We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Salamander

3 John Street, Bath BA1 2JL, England
01225 428889
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #53 of 443 Restaurants in Bath
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $5 - $25
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Description: The Salamander is great city-centre pub with none of the social stigma attached to some of the bars in Bath. ‘The Sally’ serves good food and a fine choice of beers from Bath Ales and beyond, and welcomes a friendly, eclectic audience.It’s small, it’s snug but it’s oh so special! The Salamander is tucked neatly away just off Queen Square in the heart of the Georgian city of Bath. Historically a ‘steak and chop house’, it now consists of a wonderfully simple bar on the ground floor and an impressive dining room complete with galley kitchen upstairs.Using the finest produce from local suppliers, ‘The Sally’ is renowned for its imaginative and varied menu, available both downstairs in the bar and upstairs.
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Description: The Salamander is great city-centre pub with none of the social stigma attached to some of the bars in Bath. ‘The Sally’ serves good food and a fine choice of beers from Bath Ales and beyond, and welcomes a friendly, eclectic audience.It’s small, it’s snug but it’s oh so special! The Salamander is tucked neatly away just off Queen Square in the heart of the Georgian city of Bath. Historically a ‘steak and chop house’, it now consists of a wonderfully simple bar on the ground floor and an impressive dining room complete with galley kitchen upstairs.Using the finest produce from local suppliers, ‘The Sally’ is renowned for its imaginative and varied menu, available both downstairs in the bar and upstairs.
Write a Review

246 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    143
    80
    15
    6
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Wigan
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2014 NEW

Initially called in just to have a couple of beers but having studied the menu we decided to dine in the upstairs restaurant. Both the beer and the food were excellent, as were the friendly staff both in the bar and the restaurant. We had chosen Bath as a stopover on route to Cornwall and will definitely visit both the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2014 NEW

Not been here for a while and has had a refurb and it looks great. Sunday lunch was the occasion and we were not disappointed big portions of loal products cooked to perfection. Staff friendly and good knowledge of bath. Oh and bath ales auperb had half a gem for my hubby who waant on trip and it was lovely.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Bath
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2014

This is both a gastro pub and a drinkers pub. There are not so many left that mix the two roles succesfully. Bath ales have some quality products. The staffare polite and prompt. The space is limited but the atmosphere friendly. if you are after a decent pub in and English pub without affectation and gimmicks, a comfy stool or... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Blagnac, France
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2014

The Salamander is a good walk from the railway station but there is a good taxi service if you do not feel like stroll through this beautiful city in the South West of England. However you get there The Salamander is well worth the visit. Good food and a wide selection of local ciders, beer both Real Ale and Lagers,... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2014

Went along to Salamander with club mates from the running club on our annual trip away . So we had spent a few hours in bath prior to our meal in Salamander . It was arranged prior to trip to have dinner here with an agreed menu . I found it to be a pleasant experience with everything to my... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Deana18, Manager at The Salamander, responded to this review

It was nice to you are your club members. I am happy to see you took the time to write a review. We are very glad to see that you enjoyed the food and service here at The Sal. Sorry that there was a mix up with the pre order starter, I think one of your club members enjoyed your... More

Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2014 via mobile

Beer how it should be! Fine selection of Bath Ales, served at the right temperature, with no funny after-taste (always nice). We didn't taste the food, but for real local ales in Bath, The Salamander comes highly recommended.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Deana18, General Manager at The Salamander, responded to this review

WOW thank you for the kind words. We are very proud of our real ales and take pride in serving a great pint every time. Next time stay around for some great seasonal/locally sourced British food. More

PA
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2014

We sought out a local Bath Ales pub and we were happy to find the Salamander near our hotel. Very cozy and the staff was friendly and engaging. They had a great selection of Bath Ales and Ciders - properly kept and pulled from cask. There were other selections and a full bar service. Great service.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Deana18, General Manager at The Salamander, responded to this review

Very happy to hear that you enjoyed our great Bath Ales selections, we are now proud to say that we will be selling one of our craft beers on tape all the time. Right now we are promoting Monterey, California Pale Ale. Come back soon :) More

London
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2014

We have now been 3 times to this pub on visits from London to Bath, once without and twice with our 2 year old. All were very enjoyable. A welcoming atmosphere. You feel you're in a locals pub, but are treated like a regular. Great ales, I'm not normally a fan but was converted with the Bath Amber. The food... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Deana18, General Manager at The Salamander, responded to this review

What can I say, very kind words and a really nice review. Thank you very much. We will be starting our autumn menu soon so keep one eye on our website for some new dishes to try. We look forward to your next trip from London as well. :) More

Reading, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2014

Relaxed friendly bar staff, had the fish and chips for lunch was great value, good mix of customers suit all ages. Would recommend their pie and a pint too

Was this review helpful? Yes
Deana18, General Manager at The Salamander, responded to this review

We are proud of our local seasonal food and happy to hear you enjoyed one of our classics. Yes we have some great early week £10 specials, Monday Cheeseburger and a pint, Tuesday Pie and a Pint and Wednesday Mussels and a Pint. We welcome all customers of all ages :) Thank you for your review More

Bristol, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2014

Welcoming, attractive pub with some good ales (Barnsey was excellent) but let down by disappointing meal (Sunday lunch) - yesterday's (or possibly last week's) tough, re-heated roast spuds, tasteless pork shoulder and all only barely hot enough. The pudding was fine though (what there was of it). I would have complained had it not been a family get together. Come... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Deana18, General Manager at The Salamander, responded to this review

WE are not happy to hear that you had a disappointing Sunday meal. We do not serve re headed or yesterday's food. We cook our food to order and like all Sunday roast the early in the day the better the roast :) I was working the day of your visit and had great reviews from my customers in the... More

Travelers who viewed The Salamander also viewed

 

Been to The Salamander? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Salamander, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Manage your listing