We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Rugantino Restaurant

Certificate of Excellence
$$$
Improve this listing
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Your filters are still active.
There are no pins in your viewport. Try moving the map or changing your filters.
Get directions
Ancient Gatehouse Hotel | 20 Sadler Street, Wells BA5 2SE, England
+44 1749 672029
Website
Add hours for Rugantino Restaurant and help diners know when to go.
+ Add hours
Good for:
Romance
Doing business
Local cuisine
Special occasions
Entertaining clients

TripAdvisor Reviewer Highlights

Read all 182 reviews
Visitor rating
  • 95
    Excellent
  • 58
    Very good
  • 22
    Average
  • 5
    Poor
  • 2
    Terrible
Rating summary
  • Food
    4.5 of 5 stars
    Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
    Atmosphere
    4 of 5 stars
Most recent review
A celebration dinner

We had a greaqt table, quiet but also in the main dining area. Although the predinner lounge for drinks looked very inviting we chose to go straight to our table My wife had the smoked salmon and I the Crab Brushchetta to start. Both delicious. To follow the special cod, a dish of the day and I the... read more

5 of 5 starsReviewed March 25, 2015
braithwaite12
,
Northampton, United Kingdom
Good for:
  • Romance
  • Doing business
  • Local cuisine
  • Special occasions
  • Entertaining clients
  • Lunch
  • Dinner
  • Reservations
  • Late Night
Add Photo Write a Review

182 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Northampton, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
207 reviews 207 reviews
113 restaurant reviews
91 helpful votes 91 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2015 NEW

We had a greaqt table, quiet but also in the main dining area. Although the predinner lounge for drinks looked very inviting we chose to go straight to our table My wife had the smoked salmon and I the Crab Brushchetta to start. Both delicious. To follow the special cod, a dish of the day and I the lamb shank.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
whitehartwells, Front Office Manager at Rugantino Restaurant, responded to this review

Thank you for your glowing review. We hope on your next trip from Northampton you come and visit us again.. More 

uk
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2015 NEW

Was a bit disappointed as Sunday lunch menu only offered one veggie option (risotto). Also not happy about being offered a bill with two totals on it - the actual cost and one with 10% tip on it. Prefer to make my own choice about tipping rather than embarrassing me into either paying the extra or appearing "mean" by saying... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
whitehartwells, Front Office Manager at Rugantino Restaurant, responded to this review

I am sorry you felt our vegetarian options were limited on the Sunday menu. On our main menu we always have lots of vegetarian options. If you had asked we would have been happy to suggest some other options for you. The service charge is optional, and we are sorry if you felt pressurised by this choice. We hope you... More 

Wells, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2015

We saw a groupon deal and thought as it was local we would try it. the deal was a 2 course meal with a glass of wine. We were so hungry and the service was painfully slow. The waiter took our wine order (red or white was the choice) then he took our full size wine glasses off the table... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
whitehartwells, Front Office Manager at Rugantino Restaurant, responded to this review

Thank for your comments. The wine offered with the Groupon deal was clearly advertised with regard to size, if you had wished to have a larger glass you could have requested this, although obviously it would have cost a little more. The portion sizes are not reduced because of the deal, and there are several comments from our customers on... More 

London
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2015

Service was fabulous. Food was delicious and wine divine. Warm, welcoming and a short stumble upstairs to bed. We had the Valentine's Day set menu - antipasto to share, duck, then a dessert platter to share. By choosing the duck, all three courses had a delightfully subtle citrus flavour woven throughout. Very nice

Was this review helpful? Yes
whitehartwells, Front Office Manager at Rugantino Restaurant, responded to this review

It sounds like yuor Valentine's Day dinner and stay certainly hit the spot. We hope you return to stay with us again. More 

Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2015

The food is outstanding & the service is amazing too. Even though having booked our stay through Wowcher the menu available was limited you could chose to pay for other meals not on the menu however the limited menu was just as good I took the vegetarian options for starter & mains & they were outstanding

Was this review helpful? Yes
whitehartwells, Front Office Manager at Rugantino Restaurant, responded to this review

Our Wowcher offer is proving extremely popular, and is certainly excellent value. We are glad you enjoyed the vegetarian options we had on offer. More 

Langford, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2015

Have been a few times and am looking forward to my next visit. Tasty Italian food, good value, an interesting building and the friendliest staff ever!

Was this review helpful? Yes
whitehartwells, Front Office Manager at Rugantino Restaurant, responded to this review

Thank you for your review, we look forward to seeing you again soon. More 

Midsomer Norton, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2015

We visited because we had a Groupon voucher. Sometimes with such offers you are left feeling a little second rate but this certainly wasn't the case here. We were made to feel valued and welcome by the very charming and attentive waiters. We had two courses and a glass of house wine and it was all superb. Very glad we... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
whitehartwells, Front Office Manager at Rugantino Restaurant, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review our restaurant. We believe in giving all our customers the best service possible. We are glad you discovered our restaurant and look forward to seeing you again. More 

Glastonbury, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2015

Staff lovely, Service Quick but not to quick to feel rushed, splendid food, healthy size portions as in manageable but not too much.Used Groupon deal with no menu restrictions, which made this a super super value meal. Either way voucher or not very good value for what you get. Quality!!!

Was this review helpful? Yes
whitehartwells, Front Office Manager at Rugantino Restaurant, responded to this review

Yes 2 visits in a month does say it all. Thank you for your positive comments. There's still a couple of weeks left in March, maybe you might make it 3 visits!! More 

London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2015

Not an inviting restaurant. It had a menu on display outside, with several items we were interested in. When we got seated we found that the menu was different, the poor waiter was confused so we took him outside to show him the menu. He couldn't explain it and he wasn't really bothered anyway so we went elsewhere.

Was this review helpful? Yes
whitehartwells, Front Office Manager at Rugantino Restaurant, responded to this review

The only difference on the menu was that the fish dish was plaice and our menu outside stated hake. The sauce and all other ingredients were exactly the same. You stated there were several items on the display menu you were interested in, these were all on the menu, so I am not sure why you left. Your comments about... More 

cornwall
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2015

Second time eating here while visiting wells,this time we brought family to show them how lovely this place is.The staff here are fabulous and so is the service,food,atmosphere and price. Highly recommend you try this place

Was this review helpful? Yes

Travelers who viewed Rugantino Restaurant also viewed

Wells, Somerset
 
Wells, Somerset
 

Been to Rugantino Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.

Manage your listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Location and Contact Information

  • Address: Ancient Gatehouse Hotel | 20 Sadler Street, Wells BA5 2SE, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Somerset  >  Wells
  • Phone Number: +44 1749 672029

Price and Cuisine

  • Average Prices: USD 15 - 37
  • Cuisine: Italian

Restaurant Characteristics

  • Good for: Romance, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Rugantino Restaurant staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?