We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Chequers

50 Rivers Street, Bath BA1 2QA, England
01225 360017
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #33 of 434 restaurants in Bath
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $25 - $30
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Description: A landmark dining destination in the historic town of Bath, The Chequers is a beautifully restored gastropub on Rivers Street that has been serving customers since 1776. Offering a slice of local living to visitors from out of town, The Chequers is an elegant escape from the city’s bustling boutiques and is only a short walk from the Circus and the Royal Crescent. Serving a menu of home cooked, local & seasonal food alongside a premium selection of wines, local ciders and real ales, this is a fantastic place to spend an evening over a bottle or two with friends and family. On the menu you’ll find gastropub fare unrivalled in Bath with old pub favourites including their award winning Sunday lunch given a classy makeover. The Chequers restaurant also caters for business meetings and private parties.
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Description: A landmark dining destination in the historic town of Bath, The Chequers is a beautifully restored gastropub on Rivers Street that has been serving customers since 1776. Offering a slice of local living to visitors from out of town, The Chequers is an elegant escape from the city’s bustling boutiques and is only a short walk from the Circus and the Royal Crescent. Serving a menu of home cooked, local & seasonal food alongside a premium selection of wines, local ciders and real ales, this is a fantastic place to spend an evening over a bottle or two with friends and family. On the menu you’ll find gastropub fare unrivalled in Bath with old pub favourites including their award winning Sunday lunch given a classy makeover. The Chequers restaurant also caters for business meetings and private parties.
Reserve with OpenTable
The Chequers is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Write a Review

458 reviews from our community

89% Recommend
    295
    116
    28
    13
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2014 NEW

Went with my husband on the first night of our honeymoon weekend. I had the ham hock and my husband had the scotch egg. Unfortunately I was feeling a bit poorly so didn't eat too much. I had the beef for main and husband had the duck which he said was very nice. The beef was lovely if a little... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Gravesend, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2014 NEW

Went to this gastro pub on a Saturday night while on a weekend break. The staff were friendly and helpful. I really enjoyed the food because it was a twist on modern European food. I was unsure of how the combination of new flavours would work, but it did. I would definitely recommend this gastro pub.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Clare S, Manager at The Chequers, responded to this review

Dear Holidayfan, Many thanks for your kind review, our chef was very happy to read your praise of his food and the whole team are so glad that you enjoyed your visit. We hope to see you again, should you be in Bath. Kind regards, Clare More

Bath, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

After a pretty disappointing first visit here, we decided to give it another go. The wine list is good, has a good amount of wine by the glass, which was great since only one of us was drinking. Service was fine, and the menu looked okay, I had the ham hock and the duck, the starter had far too much... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Clare S, Manager at The Chequers, responded to this review

Dear ppmf1001, I can only repeat the sentiments that I have extended to your partner in the review below: I apologise sincerely that you were not impressed with your visit, and that you did not feel able to speak to me or your waitress about your concerns with the food. I remember that we were reasonably busy on that night,... More

Bath, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

Over use of salt... And I like salt! Ham hock terrine was a parsley terrine with a hint of ham. Not a single dessert under £7.95.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Clare S, Manager at The Chequers, responded to this review

Thank you for your review Joel161859, my apologies that you did not feel that your experience was in keeping with our 2 rosettes and usual high standard. I do wish that you had informed us of your concerns at the time of your visit, as I remember checking that you were happy with your meals and would have gladly replaced... More

Bath, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2014

Had the squid for starter and ribeye steak, cooked perfectly but what really achieved the climax was the truffle mash cooked by Nathan, never have I had such a satisfying mouth full of something so creamy and delicious. Top marks Nathan you will go far in this industry and Chequers should be greatful to have you in their team! Well... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Clare S, Manager at The Chequers, responded to this review

Hi there Phace, many thanks for your review - the truffled mash really is a firm favourite! We hope to see you again soon. Kind regards, Clare More

Stalybridge
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2014

We were staying in Bath for a short break, arriving on Sunday afternoon. Having enjoyed lunches at The Chequers in the past, we booked a table for the evening. On arrival we were given the Sunday Menu but nothing really appealed to me. I don’t like Sunday roasts and the fish, burger or veggie burger options didn’t appeal either. I... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Clare S, Manager at The Chequers, responded to this review

Dear Steve U, I am so disappointed to read this review, given the amount of time that was spent at your table trying to find a way to rectify your complaint and given that I thought that yourself and your wife had left feeling reasonably happy that you had managed to enjoy your evening. As I mentioned to you on... More

Arundel, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2014

Visited the pub with a group of friends. I was very impressed with the presentation,quality and taste of the food. We shared starters to be able to have more choice - the breads, scallops and squid were fabulous, cooked to perfection and so tasty. The presentation again of the main meal was fantastic. Everybody were really happy with what they... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
HORLEY, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014

Living in Bath we rarely eat out here but I have visited here for a drink with a friend. Went with my wife on Sunday and had an overall excellent visit. I had Squid with leaves and I consider myself a bit of an expert on squid having been to Greece many times and eaten it. This was one of... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Bath, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2014

Sat upstaires where you can see the chiefs preparing the food..... Food was good but felt a little over priced compared to other resturants in the area.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Sydney
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2014 via mobile

We were referred here by the hotel staff...they were very correct in their assessment. Whilst it is a little bit on the pricey side it's worth the investment for a really quality meal...the menu is the way I prefer it...not vast but large enough to make your choice difficult. The wait staff were attentive and keen to assist with your... More

Was this review helpful? Yes

Been to The Chequers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Chequers, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Manage your listing