We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Spark Lichfield

19 Tamworth Street, Lichfield WS13 6JP, England (Formerly The Spark Cafe Bar and Restaurant)
01543898252
Website
Update restaurant details
Ranked #4 of 110 restaurants in Lichfield
Certificate of Excellence 2013
Cuisines: European, Contemporary, British, Bistro
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Description: By day, The Spark is a continental cafe bar open for brunch, lunch and coffee. Come the weekend, we open the restaurant at night with an a la carte menu formal dining. Our chefs cook your dishes to order using quality ingredients from our local suppliers, giving us Taste of Staffordshire accreditation. Our drinks menu features wine from a local wine merchants, and espresso coffee sourced from an independent supplier. Whether you're visiting us for a pit-stop or enjoying a special dinner, we warmly welcome you to relax in our unique atmosphere.
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Description: By day, The Spark is a continental cafe bar open for brunch, lunch and coffee. Come the weekend, we open the restaurant at night with an a la carte menu formal dining. Our chefs cook your dishes to order using quality ingredients from our local suppliers, giving us Taste of Staffordshire accreditation. Our drinks menu features wine from a local wine merchants, and espresso coffee sourced from an independent supplier. Whether you're visiting us for a pit-stop or enjoying a special dinner, we warmly welcome you to relax in our unique atmosphere.
Write a Review

153 reviews from our community

90% Recommend
    108
    30
    9
    3
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2014 NEW via mobile

We ate here for a work outing. I hadn't been here before, and was looking forward to it as others in the group had already eaten here often. I had 3 courses for £20 - the salmon fish cakes were light and tasty; the rack of lamb was sweet and tender and there was a lot of veg to accompany... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2014 NEW

I have visited The Spark on different occasions and can honestly say it's a great place to go, whether you want lunch an evening meal or just a coffee! Tried it out of an evening for the first time recently and had a great time. I tried a starter of Honey-roasted Ham Hock with piccalilli and red cabbage. This was... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Lichfield, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2014

This review comes after our third time of eating at the Spark. The first time we visited was based on Trip Advisor reviews, the second time was based on our first experience and we went for afternoon tea for Mothers day, and this was the third time. We walked in early and we were expected (actually known), as said we... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2014

I like this place as its got a bit of a community feel going on. The owners are on Twitter and they are always promoting their event space for groups and live music. Their cakes are lovely and I've booked to go to their pudding night soon and I'm sure it wont disappoint. ive been a few times for a... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Staffordshire
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2014

We will definitely go back again, lovely food and atmosphere. Good presentation of well cooked food.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Birmingham, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2014

Ten of us ate our evening meal here and thoroughly enjoyed ourselves despite the food, which we found a little bland, un generously proportioned and somewhat overpriced. I don't think the owners have quite bridged that gap between being a cafe during the day and a bistro of an evening. On a more positive note, the staff were great and... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
UK
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2014

We were in Lichfield for just one day and it's not an area that we know. The B&B owner had offered to suggest some places to eat when we arrived, but we've been caught out by not booking on a saturday before, so we checked Trip Advisor and then booked The Spark in advance. During the day we sought it... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Birmingham, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2014

I hate to admit it but me and my partner ended up at Spark cafe on a Saturday night by default after other restaurants in Lichfield told us that they were full or we faced a long wait. It turned out to be a fortuitous turn of events for us. Neither of us had been in Spark before and were... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Lichfield
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2014 via mobile

I've been twice now, romantic dinner for 2 and with a group of friends. Both times we had a great meal, the staff are fantastic and the food was spot on. My only regret was I didn't have enough room for pud!

Was this review helpful? Yes
Leicester, United Kingdom
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2014 via mobile

Soulless, unfriendly, didn't serve or didn't know what a Bloody Mary was, poor food served on cold plates and probably the worst dining experience ever. The bar upstairs, to where we ushered and sat alone for over 30 minutes, was little more than a 'school room ' with a few tables and a pair of easy chairs from the eighties,... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Sejal P, Owner at The Spark Lichfield, responded to this review

Hello Nigel A, Thanks for taking the time to leave your review. We’re really sorry you didn’t enjoy your experience with us. Sejal was one of the staff who served you that evening and clearly remembers your visit, so we appreciate Trip Advisor’s option for us to respond. When you arrived you wanted a Bloody Mary, but we were unable... More

Travelers who viewed The Spark Lichfield also viewed

Lichfield, Staffordshire
Lichfield, Staffordshire
 
Lichfield, Staffordshire
Lichfield, Staffordshire
 

Been to The Spark Lichfield? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Spark Lichfield, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Manage your listing