We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Cafe Retro

#88 of 462 Restaurants in Bath
Certificate of Excellence
$$
Improve this listing
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Your filters are still active.
There are no pins in your viewport. Try moving the map or changing your filters.
Get directions
18 York Street, Bath BA1 1NG, England
+44 (0)1225 339347
Website
Today
9:00 am - 5:00 pm
Closed now
See all hours
Hours:
Sun 10:00 am - 5:00 pm
Mon - Sat 9:00 am - 5:00 pm
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations

TripAdvisor Reviewer Highlights

Read all 184 reviews
Visitor rating
  • 94
    Excellent
  • 58
    Very good
  • 21
    Average
  • 6
    Poor
  • 5
    Terrible
Rating summary
  • Food
    4.5 of 5 stars
    Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
    Atmosphere
    4 of 5 stars
Most recent review
Great place to eat meet, or relax

i have been going here for years. A great little place to have breakfast, lunch or just a cup of tea. The only downside is that everyone else knows about it! So be prepared not to get a table straight of. Food is of good quality, and beautifully presented, served by charming polite staff. This... read more

5 of 5 starsReviewed March 2, 2015
Denfordphil
,
Thrapston, United Kingdom
Good for:
  • Breakfast/Brunch
  • Reservations
Add Photo Write a Review

184 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Thrapston, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2015 NEW

i have been going here for years. A great little place to have breakfast, lunch or just a cup of tea. The only downside is that everyone else knows about it! So be prepared not to get a table straight of. Food is of good quality, and beautifully presented, served by charming polite staff. This weekend it was ever more... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Winchester, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2015 NEW

I liked the fact that I was welcomed as a solo traveller. Service was good, range of dining options great. Service with a smile.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Hertford, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2015 NEW

Very small area downstairs, although there is also an upstairs. Drinks came quickly, cakes much more slowly; had nearly finished my coffee before the cakes came! Waitress didn't know exactly which cakes there were available. In the end, the coffee and cakes were good; nice to have proper Italian cappucino, rather than one which is too milky. They also have... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2015

nearly £18 for 2 coffees and 2 paninis.....paninis pretty small and not much filling/anything to it, however side salad and dressing was nice. we were seated at a table and then left to look at menus, 3 other tables in close proximity who arrived after us were served first. food arrived after about 15 minutes, drinks arrived after the food... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
LisalisaG, Manager at Cafe Retro, responded to this review

So sorry you did not enjoy your visit to our café. We do use good quality ingredients in our Paninis and endeavour to keep them competitively priced. I have spoken to the kitchen to check that everyone is using the right portion amounts in each serving. Unfortunately the paninis are all prepared individually and do take longer to cook than... More 

Bath, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2015

My favourite place to eat in Bath as it is a lovely unpretentious place. It has a lovely atmposhere and has good food a great prices.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Weston-super-Mare
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2015 via mobile

This is definitely the best cooked English breakfast I've had by far. I went for the 'Retro Breakfast', staff were very friendly and provided an excellent service even swapping a couple of the items that I didn't like for additional items. The food came out very prompt and was of a very high standard and quality. Would definitely recommend this... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Bideford, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2015

I've visited this cafe a few times now and it has delivered each time. The beakfast is fantastic and the staff have always been lovely. I can't fault the service either, next to me was a large family with young children and nothing was too much trouble for the waitress looking after them.If you want simple food, cooked well this... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Oswestry, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2015

Lovely full English breakfast and great service. Quirky cafe with a nice atmosphere, recommended! Nice deli next door with some lovely looking cakes.

Was this review helpful? Yes
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2015 via mobile

So disappointed. We came here for lunch and it was definitely not the right choice of all the places in Bath... Menu is okay but food poor quality - both had a panini, mine was Brie, bacon and avocado - the cheese was so melted it was like fondue and all leaked out the bottom, the bread was not sealed,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
LisalisaG, Manager at Cafe Retro, responded to this review

So sorry you did not enjoy your visit to our café. It sounds as though your Panini was overdone and I have spoken to the kitchen staff about this. I would also like to apologise that you did not have enough confidence in your waitress to mention any problems as I'm sure she would have replaced your Panini for you.... More 

London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2015

Stuff in the panini which shouldn't have been a in a panini Disinterested waitress They should put a device on the door so it doesn't slam whenever someone goes in or out

Was this review helpful? Yes
LisalisaG, Manager at Cafe Retro, responded to this review

I am so sorry you did not enjoy your visit to our café and that you didn't feel able to mention any problems with your Panini to the waitress at the time as I'm sure it would have happily been replaced. I also would like to apologise for the door which has been adjusted recently as our wooden floor expanded... More 

Travelers who viewed Cafe Retro also viewed

 

Been to Cafe Retro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.

Manage your listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Location and Contact Information

  • Address: 18 York Street, Bath BA1 1NG, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Somerset  >  Bath
  • Phone Number: +44 (0)1225 339347

Price and Cuisine

  • Average Prices: USD 8 - 15
  • Cuisine: Continental, British, Café, Bistro
Open Hours
Sunday
10:00 am - 5:00 pm
Monday
9:00 am - 5:00 pm
Tuesday
9:00 am - 5:00 pm
Wednesday
9:00 am - 5:00 pm
Thursday
9:00 am - 5:00 pm
Friday
9:00 am - 5:00 pm
Saturday
9:00 am - 5:00 pm

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Cafe Retro staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?