We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Street Food Chef

Certificate of Excellence
$
Mexican
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
98 | Arundel Street, Sheffield S1 4RE, England
447811953004
Website
Improve this listing
Today
10:00 am - 10:00 am
Closed now
See all hours
Hours:
Sun 12:00 pm - 9:00 pm
Mon - Wed 10:00 am - 10:00 pm
Mon - Sat 10:00 am - 10:00 am
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations, Takeout
Good for: Families with children
Description: The Street Food Chef We love street food - it's fresh, simple, honest. We...
The Street Food Chef We love street food - it's fresh, simple, honest. We particularly love Mexican street food, as it's delicious, healthy and packed with flavour!All our salsa and meat marinades are made with fresh ingredients. Our aim is to use locally sourced ingredients, (Moss Valley Fine Meats) we will keep you updated using our website, twitter and facebook.Come and find us at one of our Sheffield City Centre locations or at one of the events we are attending this summer, every bite is packed with punch and will keep you coming back for more! Visit us for a take away at 98 Pinstone Street - opening hours: Mon - Sat 10 - 5, Sun 12 - 4 Or eat in at our licensed canteen at 90 Arundel Street - opening hours: Mon - Sat 10 - 10, Sun 12 - 9
read more

TripAdvisor Reviewer Highlights

Read all 204 reviews
Visitor rating
  • 127
    Excellent
  • 56
    Very good
  • 13
    Average
  • 4
    Poor
  • 4
    Terrible
Rating summary
  • Food
    4.5 of 5 stars
    Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
    Atmosphere
    4 of 5 stars
Take away

We popped in for a take away one lunch time , the queue was quite big so took a while to get served . I waited in the car while my husband waited inside for the food which he said took a while to order . We got home and realised part of our order was missing so we called... read more

4 of 5 starsReviewed 3 days ago
Sybbykhan
via mobile
Add Photo Write a Review

204 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Level Contributor
34 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW via mobile

We popped in for a take away one lunch time , the queue was quite big so took a while to get served . I waited in the car while my husband waited inside for the food which he said took a while to order . We got home and realised part of our order was missing so we called... More 

Helpful?
Thank Sybbykhan
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

The service is really friendly. I love the fact they sell milk and some lovely looking baked goods in the cosy shop. I should say I've eaten here before a year or so ago and it was much better than today. Today I got my burrito to take away. Unfortunately when I sat down to eat I found it disappointing.... More 

Helpful?
Thank Bryony H
Abi G, Owner at The Street Food Chef, responded to this review

Hi Bryony, thank you for your honest review, we have absolutely taken on board your comments - we have immediately looked into how much salsa is going into each burrito, and have talked to all the staff about seasoning. We are very proud of our guac, so we are gutted that you had a disappointing meal. I would be keen... More 

Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Too many things didn't quite like think it needs to allow for more variations. What I had was very nice but unless you are having one of main dishes.

Helpful?
Thank Paul A
Abi G, Owner at The Street Food Chef, responded to this review

Hi Paul, thanks for your message, I'm sorry that you didn't enjoy your nachos. I would be keen to hear more - my email address is abi@streetfoodchef.co.uk. We really care what our customers think, so any feedback will be listened to and taken seriously, many thanks, Abi More 

Sheffield, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Visited multiple times, cannot resist their burritos and quesadillas. Brilliant selection to create the perfect snack to fulfil your Mexican cravings. 'Man Vs Food' style challenge also available, which I fully intend to try out soon.

Helpful?
Thank ginnerkay
Abi G, Owner at The Street Food Chef, responded to this review

Hi, thanks for your great review - we love to hear from our customers, and I will pass your comments onto the whole team. Look forward to seeing you for the challenge soon..... More 

south yorkshire
Level Contributor
30 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

First timers here, and it will not be our last. Best burrito I have ever eaten, the nachos are really tasty. And the vibe is so relaxed and humble.

Helpful?
Thank southyorkshirelass
Abi G, Owner at The Street Food Chef, responded to this review

Hi Southyorkshire Lass, thank you so much for taking the time to review us. I'm so glad it is the best burrito you have ever tasted, and we all love the way you described the vibe as relaxed and humble. I think we may use that when we are training the team from now on! See you again soon I... More 

Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2015 via mobile

Wow! Unbelievable place, best burrito I've ever had (and I love burritos) I had the brisket beef - unbelievable and there was loads of it too! Really nice salsa too. I'll be back!

Helpful?
Thank jessicaf1986
Abi G, Owner at The Street Food Chef, responded to this review

Hi Jessica, thanks so much for taking the time to review us, and we are delighted that you enjoyed your burrito, see you again soon........! Abi More 

Ballymena, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2015 via mobile

Having owned a burrito bar back in Ireland i would like to think I have half idea of what a good burrito should taste like!! I wasn't disappointed.. Very authentic! I had the beef but having also tasted the chicken and pork I think the next time il try chicken as even tho I'm not a big chicken fan the... More 

Helpful?
Thank d4vy
Abi G, Owner at The Street Food Chef, responded to this review

Hi, thanks so much for your review. We are so glad that you enjoyed your burrito, particularly as you have owned a burrito place yourself...look forward to seeing you soon....Abi More 

Ilkley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2015

Wow we had the tastiest food ever from the street food chef!!!. We missed out on a nearby by cafe lunch sitting and was recommended this place. So glad we found this Jem of a place. The menu choice and size of your portion is vast. We had too much choice so had some wanted help and recommendations from the... More 

Helpful?
Thank yorkshireben27
Abi G, Owner at The Street Food Chef, responded to this review

Hi, thanks so much for your great review! We're really glad you found us, hope we see you soon.....:) More 

Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
202 reviews
102 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2015

six of us tried various things on the menu but chose big so no room for yummy puddings :( better go again! lots of people are in and out of here for lunch but we grabbed a high table.

Helpful?
Thank chrysalisconsortium
Abi G, Owner at The Street Food Chef, responded to this review

Hi there, thanks so much for your review, we love hearing from our customers, hope we see you soon.... More 

north east england
Level Contributor
95 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2015

Ordered vegetarian Quesadilla and a burrito. Quesadilla soggy and very wet underneath as the filling was watery from the tomatoes and the burrito although tasty was the same. No hint of heat from the advertised heat list. I chose habanero but couldn't taste any chili a tall. The fresh water had bits floating in it and the tables, sugar, plastic... More 

Helpful?
Thank Drecklydreckly
Abi G, Owner at The Street Food Chef, responded to this review

Hi there, we are really sorry about your disappointing experience with us, and have taken your review very seriously. We have reviewed all our deep cleaning procedures, and the team are coming in early on several mornings to address the 'grubby' feel. The shop is 4 years old and has had a huge footfall in that time - this is... More 

Travelers who viewed The Street Food Chef also viewed

Sheffield, South Yorkshire
Sheffield, South Yorkshire
 
Sheffield, South Yorkshire
Sheffield, South Yorkshire
 

Been to The Street Food Chef? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Location and Contact Information

  • Address: 98 | Arundel Street, Sheffield S1 4RE, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Yorkshire  >  South Yorkshire  >  Sheffield
  • Phone Number: 447811953004

Price and Cuisine

  • Average Prices: USD 4 - 14
  • Cuisine: Mexican

Restaurant Characteristics

  • Good for: Families with children

Description

The Street Food Chef We love street food - it's fresh, simple, honest. We particularly love Mexican street food, as it's delicious, healthy and packed with flavour!All our salsa and meat marinades are made with fresh ingredients. Our aim is to use locally sourced ingredients, (Moss Valley Fine Meats) we will keep you updated using our website, twitter and facebook.Come and find us at one of our Sheffield City Centre locations or at one of the events we are attending this summer, every bite is packed with punch and will keep you coming back for more! Visit us for a take away at 98 Pinstone Street - opening hours: Mon - Sat 10 - 5, Sun 12 - 4 Or eat in at our licensed canteen at 90 Arundel Street - opening hours: Mon - Sat 10 - 10, Sun 12 - 9
Open Hours
Sunday
12:00 pm - 9:00 pm
Monday
10:00 am - 10:00 pm
10:00 am - 10:00 am
Tuesday
10:00 am - 10:00 pm
10:00 am - 10:00 am
Wednesday
10:00 am - 10:00 pm
10:00 am - 10:00 am
Thursday
10:00 am - 10:00 am
Friday
10:00 am - 10:00 am
Saturday
10:00 am - 10:00 am

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from The Street Food Chef staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?