We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

1709 the Brasserie

Certificate of Excellence
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Your filters are still active.
There are no pins in your viewport. Try moving the map or changing your filters.
Get directions
Lombard Street, Lichfield, England
01543 257986
Website
Improve this listing
Today
12:00 pm - 6:00 pm
Open now
See all hours
Hours:
Sun 12:00 pm - 6:00 pm
Mon - Thu 6:00 pm - 9:00 pm
Mon - Fri 12:00 pm - 2:00 pm
Fri - Sat 6:00 pm - 9:30 pm
Sat 12:00 pm - 2:30 pm
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Good for:
Romance
Doing business
Local cuisine
Special occasions
Entertaining clients
Dining on a budget

TripAdvisor Reviewer Highlights

Read all 342 reviews
Visitor rating
  • 181
    Excellent
  • 97
    Very good
  • 40
    Average
  • 14
    Poor
  • 10
    Terrible
Rating summary
  • Food
    4 of 5 stars
    Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
    Atmosphere
    4 of 5 stars
Excellent but a little rushed

Visited with my boyfriend for an evening meal. We were sat in a small room which had an old but welcoming feeling to it. The food was perfect and the drinks were good. The service was excellent although we felt a little rushed, we were there for barely an hour all together, this could have been due... read more

4 of 5 starsReviewed April 25, 2015
Stephh0912
via mobile
Good for:
  • Romance
  • Doing business
  • Local cuisine
  • Special occasions
  • Entertaining clients
  • Dining on a budget
Add Photo Write a Review

342 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2015 NEW via mobile

Visited with my boyfriend for an evening meal. We were sat in a small room which had an old but welcoming feeling to it. The food was perfect and the drinks were good. The service was excellent although we felt a little rushed, we were there for barely an hour all together, this could have been due to the 14... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Toronto, Canada
Top Contributor
129 reviews 129 reviews
80 restaurant reviews
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2015 NEW

Really enjoyed this funky place. A bit noisy, but we had been warned that there was a large party that had already booked at the same time, so no worries. We all enjoyed a fixed price menu in the range of 12.50 to 14.50 BP for 2 to 3 courses. Food portions were just the right size and the taste... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Nuneaton, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2015 via mobile

went today with my daughter. The food was lovely really enjoyed it but the drinks were so expensive standard wine was 4.85 plus 1.25 for soda Definitely london prices never paid that much before so unfortunately this would stop me going again shame really.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Cannock, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2015

My partner and I have been using 1709 for nearly 8 years and have usually found the food and prices good. We went for Sunday lunch last Sunday (12th April) the change was appalling. We were surprised on arrival to find the place half empty, a large and noisy family group at one end of the ground floor and about... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
dale_jonny, Manager at 1709 the Brasserie, responded to this review

Hi Tony, Firstly I'd like to begin by sending my greatest apologies to you and your partner from both myself and everyone else here at 1709. I am Restaurant Manager here, and it was in fact both my day off and the Head chefs day off on the Sunday in question. We'd took that Sunday as our day off because... More 

Lichfield
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2015

As a regular user of 1709,for family celebrations and other social occasions,I have to recommend it as superb value for money.It is housed in a wonderful old building,rustic and interesting.Staff are pleasant ,enthusiastic and willing,rather than highly trained in restaurant service skills,but their pleasant manner adds to the ambiance. Food is ,fresh,locally sourced and nicely prepared,not haute cuisine,but terrific value... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Stourbridge, United Kingdom
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2015

Had three course lunch which was very good value for money. Pleasant atmosphere and very good beer, would recommend trying the Palmers Poison. Service was very fast so would definitely go again.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Burton upon Trent, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2015

My daughter booked a lunch here as a treat for me. The table was booked for 1pm, we arrived at 12.50pm and were shown straight to our table but told there had been a lot of 'walk ins' and a table of 17 upstairs was causing a delay of 20 minutes which we accepted and placed our order. 40 minutes... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Lichfield, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
103 reviews 103 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2015

Very small menu but excellantly put togeather not too pricey but you do feel well looked after if you want a taste of old lichfield then the building itself builds the ambience before you even order

Was this review helpful? Yes
Leeds
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2015 via mobile

This is the second time we have visited this restaurant. The food was fantastic and the service was really good. We both has starters and main course plus a few drinks and the whole bill came in under £50. Will definitely be going back! Thank you.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Lichfield
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2015

Great food in this small rustic restaurant - Sunday Lunch particularly good but book early. 2 course or 3 course choices really well price and the menu changes often.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1

Travelers who viewed 1709 the Brasserie also viewed

Lichfield, Staffordshire
Lichfield, Staffordshire
 
Lichfield, Staffordshire
Lichfield, Staffordshire
 

Been to 1709 the Brasserie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.

Manage your listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Location and Contact Information

  • Address: Lombard Street, Lichfield, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Staffordshire  >  Lichfield
  • Phone Number: 01543 257986

Price and Cuisine

  • Cuisine: British

Restaurant Characteristics

  • Good for: Romance, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients, Dining on a budget
Open Hours
Sunday
12:00 pm - 6:00 pm
Monday
6:00 pm - 9:00 pm
12:00 pm - 2:00 pm
Tuesday
6:00 pm - 9:00 pm
12:00 pm - 2:00 pm
Wednesday
6:00 pm - 9:00 pm
12:00 pm - 2:00 pm
Thursday
6:00 pm - 9:00 pm
12:00 pm - 2:00 pm
Friday
12:00 pm - 2:00 pm
6:00 pm - 9:30 pm
Saturday
6:00 pm - 9:30 pm
12:00 pm - 2:30 pm

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from 1709 the Brasserie staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?