We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Prince of Wales

$$
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
Ecclesall Road South, Sheffield S11 9PH , England
0114 236 9176
Website
Improve this listing
Today
11:00 am - 12:00 am
Open now
See all hours
Hours:
Sun 12:00 pm - 10:30 pm
Mon - Thu 11:00 am - 11:00 pm
Fri - Sat 11:00 am - 12:00 am
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff

TripAdvisor Reviewer Highlights

Read all 232 reviews
Visitor rating
  • 67
    Excellent
  • 64
    Very good
  • 46
    Average
  • 37
    Poor
  • 18
    Terrible
Rating summary
  • Food
    4 of 5 stars
    Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
    Atmosphere
    4 of 5 stars
Ordinary is the new good

I had decided not to go again until I received a response to my previous poor review back in the autumn. However, we were invited by my daughter so could not refuse. I can only say that it is ordinary and not of a standard to which they appear to aspire. Service is good, a warm welcome and... read more

3 of 5 starsReviewed 1 week ago
Ray E
,
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Add Photo Write a Review

232 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
169 reviews
71 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Really pleasant bar/ restaurant. Feels more like going to a good restaurant rather than a pub. Interior decor is light and pleasant, waiting staff are attentive and efficient. Food choices are wide. Breaded cheese starter is delicious and my burger was excellent. A lovely place to visit!

Helpful?
Thank C H
The Prince of ... M, Manager at The Prince of Wales, responded to this review

Thank you very much for the kind words and 5* review! We do try to strike the perfect balance between pub/bar and restaurant (it can be tricky) and I am glad that you enjoyed your meal with us. I am a fan of cheese myself and so the brie is a great starter for anyone like ourselves and the burger... More 

Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I had decided not to go again until I received a response to my previous poor review back in the autumn. However, we were invited by my daughter so could not refuse. I can only say that it is ordinary and not of a standard to which they appear to aspire. Service is good, a warm welcome and efficient ordering.... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Ray E
The Prince of ... M, Manager at The Prince of Wales, responded to this review

Good morning Ray. Thank you for taking the time to leave not only this review but one back in August too. Unfortunately I wasn't at The Prince of Wales at the time of your previous visit but I can understand your frustration at not receiving a response; all feedback, good or bad, is taken seriously and I want to assure... More 

England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We have been in this pub many times and each time we have been, the service was friendly, the food was excellent, we have never been let down , so I am quite surprised about the recent reviews. It seems, that only people write who were not happy. I am sure there are many more that are happy. Otherwise …why... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Andrea H
The Prince of ... M, Manager at The Prince of Wales, responded to this review

Thank you for the review Andrea! I certainly agree with respect to unhappy guests being more likely to leave feedback and so it is always appreciated when a guest such as yourself takes the time to leave us a positive review. However, all compliments/criticisms are important to us and sometimes the views of a minority can quickly turn to that... More 

Nottingham
Level Contributor
17 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

After getting a flat tyre and having to abandon my car nearby, my partner and I decided to have our Sunday lunch here. The decor, atmosphere and food itself were all lovely, albeit a lack of gravy on the roast. The poor reviews that have come up previously have referred mainly to service, which was our only main issue. I... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Jade F
The Prince of ... M, Manager at The Prince of Wales, responded to this review

Good afternoon and thank you for the constructive feedback. We take great pride in delivering top levels of service at The Prince of Wales and so I am disappointed that we let you down this time. I am unsure of where you were sat in the restaurant but have picked up with all members of the team that we should... More 

1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Four of us arrived for a meal on a Saturday night . We explained that we needed to be served reasonably quickly so we could attend a party. We ordered our drinks after 15 minutes . We wanted one starter and three mains all to be served at the same time . Not that complicated. 30 minutes later the starter... More 

Helpful?
4 Thank Richard T
The Prince of ... M, Manager at The Prince of Wales, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to leave us feedback. I undestand your frustration with your meal at The Prince of Wales on this occassion and apologise for that. Your order was certainly not forgotton, unfortunately the starter was sent as a starter instead of with the other mains, he did explain this to you and apologised multiple times, which... More 

Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Myself and 7 colleagues had a table booked here for our belated Christmas party on a recent Saturday evening. Our table was booked for 8pm so we arrived to have drinks in the bar before hand at 7.30. Once being shown to our table we were offered the menu and drinks.so far so good. The restaurant was busy but as... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Andy F
JarkaC1985, teamleader at The Prince of Wales, responded to this review

Many thanks for your feedback. I'm really unhappy to hear that you did not enjoy your recent visit. It seems on this occasion we have not delivered our usual great food, drinks and service. I really do apologise about this. We have raised these issues with the team to ensure that they do not happen again. We hope to see... More 

South Yorks
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

arrived here at approx 1-30 pm on a Friday afternoon, waited to be spoken to by the staff, ignored by a waiter, who appeared to be in charge, he who walked past us several times. We saw many vacant tables. Eventually when he bothered to speak to us, we were told the place was fully booked. Interesting as their online... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank Blueeyes100
JarkaC1985, teamleader at The Prince of Wales, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback we appreciate it weather good or bad. It appears on your visit we did not deliver the high standard of service, we are currently looking at out training and staffing levels and hope to redeem ourselves in the future. We have taken all your comments on board. I hope next time we can prove to... More 

Sheffield
Level Contributor
21 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

First up- this is local to us and we have been here a lot. Food and service always been very good. We returned on Friday the 9th Jan with friends who had never been. I requested at booking that we sit in the car park side of the restaurant and we were so that's a plus. We were seated and... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank surveyor60
JarkaC1985, teamleader at The Prince of Wales, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. I'm really sorry that you did not enjoy your recent visit and that you weren't blown away. I can assure you this is not our usual standards.I sincerely hope you will try us again in the future and we can change your mind about us. More 

Dronfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
122 reviews
97 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We came here with our daughter and son in law to celebrate my Birthday on a Friday night a couple of weekends before Christmas. We had booked a table for 7pm. We could hardly get through the door the place was so busy! When we did manage to attract someone's attention we were shown to our table but told we... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank Denise G
JarkaC1985, teamleader at The Prince of Wales, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to leave us another review! Feedback is very important to us - good or bad - as it allows us to grow, improve and make sure we keep getting it right. .  I really hope you will be coming to see us again soon! More 

Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2016

Thought we’d give this place another chance after a pretty average first outing, but this time it was worse. We attended in a group of 9 between Christmas and New Year and at the time of arriving it was busy. It took an age to get seated at our pre booked table, some 35mins after the booking time. We weren’t... More 

Helpful?
3 Thank ChrisAkabusi
JarkaC1985, teamleader at The Prince of Wales, responded to this review

Hi there, sorry your visit wasn't quite up to your expectations. We can have quite a busy restaurant around Christmas and this occasion we were obviously very busy. We always attempt to put out the best food in the quickest time possible and if you were to try us again I'm confident we'll prove this. Thanks for your review. More 

Travelers who viewed The Prince of Wales also viewed

Wakefield, West Yorkshire
 
Sheffield, South Yorkshire
Sheffield, South Yorkshire
 

Been to The Prince of Wales? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Location and Contact Information

  • Address: Ecclesall Road South, Sheffield S11 9PH, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Yorkshire  >  South Yorkshire  >  Sheffield
  • Phone Number: 0114 236 9176

Price and Cuisine

  • Average Prices: USD 13 - 33
  • Cuisine: British, Pub

Restaurant Characteristics

  • Good for: Families with children
Open Hours
Sunday
12:00 pm - 10:30 pm
Monday
11:00 am - 11:00 pm
Tuesday
11:00 am - 11:00 pm
Wednesday
11:00 am - 11:00 pm
Thursday
11:00 am - 11:00 pm
Friday
11:00 am - 12:00 am
Saturday
11:00 am - 12:00 am

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from The Prince of Wales staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?