We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

PorterHouse.sy1

Certificate of Excellence
$$$
American, Steakhouse, Hamburgers, British, Gastropub
Improve this listing
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Your filters are still active.
There are no pins in your viewport. Try moving the map or changing your filters.
Get directions
St Mary's Street, Shrewsbury SY1 1EQ, England
+44 1743 358870
Website
Today
10:00 am - 9:30 pm
Closed now
See all hours
Hours:
Sun 10:00 am - 9:00 pm
Mon - Sat 10:00 am - 9:30 pm
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Dessert, Late Night, Reservations
Description: We are the best at combining your favourite AMERICAN Flavours with Good...
We are the best at combining your favourite AMERICAN Flavours with Good Ol' BRITISH Behaviour PorterHouse.SY1 dining serves up some great American favourites. Think big juicy BURGERS, hot and succulent CHICKEN WINGS, Prime-cut Steaks, low n slow cooked BBQ RIBS..And a sprinkling of salads and lighter fish for the healthier ones among you. Enjoy our VIBRANT COCKTAIL BAR, beautiful CONSERVATORY dining area and cozy restaurant alongside attentive and friendly servers and bartenders who love what they do and believe in having FUN! What's not to love? We look forward to seeing you soon. The Friendly PorterHouse Team
read more

TripAdvisor Reviewer Highlights

Read all 377 reviews
Visitor rating
  • 177
    Excellent
  • 108
    Very good
  • 39
    Average
  • 31
    Poor
  • 22
    Terrible
Rating summary
  • Food
    4 of 5 stars
    Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
    Atmosphere
    4 of 5 stars
Travel zoo visit

Very welcoming staff. Shown to lovely room on first floor ( room 3). View across roof to church but asked for quiet room so perfectly happy with this. Lovely welcoming treats in room ( flapjacks were to die for!). Food excellent in restaurant and loved the mojitos! Breakfast very good. My only... read more

4 of 5 starsReviewed May 7, 2015
di63
,
monmouth, wales
Good for:
  • Bar scene
  • Dining on a budget
  • Romantic
  • Local cuisine
  • Special occasions
  • Entertaining clients
Add Photo Write a Review

377 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bangor, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2015 NEW

Booked 2 rooms on a superb deal through travel zoo as we were celebrating a special birthday. As we were too early 11.30 a.m. to check-in it was no problem at all to leave the cases with them. We returned around 5 p.m. and went straight to our rooms. The barman took our luggage which was very good him and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2015 NEW

Food is AMAZING, cocktails are pretty good too. Burgers are the best I've had & I've tried and tested them in lots of places. The menu is ever changing but always really good, the offers mid week & Friday evening are really reasonable. Date night or girly evenings are well spent here.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2015 NEW

Went here with a friend to take advantage of their burger deal on Mondays. Having not been before, we walked in looking bemused and not knowing if we sat ourselves or were walked to a table. Odd to ask at the bar and be told someone would seat us, then the same woman doing so after a few minutes of... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
PorterHouse s, Owner at PorterHouse.sy1, responded to this review

Dear Sam, Thank you for your feedback. It is very disappointing to hear that our service and food didn't meet your expectation on this occasion. Mondays tend to get very busy, so I would always recommend booking if you know your coming along which will save waiting for a table and any wait on food. I have gone through all... More 

Chester, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2015 NEW

Went on a Sunday afternoon, got a table that was in a thoroughfare in the conservatory area. Menu looked great and was really looking forward to it but the food took forever to arrive and was really disappointing when it eventually did arrive. As a way of apology they decided to swap my regular fries for sweet potato fries...but left... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
PorterHouse s, Owner at PorterHouse.sy1, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback, and you have my sincere apologies that your most recent visit didn't live up to your expectations. It seems very out of character what you experience with us on Sunday afternoon and you can be rest assured that I will be further looking into the how and why. In the future, If there is anything... More 

Telford, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2015 NEW

Such a disappointing experience food not so good and overpriced the customer service was non existent Our menus were pre booked so they knew what we were having I was there over an hour before I got my meal. One of our party had a vegetarian salad companied by a long black hair. My steak was OK but not as... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
PorterHouse s, Owner at PorterHouse.sy1, responded to this review

I have taken the time this morning to meet with all the managers on duty when you visited us on Saturday night, to get a very clear understanding of what happened and why you seem so disappointed by your recent visit. Saturday's are always very busy, and when we have big tables book we ensure that we have final numbers... More 

Ironbridge Gorge, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2015 NEW

Not our first visit, party of 11 all pre ordered food. Extra seat needed and emailed and telephoned but no message acknowledged and that's our fault ? Not up to normal standard. Table not ready, argumentative staff, and overcharged! Beware and check your bill! No apology #verydisappointed

Was this review helpful? Yes 6
PorterHouse s, Owner at PorterHouse.sy1, responded to this review

I have taken the time this morning to meet with all the managers on duty when you visited us on Saturday night, to get a very clear understanding of what happened and why you seem so disappointed by your recent visit. Saturday's are always very busy, and when we have big tables book we ensure that we have final numbers... More 

1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2015

Very disappointed with the service received by porter house. Have eaten there many of times with friends and partner. Tonight (15/5/15) after a few drinks round town...only a few! Arrived at porter house at 21.03pm to ask if there was a table for 2 to be told they are not serving food however it states on their menu that they... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
PorterHouse s, Owner at PorterHouse.sy1, responded to this review

Dear Nikki, I am so sorry that you didn't feel welcome on Friday night. We are a casual kitchen and bar and so would never frown upon someone wearing shorts. It wasn't that we weren't serving food at 9pm but rather we had to put a wait on food as we had a couple large tables that had all walked... More 

United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2015

I have been to PorterHouse a few times now and every time it has been exceptional. From the moment you walk in the atmosphere is spot on, lively and busy but still with a personal feel. We started with cocktails at the bar which arrived quickly and were delicious! Following this we had our meal and the service throughout was... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
monmouth, wales
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2015

Very welcoming staff. Shown to lovely room on first floor ( room 3). View across roof to church but asked for quiet room so perfectly happy with this. Lovely welcoming treats in room ( flapjacks were to die for!). Food excellent in restaurant and loved the mojitos! Breakfast very good. My only whinge and it is a very small one... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Llanelli, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2015

We stayed with Porterhouse for two nights, staying in room 2 which was quiet and has loads of character with its sloping floors. On the first night evening meal was included in our deal and even though we had to choose from a set menu due to the deal, we were not disappointed. The food was superb. Breakfast the following... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes

Travelers who viewed PorterHouse.sy1 also viewed

Shrewsbury, Shropshire
 
Shrewsbury, Shropshire
 

Been to PorterHouse.sy1? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.

Manage your listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Location and Contact Information

  • Address: St Mary's Street, Shrewsbury SY1 1EQ, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Shropshire  >  Shrewsbury
  • Phone Number: +44 1743 358870

Price and Cuisine

  • Average Prices: USD 16 - 42
  • Cuisine: American, Steakhouse, Hamburgers, British, Gastropub

Restaurant Characteristics

  • Good for: Bar scene, Dining on a budget, Romantic, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients

Description

We are the best at combining your favourite AMERICAN Flavours with Good Ol' BRITISH Behaviour PorterHouse.SY1 dining serves up some great American favourites. Think big juicy BURGERS, hot and succulent CHICKEN WINGS, Prime-cut Steaks, low n slow cooked BBQ RIBS..And a sprinkling of salads and lighter fish for the healthier ones among you. Enjoy our VIBRANT COCKTAIL BAR, beautiful CONSERVATORY dining area and cozy restaurant alongside attentive and friendly servers and bartenders who love what they do and believe in having FUN! What's not to love? We look forward to seeing you soon. The Friendly PorterHouse Team
Open Hours
Sunday
10:00 am - 9:00 pm
Monday
10:00 am - 9:30 pm
Tuesday
10:00 am - 9:30 pm
Wednesday
10:00 am - 9:30 pm
Thursday
10:00 am - 9:30 pm
Friday
10:00 am - 9:30 pm
Saturday
10:00 am - 9:30 pm

Questions & Answers

Here's what previous visitors have asked, with answers from representatives of PorterHouse.sy1 and other visitors
1 question
Ask a question
Questions? Get answers from PorterHouse.sy1 staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?