We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 484 Oxford Restaurants

Ashmolean Dining Room

Beaumont Street, Oxford, England
+44 1865 553823
Website
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Ranked #220 of 484 Restaurants in Oxford
Price range: $10 - $31
Cuisines: English
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Outdoor seating
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Dining style: Home Style
Transit: A 10 minute walk from Oxford train station, and very close to Oxford bus station.
Description: A celebration of food and wine alongside art and culture. The Ashmolean Dining Room provides the spectacular setting for Oxford's first and finest rooftop restaurant. We have a fantastic new menu taking the food back to a good, hearty British feel with a European twist. As the subject of gastronomy dictates, we have dedicated this menu to the art of good eating with introductions of rabbit and monkfish tail as well as treating you to a sublime bream dish and lamb rump to die for. Vegetarians will be left drooling for our pearl barley dish and cauliflower salad. And, what better way to top it off, but with our Paris Brest dessert. Ingredients are fresh and seasonal and we use many local Oxfordshire suppliers to bring the best quality to you. Our wine list is broad with 50 handpicked wines from around the world.
Write a Review

276 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    69
    92
    45
    45
    25
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2014 NEW

I could rate this as 'excellent' as in theory I spent less money than I bargained for. Having enjoyed the Tutankhamun exhibition early in the morning, it was time for a coffee and cake. Unfortunately it was just after 1130 when cakes stop being served - as they are presumably into lunches. Sadly I wasn't at that time in the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Victoria, Canada
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2014

We had heard this was a great place to eat, as it is on the rooftop of the Ashmolean Museum with 'great views'. I say not so. I walked out on the terrace and all you see are the immediate rooftops around the museum. Where's the view? Maybe the overgrown hedges surrounding the terrace are blocking it? We decided to... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Baldock, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2014

Visited for a Sunday Lunch. The staff were very helpful particularly attentive to my wife who was in a wheel chair. Three of us had the roast accompanied by baby vegetables, which was cooked beautifully. The lunch was accompanied by a variety of old fashioned soft drinks.. The restaurant was busy and is not the cheapest, but we will definitely... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Stratford-upon-Avon, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2014

Went for lunch with a friend today and both ordered the salad of the day, should have asked the price beforehand. Massive pile of salad leaves with an awful lot of radicchio, precious little pear, even less cheese and probably half a dozen pecans, tasty dressing I must admit. At £12.50 this was ridiculously over-priced. You have been warned!

Was this review helpful? Yes
Oxford, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2014

We had lunch today in celebration of wedding 48 years ago. Food was well prepared and value for money. The wines were reasonably priced. If one was being fussy then you could say that the desserts were on the small size. Service was good.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Hereford, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
147 reviews 147 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
91 helpful votes 91 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2014

Met some friends we haven't seen in years here for lunch - they were visiting the UK from New Zealand and they chose the restaurant. Personally wouldn't have chose the Ashmolean based on reviews but they were paying so I won't complain too much! Loved the atmosphere on the roof terrace on a warm and sunny day. The service seemed... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Henley-on-Thames, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2014

We ate lunch there with friends last week and based on past experiences had looked forward to it. This time was a disappointment. The impression was that the prices had gone up while the quality and quantity of the food had gone in the other direction. The waiting staff were perfectly pleasant and welcoming but the service was incredibly slow... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Mike E, Manager at Ashmolean Dining Room, responded to this review

Many thanks for your constructive feedback. Our prices are benchmarked against similar restaurants in the area to ensure they are competitive and we will continue to ensure we offer value for money to customers. We are always working hard with our staff to improve our service and feedback like yours is important in helping us get the message across. More

oxon
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2014

This was a disappointing experience. There was no sign of any management or front of house on a busy Saturday lunch time. the staff looked busy but indifferent. The food was mediocre and we left after the main course after failing to gain any attention for pudding and coffee, after waiting 15 minutes.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Mike E, Manager at Ashmolean Dining Room, responded to this review

Thanks for your feedback. I am sorry you have had a poor experience. We take great pride in our food and our team, so I am disappointed this wasn't reflected in your visit. More

South West England
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2014

Six of us arrived at 11.30am to an empty restaurant. We asked for coffee and cake and were told we were too late as lunch was now being served...quite to whom it was being served was a mystery as we were the only ones there. We assured the staff we would only be 30 mins and were told that the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Mike E, Manager at Ashmolean Dining Room, responded to this review

Thanks for your feedback. We serve coffee and cake until 11:30AM in the restaurant and all day in the café. We stop serving at 11:30AM to ensure we have time to set up all the tables for lunch and more importantly brief our team on specials, allergen information and out of stock items. Coffee is still available throughout the day... More

oxford
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2014

We went for dinner on a Saturday evening and restaraunt only half full. We sat down ordered aperitifs £9.95 kir royal and peach bellini £6. our starters were dumped on the table 5 minutes before the drinks. Luckily they were cold choices and we pushed them away until we ahd our drinks. We told waitress we didn't want mains for... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Mike E, Manager at Ashmolean Dining Room, responded to this review

I am sorry you have had such poor experience. The majority of my waiting team give great service and it is a shame that one person is ruining their hard work. We realise that sometimes there are areas which need improving and we are training hard to do this. Thank you for your feedback. More

Travelers who viewed Ashmolean Dining Room also viewed

 

Been to Ashmolean Dining Room? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ashmolean Dining Room

Address: Beaumont Street, Oxford, England
Phone Number: +44 1865 553823
Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Oxfordshire  >  Oxford
Average Prices: USD 10 - 31
Cuisine: English

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.

Manage your listing