We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Turl Street Kitchen

#111 of 484 Restaurants in Oxford
Certificate of Excellence
$$
International
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
16-17 Turl Street, Oxford OX1 3DH, England
+44 1865 264171
Website
Improve this listing
Today
8:00 am - 12:00 am
Open now
See all hours
Hours:
Sun - Sat 8:00 am - 12:00 am
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Breakfast, Dinner, Reservations

TripAdvisor Reviewer Highlights

Read all 423 reviews
Visitor rating
  • 186
    Excellent
  • 133
    Very good
  • 59
    Average
  • 24
    Poor
  • 21
    Terrible
Rating summary
  • Food
    4 of 5 stars
    Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
    Atmosphere
    4 of 5 stars
Really good manager made up for a bit of a bumpy experience

We booked for Sunday lunch. The service was fast and friendly. The veggie meals were really enjoyed, the roasts however were not great. The elements to the roasts (Potatoes, Yorkshire puds etc) were good but the actual meat was though and chewy. On complaint the manager was very friendly and... read more

4 of 5 starsReviewed August 18, 2015
PSB10
,
PSB10
Good for:
  • Local cuisine
Add Photo Write a Review

423 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Rate and write a review
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2015 NEW

We had seen this little eatery and never ventured in but as it was my other half's birthday decided to give it a go despite the reviews... We were seated and viewed the paper style menu.. we passed on a starter and went straight to main course. I chose pie and new potatoes with veg my husband chose the sea... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
164 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2015 NEW

Our choices for dinner were limited as two of the meat main courses had run out. The menu does not differentiate between starters and main course dishes, you need to deduce it from the price. My starter was a beetroot salad with blue cheese, the beetroot was excellent but the blue cheese was hard to find. For main course I... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Falls Church, Virginia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2015

Turl Street Kitchen was exactly the kind of restaurant I look for that are a bit off the beaten path but still caters to excellence. I had both dinner and breakfast, and loved the laid back atmosphere and courteous staff who made me feel welcome.

Was this review helpful? Yes
TSKTeam, Manager at Turl Street Kitchen, responded to this review

Hi Holly, Thanks for your feedback, we really appreciate your review. We are a bit tucked away whilst being right in the centre of Oxford, so we're really glad you found us. We hope to see you again on your next visit to Oxford. Ben and the TSK team More 

Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2015

We wondered in on a busy Saturday afternoon for a quick lunch. Although they did not have a table in the restaurant, we were offered to sit in the bar area. The food was great, they have an interesting selection of wines and craft beer and the service was friendly. Would definitively visit again.

Was this review helpful? Yes
TSKTeam, Manager at Turl Street Kitchen, responded to this review

Hi Psychogoogje, Thanks for popping in for lunch at TSK. We're really glad you enjoyed your food and our selection of drinks - we've just created a new drinks list, so are really happy you found something you like. We hope to do it all again on your next visit to Oxford. Ben and the TSK team More 

Warwick, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
115 reviews
103 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2015

This is a gem in Oxford. A delightful menu, a nice bar area with large glass containers of a named variety of vodka and gin! Had a lovely meal there, beautiful fish cakes. The menu changes depending on seasonal produce and availability and l look forward to going there again later in the year to sample another menu. Well worth... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
TSKTeam, Manager at Turl Street Kitchen, responded to this review

Hi Paula, Thank for your review, we're really pleased you enjoyed your fishcakes and the day's menu of fresh seasonal food. We look forwarding to seeing you on your next visit to TSK. Ben and the TSK team More 

PSB10
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2015

We booked for Sunday lunch. The service was fast and friendly. The veggie meals were really enjoyed, the roasts however were not great. The elements to the roasts (Potatoes, Yorkshire puds etc) were good but the actual meat was though and chewy. On complaint the manager was very friendly and apologetic and really looked after us, and turned what could... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
TSKTeam, Manager at Turl Street Kitchen, responded to this review

Hi PSB10, Thanks for coming in for Sunday lunch, we're proud of our roast dinners. We are sorry that your meat was tough and chewy though, we have passed your review on to the kitchen to ensure that it does not happen again. We are however, happy to hear that the manager on shift helped to ensure you had a... More 

Hastings, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2015

This place is in a great location with lovely decor and atmosphere. However, I was no fan of the system whereby you pay at the bar and carry your order to the table. For some people in groups this included numerous trips back and forth collecting cups, cutlery, teapots etc for their table. It needs table service. Having recently had... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
TSKTeam, Manager at Turl Street Kitchen, responded to this review

Hi Hope, We're pleased you enjoyed the atmosphere at TSK, and enjoyed our location, but are sorry your soya flat white wasn't up to scratch. Our staff all receive coffee training and we our proud of our coffee, sourced from a fantastic supplier with ethical and environmental great credentials, so we'll try to be of a higher standard on your... More 

Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2015

We visited for a drink with an old friend and arrived a bit early to be told there was literally no food available because "dinner was being served soon". This is a place which has a bar area where drinks are sold separately from the restaurant area - we were a bit puzzled as to why a bar would have... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
TSKTeam, Manager at Turl Street Kitchen, responded to this review

Hi Sarah, We're sorry our service wasn't up to scratch on your visit. Just before dinner while our kitchen team are creating the evening's menu, our floor staff should be preparing for service, so it's disappointing to hear that they were milling around. We'll follow up with the day's staff. We're working on getting some nibbles available at the bar,... More 

Wangaratta
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2015

From the welcome to the warmth of service we knew we were on to a winner. Small menu of local produce beautifully presented. Wine list extensive and not overpriced. A highly recommended experience for all Oxford visitors.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
47 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2015

Menu is ever changing depending on season and availability so there is always something different on offer. None of your bog standard fare here. Can get VERY busy and VERY noisy in term time - trendy student hang out. If you want a quite romantic lunch this is probably not the best choice but with a group of friends or... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
TSKTeam, Manager at Turl Street Kitchen, responded to this review

Thanks for your review yirg, we're really pleased you enjoyed our menu, we avoid bog standard at all costs! We're also working on getting some noise dampening in place, so hopefully it won't be quite so noisy on your next visit. Ben and the TSK team More 

Travelers who viewed Turl Street Kitchen also viewed

Oxford, Oxfordshire
 

Been to Turl Street Kitchen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Location and Contact Information

  • Address: 16-17 Turl Street, Oxford OX1 3DH, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Oxfordshire  >  Oxford
  • Phone Number: +44 1865 264171

Price and Cuisine

  • Average Prices: USD 8 - 32
  • Cuisine: International

Restaurant Characteristics

  • Good for: Local cuisine
Open Hours
Sunday
8:00 am - 12:00 am
Monday
8:00 am - 12:00 am
Tuesday
8:00 am - 12:00 am
Wednesday
8:00 am - 12:00 am
Thursday
8:00 am - 12:00 am
Friday
8:00 am - 12:00 am
Saturday
8:00 am - 12:00 am

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Turl Street Kitchen staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?