We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 25 Ironbridge Restaurants

Restaurant Severn

33 High Street, Ironbridge, Ironbridge Gorge TF8 7AG, England
+44 1952 432233
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 25 Restaurants in Ironbridge
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $36 - $43
Cuisines: French, British
Good for: Romance, Large groups, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Large groups, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Write a Review

325 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    292
    24
    8
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Telford, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2015 NEW

This was a second visit and we felt it has gone downhill from our first visit although i didn't like my black pudding starter the first time i went there the main course was lovely as was the wine . this time i had foie gras starter and i did not like it wasn't quite what i expected then I... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
hammer49shropshire, Owner at Restaurant Severn, responded to this review

Dear Paul I'm sorry you were disappointed with your meal with us. You follow another average review but I do not feel we are on a decline, when I feel that we do not put in 100% effort in & satisfy most of our customers I will give up and close the restaurant !. I recognise your order as you... More 

2 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2015

First visit. Would not recommend. Not terrible by any stretch but nowhere near as good as expected. So loud could not hear each other talk. Long waits for table to be cleared after courses. Generally food was fair but both of us thought it was not of the quality we expected. Average restaurant with above average prices.

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
hammer49shropshire, Owner at Restaurant Severn, responded to this review

Dear Craig A We were disappointed that you were disappointed with your meal at restaurant Severn I cannot comment on specifics re food as you haven't made any, with regards to noise & slow clearing( for which I apologise the service staff were probably waiting for me to catch up before clearing more tables). I would say you probably came... More 

Telford, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2015

Never ever disappointed when I go to the Severn. Fantastic food as always, excellent service as usual. All party members left very very happy. Tried the veal for the fist time at the Severn. All I can say is WOW. Thank you Eric and Beb for another memorable evening.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
hammer49shropshire, Owner at Restaurant Severn, responded to this review

Dear MGHand. Matt Thank you for another epic review, thank you also for choosing us for your special occasions I know your dad lives in The States so it is a long trip for a evening out! Did he manage to persuade you to open the last bottle of 18 year old isle of Mull single malt which I bottled... More 

Telford, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2015

The previous reviews really say it all but I still wanted to add another 5* for this restaurant. Great food, well presented and efficient service. A bit of banter on the way in (with the female owner/mgr?) for being a bit late. I love the personality in the food and the service!

Was this review helpful? Yes
hammer49shropshire, Owner at Restaurant Severn, responded to this review

Dear The TelfordStrangler. Thank you so much for your lovely review we are so glad you enjoyed your evening with us especially with your pen name being what it is !! Debbie served you, she is not the owner but has been with us a long time.The owners are myself & my wife & we are both chefs i do... More 

london
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2014

I have been to this restaurant several times, the last time being in october with my parents. The welcome is always friendly and I love the warm cosy atmosphere. It is always such a delight to visit and I am always spoilt for choice. The little extras like the canapes and bread to tide you over whilst you wait for... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
hammer49shropshire, Owner at Restaurant Severn, responded to this review

Dear Murphg1 Thank you for your very nice review and thank you also for your great compliments re food & service they are much appreciated . We look forward to welcoming you back when you next visit your parents. Best wishes for the new year Eric & Beb chef patrons. More 

Birmingham, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2014

I reviewed this restaurant the first time i went and since have been to one of there "gourmet evenings" i have to say yet again it was an absolute delight the food was well presented and each bite filled with flavors. the price for what you get is simply amazing, its a pure joy visiting this restaurant the staff make... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
hammer49shropshire, Owner at Restaurant Severn, responded to this review

Dear Paige B. Thank you for your excellent second review of Restaurant Severn & your lovely comments re your recent visit for one of our gourmet evenings, I do think they represent very good value. we hold them monthly on Wednesday & Thursdays to encourage customers to come out earlier in the week as unfortunately there is only one Friday... More 

Telford, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2014

Just returned home after a fabulous evening with friends who have regularly eaten at the Restaurant Severn. The menu was so good, it was difficult to choose from it and when both the starter and main courses came, my husband and I were well impressed with the quality and presentation. The service was excellent, within a very friendly atmosphere. Restaurant... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
hammer49shropshire, Owner at Restaurant Severn, responded to this review

Dear 591 Carol Thank you for your super review & very nice comments .As I said to the previous review sorry it took so long to respond we had a family bereavement. I wont go on about the train journey again, as you come from Telford I'm sure you have experienced Arriva trains for yourself ! I'm glad you enjoyed... More 

Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2014

Service & Staff are excellent, food is 1st class, wine choice superb, ambience is lovely, overall an excellent 1st class choice dining experiance. Eric and Beb, owner chefs, make you feel so welcome, and Debbie's front of house style and humour make for the most relaxing and enjoyable meal experiance, it is our favourite place to eat. Peter & Heather

Was this review helpful? Yes
hammer49shropshire, Owner at Restaurant Severn, responded to this review

Dear Peter T & Heather Thank you for your lovely review I'm sorry it took so long to reply we had to go to Eastbourne for a family bereavement we made the mistake of going by train we could have flown to Egypt & back in the time it took to get there!, first Arriva trains took as long to... More 

Shropshire
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2014

Dinned here for my birthday. Food was very good. Atmosphere was lacking a little bit but I guess it was midweek and quite. Service was good. Recommend .

Was this review helpful? Yes
hammer49shropshire, Owner at Restaurant Severn, responded to this review

Dear Steviejay Thank you for your review we are glad you enjoyed your meal with us ,I'm sorry if the atmosphere was a bit lacking , We are normally busy regardless of the day of the week ,however as it is getting close to the festive season people have a lot of demands on their money so we do have... More 

Portsmouth, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2014

The delights of this wonderful restaurant start from the moment you enter. We received an incredibly warm welcome and despite our lack of booking (and the fact that we turned up on a Gourmet Evening) we were shown to a table without a problem. The menu was an absolute delight to peruse and we loved the focus on classical dishes.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
hammer49shropshire, Owner at Restaurant Severn, responded to this review

Dear CVM_83 Thank you for your superlative review I'm glad we got you in, our gourmet nights are usually fully booked but getting close to Christmas people have to save some pennies. we are glad you liked the menu & the fact it had some classical dishes on it, It is fun to get our old cookery books out &... More 

Travelers who viewed Restaurant Severn also viewed

Ironbridge, Ironbridge Gorge
Ironbridge, Ironbridge Gorge
 
Ironbridge, Ironbridge Gorge
Ironbridge, Ironbridge Gorge
 

Been to Restaurant Severn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Restaurant Severn

Address: 33 High Street, Ironbridge, Ironbridge Gorge TF8 7AG, England
Phone Number: +44 1952 432233
Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Shropshire  >  Ironbridge Gorge  >  Ironbridge
Average Prices: USD 36 - 43
Cuisine: French, British

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.

Manage your listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what previous visitors have asked, with answers from representatives of Restaurant Severn and other visitors
3 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (3)

Questions? Get answers from Restaurant Severn staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?