We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Cafe Piano

Certificate of Excellence
$$
English
Improve this listing
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Your filters are still active.
There are no pins in your viewport. Try moving the map or changing your filters.
Get directions
9 Heritage Courtyard | Sadler Street, Wells BA5 2RR, England
+44 1749 677772
Website
Monday
Closed
See all hours
Hours:
Wed - Sun 12:00 pm - 3:00 pm
Thu - Sat 7:00 pm - 9:00 pm
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations

TripAdvisor Reviewer Highlights

Read all 248 reviews
Visitor rating
  • 182
    Excellent
  • 44
    Very good
  • 13
    Average
  • 8
    Poor
  • 1
    Terrible
Rating summary
  • Food
    4.5 of 5 stars
    Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
    Atmosphere
    4.5 of 5 stars
2nd Visit

Staff lovely, Service quick but not to quick to feel rushed, splendid food, healthy size portions as in manageable but not too much.Used Groupon deal with no menu restrictions, which made this a super super value meal. Either way voucher or not it is very very good value for what you get. Quality!!!

5 of 5 starsReviewed March 13, 2015
Bodecia48
,
Glastonbury, United Kingdom
Add Photo Write a Review

248 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Glastonbury, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2015

Staff lovely, Service quick but not to quick to feel rushed, splendid food, healthy size portions as in manageable but not too much.Used Groupon deal with no menu restrictions, which made this a super super value meal. Either way voucher or not it is very very good value for what you get. Quality!!!

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Somerset
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2015

We've been to Cafe Piano a number of times over the last few years and generally always had excellent food and a good night with live music, so we looked forward to visiting again last Saturday evening. The first disappointment was the lack of any singing/performance, only a background pianist. According to their web site live music will now only... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Julie C, Owner at Cafe Piano, responded to this review

We are sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your visit to Cafe Piano on Saturday. Firstly, we do not recall having a single complaint on the night, therefore we are unable to rectify a problem if we don't know about it. If you had asked for garlic mayonnaise, I'm sure the staff would've got some for you. The... More 

Trowbridge, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2015

Return visit using our Groupon voucher We visited last November & were pleasantly surprised, the meal was exceptional !! So, could it be as good this time, we thought it was better, excellent food & beautifully cooked & served We both had the salmon & prawn salad to start, WOW, it was a very large portion We then had the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2015

have been meaning to write this review for a long time . Every time we have visited this restaurant the service and food have been exceedingly good. The service is always charming , attentive and polite so we always feel welcome and would happily recommend using this restaurant to anyone.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Newton Abbot, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2015 via mobile

We loved this place everything about it was great - the atmosphere the staff and the food were all first rate. Do search this place out if you visit Wells you will not be disappointed.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
England - West of
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2015

Decided to visit Wells and Bishops Palace and wanted somewhere for a Sunday lunch. As we have Gourmet Society membership we found the restaurant via The Gourmet app. I booked and having read all the blurb understood that Gourmet membership wouldnt mean a discount on the Sunday lunch menu but that A la carte would also be available. I asked... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Wells, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2015

If you want a relaxed time whilst eating a very nice meal at a reasonable price the Piano is for you, go on a Saturday between 12 and 1pm and there is the bonus of a piano player and live relaxing music.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Wells, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2015

Went to Cafe Piano last night with a Groupon Deal expecting a limited menu. The full menu was available including T-bone steak as a special. I had this and it was the best steak i have ever had, cooked to perfection, succulent, tender and so tasty. The whole experience was great, the staff were friendly, efficient and observant and no-one... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Midsomer Norton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2015 via mobile

We bought a Groupon voucher for this little bistro. What a bargain. We were pleasantly surprised to be offered the choice of anything from the menu. Had expected limited choice when using a voucher. The food was tasty and well presented. The staff were delightful. Very friendly and efficient. We will definately return for another meal.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Kent, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2015

We regularly go to this restaurant and can honestly say we haven't had a bad meal. The portions are excellent, and always served with a smile from attentive staff. We come to Somerset from Surrey at least twice a month and always try to visit. The menu is varied, with plenty of choice. One thing I do like is that... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes

Travelers who viewed Cafe Piano also viewed

Wells, Somerset
 

Been to Cafe Piano? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.

Manage your listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Location and Contact Information

  • Address: 9 Heritage Courtyard | Sadler Street, Wells BA5 2RR, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Somerset  >  Wells
  • Phone Number: +44 1749 677772

Price and Cuisine

  • Average Prices: USD 12 - 33
  • Cuisine: English
Open Hours
Sunday
12:00 pm - 3:00 pm
Wednesday
12:00 pm - 3:00 pm
Thursday
12:00 pm - 3:00 pm
7:00 pm - 9:00 pm
Friday
12:00 pm - 3:00 pm
7:00 pm - 9:00 pm
Saturday
12:00 pm - 3:00 pm
7:00 pm - 9:00 pm

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Cafe Piano staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?