desserts.Therefore no complaints... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 12
stuart b, General Manager at The Shropshire Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write your review We our very happy you enjoyed your time with us and we look forward to seeing you again soon. Matt General Manager More

Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2014

We stopped here by chance when travelling back from Stafford & so glad we did. Decor was lovely, staff very friendly & great choices on the menu. We had starters & mains - both were so nice. Also they had a lovely beer garden to relax in. We will return in the future - thank you.

Was this review helpful? Yes 11
stuart b, General Manager at The Shropshire Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write your review and we are very happy you enjoyed your time with us. Beer garden is a beautiful setting one of the best around with beautiful fields to over look. we look forward to seeing you again soon Kind regards Matt General manager More

Brive-la-gaillarde, France
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2014

This restaurant was booked for a special occasion, we were a party of various ages. On arrive we were made to feel welcome but informed the restaurant was busy. The drinks were ordered and we were made aware of the specials for the evening a big deal was put on the dessert a baileys cheesecake, 2 of our party arrived... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 6
stuart b, General Manager at The Shropshire Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write your review. Were sorry to see that you found it difficult to speak with all the party on the table this can always be difficult with large parties in any where you dine. large tables will always be long rectangle table and this is impossible for us to avoid, however we do... More

Travelers who viewed The Shropshire Inn also viewed

Stafford, Staffordshire
Stafford, Staffordshire
 
Stafford, Staffordshire
 

Been to The Shropshire Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Shropshire Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Manage your listing